• Replies 99.2k

• pichudot

• innards

• maxxmadness

• bigman_185

Well btw,I would like to ask all you fellow Fazerians out here.How torquey can our bike gets?Say.. for a Fazer 1000?

I noe there are many things you can do so long your wallet is able to take the load.Be it mild or big,what are the things you guys have done?Have anyone really went all out to mod(increase your bike BHP/Torque??Things like

1)Air Filter

2)Power Commanders

3)Power Abuser/Ignite

4)Impedance stabilizer

5)Iridium Spark Plugs

6)Velocity Stacks

7)Aftermarket internals like lighter conrods,pistons,crankshaft etc..

Weight Saving mods thus increasing power to weight ratio like

1)BST Carbon wheels

2)Lighter flywheels

3)Full carbon fibre kits all over the bike

4)Remove unnnecessary weight from your bike

5)520 chain conversion with lighter aftemarket sprockets

I was just wondering.. Anyone out there??Thanks

Sori dude, not to spoil your mood of mod up your beloved FZ. Just like to share my views. I was like you at times but .....

How fast you want to go or how torquey you want you FZ to be? It's a FZ afterall. You should ask yourself, what you wish your FZ to be...like fuel saver, street fighter to 'kill' R1 & Busa anytime. :thumb: or in touring setup?

Ok for the above wish list there are a few which are essential (ok ok, some call it stage 1 mod, me no expert so let leave it as it is).

1. Power Commander - for Fuel / Air ratio setup for the type of ride power band you desire. Stock ECU not able to be done by user.

2. After market air filter - To compliment your PC play around effectively, my stock paper filter makes my FZ feels more pack on the power frequency,

3. Spark plug - Some extend to reason 2, but some mentioned, it will make your bike slightly powerful, me a sceptical on this reason though,

(Aftermarket air filter & plugs makes my bike 'soft' on pickup.)

4. IVAN's FCE - Heard that it will enchance for smoother ride, result can be seen best on 06 FZ, 07 FZ1 has improve ( i dun have this so can't comment much),

5. You will need the steering damper to catch the powerful beast you desired when facing crisis on the road,

6. after market pipe, let your Fz breathe better and to compliment reason 2 to get a full map onboard. I tuned with stock pipe, the ride improves too.

With these basic mod, your FZ is quite ok for daily riding. Good enough to cause a small havoc on the road. Unless you want it to be track goer, then the above mods you mention are very necessary. You have missed out the 'Fly' mod.

=========== Not so critical mods below for daily ride ==============

7. Velocity Stack - Not necessary, it only act slight effect on Fz in the mid range powerband. Price is not justifiable for this small gain,

8. You have power but no brakes... :angel: after market brake system is good to pull the beast to stop,

9. Shock & damper system for better cornering touch,

Lighter conrod, flywheel, carbon rims, crank shaft, race spec bearings, weight savers not so crucial if for daily commuting usage. You dun ride at 280kmph every minute on the road and not competing with anyone every road you go rite?

Note: Doing up all the fast mod will shorten the easy going life of your bike.

Carbon parts for me are for beautfy only, not much effect for daily usage. Unless my nemesis is V. Rossi every race. Then i will not riding FZ, i will be riding the M1.

If to have high power bike then R1 is the 1st choice.

Just my 2 cents. Hope you enjoy your FZ's rides.

Edited by Intruder

Practice make perfect....But since Nothing is perfect, Why practice so hard? by Cowboy Wong....

http://w2.bikepics.com/pics/2006/11/22/bikepics-729398-150.jpg

I didn't know I already in love with my Slow Little Greenie until recently almost selling her away...how can like that? :faint:

Have to agree with Intruder there. :angel:

FZ1 already has enough power. The chassis and suspension already can't really carry the bike through if you ride it hard, flat out. Seriously speaking.

Tried it already. No no no. The stock suspension setup is just plain terrible. And no amount of tweaking can get it properly setup. Mid-corner bumps make the bike wobble, and the fat bast@rd squats out of corner. :(

Before phucking with the power of the bike, sort out the handling first. The stock exhaust system is sufficient. I don't see the need for a FCE in the 08 and onwards Fazers (I can't speak for the 06 and 07). I don't notice or even feel the so called abrupt throttle that a lot of ppl speak of. Even midcorner gearshifts are fine by me so far. No lurching evident.

Where got? Where? Maybe the 08 is sorted out already? Or maybe we should all learn to better regulate the clutch and throttle before throwing money on aftermarket assists?

One thing I'm waiting for is my shock to totally go. 7 clicks out of 7 and it's still soft. Then it's time for an aftermarket rear shock. That should sort things out nicely.

So far I've put on braided hoses. Even then, with the brake span adjuster set to 1 (max) I still feel that the brake is lacking. A Brembo pump is also on the future list.

Suspension and brakes. More important than power.

Power is nothing without control.

Any more cons on FZ1 ? eg. Batt? Frame weldin? LV Curse? :lol:

11K OTR for a 07 model is a good buy? :cheeky:

The information contained in this post, including any attachments,may contain confidential information Copy of this post for any purpose other than viewing for entertainment is not allowed & shall encur a fine of no less than $500 & any court costs required. The courts take copyright violations seriously. Think twice.

Seems like a curse . :angel:

Just buy one and try. You will know.

But b4 u fix on the LV, PLEASE go buy additional insurance. Buy life ins, accident ins, hospitalisation ins for yrself and at the same time upgrade to 1st party ins for your bike. Good luck! :thumb: :angel:

Ok. I'm again not suggesting that there's any links between the "taboo" pipe and the following incidents. U all go decide for yrselves. For me its a matter of too many coincidences and that's something I'm not comfortable with. Again I'm stressing that not opting for the "taboo" pipe is my prerogative.

I can't mention the events or incidences here as it may affect the future sales of the bikes for the "parties" involved. But let's just say there's been 3 major crashes, 1 skid, and 1 total lost due to Arsonist.

If that track record dun speak volumes, I dun know wat else does. :thumb:

Nothing wrong with the pipes. Its the events & incidents that happen to those with the the pipes that's the problem. :thumb:

LV curse? :confused:

u mean u never heard of it?? :cheeky: sorry for diggin up old post, coz was doing some study on the pros and cons of the bike.. Considering 1 dats why.. Dunno if the curse till today stays or not.. :lol:

The information contained in this post, including any attachments,may contain confidential information Copy of this post for any purpose other than viewing for entertainment is not allowed & shall encur a fine of no less than $500 & any court costs required. The courts take copyright violations seriously. Think twice.

LV curse? :confused:

There was a saying..... there were 4 FZs all with Leo Vince exhaust mod.....all had tragic endings.... :cry::cry::(

1 got burn and 'die' in a big fire rage and left only 'bone' standing (FZ pre 06 model).

1 buanged with limping with broken 'bones' after extensive welding works done... :angel: :slapforehead:

The rest of the 2 not sure liao.. it's a legend or it's a myth of these 4 legendary FZs? Where are they now? hmm... :pity:

Hmm... and choi choi! No more no.5 liao. All the curses have been blown away with the 4 liao.. :bow:

The CONs of FZ1....

1. You will be riding a BBQ pit burning hot... (really hot, temp gauge shows 112deg on mine before, with the fan blowing.. Woo La La.. It's hot)

2. Fuel consumption is not so friendly. Given it is a detuned R1 engine, it still gups gaso hard like a thirsty monster for juice, (It's a big power plant, so it's normal)

3. 06 onwards may not have the best touring setup on the seating posture. But more aggressive posture is given for handling)

4. Battery- Yuasa YTZ14S... dry cell, cost minimum $165 (friendship price maybe), HL sell $250 each, (Not every month change batt so ok la... my bro got $80 from Boy for other alternative, my old batt used abt 1.5 yrs then kaput)

5. The notorious broken frame, subjective. But already a few broke liao. Hopefully 08 onwards can have better welding method, (This can be quite ball skrink acts)

6. Noisy fat mama, come back at 3 am in the morning, neigbour will know you are back, it has a rough 'heart' that churn out 140hp at crank. Quite impressive of it's class. (You will love the roar after sometime)

2006 saw the introduction of a completely new model. The main changes included a new chassis, suspension, body work and a completely new engine, never seen before in the big Fazer. This brought the bike up to date with modern rivals. There have been instances of fuel injection glitches on the new model, although there are various 'fixes' available. The 2007 and on models have resolved most of these early fuel injection problems. The 2006 model has a 998 cc DOHC 20-valve R1 engine, which produces 150 crank horsepower (118 to 122 wheel horsepower)at 11,000 rpm, set in an all-new compact aluminum frame. - from source

Edited by Intruder

Practice make perfect....But since Nothing is perfect, Why practice so hard? by Cowboy Wong....

I didn't know I already in love with my Slow Little Greenie until recently almost selling her away...how can like that? :faint:

u mean u never heard of it?? :cheeky: sorry for diggin up old post, coz was doing some study on the pros and cons of the bike.. Considering 1 dats why.. Dunno if the curse till today stays or not.. :lol:

We share the same story lines.... :cheeky::angel::cheeky::angel:

Whole night been reading all the post since last year.. most of it are TCSS :lol:

We share the same storyline.... We met somewhere some forum before? Sad to say the 3 out of 4 victims i know them.... 1 is still hagnign here some more.

SHHH!!!! THE CURSE!!!!

There was a saying..... there were 4 FZs all with Leo Vince exhaust mod.....all had tragic endings.... :cry::cry::(

1 got burn and 'die' in a big fire rage and left only 'bone' standing (FZ pre 06 model).

1 buanged with limping with broken 'bones' after extensive welding works done... :angel: :slapforehead:

The rest of the 2 not sure liao.. it's a legend or it's a myth of these 4 legendary FZs? Where are they now? hmm... :pity:

Hmm... and choi choi! No more no.5 liao. All the curses have been blown away with the 4 liao.. :bow:

The CONs of FZ1....

1. You will be riding a BBQ pit burning hot... (really hot, temp gauge shows 112deg on mine before, with the fan blowing.. Woo La La.. It's hot)

2. Fuel consumption is not so friendly. Given it is a detuned R1 engine, it still gups gaso hard like a thirsty monster for juice, (It's a big power plant, so it's normal)

3. 06 onwards may not have the best touring setup on the seating posture. But more aggressive posture is given for handling)

4. Battery- Yuasa YTZ14S... dry cell, cost minimum $165 (friendship price maybe), HL sell $250 each, (Not every month change batt so ok la... my bro got $80 from Boy for other alternative, my old batt used abt 1.5 yrs then kaput)

5. The notorious broken frame, subjective. But already a few broke liao. Hopefully 08 onwards can have better welding method, (This can be quite ball skrink acts)

6. Noisy fat mama, come back at 3 am in the morning, neigbour will know you are back, it has a rough 'heart' that churn out 140hp at crank. Quite impressive of it's class. (You will love the roar after sometime)

NBz... mai scare me leh. i LV user leh.

Ever seen 123c before on this firey monster.

Mine puts out 140bhp at the wheel. :angel:

We share the same storyline.... We met somewhere some forum before? Sad to say the 3 out of 4 victims i know them.... 1 is still hagnign here some more.

SHHH!!!! THE CURSE!!!!

the pioneer group of fz1 riders swear by it that we will never even consider LV..touch LV let alone use LV...unless you want major modification to your bike structure, outlook...:D

mai kong bo kong bo hor warning hor

want to know more, ask moderator racingter....:D

wanna ride with madness?

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f340/maxxmadness/madness00.jpg

Whole night been reading all the post since last year.. most of it are TCSS :lol:

you should consider reading 3 to 4 years ago postings, more TCSS to the point that at least 10 pages per day..that the nature of fazerians, they luv to talk so much that they have to meet at least 3 times weekly for kopis sessions..up to today, we are still doing it...:thumb:

wanna ride with madness?

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f340/maxxmadness/madness00.jpg

the pioneer group of fz1 riders swear by it that we will never even consider LV..touch LV let alone use LV...unless you want major modification to your bike structure, outlook...:D

erm.... i dont have much of a choice as i have OEM side cases leh. :sian:

Any more cons on FZ1 ? eg. Batt? Frame weldin? LV Curse? :lol:

11K OTR for a 07 model is a good buy? :cheeky:

11K OTR is a very good deal bro....:thumb:

Its abt time for you to UPGRADE!!!!!!!

Health Warning!

BootLicking is not good for your ASS!!!

Long time no c....any new gadget on ur yellow FZ1N?

My bike color is midnite black leh....hahahhaa!!!! Now loaded with ohlins and rizoma stuffs.

the pioneer group of fz1 riders swear by it that we will never even consider LV..touch LV let alone use LV...

Yeah. Me too.

Put LV on Fazer, very the Obiang one....

U see for yourself lor...

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_2CVCjbOaCZ4/SLttMH8yyYI/AAAAAAAAAqI/2W_jIVkFvVU/s400/Monogram+Canvas.jpg

Imagine this kind of paintjob! WTF! :faint:

guys, where/how u all hook ur helmet on ur fz1? newbie~

If you're using a full face helmet can use a heavy duty chain to chain the chin area of the FF to the handlebars or anywhere that fits.

Costs $20+ at the shop beside Regina that sells locks. Damn thick chain. At least got some deterence, considering H&B side panniers also can pry open with simple tools.

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

As the word saying....Try Try ...Dont think,Believe it for yourself!!!

you should consider reading 3 to 4 years ago postings, more TCSS to the point that at least 10 pages per day..that the nature of fazerians, they luv to talk so much that they have to meet at least 3 times weekly for kopis sessions..up to today, we are still doing it...:thumb:

Thats when mr "M' was in charge.

My bike color is midnite black leh....hahahhaa!!!! Now loaded with ohlins and rizoma stuffs.

hey bro care to exchange wit my Oems?:angel:

SHHH!!!! THE CURSE!!!!

Is the 1 Known as The "One"?:angel:

just came back from mustaffa centre....apperantly they do still carry stebel magnum horns...but upon reaching there, I observed they have a variety of horns:sian:

after a few minutes of thinking. bought the TM80/2 RED horns...

damage was $16. going down either to motoworld or unique tomorrow lunchtime to get it fix....

U should have gotten the slightly more ex one (silver/black) for like $1 more i think.

Have friends saying its better.