Which type of s4 has the best fuel consumption?  

569 members have voted

1. 1. Which type of s4 has the best fuel consumption?

Originally posted by Fazli@January 12, 2007 12:36 pm

My Version S clocked 400km full tank. I very throttle happy cos I like to hear my exhaust note. Most of the time have pillion weighin bout 70-80kg.

Set-up:

Front tyre 120/60

Rear tyre 160/60

Rear sprocket 45

Is the consumption high? Sometimes we cannot see how much we have travelled when we hit reserve cos like my bike, my reserve is 5 litres which can last me bout 110km +/-... I tried and I found that I travelled 400km and pumped in bout 17.6 litres of petrol.

Btw out of curiousity...r u a gal or guy? :X

http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs160.snc1/5969_132325762781_632277781_3118071_4563982_n.jpg
  • Replies 2.6k

hi guys,just got my super 4,love the bike and the power but theres something weird bout my fuel consumption...i cant figure out why but the bike drinks petrol...i've been clocking my mileage and been riding at an average of 90-100km/h,rpm around 6plus...but only manage to get around 210km on my tripo with 2 bars of petrol to spare on the fuel meter,is this normal? i seldom open vtec...what could be the problem? i will update u guys on the final reading on my tripo once im done with this current full tank...

fierce bike...cute rider...

total got how many bars?

6?

so 18 litre divide by 6 mean 1 bar is 3litre..

4bar to 210km

210 divide by 12

is???

17.5km per litre.

sumting very wrong bro..send for carb tuninh?/i tink ur carb sumting wrong

urs is vtec wat?

cannot just divide by 6 bar lidat...first bar take longer to drop...

its subjective.

when there's a WHEEL...

there's a way...

pls la. u dont divide that way by 6.

look at the shape of the tank. thats why first bar take longer to drop.

dun follow the bar, it's not accurate, first bar normally will let u go ard 130-140km before it start dropping to 5 bar,

the 2nd bar will be gone ard 170-180km

3rd bar ard 210-220

4th bar ard 250-260

5th bar ard 290-300

6th bar ard 330-340 then start flashing le......

above is based solely on personal observation bro .....variates according to ur riding style....

color=red]For our sins.........................HooAH[/color]

U try to clock ur mileage untill the meter runs left to right to and fro.. If on sidestand it starts to run, it does not count.. Make sure u are either moving or ur bike is straight.. Then share with us your mileage.. Above 300km wud be good..

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Siggy/CrossOver.jpg

|| YAMAHA || HONDA || YAMAHA || YAMAHA ||

Yamaha runs in the blood

Originally posted by mudman@March 20, 2007 03:30 pm

dun follow the bar, it's not accurate, first bar normally will let u go ard 130-140km before it start dropping to 5 bar,

the 2nd bar will be gone ard 170-180km

3rd bar ard 210-220

4th bar ard 250-260

5th bar ard 290-300

6th bar ard 330-340 then start flashing le......

above is based solely on personal observation bro .....variates according to ur riding style....

sorry guys borrow this thread... is it normal for s4 to hit reserve around 300km??

my spec1 like that u know...

1st bar gone 170-180km

2nd bar gone 220-230km

3rd bar 260-280km

4th bar 300-320km

5th bar 345-360km

flashing at 390-400km

dry at 440km

around 430km i will pump in about 18.6L of petrol

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v56/flykite/futurerp.jpg
Originally posted by flykite@March 20, 2007 11:13 pm

sorry guys borrow this thread... is it normal for s4 to hit reserve around 300km??

1st bar gone 170-180km

2nd bar gone 220-230km

3rd bar 260-280km

4th bar 300-320km

5th bar 345-360km

flashing at 390-400km

dry at 440km

Care to share any modification or tips which you had done to archive that kinda mileage?

Originally posted by flykite@March 20, 2007 11:13 pm

1st bar gone 170-180km

2nd bar gone 220-230km

3rd bar 260-280km

4th bar 300-320km

5th bar 345-360km

flashing at 390-400km

dry at 440km

:lovestruck: wa.. how u did man?? can last till 440km.. mine start flashing ard 330 to 340km.. plus nv ride wif pillion, nv drag, seldom open vtec.. best FC i got once is 23km nia... btw mine also spec1...

btw anyone knows does s4 wif dynojet make the s4 drink petrol like free?? or it is same as non dynojet s4??

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1150/1426483839_2b47be539c_o.jpg

oct05 - oct06 runner 200

oct06 - july07 vtec1

july07 - ?? runner200

may09 - ?? vtec2

hmm.. my never reached 300...

most to most 270.. starts to blink liao

i first i thought it was because i did not refuel the fuel up to the brim..

even with that the fuel bar still blink below 300..

i would how others get till 360.. os more 440???

i think its time to service the carb

Past Ride:

TZR - 1998 - 2000

Sonic - 2004-2005

Phantom - 2005-2006

Super4 - 2006 - 2008

Fiat G.Punto 2008 - ??

Originally posted by RetlaW@March 21, 2007 09:43 am

hmm.. my never reached 300...

most to most 270.. starts to blink liao

i first i thought it was because i did not refuel the fuel up to the brim..

even with that the fuel bar still blink below 300..

i would how others get till 360.. os more 440???

i think its time to service the carb

hav u tried changing gear at 3-4krpm? then don open vtec, travel at 80km/h for expressway, big road 50-60km/h.. try out for one tank.. :smile:

oct05 - oct06 runner 200

oct06 - july07 vtec1

july07 - ?? runner200

may09 - ?? vtec2

i usu squeeze to brim, and then ride normally lor, 2-3krpm change gear, cruising at 110km/h at 6900rpm on expressway most of the time. sometimes have pillion, seldom open vtec unless necessary...

i bought the bike that time ald like that lor. thats why dont know if its normal???

oh, to add, im on a stock vtec1 only mod is K&N air filter...

Originally posted by flykite@March 21, 2007 11:21 am

i usu squeeze to brim, and then ride normally lor, 2-3krpm change gear, cruising at 110km/h at 6900rpm on expressway most of the time. sometimes have pillion, seldom open vtec unless necessary...

i bought the bike that time ald like that lor. thats why dont know if its normal???

oh, to add, im on a stock vtec1 only mod is K&N air filter...

wa.. your bike UP sia.. travelling at 6900rpm mean open vtec liao still can travel till 430km... wat a good bike... mine also nv change anything.. only change to k&n air filter.. but if i open vtec, enter resv ard 310-320... or btw how heavy r u?? mayb u light that y can run longer...

oct05 - oct06 runner 200

oct06 - july07 vtec1

july07 - ?? runner200

may09 - ?? vtec2

Originally posted by zell_teo@March 21, 2007 12:08 pm

wa.. your bike UP sia.. travelling at 6900rpm mean open vtec liao still can travel till 430km... wat a good bike... mine also nv change anything.. only change to k&n air filter.. but if i open vtec, enter resv ard 310-320... or btw how heavy r u?? mayb u light that y can run longer...

no leh... my vtec kui at almost 7,200 rpm. dont think the weight affects la. besides i got a 48L box somemore.

oh btw, i just made the 450km mark and still running, but i scared liao. pumped 18.8L! just how big is the s4 tank actually??? i dont think it is just 18L exactly rite?

maybe free-wheeling does help to improve FC??

Originally posted by flykite@March 21, 2007 02:02 pm

no leh... my vtec kui at almost 7,200 rpm. dont think the weight affects la. besides i got a 48L box somemore.

oh btw, i just made the 450km mark and still running, but i scared liao. pumped 18.8L! just how big is the s4 tank actually??? i dont think it is just 18L exactly rite?

it's very strange that ur vtec opens so late ...for the spec 2 it opens ard 6350rpm bro ...and ur FC is great...u should be happy ....

lol .. .

btw, i know hwere u took the pic for the MAN 5 tonner, at marsiling right? lol...

color=red]For our sins.........................HooAH[/color]

you are one risk taker!! always using reserve petrol..

anyway, mine till blinking only about 300km..

accidentalMODernist: yours 280++ is okay.. maybe do some tuning, FC will go up..

good for u that your bike is fuel saving... btw u got instal vtec indicator?? else how u know that when your vtec open??

if i travel at 7krpm during expressway(for short dist) the fuel indicator will stay to blink at ard 300 -320km.. don know how your babe did it..

oct05 - oct06 runner 200

oct06 - july07 vtec1

july07 - ?? runner200

may09 - ?? vtec2

:lol: the 5ton pic was taken at elephant hill some 3yrs ago

my vtec kui? hear lor... can tell from the sound mah. its quite obvious.

spec2 vtec open so early meh???

anyway i more or less know how long the reserve can last me... cos i tried before till dry once (while carrying a bottle of spare petrol of course). this is called taking a calculated risk

ur fc is so nice... used to get 350 then flash reserve .. now 310 flash liao sian

2005 July - 2006 July Tzm150

2006 August - 2007 October SpecIII

2007 October - 2009 June R1

my riding style is to change gear at 4-5rpm and travel at expressway at abt 120...

spec 2 vtec opens at slightly above 6 rpm...

so if to cruise without opening vtec...

its would be abt 80-90km/hr...

110km/hrs without vtec on is just so nice...(never happen to my)

i wonder if there is any after market stuff to adjust the vtec open timing..

if i m nt wrong there is one name vtec limiter or something

Past Ride:

TZR - 1998 - 2000

Sonic - 2004-2005

Phantom - 2005-2006

Super4 - 2006 - 2008

Fiat G.Punto 2008 - ??

EO, spark plugs, air filter, tyre air pressure will affect ur FC. other possibilities can b worn clutch plates, worn chain n sprocket, worn bearings, carb setting out.

other factors will b road condition n riding style.

every little thing will contribute to ur FC. its not surprising that a poorly maintained bike have a high FC...