at the end of the day, if someone has a better idea of how to control the car population rather than COE, lets hear it. i dun like paying for that piece of paper with a price tag twice the price of the actual car i'm buying, but lets face it: we all want to buy car, but if we are all allowed to buy car, the road becomes unusable. whoever dun acknowledge the real problem of traffic congestion is just in denial.

the COE system limits the number of cars purchased, period. even if you point out that LTA miscalculate past few years and admit too may COE's released (thus causing current sky-high prices), be aware that essentially that is a calculation mistake, not a systemic flaw.

so what other method do we have? all i can think of is to peg COE to per household rather than by capacity. 'CAT A' is for a household's first car, 'CAT B' is for the household's second car. So even if husband and wife and one adult son/daughter (staying in the same housing unit) all got class 3, they either make do with one car for entire family, or bid utra-high 'CAT B' for a second or third car. after all what's the point of pegging the category to capacity? for car control, one family forced to use a single big capacity minivan better or two/three small cars better? penalize the households getting second and third cars, not the ones buying bigger cars.

but whatever method you think of, bear in mind this: any effective method you propose necessarily means that a significant portion of us will not be able to buy car, because that is the whole point of car population control. we cant all be getting cars because then the road is too congested. the only issue is can there be a method where only some of us get to buy cars without resorting to increasing the price of the cars.

Thing is, whatever method they use, the roads will still be congested, especially when you brought in FTs by the boatload.

• Replies 118

SINGAPORE (OR whoever in charge) has a master plan. To make Singapore VIBRANT AND constantly on the move (NOT STAGNANT), They want MORE PEOPLE. MORE PEOPLE MORE ACTIVITIES. MORE MONEY. MORE PEOPLE THEN MAKE MORE HOUSES , MORE VEHICLES , MORE ROAD (LIMITED BUT MORE), MORE VEHICLES BUT LIMITED COE SO IT MEANS MORE MONEY, MORE PEOPLE MORE PEOPLE DOING CRIME (MAYBE YES MAYBE NO) THUS MORE POLICE, THUS MORE JOBS THUS ATTRACTING MORE FTs, thus to them creating more jobs for we singaporean.

yup, when i put up my last post, i wondered when the FT-bashing will start. Immediately, it seems.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

mine standing is, i paid government the coe, government claim the fund and simply say they will take the money and put it back in ministry of finance. what are they then used for? at the moment i can only think of major corruption figures behind abusing the country so called low corruption rate figure. are the money used for charity? I dont think so, our government are infamous for taking part in little of such activities despite drawing tremendous salary.

hence this system is flawed as it open gates to corruption. because nobody know exactly where did the 30billions are spent after they earned them by coe. government made no explaination to the people either because people had so much trusts in the government.

but among the big head insiders u just need to pay the lower figures insiders 100k-1mil out of the 30billion each to shut their mouth what they actually did with the money. :)

so be it 300$ or 30k or 300k, all the car owners are feeding this powerful guy behind the management of coe without knowing where the money went to just to get the rights to buy their car which i will say is a fundamental right actually, but made hard to get. the human rights are granted only if you can pay me(the government/figures behind coe), because there is so much people in singapore, human rights are rewarded to those who pays me, your ruler, your leader, your government, because im on a grand plan to become the first trillionaire in the world. that is the message behind coe that im inferring.

singaporeans just donno their rights and fight for something that belongs to them.

mine idea requires resources? then the chicken rice stall auntie would had even more trouble allocating resources when they started the idea with minimal business and management knowledge.

Edited by guangwei

17 Nov 2011 - April 2013, NSR150 SP

12 June 2013 - 23 Jan 2015, CBR400RRR

23 February 2015 - 29 February 2016, YZF R6 2006

12 March 2016 - 12 May 2017, CBR1000RR05

July 2017 - Jan 2019, YZF R1 2008/CBF150

Aug 2019 - Current SYM Joyride 200

Don't let dealer bid the COE for you if you're buying new bike. If everyone do so, COE price guarantee come down. :)

Why go up?

Current Ride:

W650 Cafe Racer

FXSTC Softail Custom

TW200 Tracker

Zephyr ZII Custom

CB750K

CB400four

http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n166/sgstreetbiker/IMG_0627_zps0816850b.jpg

http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n166/sgstreetbiker/EBC0B2D1-5DB8-412B-BE85-D4E7DE4F0247-9859-000001DA1BB41B2E.jpg

Why go up?

Supply (quota) decrease, demand increase. So most likely will go up, but only up by hundreds ba.

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b7/ki113r/Mobile%20Uploads/20150407_203245_zpsvojubra6.jpg

2004 - 2005 FR1284A ~ NSR150SP (FILA Paintwork)

2012 - 2013 FS7810L ~ NSR150SP (Pure White)

2013 - 2015 FBE9955K ~ Spec 3 (Pearl White)

2015 - ???? Quit riding

Yup but will they abolished the coe?

I really doubt so. Where bikes are concerned, I view it like a tax because it cost about the same as a mid range laptop. At that level, it will not reduce vehicle ownership. Not as though bikes significantly contribute to congestion to begin with...

1997 TZR 125 - 1998 FZ 150 - 1999 GSXR 400K - 1999 RX 100 - 2000 LC 125 - 2001 TZR 125 - 2002 CB 400 Ver S - 2006 CBR 929 - 2006 GETZ 1.4 - 2009 STEED 400 - 2016 ???

Riders ride to work. Drivers work to drive.

supply and demand is always one of the few root caused

questions arise when supply can be fully controlled...in relation to demand.

1997 TZR 125 - 1998 FZ 150 - 1999 GSXR 400K - 1999 RX 100 - 2000 LC 125 - 2001 TZR 125 - 2002 CB 400 Ver S - 2006 CBR 929 - 2006 GETZ 1.4 - 2009 STEED 400 - 2016 ???

your hobbies are my annual pay liao hehehehhehttp://dayna.lovweifeg.com/1.jpg

http://dayna.lovweifeg.com/2.jpg

http://dayna.lovweifeg.com/3.jpg

http://dayna.lovweifeg.com/4.jpg

PAP is to blame for high COE.

COE is supposed to control vehicle population, and thus traffic jam. Instead, record high COE price with Record traffic jam, record breakdown in MRT with record profits, does it make sense? It only show our PAP scholars ministers, who pay themselves super high, are simply incompetent. They are not fit for any use in society.

We have so many Foreign Trash today, because PAP is Trash too. Today, many FT can buy cars with full payment on the spot, they are not affected by recent loan restriction. Do IRAS & MAS investigate where their money come from??? With Casino, how to investigate, except cause many to bankrupt, not to mention recently cases where casino cause civil servants to go to jail.

With 6.9 million, more Foreign Trash, COE will go up, traffic jam will be more jam, more breakdown in MRT, not to mention, more PMET jobs lost to Foreigners.

The only way is to vote PAP out. PAP is giving our future & next generation for sake of Foreign Trash, so vote wisely.

Edited by AliDavidSum

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. - John 3:16

www.calvarypandan.org

I really doubt so. Where bikes are concerned, I view it like a tax because it cost about the same as a mid range laptop. At that level, it will not reduce vehicle ownership. Not as though bikes significantly contribute to congestion to begin with...

refer to the article http://www.gizmag.com/motorcycles-reduce-congestion/21420/

Another great reason why COE should not apply to bikes. My car has 2 yrs & 5 mths to go. On the last month of COE, both my kids will in Primary 1 & 3 respectively. Maybe that will be a good time for me to go back to my riding days. But when I think of family outings on weekends w/o a car :(

Its true that family outings without car is not convenient. But by taking public transports or cabs, we don't have to concentrate on the road driving or riding. We can rest our mind more...lol. i find it enjoyable at times.

but how will that benefit the bike buyer?

to think that it all started at $1. But they control the supply of the toilet papers. So effectively no way to out. Yea, I believe in a 1st world parliament. should start or is there a thread on "lets petition them to relook the licensing system". Wished it was more relevant. Even if it stayed 3 tier, but based on system using hp, we would see a lot more variety at the class 2A & 2 cats. Say 250cc, 500cc, >500cc or 30hp, 60hp, >60hp. Since soon bikes must be at least euro 3, then at least the try & be in sync with the euro system or at least in part. Sigh, I am still sore that Sk not allowed to have the new Honda 500 series.

KNN, now not only never go down but went up to $1961. pui pui pui.

to think that it all started at $1. But they control the supply of the toilet papers. So effectively no way to out. Yea, I believe in a 1st world parliament. should start or is there a thread on "lets petition them to relook the licensing system". Wished it was more relevant. Even if it stayed 3 tier, but based on system using hp, we would see a lot more variety at the class 2A & 2 cats. Say 250cc, 500cc, >500cc or 30hp, 60hp, >60hp. Since soon bikes must be at least euro 3, then at least the try & be in sync with the euro system or at least in part. Sigh, I am still sore that Sk not allowed to have the new Honda 500 series.

You do know the license system is not really an issue, it just affects impatient people. COE on the other hand, is a much more dire issue of extortion by law.