hi .. new to the world of cars , know nth about it even the paper wrks to buy a car .. wonder is it worth it to carry on my friend's wrx (NOT STI) .. mthly $880 .. comes with many accessories , (trust exhaust , tomei extractor , 6 speed gear box , brembo , blitz front mount .. many more .. (worth up to 20k) .. need opinions .. thanks alot ..

2005-Aprilia RS125 (FR2010s)

2006-Kawasaki KRR150 (FX1884L)

2007-Honda RVF (FP*0*0C) present..

BURN RUBBER NOT SOUL

• Replies 63

You didn't mention the loan period.

Just call me Eno.

8 Sep 2004 - ??? : Honda Phantom TA200

4 Oct 2005 - Feb 2006 : Honda FireBlade CBR400RR

Drivers and bikers look at the world from different angles. Don't believe? Just compare them in a corner...

Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... that's what gets you. - Jeremy Clarkson (Top Gear)

Originally posted by YoShiMurA_86@March 19, 2007 02:08 pm

hi .. new to the world of cars , know nth about it even the paper wrks to buy a car .. wonder is it worth it to carry on my friend's wrx (NOT STI) .. mthly $880 .. comes with many accessories , (trust exhaust , tomei extractor , 6 speed gear box , brembo , blitz front mount .. many more .. (worth up to 20k) .. need opinions .. thanks alot ..

First how much is he selling u in all?

2nd which yr is it?

3rd wat boost is he running on daily? More than 1.8bar?(many rexs blown their engines due to over boost)

If running high boost, are the pistons forged? engine block open deck or semiclose like the Stis? (If not pistons and conrods are very highly chance to be damaged or weak liow.)

Buying a Fully modified rex has many things to look into before commiting.

If not say bye bye to yr pockets to repair bills.

Make sure you check it out fully first before commiting to a potential time bomb. :sweat:

http://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/thumb-2007073020222028.jpghttp://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/thumb-2007073020120531.jpg
Originally posted by Enotsol@March 19, 2007 02:54 pm

You didn't mention the loan period.

the loan is 10 yrs .. now i think left 8 yrs plus ..

BURN RUBBER NOT SOUL

Originally posted by STi@March 19, 2007 08:19 pm

First how much is he selling u in all?

2nd which yr is it?

3rd wat boost is he running on daily? More than 1.8bar?(many rexs blown their engines due to over boost)

If running high boost, are the pistons forged? engine block open deck or semiclose like the Stis? (If not pistons and conrods are very highly chance to be damaged or weak liow.)

Buying a Fully modified rex has many things to look into before commiting.

If not say bye bye to yr pockets to repair bills.

Make sure you check it out fully first before commiting to a potential time bomb. :sweat:

its a 06 Wrx .. running on 1.2-1.3 boost .. just carry on installments .. no need pay upfront .. wat if i bore the pistons and conrod ?? will it hv more protection ?

BURN RUBBER NOT SOUL

Originally posted by YoShiMurA_86@March 19, 2007 10:32 pm

the loan is 10 yrs .. now i think left 8 yrs plus ..

sounds very worth it for only $880 montly, and with so much accessories.

but the thing is why is your friend selling?

you can consider taking over if the car condition is good.

anyway who is paying for the car?

Originally posted by minorsage@March 19, 2007 11:03 pm

sounds very worth it for only $880 montly, and with so much accessories.

but the thing is why is your friend selling?

you can consider taking over if the car condition is good.

anyway who is paying for the car?

he thought of changing to EVO or 350Z if there is someone to continue his current WRX .. tt is y i considering .. anyway those things mention r only like 1/4 of his accessories .. tt is still more like DEFI meters , boost controller etc ............

BURN RUBBER NOT SOUL

Don't forget your fuel consumptions, insurance and road tax... :goodluck:

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2009/07/09/bikepics-1722149-full.jpg

If It Ain't Scary, It Ain't Fast Enough
Originally posted by YoShiMurA_86@March 19, 2007 10:35 pm

its a 06 Wrx .. running on 1.2-1.3 boost .. just carry on installments .. no need pay upfront .. wat if i bore the pistons and conrod ?? will it hv more protection ?

First my fren. U dun bore the piston or conrods but rather u change them to forged and port polish yr heads. If u stick to the standard 99.5 piston size u wun need to bore the head.

The 2.5 rex has a relatively weak engine due to the aluminium pistons and compression ratio of 8.5:1 which is pretty high for a turbo charge car. there fore running more than 1.4bar will risk blowing yr pistons. Already a handful of 2.5 rxs in singapore blew their engines running at 1.7bar.

Changing the pistons and conrods to forge will not give you any problems if the workmanship is done properly and professionally. In fact it gives you more benefits than problems. By doing so u can safely run your car at 1.8bar without worrying that your pistons might go Piang... hehe In fact i would recomend it if u plan to go higher on the boost.

But my advice is to get use to watever power the car now has before going further. Handling a 200 over whp car is no easy and can be a dangerous weapon if not properly controlled as the wrx is famous for understeer.

Cheers..

http://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/thumb-2007073020222028.jpghttp://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/thumb-2007073020120531.jpg
Originally posted by Lion@March 20, 2007 02:26 am

Don't forget your fuel consumptions, insurance and road tax... :goodluck:

Judging from the mods the car should b doing about 7pluskm/litre.

Originally posted by STi@March 20, 2007 03:15 am

But my advice is to get use to watever power the car now has before going further. Handling a 200 over whp car is no easy and can be a dangerous weapon if not properly controlled as the wrx is famous for understeer.

Cheers..

Very good advice .........:thumb:

Just like how many people who move immediately from a 400cc to a 1000cc sportsbike also lose control.

To Yoshimura :- Do note that you will lose big money when you sell a full loan car whichever way you look at it. Be ready for that before you buy.

1stly...do you need the car? or rather..do you need such a powerful car?

if yes...can you afford it? will you sacrifice your social life/long term goals for it?

if both the answers are yes...then go for it lor...

owning a 4 wheeler is no joke...do your sums properly...

$880 + petrol + road tax [divided by 6 months] + insurance [divided by 12]

= your monthly expenses just for the car alone.

Not forgetting your parking fees, coupons, ERPs, summons [if you have]....

Honestly, you need to set a side at least $1.5k and above for your monthly affair with this car....

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2009/07/09/bikepics-1722149-full.jpg

If It Ain't Scary, It Ain't Fast Enough
Originally posted by Lion@March 21, 2007 01:07 am

$880 + petrol + road tax [divided by 6 months] + insurance [divided by 12]

= your monthly expenses just for the car alone.

Not forgetting your parking fees, coupons, ERPs, summons [if you have]....

Honestly, you need to set a side at least $1.5k and above for your monthly affair with this car....

Road tax is 2300++ a yr which amount to 191 a month.

Ins depends on age. I'm 30 and if without ncb is 2400 a yr. younger is more.

These 2 will amt to about 400 a month.

With that kind of mods, trust me yr petrol is no where low. 1 full tank of v power is bout 90++ dollars usually i pump about 40++ litres. Full is 60 litres. Full tank get you about 400km or less. 1 week 2 times u pump. 1 month about 800.

1.5k a month is not enough if the instalment is 880....... :sian:

Originally posted by archenemy@March 20, 2007 10:56 pm

1stly...do you need the car? or rather..do you need such a powerful car?

if yes...can you afford it? will you sacrifice your social life/long term goals for it?

if both the answers are yes...then go for it lor...

owning a 4 wheeler is no joke...do your sums properly...

if nv calculate properly the car ends up parked in the carpark, or worse case need to find another guy to COI. :giddy:

i love dividends.

Perhaps you would like to see the following breakdown

Insurance : S$220 per month

Petrol : S$600 per month

Road Tax : $130 per month

8 oil changes per year at $120 per oil change : S$80 per month

Change gear oil, diff oil every 20k km at $350 per change: S$60 per month

Tyres (Estimating at $1,000 for 4 pcs) :S$85 per month.

Change DOT5.1 brake fluid twice a year : S$25 per month

Monthly installment : S$880 per month

Parking: $65 per month

Total: $2,145.00

Does not include any mods, replacement of other wear and tear parts, etc.

Judging from the price, your friend should have taken a full loan for the car. The selling price of the car is approx. $75k currently (without taken mods into consideration) and he will need to fork out easily $13k in order to sell this car. I'm not too sure how you and him are going to work this out but what if after 6 months and you decided to call it quits? Will he be paying the $13k or will you be paying for it when he sells it? IF you are paying, then the total bill for driving 6 months is approx. $18k.

wow guys .. thank u for many of ur advices .. really appreciate it .. i will seriously consider it many times .. haha btw , if i'm not wrong he went for a dyno .. shows out 400+ horses .. on crank la .. nv drive a turbocharge car b4... wonder is it really tt difficult to control ?

BURN RUBBER NOT SOUL

Originally posted by Lmodel@March 21, 2007 08:41 am

IF you are paying, then the total bill for driving 6 months is approx. $18k.

let them BUY a great driving experience.

i love dividends.

Originally posted by YoShiMurA_86@March 21, 2007 09:59 am

wow guys .. thank u for many of ur advices .. really appreciate it .. i will seriously consider it many times .. haha btw , if i'm not wrong he went for a dyno .. shows out 400+ horses .. on crank la .. nv drive a turbocharge car b4... wonder is it really tt difficult to control ?

Ask him let u test drive his car b4 u decide on buying.

And there you have it. Dont really need to wonder no more.

http://www.buffalo-asia.com/index_img/asia/buffalo_logo.gif

http://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/Images/2008-YZF-R6-static-07_prv_tcm26-207736.jpg

hmm ... now my another friend tells me to buy 1st hand more worth it .. wrx price drop to 70k plus alrdy .. and he tells me still hv cashback money to maybe modify abit .. Btw wat is cashback huh ?? haha .. sorry ..

BURN RUBBER NOT SOUL

Ask yourself whether you are ready to own a car first... and work out how much you can afford to spend on a car with loads left over for yourself and other things.

Just call me Eno.

8 Sep 2004 - ??? : Honda Phantom TA200

4 Oct 2005 - Feb 2006 : Honda FireBlade CBR400RR

Drivers and bikers look at the world from different angles. Don't believe? Just compare them in a corner...

Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... that's what gets you. - Jeremy Clarkson (Top Gear)

Originally posted by YoShiMurA_86@March 21, 2007 04:21 pm

hmm ... now my another friend tells me to buy 1st hand more worth it .. wrx price drop to 70k plus alrdy .. and he tells me still hv cashback money to maybe modify abit .. Btw wat is cashback huh ?? haha .. sorry ..

WRX 2.5 before rebate - $81,500

Rebate or cash back - $3,000

Rebate or so call cashback is applicable only when you get loan and insurance from the finance/ insurance company authorised by Motorimage (in this case).

You can either choose to offset your original buy price, meaning to buy the car at $78,500.00 or to get the $3,000 cash and buy the car at $81,500.00 (LPPL, I know).

Usually, people whom take the cashback are those whom take a full loan for their car. Therewith, the interest rate at 3.5% shall comes up to $27,475 for a loan of $78,500 and the monthly instalment $883.50.

Back to the story:

Insurance : S$700 per month (for age 21, no NCD, 2yrs driving exp, approx. $8k/ yr)

Petrol : S$600 per month

Road Tax : $190 per month

8 oil changes per year at $120 per oil change : S$80 per month

Change gear oil, diff oil every 20k km at $350 per change: S$60 per month

Tyres (Estimating at $1,000 for 4 pcs) :S$85 per month.

Change DOT5.1 brake fluid twice a year : S$25 per month

Monthly installment : S$883 per month

HDB Parking: $65 per month (open carpark)

Total: $2,688.00

Does not include any ERP charges, Parking Coupon, Cashcard Parking, Summons, mods, replacement of other wear and tear parts, etc.

I'd advise you to set aside at least $3k if you are getting a brand new one.

Originally posted by YoShiMurA_86@March 21, 2007 09:59 am

hmmm...

400++ on the crank. First the stock clutch already cannot take it. Changing a after market ones to accomodate such power will cost u near 2k.

2ndly, the stock internals cannot take such power in the long run thus prepare to change internals to forge or forge engine block which will easily be min 3++k to 6+k.

in my advie i rather u get a new one. slowly get use to the 230 hourses on crank and up your power after getting use to it.

Learn to handle a 200+ bhp car before you handle a 400+ bhp car straight away. IT's dangerous.

Judging from yr post this migh be the first car u own. Thus stay alive and keep yr expensive pocession in 1 peice... :thumb:

For a 400HP car, I think he will need at least a front 6 pot and rear 4pot brake as well. Another $4k ~ $6k.

Actual, juz retune the ECU to upp it to 280HP.