Hi guys.. I just collected the bike this afternoon. Found the bike a little heavy though but think after some time will get used to..

When i brought the bike out of the shop onto the road, dunno why but the bike's engine somehow stall even when i pulled the clutch. Happened a few times on the road & it's both embarrassing & irritated.. When i try to start the engine, it's rather difficult & i have to rev & press the button..

For the engine stalling, has this got something gotta do with the idling speed? The mechanic dunno adjust what then can liao but i dare not take the chance so when i'm coming to a stop, i'll continue to rev a bit.

For the difficult starting of the bike, is it due to the battery? I asked them & they said that they got charge but dunno true or not lah.

Can someone please advise me on the above issues..

However 1 thing i'm very proud of, i installed 2 stebal horns & it's REALLY LOUD.. Confirm will make the drivers inside the car jump when i horn hahaha...

• Replies 4.4k

Hi guys.. I just collected the bike this afternoon. Found the bike a little heavy though but think after some time will get used to..

When i brought the bike out of the shop onto the road, dunno why but the bike's engine somehow stall even when i pulled the clutch. Happened a few times on the road & it's both embarrassing & irritated.. When i try to start the engine, it's rather difficult & i have to rev & press the button..

For the engine stalling, has this got something gotta do with the idling speed? The mechanic dunno adjust what then can liao but i dare not take the chance so when i'm coming to a stop, i'll continue to rev a bit.

For the difficult starting of the bike, is it due to the battery? I asked them & they said that they got charge but dunno true or not lah.

However 1 thing i'm very proud of, i installed 2 stebal horns & it's REALLY LOUD.. Confirm will make the drivers inside the car jump when i horn hahaha...

first of all, congrats on ur new bike!!:cheeky:

secondly, seems like matkental currently got the same problem as you, i dont know if he tried to troubleshoot it.

try adjusting ur idle speed a bit higher, can solve the problem. if not, then i suggest u check out other stuffs which i dont know?

dark mode, or light mode?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v241/one8tytwo/125ziblack.jpg

125zi

DARN.. I WANT STEBAL HORNS TOO! :dot:

will they pass inspection? my inspection is due i think i'll change mine after inspection to be safe. and by then, lets challenge the horn sound wahaha.. i'll install four!

idling speed can be adjusted using hand (if engine is cold) or a screwdriver with a "+" sign. sitting on the bike, its at the left side of the engine and i dont know how to explain lol so lets just leave it to the mechs or i shall show u if theres a pic of the engine.

battery thingy im not sure, ride it for a few days and see how. and yeah this bike IS heavy. i'm used to it! :thumb:

16043136772_a80daf3f36_h.jpg
DARN.. I WANT STEBAL HORNS TOO! :dot:

will they pass inspection? my inspection is due i think i'll change mine after inspection to be safe. and by then, lets challenge the horn sound wahaha.. i'll install four!

idling speed can be adjusted using hand (if engine is cold) or a screwdriver with a "+" sign. sitting on the bike, its at the left side of the engine and i dont know how to explain lol so lets just leave it to the mechs or i shall show u if theres a pic of the engine.

battery thingy im not sure, ride it for a few days and see how. and yeah this bike IS heavy. i'm used to it! :thumb:

on the left side, front portion. its at where ur carb is.

anyway, do u all know how heavy is ur comet 125?

125zi

yeah NELO, the horn is really loud but think 2 is enough already so if you install 4, the driver in the car will even hear you with the music blasting one hahaha... This stebal horn cannot pass inspection meh? Any requirements to meet?

As for the the idling speed i'm not too sure about it.. I remember than one of us riding this bike also got the same prob right but dunno how he solve it leh..

I noticed that the stock mirror really sucks.. Too small for me to see anything. Will be going to have it changed on Mon..

I just returned from East Coast ah, was travelling around 90+ to 100 and i feel that the bike not very stable or is it me who still dunno how to control the bike. Also, when cornering i dare not bank alot leh.. Any tips for me on how to be a better rider?

haha yah change change.. i changed mine not long after i bought my comet.

ah boy and regina both the same la. you can go there take a look..

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3291/2330243231_b24c33b415.jpg?v=0

i got this at ah boy around 2 months ago. $18 a pair, you wanna buy? cos i feel like changing mine. can sell you $10. haha almost new!

u sell yr side mirror already? If not i thought i wanna buy then...Pls email me at [email protected] ok!!!

:popcorn:
on the left side, front portion. its at where ur carb is.

anyway, do u all know how heavy is ur comet 125?

i see the service manual it says 167KG dry mass. so i guess after all the petrol and EO it should be around 180kg? haha. how about your ta200? its around the same right..

yeah NELO, the horn is really loud but think 2 is enough already so if you install 4, the driver in the car will even hear you with the music blasting one hahaha... This stebal horn cannot pass inspection meh? Any requirements to meet?

As for the the idling speed i'm not too sure about it.. I remember than one of us riding this bike also got the same prob right but dunno how he solve it leh..

I noticed that the stock mirror really sucks.. Too small for me to see anything. Will be going to have it changed on Mon..

I just returned from East Coast ah, was travelling around 90+ to 100 and i feel that the bike not very stable or is it me who still dunno how to control the bike. Also, when cornering i dare not bank alot leh.. Any tips for me on how to be a better rider?

haha i'm just joking about the four actually. i dont know leh i asked ah boy the other day he say 'should pass' but to be safe he told me why not after inspection then install to save trouble. i also duno the requirements to pass haha :cheeky:

idling speed you can try ask the mech to adjust for you. but for me, the mech adjust until too low (around 1.5k rpm when engine hot) so it keep stalling when engine is cold and idling.. so i adjust myself until higher - around 2k rpm when engine is hot. so when i start the engine from cold, it idles at around 1.3 - 1.5krpm without stalling. i think higher idling speed is ok except it burns more fuel (from what i feel). haha.

but hey s32 why your stock mirrors small? you sure they're stock? cos mine's HUGE. lol.

you'll gain more experience on the road after some time and that will make u a better rider. dont worry dude!!

Hi s32, congrats on getting ur license and bike..!

I am using Hella Twintone(I think), two snail lookalike kinda horn.. Very loud. Go inspection last dec, not problem at all... These kinda horn is still consider electric horn, not air horn.. :) By the way, which part of the bike was the horn fix at?

The stock mirror are big and rectangular.. IF not wrong, got the wording Hyosung at the plastic surface.. My mirror was too tight and eventually crack at the joint.. Becos of inconsiderate ppl twisting my mirror when they move their bike out.. :sian:

Hi Nelo & mattman, would like to check with you what is your idiling speed. When i start my bike, i gotta open the trottle when i wanna start the bike. Is there something wrong?

As for the mirror i think it's not stock cos there's no Hyosung wording behind the mirror. Dunno whether wanna change or not leh.

i see the service manual it says 167KG dry mass. so i guess after all the petrol and EO it should be around 180kg? haha. how about your ta200? its around the same right..

lol! my ta200 dry weight is 140kg as stated in the manual. but tt time i sat and try to tilt is on the left and right on matkental comet, i find it lighter than my phantom. lol maybe because of weight distribution tt makes my bike seems heavier. :lol:

125zi

bro, to be a better ride. all u have to do is ride safely. follow the dos and donts of riding on the road, apply what u have been taught in the riding school. when cornering u dont dare bank, be like me lah, jsut go into the corner slow, if ur friend leave u behind, nvm, later can catch up. better than u on the floor already, how to catch up? :sian: take sometime to understand ur bike, how it works and all. have fun riding bro!:cool:

125zi

u sell yr side mirror already? If not i thought i wanna buy then...Pls email me at [email protected] ok!!!

hey i'm still using the mirrors. planning to buy new ones but they are like $40 for a pair. quite ex so still considering. you PM me ur number if u wanna view k. if u really want then i sell. if not, i'll keep. haha.

Hi s32, congrats on getting ur license and bike..!

I am using Hella Twintone(I think), two snail lookalike kinda horn.. Very loud. Go inspection last dec, not problem at all... These kinda horn is still consider electric horn, not air horn.. :) By the way, which part of the bike was the horn fix at?

The stock mirror are big and rectangular.. IF not wrong, got the wording Hyosung at the plastic surface.. My mirror was too tight and eventually crack at the joint.. Becos of inconsiderate ppl twisting my mirror when they move their bike out.. :sian:

yeah my stock mirrors also big and rectangular. hyosung wordings behind u're right.

hmm hella twinstone, i shall keep a lookout. how much you spent on them ah?

lol! my ta200 dry weight is 140kg as stated in the manual. but tt time i sat and try to tilt is on the left and right on matkental comet, i find it lighter than my phantom. lol maybe because of weight distribution tt makes my bike seems heavier. :lol:

haha i rode my friend's phantom before. its much much more comfortable and it has more power. the overall feel of the bike is totally different from comet but weight wise seem almost the same to me haha. :cheeky:

hey s32. i think i have to same prob as u. hafta open a bit throttle to start.

if left to idle, engine will die by itself. so hafta rev for a while.

but this only happen in the morning lei. maybe i wanna adjust timing higher.

hey s32. i think i have to same prob as u. hafta open a bit throttle to start.

if left to idle, engine will die by itself. so hafta rev for a while.

but this only happen in the morning lei. maybe i wanna adjust timing higher.

yes bro, u gotta adjust a lil bit higher. can use screwdriver to adjust.

125zi

Hi Nelo & mattman, would like to check with you what is your idiling speed. When i start my bike, i gotta open the trottle when i wanna start the bike. Is there something wrong?

As for the mirror i think it's not stock cos there's no Hyosung wording behind the mirror. Dunno whether wanna change or not leh.

Hmm.. that time i say mine idling quite consistent.. average of about 1.3~1.5.. maybe i take back what i said.. hehehe.. recently paid abit more attention to the rpm, when start from cold, idling is about 1~1.3.. when after warm up, is around 1.5 loh..

Mirror wise, if u can see.. should be ok loh.. Most ppl say if u now change big one.. in future u will sure change to smaller and nicer looking one.. :)

hmm hella twinstone, i shall keep a lookout. how much you spent on them ah?

Hmm.. i got it for $25 at one car accessories shop, near middle road..It was a bought on impulse kinda thing.. Installation at another workshop cost me another 25..

On hindsight, $25 for the horn isnt that cheap, there should be other places(maybe mustafa?) selling cheaper.

Installation of $25 is a slight rip off. Frd say usual market rate is only like $10~15.. Ask before buying or installing..

decibels of both horns..

Stebel Magum - 136db - price range is around $20

Hella Twintone - 110db - price i buy is $25

me and frd made a comparison.. both horns are loud... alot louder than the stock horn.. but i cant really seems to tell the diff of the 26db..

Hmm.. i got it for $25 at one car accessories shop, near middle road..It was a bought on impulse kinda thing.. Installation at another workshop cost me another 25..

On hindsight, $25 for the horn isnt that cheap, there should be other places(maybe mustafa?) selling cheaper.

Installation of $25 is a slight rip off. Frd say usual market rate is only like $10~15.. Ask before buying or installing..

decibels of both horns..

me and frd made a comparison.. both horns are loud... alot louder than the stock horn.. but i cant really seems to tell the diff of the 26db..

yes bro, mustafa cheaper for stebel horn. 16 bucks or 16.90 buckaroos. loud enough for anybikes.

125zi

haha yeah i heard that mustafa sells bike horns at good price.

after my inspection next week, i shall start changing whatever. haha..

decibels of both horns..

btw matmann how you and your friend compare the horns man.. park side by side and start pressing the horns ah?? hahahaa :cheeky:

hey mattman8881, tat time u were considering knn filters rite? any news on tat? how much was the price? cos i'm thinking of fixing one as well..

http://www.nea.gov.sg/cms/mss/gif/rainloc0.gif

"Riding a slow bike fast is always more fun than riding a fast bike slow."

btw matmann how you and your friend compare the horns man.. park side by side and start pressing the horns ah?? hahahaa :cheeky:

Actually it was really something like that.. but we did not press together... either one of us go first.. But we stop shortly, cos we were too near ppl house.. Scared ppl complain..

hey mattman8881, tat time u were considering knn filters rite? any news on tat? how much was the price? cos i'm thinking of fixing one as well..

I ask around.. got two option:

Modd my current air filter to K&N type (K&N dun have for comet).

~ I went HKL, the mech took it and see.. Say this one cannot modd...

~ Went another shop, mech say maybe can use K&N air filter of other bike to modd.. Mech then say but the price end up no worth it..

BMC Air Filter for Hyosung Comet.

~Ask HKL, they say BMC dun have for comet. (so clever)

~email and call Motorworld(BMC Distributor in SG), Cost about $170. Need to go down to pay deposit.

~Or get online from overseas.. price est to be about 150~160..

So end up never buy at all.. too ex for a 2B.. How about urs? K&N available for roadwin?