Insurance - General Enquiry

Originally posted by khboo512@Aug 29 2005, 07:18 PM

insurance companies uses the points system to charge you the rate of the insurance. they take into account how old are you, years of riding experience, how old is the bike, capacity of the bike, working indoors or outdoors etc. So far if i am not wrong ntuc is the cheapest. if you buy from ntuc yourself the insurance they will give you 10% discount, go check it out at their website. i got mine for my vtec1 for $560 2nd party 21yrs old one month ago.hope can let you understand better....and correct me if i am wrong.

around my age also..hmm..so now i noe roughly how much i need b4 i buy S4..cos mt 2A TP comin soon..:cheeky: i also aimin vtec-1

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o3/d3an_cain/FZ-1S/385677_10150750269527550_501922549_9854539_2138314152_n-1.jpg

http://images.redop2.multiply.com/image/b8SD0QJnMUnxGv+Dp320mg/photos/1M/300x300/2590/RedopII-logo.jpg?et=kJJjj8slm46j7tujy58%2Byg&nmid=0

[/center]

• Replies 733

Guest stanboy81
Originally posted by Goodfella@Aug 30 2005, 01:53 AM

yea very correct.

juz called them juz now for a quotatn. was quoted $495 TPFT (after the extra 10% off u get if u go to dem directly). 22yrs old w/2yrs riding exp

but for bikes still under hire purchase, its a case by case basis if u want TPFT or 3rd Party. Comprehensive can.

I was quotated $808 after 10% NCD for TPFT!! hw cum urs so cheap? I'm 24yrs old with 2yrs++ exp

Originally posted by enHANZed@Aug 28 2005, 08:39 PM

bike under installment MUST renew from moto diam ah ?

Not necessary. Coz when ur ins is abt to expire, e ins coy will send a letter to u, informing u to renew it.

But if I'm not wrong, some bikeshops hv such policy of renewing ins for HP bikes.

If they nv say, juz renew urself lor. Can save on e misc fees which bikeshops will charge..

Originally posted by stanboy81@Aug 30 2005, 09:37 AM

I was quotated $808 after 10% NCD for TPFT!! hw cum urs so cheap? I'm 24yrs old with 2yrs++ exp

siao liao really? mb cld be due to age of bike? mine reg Sept 01.

Originally posted by Xiaozhu@Aug 30 2005, 09:53 AM

Not necessary. Coz when ur ins is abt to expire, e ins coy will send a letter to u, informing u to renew it.

But if I'm not wrong, some bikeshops hv such policy of renewing ins for HP bikes.

If they nv say, juz renew urself lor. Can save on e misc fees which bikeshops will charge..

my Ins coy (AXA) only sent the renewal notice to my motordiam which in turn tells me dat i HAVE to renew my ins thru dem.

but e NTUC Income customer svc officer told me dat i can renew with dem directly. catch is, i need my renewal notice.

haizz.. gg dwn to e motordiam to settle dis soon ley.

Juz renew my insurance ....previously is under mitsui ... juz changed to ntuc ...3rd party $339 ...btw im 23 this yr..

http://static.wholivesnearyou.com/carpark/dennicyeo36.jpg

I am not sure but that time i asked, Motordiam said they 'preferred' insurance go through them if its on Hire Purchase so easier for them to keep track if the bike is insured.

Guest enHANZed

so is it still a must to go thru motodiam when under hire purchase ?

Originally posted by ngws77@Aug 30 2005, 06:57 PM

I am not sure but that time i asked, Motordiam said they 'preferred' insurance go through them if its on Hire Purchase so easier for them to keep track if the bike is insured.

Bike under HP, the likely reason is that the 1st year insurance commission goes to the bike shop tat's y when one tries to renew himself, the agent will ask u go back to yr bikeshop to get it renewed. Subsequent year u shd be able to renew yrself. As for the service charges it not really much...shd be less than $10. :cheeky:

Originally posted by ^NiC82@Aug 30 2005, 06:45 PM

Juz renew my insurance ....previously is under mitsui ... juz changed to ntuc ...3rd party $339 ...btw im 23 this yr..

whoah! if ur 23 this year... and the age grp is 21-25.. then 3rd party oso same lah! hmm.. funny... cos there's this guy wanting to sell his bike.. saying that he just renewed his ins.. age is 25, paid $700+ for TPFT! so he wanted to add me as subrider.. he was the one claiming that all ins now are raised. So got abit shocked u see, that why doing a survey here. Maybe i was a potential kenna cheated guy. Who knows after paying all those months for his bike(COI bike), he take back, leaving me at a loss. So maybe this is a blessing in disguise. anyway.. confirm ah 3rd party $339?? Foolamak... power. Cant wait to buy ins :giddy:

yeah, NIC is my friend. He told me his insurance 3rdparty costs him $339 =) Maybe u can call the insurance company up, they can give u quotes..

ヨシ*ラジャパン

Ride Safely as Always, my friends.

any shop recommended 2 buy vtec?

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o3/d3an_cain/FZ-1S/385677_10150750269527550_501922549_9854539_2138314152_n-1.jpg

http://images.redop2.multiply.com/image/b8SD0QJnMUnxGv+Dp320mg/photos/1M/300x300/2590/RedopII-logo.jpg?et=kJJjj8slm46j7tujy58%2Byg&nmid=0

[/center]

usually ppl in SBF need full cash..i don't hav enough leh..:sweat:

[/center]

Originally posted by mat_dodol@Aug 30 2005, 08:34 PM

whoah! if ur 23 this year... and the age grp is 21-25.. then 3rd party oso same lah! hmm.. funny... cos there's this guy wanting to sell his bike.. saying that he just renewed his ins.. age is 25, paid $700+ for TPFT! so he wanted to add me as subrider.. he was the one claiming that all ins now are raised. So got abit shocked u see, that why doing a survey here. Maybe i was a potential kenna cheated guy. Who knows after paying all those months for his bike(COI bike), he take back, leaving me at a loss. So maybe this is a blessing in disguise. anyway.. confirm ah 3rd party $339?? Foolamak... power. Cant wait to buy ins :giddy:

Maybe you got it right but it was just a 'typo' on your part. Just making sure that you did not confuse the two.

Third Party Fire and Theft (TPFT) does not equal Third party. TPFT is the so called "Second Party" if i am not wrong. Just Third Party does not cover Fire and Theft.

Originally posted by ngws77@Sep 1 2005, 12:19 PM

Maybe you got it right but it was just a 'typo' on your part. Just making sure that you did not confuse the two.

Third Party Fire and Theft (TPFT) does not equal Third party. TPFT is the so called "Second Party" if i am not wrong. Just Third Party does not cover Fire and Theft.

Hi ppl,

when u buy bikes from shops and u paying by installments, the bike shops select the insurance from a list of companies.

The insurance quoted from there is very high. I don't know exactly why, do they get a cut?...etc

But if u r the owner of the bike (bike is fully paid and under ur name), the insurance is much cheaper.

You will be very surprised/ shocked at the difference.

Do ur sums before deciding whether to pay off the bike or by instalments. U might save ALOT if u bite the bullet and just buy the bike over.

Insurance under hire purchase will kill you man...

Originally posted by ngws77@Sep 1 2005, 12:19 PM

yes...mi insurance is 3rd party... nt 3rd party wif fire and theft ...thts 2nd party liaoz....if u wan 2nd party would cost arund $500++

yes...mi insurance is 3rd party... nt 3rd party wif fire and theft ...thts 2nd party liaoz....i think 2nd party would cost arund $500++... dun b mistaken wif 3rd party and 3rd party fire and theft... :)

Originally posted by Hell Angel@Sep 15 2005, 11:50 PM

I am going to renew my insurance soon.Anyone know which company offer the lowest rate for superfour and steed?

it depends...

how old ru?

how long it ur riding experience?

Nw new law states that depends on ur age & riding experience... No longer able to use owner( ah lau experience ) but rather youngest rider rider preferences..

What insurance u using nw?

Common companies:

1) NTUC

2) Mitsui

3) AXA/ AIG

P.S: May be you can go to your bike shop to check the current rates...

Ciao

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii175/yancurly8/SIGNATURE2.jpg
Originally posted by yancurly8@Sep 17 2005, 10:09 PM

it depends...

how old ru?

how long it ur riding experience?

Nw new law states that depends on ur age & riding experience... No longer able to use owner( ah lau experience ) but rather youngest rider rider preferences..

What insurance u using nw?

Common companies:

1) NTUC

2) Mitsui

3) AXA/ AIG

P.S: May be you can go to your bike shop to check the current rates...

Ciao

Currently is AIG.Will check with my shop.:thumb: