What licence would you take?  

212 members have voted

1. 1. What licence would you take?

• Class 3A (automatic car)?
    • Class 3 (manual and automatic car)?

I say take class 3 if you can, even though there are many auto cars in SG.

Isnt it always better to be able to drive both manual and auto?

You ability to choose a vehicle for driving is limited. For class 3, any vehicle under cl3 cat, also can drive, be it car, pickup, van or lorry.

Just my opinion...

Same theory as having a Cl2 and riding a 2b bike, people ask me why, same theory, if I see a bike I like, I can buy it anytime and ride it, as long as I can afford, and not see and cannot ride.

• Replies 126

i would advise to go for class 3 also...

you never know when you need to drive a manual car...why restrict yourself?

for example...if you were to rent a car...you can drive both kinds...

if for some reason or another...you have to drive someone else's manual car in an emergency...you being able to drive a manual car might save that person's life...

a bit extreme..but you never know...

i told my girlfriend to take class 3...

Originally posted by Touch n Go@Dec 3 2005, 10:08 AM

i have a question, if u have clz 3a and want to take clz 4n5, do u have to retake clz 3???? o_O

yes u got to retake your Class 3, cost it is stated clearly u got to have Clz3 in other to get your Clz 4 and 5

http://www.motorcycledaily.com/070804middle.jpg

i think i speak generally for the men...They will prefer driving manual cars rather than auto....where's the fun of driving an auto car...auto car is like those bumper cars at FunFairs. :thumb: ..Unless those ah pek ah pek retired already good reason driving auto cars... Young man driving auto cars...i donno lah...But these days also everywhere u go,any car showroom.can say 70% is auto cars...I just hope they don phase out the manual cars like 2stroke bikes.

http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k74/waklabib/esso.jpg

I just broke my record for JB-KL timing

Class 3... bcos cost of maintaining a auto car is higher than manual car.... also class 3 is 2 in 1 leh... whereas 3a can only drive 1 type of car(auto).. not practical lo.... next time need take class 3 again must retake lesson n test again.. might as well all @ 1 go.. no need troublesome.

Also manual is more fun than auto... auto is meant for "lady" drivers..

http://sg.geocities.com/cheekychili/blinkieeeyoremoods1su.gif

I would definately prefer class 3 agree points highlighted like many of you all, but ...

Say in this given situation (where one shares a car with their family members), I guess I will buy an auto car coz at the very least, my aged parents/ or spouse will find the convenience to operate the car... unless it is solely for oneself use.

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/28/97/2817982/2960842392146l.jpg

I wouldn't agree that learning auto is meant for "ladies". It all depends on what the person wants. Some ppl may never need to drive a lorry or van. They may prefer to drive a Mercs or BMW which is auto and just as fast and luxurious.

i'm going for my class 3 tp next week bbdc..any tips?

very scared dunno y..class2b-class 2 no problem..only for class 3 aiyoo stress..maybe more expensive. :help:

for me i got my class 3 in 2003... will still take class 3 if tat time got 3 and 3A... haha, personal preference... 3A only can drive auto whereas 3 can drive any cars, can play wif the manual oso... more fun!!!

class 3 -- 8 dec 2003

class 2b -- 23 mar 2004

class 2a -- 20th june 2006

ASRock 939 Dual-SATA2 (Asus A7M266)

Athlon64 4400+ (1.4Ghz athlon)

Corsair 2 x 1Gb DDR400 (UCCC chips)

40Gb maxtor ata133(6L040J2) & 80Gb maxtor sata1

500gb seagate sata2

NVIDIA 8600GT & LG 1950H

TDK cyclone(int) & TDK dvd-rw

I'll still opt for Class 3 Manual......more flexible...... :smile:

Games Completed:

<u>PSOne</u>

1. Final Fantasy 9

2. Silent Hill I

3. Lunar II

4. Tale of Destiny

5. Beyong the Beyond

6. Legend of Legaia

<u>SNES</u>

1. Lufia 1 & 2

2. BOF 1 & 2

3. Secret of Stars

4. Mystic Quest Legend

5. Bahamut Lagoon

6. Tenchi Muyo

Finally i pass my class3 test..1st timer. Very lucky that day super heavy rain not much traffic not much pedestrian..tester also good mood.

human are greedy, if paying one price can drive 2 kind of cars, why not?

but i must agreed that having class 3A is a gd move, jus like one of my friend who never pay class 3 for 5yrs, more than 10 times exp, ( pycho motor prob )

now having class 3A have save him, happily buy a air-trek turbo. i felt happy

for him too. but some time we went malaysia and around the country side area, let him try my REX, he stil can't make it... laugh until tears down down my cheek.

Got driving license at CDC 6 years ago :cheeky:

I think class 3 is better than class 3A, since class 3 can drive class 3A too, but class 3A cannot drive class 3. Moreover class 3 can upgrade to class 4 & class 5. For those intend to drive lorry, van & taxi, I think you must get class 3 :giddy:

But some of you maybe wanna be a license collector, you may wish to get 2B/2A/2/3A/3/4/5/taxi driver/omibus driver.... :faint:

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv331/5ton/57259_471404029449_5144815_o12.jpg

Current ride: Harley Wide Glide, Aprilia Tuono V4R

class 3 can drive manual and auto while class 3a only auto... i think it best to take class 3...cos sometime when in need for u anytime without considering u can juz drive the car..... examples: when yr friend is drunk, u can help to drive. when u r jobless u can work as a driver too.keep the license for the rainny day............hope u understand wat i am trying to say...........all the best...........................................................................

:thirsty: :thirsty: :thirsty: :thirsty:

Life is a Journey.

Take a Joy ride.

17/04/03-10/12/04 Yamaha Rxz 133cc

10/12/04-25/03/08 Honda Phantom TA200

25/03/08-Till now Piaggio X8 200cc

Don't Quit Cos Every Obstacle Is A Stepping Stone To Success!!!

Class 3 is recognizable if convert to International lisence while 3A is just for use in S'pore. Well, 3A is good enough though since much of the cars available are auto but learning manual is more challenging...

Current bike : Wave R From Feb '07..

Personally.. class 3 coz you get the best of both worlds.. manual and auto..

unless looking ahead, you confirm driving auto the rest of your life, then save some time and $$, go for the auto license..

Melting under blue skies

Belting out sunlight

Shimmering love

Originally posted by SDR@Nov 25 2004, 05:19 PM

LPPL thing, unless u r really very sure they will scrap all manual car, lorry, van and etc... in future, if not, y waste $.

But think of it, y didn't introduce 2BA, automatic bike to encourage gals to take bike lic. Then we can hv more cute gals on the road.

At least, we might hv chance to meet 1 in workshop, something really nice to look at during our boring wait.

yes! precisely. who knows in future u might want/need to drive manual car.

If there were dreams to sell, what would you buy?

driving a manual will be better , can drift and can use as engine braking too

if pass on manual class 3 , you are allow to drive a auto too

while class3A are not allowed

:dozed: :dozed:
  • 8 months later...