Which type of s4 has the best fuel consumption?  

569 members have voted

1. 1. Which type of s4 has the best fuel consumption?

• Replies 2.6k

haha.. my fren spec 3 also ard that range. I change gear ard 4 to 5 rpm.. i seldom open vtec.. i travel on the expressway most of the time, cos my house near the exit then all the way till i reach school.. think the fuel consumption better when u travel on expressway. i usually maintain ard 100km.. haha not sure if it explains

Originally posted by Sonicgear@March 26, 2007 05:35 am

erm 2 things that can make ur fuel meter blink... 1 is ur bike at side stand... the other 1 is u suddenly pick up very fast then it blink.. wanna get best measurement is put ur bike straight and wait for few mins... it will increase

ya but i try a few time already...\

but still same result...

Originally posted by zelda1031@March 26, 2007 10:45 am

erm any1 noe's spec1 full tank how many L ?????

btw mine FC 18km/L....... (no open vtec)

tried downgrade mine petrol frm v-pwr to 98, change EO, put dunno wat magnet(to increase mileage), pwr abuser 2 ......still e same =_= when i bought tis bike ower said he juz tune his crub......

spec 1 fuel tank is 18L including 3L reserve.

FC for a vtec model shd b around 20km/l + or -.

mayb u wanna try to change ur spark plugs, air filter? or even service the carb if u can afford it at a go?

riding style do comes into picture. if u like to drag abit during move off, then ur FC will definitely b higher.

Originally posted by liuj0008@March 27, 2007 01:44 am

spec 1 is 18L.. mine 380 before start blinking..

380km then start blinking? after calculation, its ard 25km/l. quiet unbelieveable for a vtec model. ver S is a sure can hit this range.

bros.. prob my FC si bei jialat.. do carbs still presist leh.. mine 230 start blink liao, try ride relax oso same what else? jettings? which shop can do jettings? do what?

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2504/3947126520_f7541d4daf.jpg

mine is oso ard 360 before blinking.

currently riding a spec 3.

stock bike.

i tink its my riding habits bah.

im always the slowest in moving off at traffic light !

don't drag gear and faster change up to higher gears

den slowly throttle to 80-90km/hr.

vtec seldom open.

read from a CAR magazine highest gear and 80km/hr

is most fuel efficient.

don't noe if it works for bike.

my 2cents bro

correct me if wrong.

hope it helps

No point tail-gating me.

Im already on the left lane.

mine, 280 blink blink liao .. then about 330 to 340 empty liao.

riding habit not good, always about 7k rpm, change gear at 6k rpm and bike always heavy load.. i fat mah .. then plus wife more jialat ... that why every 3 days go 2nd link pump...

~Biker Till I Die~

my vtec 1 juz changed knN air filter..tuned...wash carb and all yet my reserve start blinking when its only at 290km....

how???

even my krr used to be better!!

Originally posted by sTraTa@April 09, 2007 04:36 am

my vtec 1 juz changed knN air filter..tuned...wash carb and all yet my reserve start blinking when its only at 290km....

how???

tyre pressure ok? chain n sprocket in good condition n well lub? heavy right wrist? when is ur last change of EO n plugs?

Originally posted by sTraTa@April 09, 2007 04:36 am

how???

Plz la.... how can compare 4 piston and 1 piston.... Btw super4 is 1 of the best f.c in terms of 400cc... 290km blink is still alot better then rvf... 230-240km reserved... No such thing as want the power but scared F.C high...High Input High Power ... Low Input Low Power ... cannot tahan go back to krr... still alot cheaper then super4 cheers

http://i156.photobucket.com/albums/t28/Sonicgear85/54.jpg http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff205/evoaiwa/qw.jpg

Krr 150 Fx 25**Z >>> Oct 2004 -Aug 2006 <<<

Wave 125S Fx 86**Y >>> Aug 2006- ? <<<

Super 4 Spec 2 Fv 71**D >>>Jan 2007- July 2007<<<

Xr 4 Fq 28*S >>>July 2008- May 2008<<<

KTM 4 Fu17**L >>> May2008 - ? <<<

Originally posted by Sonicgear@April 09, 2007 01:41 pm

Plz la.... how can compare 4 piston and 1 piston.... Btw super4 is 1 of the best f.c in terms of 400cc... 290km blink is still alot better then rvf... 230-240km reserved... No such thing as want the power but scared F.C high...High Input High Power ... Low Input Low Power ... cannot tahan go back to krr... still alot cheaper then super4 cheers

agreed.

mine was 300km(15litres) when blinking.. normal city riding, vtec sometimes..

after some time, needed more power.. so tune till 260km for 15litres.. but for cruising only abt 150km - 160 km per 15litres... :sweat:

gonna change back already.. or you can try playing with the spockets for better FC..

you cant have best of both worlds:

GOOD PICKUP = POOR TOP END

GOOD TOP END = POOR PICKUP

GOOD FC = POOR POWER

GOOD POWER = POOR FC

BUT if you try to play ard with your jets, spockets, riding style, etc, you'll may find one combination that will suit you best.. it'll take time, but no harm trying..

Wah u tune until ur petrol so jialat huh.... play top speed or pick up??? i feel my bike no power need to tune back... but f.c quite good 320km with dyno and full system ride like crazy....but feel the bike pick up can be better....

http://i156.photobucket.com/albums/t28/Sonicgear85/54.jpg http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff205/evoaiwa/qw.jpg

Krr 150 Fx 25**Z >>> Oct 2004 -Aug 2006 <<<

Wave 125S Fx 86**Y >>> Aug 2006- ? <<<

Super 4 Spec 2 Fv 71**D >>>Jan 2007- July 2007<<<

Xr 4 Fq 28*S >>>July 2008- May 2008<<<

KTM 4 Fu17**L >>> May2008 - ? <<<

bro, must rem i got 3 H&B boxes.. no load already quite heavy, with clothes, spare parts and stuffs lagi jialiat..

i tune to pickup, i think now must tune back to top end for touring.. very siong if keep pumping petrol.. if can achieve 200+KM for touring at 150-160kph, i satisfied liao..

city riding hopefully will go back to 300KM..

Bro i got a brand new bike and its like drinking petrol way too much.... i used it for abt 3 mths... its a spec 3. My bike fuel gauge when it left one bar, i top up abt 13.87 litre of petrol, with that amount of petrol i covered 217 km.

Let say full tank 18 litre, my bike can go only 281 km. so 1 litre of petrol i can go only 15.64 km! Im using sg v power, riding style 100 km/hr to 120km/hr average, once in a while wack the bike.... I dont drag my gear so high.. issit normal guys?

Anyway im using ngk iridium plugs and pipercross air filter, maxima ultra, rest of it stock condition.. As for the precondition check of the bike, all in tip top condition.... Tyre pressure, chain slack, all maintained regularly..

Bro out there, i need ur advice... Should i sent my bike for a tuning? Aniway its a new bike, wats wrong? Im happy with my bike, its just the petrol part dats killing me!

Today i just pump shell 95, i goin to see how it fare... Keep u guys updated!

wow ur fuel compsumption really very low. my bike oso 3mths old my fuel is about 360km for 15L my bike is still stock. if ur bike is from boon siew 1 i think let ur baby go for checkup :sweat:

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff48/boonkeong_83/P1705080001-1-1.jpg

wow! 360 km for 15 litres! Tats very low..my consumption is high also..roughly 20km/l......haiz..

She waits for me patiently downstairs, thru rain and shine..Yet she never complains and serving me with loyalty..a true beauty that u will not regret...

Originally posted by NeEd FoR SpEeD@April 26, 2007 09:16 pm

Bro i got a brand new bike and its like drinking petrol way too much.... i used it for abt 3 mths... its a spec 3. My bike fuel gauge when it left one bar, i top up abt 13.87 litre of petrol, with that amount of petrol i covered 217 km.

Let say full tank 18 litre, my bike can go only 281 km. so 1 litre of petrol i can go only 15.64 km! Im using sg v power, riding style 100 km/hr to 120km/hr average, once in a while wack the bike.... I dont drag my gear so high.. issit normal guys?

Anyway im using ngk iridium plugs and pipercross air filter, maxima ultra, rest of it stock condition.. As for the precondition check of the bike, all in tip top condition.... Tyre pressure, chain slack, all maintained regularly..

Bro out there, i need ur advice... Should i sent my bike for a tuning? Aniway its a new bike, wats wrong? Im happy with my bike, its just the petrol part dats killing me!

Today i just pump shell 95, i goin to see how it fare... Keep u guys updated!

Seems like you like to constantly open vtec and thus the high FC...

Btw, what's your front and rear tyre pressure?

yeah bro seems like u open vtec too often liao

probably tat explains why

erm aniway i tink v-power kinda gets drained fast

dunno its me or happens to the rest too

No point tail-gating me.

Im already on the left lane.

which RPM do u change ur gear(s)?

http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:TU8QDjA-Of9VgM:http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/e/e2/That_%2770s_Show_logo.png

pls take note that vtec series, FC of 20km/l to 22km/l is normal. of cos more than 22km/l is a bonus. below that, shd take note of ur bike already.

cheers...

my onli clock 18km/l jus went to pput my main jet to smaller size now trying the fc

2004-2006(nsr sp fp4687l)

2006-2008(s4 ft5701b)

2008-current(cbr 1000 05 Fz4**8c)

Its is not something wrong with the bike that cause the heavy fuel consumption. Its your riding style.

100 - 120km/h is ur average speed :nono:

So i can assume once in a while u will wack til 150km/h at least.

It is known for a fact that once your vtec kicks in, the bike will drink petrol like noboby business. At the speed of 120km/h, a Super 4 will drink more petrol compared to a bigger bike like frazer 600.

So either lower your average speed or change to a bigger bike to get better petrol consumption.

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a380/VoxArcana/Forum%20Signatures/ManUtdChampions.png

2002 - 2004 HonDa SP

2004 - 2006 HoNdA S4 VtEc 1

2006 - 2007 YaMahA MaJesTy 250 MK2

2007 Current HoNDa SliVerWinG 400

Originally posted by keeok@April 27, 2007 11:25 am

maybe u should try tuning ur carb... that is where i noe how much petrol and air to mix and burn... juz suggesstion...

the carb should be fine bro. cos the bike is brand new.

http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:TU8QDjA-Of9VgM:http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/e/e2/That_%2770s_Show_logo.png