my sym magic calls for 1000km OCI and 10w30 oil!! =.=

Besides mx tradings, anywhere else?

• Replies 2.7k

SYM Magic is 110 or 125 CC cub air cooled, wet clutch very similar to Honda Wave or Yamaha X1.

40 weight oil would be safe to use for 2000 kms.

http://www.sym.com.tw/eng/showroom/index.php?mode=brand&tid=3&bid=20#spe

May '10 - Jun '11 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG2

Jul '11 - Jan '12 : Honda Phantom TA200

Feb '12 - Jul '12 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG3

Aug '12 - Current : Bajaj Pulsar 200 DTSi

Because when i bought my bike it already has a weak engine. worn engine bearings and can hear the con rod knock under load. Its a lemon.

So I keep on looking for good oils and has to be cheap for shorter changing intervals. Its what I call cheap insurance. Also because YBR does not have oil filter. Only an internal oil strainer. If we always wait till oil is sludged up. Then this strainer has to be cleaned by opening up the block.

Anyway, when we always wait until we feel engine is becoming rough, damage is already happening in our engines. So why not change earlier and keep that engine younger longer..

I dont think you need to open the block to clean the strainer. It can be cleaned by opening the right side crankcase cover that houses the clutch plate assembly. Changing oil every 900kms is seriously overkill. If there is already problem in the bike doesnt mean it will not become worse if you change oil every 900 kms. Neither does it mean that the rate of wear will increase if you change every 2k. But yes if you dont change until 5k kms surely it will wear out faster. Sludging doesnt happen at 2k kms, also I doubt sludging happens in bikes. It only happens in cars. In bikes the temperature is so high and oil is so little that the oil will burn out and the piston jam before sludging starts.

I would say use the oil for 2k kms, main thing to watch out is if EO level goes down over time and then you need to top up. If it happens too rapidly then its time for overhaul.Anyway it is a china made bike, parts not that expensive.

Edited by revhappy

May '10 - Jun '11 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG2

Jul '11 - Jan '12 : Honda Phantom TA200

Feb '12 - Jul '12 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG3

Aug '12 - Current : Bajaj Pulsar 200 DTSi

I dont think you need to open the block to clean the strainer. It can be cleaned by opening the right side crankcase cover that houses the clutch plate assembly. Changing oil every 900kms is seriously overkill. If there is already problem in the bike doesnt mean it will not become worse if you change oil every 900 kms. Neither does it mean that the rate of wear will increase if you change every 2k. But yes if you dont change until 5k kms surely it will wear out faster. Sludging doesnt happen at 2k kms, also I doubt sludging happens in bikes. It only happens in cars. In bikes the temperature is so high and oil is so little that the oil will burn out and the piston jam before sludging starts.

I would say use the oil for 2k kms, main thing to watch out is if EO level goes down over time and then you need to top up. If it happens too rapidly then its time for overhaul.Anyway it is a china made bike, parts not that expensive.

Sorry it should be crankcase not block. Well.. In bikes the temperature is so high and oil is so little that the oil will BURN OUT? Well it sludge. If u heat oil in fying pan. Till it burns... What is left? Sludge happens in bikes and cars la. Rate of wear surely increase if I change later. Common sense. If more floating particles inside grinding about longer .. The wear will increase exponentially. If u wait till u feel rough. That means engine is already experiencing accelerated wear. Well I feel its rough at 900 le. So I change. Its not time for overhaul yet. Its I'm more sensitive than you. My mechanic also advises me to change at 1k. Best is change earlier he said. But he knows I do not buy engine oil from him.

Well I know of a few dispatch riders who change at 600km. But using cheap dino oil. Their reason is the same. Even if they use their bikes for dispatch and very high mileage. Engine still feels new. Higher resale value. What is overkill for you might not be the same for others. If I'm using cheap fully syn that rivals the performance of Higher price bike fully synt oil, it is still a win for me.

Its all up to how willing are you to spend more to protect the engine. Small dispacement transport bikes that hold 1litre oil actually experience the most wear. highway high RPM, constant stop and go traffic, only 1 litre to pump around, afternoon sun, pillion rider's weight, overall rough usage.Mine's aircooled, no oil cooler too. My engine is already rough, if ur engine is still smooth 2k oil change no problem. But I think my previous owner stretch the OCI too long thats why now like that. Anyway its my money and I feel happier not to feel the engine starting to feel rougher than change.

Edited by Limhg

double bubble

Edited by Hydher

Wah got 2nd bike alr ahhhh!! 10w30 i tink nt easy to find eh. Is thr any chance u can get away wif 10w40? Considering in sgp, ur engine air-cooled, its gonna run pretty hot.

@naim

Yes a side bike. My k1 petrol $50 a week. This kub $10 also very hard!! 44km/L sial :thumb:

Err funny that sym hardcopy and online manual says different things.

Maybe the mechanic has split personality like the golem in HOBBIT.

Apparently sae40 is okay in the hardcopy but in the download its 10w30(F IT so hard to find LOL).

But.. they both ask for 1000km oil changes in the manual. Even comes with a warning light if you ignore it hahaha

i guess u can use car engine oil lor. 10w30 car have many. Ur tranny uses different oil hor?

Sama sama oil leh.

Got lobang for cheap oil?

SYM Magic is 110 or 125 CC cub air cooled, wet clutch very similar to Honda Wave or Yamaha X1.

40 weight oil would be safe to use for 2000 kms.

http://www.sym.com.tw/eng/showroom/index.php?mode=brand&tid=3&bid=20#spe

Thank you rev happy for your input.

haha but this bike does not perform like a honda or yamaha scooter :cry:

Anyway....

Im camping for Schnell Fully synthetic 15w40 at Giant to drop to 19.95$ for 4L again.

If you see it must inform me ok? ok ? ok? :thumb:

Anyway, did my first oil change. wah lao the oil change took like 5 mins max. kekeke

Old oil cfm more than 1.5k liao. :sian:

Bike from max 65km/hr. Now can go to 95km/hr. :)

Using castrol activ 20w40(wtf first time see such an oil rating) :dot: Is this a mineral oil too?

Bought at the bukit merah hardware shops because i refuse to pay $12 for mineral ahboy 4t at the motodiam.

Edited by Hydher
schnell is 4l

yala this kind of bike use cheap oil and chg at 1000km is good enuf. got warning light? See! SYM so high tech u know. LOL!

eh so wen u wanna go KFC ask for their oil? if good can pour into ur K1 oso. 300km/h easy easy one! haha!

A ride a day, keeps the doctor away!

2010-2012 : Honda Phantom TA200

2012-current : SYM Maxsym 400i

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/adiknaim

SG Maxsym FB Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/sgmaxsym/

LOL who wants free oil can get from me. If u dont hiam la. I change at 800-900km. Use fully syn oil. I will always keep the old oil for miscellaneous uses.

the main concern i have for engine oil in a kup is shearing and oil consumption.

sure, it is hot. the small sump, air-cooled and those 6,000-8,000 rpm. but the heat output of a kup into a decent quality engine oil is really nothing to scream about.

Naim, im not sure about using unreputable oil because i dun ride slowly. Before this, whatever was in the engine, bike max was 65km/hr.

50km/hr at ecp slope.

Now, its 95km/hr and still can go. Ill go with gut feeling when choosing oil.

http://www.mxtradings.com

I kinda like the prices here.

I think can stretch to 1.5k-2k but i kinda enjoy this oil changes lol :cheeky:

Ehh.. you made me crave for Malaysia KFC! basket.

hehe i dun dare lahhh!!!

I think for kubs its the issue of a bad gasket no one gives 2 cents about and the redlining.

My gsxr is still warm after 9 hours of using it.

But the kub, 15 mins after riding i can do and oil change liao lol.

Lim, no thanks..

Later inside got metal bits o_O

Hanor.. You also worry.. thats why I change early mah. I also enjoy changing oil because I like to see the golden pure liquid poured in and the dirty brown one come out.

haha OCB sounds dirty!

@Isopropyl can reccomend me an inexpensive safe oil(semi is fine) to be changed at 1000km?

Nothing more than $8-9/L. Hope to buy as a set of 4L so i can change 5 times(0.8L/change)

Max speed of bike is 80(in manual) and i ride it at 70-90 most of the time.

Reccomended visc is 10w30 / sae40.

Naim. Im using planets penzoil fully synthetic $16/L coz i wanted to learn some "invaluable tips" which i did.

5000km is soo long since i have 2 bikes now.

Schaeffer is nice and thick.

Rp thins out very fast.

Just a gut feeling.

haha OCB sounds dirty!

@Isopropyl can reccomend me an inexpensive safe oil(semi is fine) to be changed at 1000km?

Nothing more than $8-9/L. Hope to buy as a set of 4L so i can change 5 times(0.8L/change)

Max speed of bike is 80(in manual) and i ride it at 70-90 most of the time.

Reccomended visc is 10w30 / sae40.

Naim. Im using planets penzoil fully synthetic $16/L coz i wanted to learn some "invaluable tips" which i did.

5000km is soo long since i have 2 bikes now.

Schaeffer is nice and thick.

Rp thins out very fast.

Just a gut feeling.

that the problem with using hand phone to reply:cheeky:

any 15w40 HDEO will be just fine. my bike have clocked more then 26,000km on HDEO and is still running excellent:thumb: get some cheap Shell Rimula from malaysia will serve you well.

alternatively, as you only plan to run the oil for 1,000km, you can get those $9 plus carlube motorcycle 5w40 oil. carlube also have a semi-synthetic 15w40 HDEO and it cost $30 plus for 5 litres. i think that fill your bill perfectly as you run the bike hard, a 40 weight should provide a little more protection.

yes. schaeffer oil is truely an excellent oil. if you did some searching, you heard all sort of amazing story for that oil. i read that one company that deal with dirt bikes brought a few crates of engine and did some controlled destructive tests with different type of oil. one of the oil that have the best result is made by schaeffer. in the end, i think they brought the oil from schaeffer and rebrand for their own sales.

with the price of schaffer, one will be hard pressed to find another better oil. i am tempted to run the schaeffer oil longer and do some UOA on it.

shell rimula from petrol stations? Im going to jb later kekeke

Use the engine oil which was recommended by your bike manufacturer.

Thats so expensive! Like that I must run yamalube in my YBR. Go hong leong and buy.