[Group] Suzuki SV 400/650/1000

Metalfyre

Originally posted by weiz85@Feb 2 2006, 03:27 PM

i see.

i see the diagrams, i also blur haha

Projecter Lamps ain't crappy man, reminds me of HID lamps...

You see the diagram blur, I see NEO's diagram lagi blur...

Hi Neo, many thanks for your help for drawing and scanning this, I think you have gone thru alot of trouble to do this. But I'll need some time to digest them...

• Replies 5.2k

Dude, I did not produce the diagram.. got it of a web site...

nEO suggestion is good... no connection complication between the high and normal beam.

But both way, you risk screwing up the cabling... as you need cut open the tape and find the correct wire and wire them correctly to a pair of relay... Not easy, but also not too difficult :goodluck:

If got time we explore together? :thumb:

91-92: 84 Yam LC125

95-97: 88 Suz GSX400R & 88 GSX400FW

97-01: 95 Suz Bandit400

01-04: 96 Suz DR650SE

04-11: 99 Suz SV650S

05-05: 94 Suz DR200SE

06-16: 06 Kia Rio 1.4(M) Sedan

11-12: 02 BMW F650GS

12-16 01 BMW R1150GS

When- Burgman Tmax ??

Originally posted by Limsteel@Feb 2 2006, 04:49 PM

Dude, I did not produce the diagram.. got it of a web site...

nEO suggestion is good... no connection complication between the high and normal beam.

But both way, you risk screwing up the cabling... as you need cut open the tape and find the correct wire and wire them correctly to a pair of relay... Not easy, but also not too difficult :goodluck:

If got time we explore together? :thumb:

Yes please, I really need some help, any weekend is good for me. The more I look at the diagrams, the more I want to give up... I'm the kind who can connect a + to a + before, got phobia liao... Didn't know they can evaporate copper wires in a flash.

There are only 3 wires for H4 bulbs, or in the JDM model, even easier cos lowbeam and highbeam are seperated.

A multimeter and 5 minutes is all it takes to figure out which wire is which. :thumb:

Originally posted by nE0@Feb 3 2006, 01:37 AM

There are only 3 wires for H4 bulbs, or in the JDM model, even easier cos lowbeam and highbeam are seperated.

A multimeter and 5 minutes is all it takes to figure out which wire is which. :thumb:

Yes, its a dual filament H4. According to the chart, there are 3 wires connecting to each H4 bulb, Yellow, White and Black w/white tracer. Is the Black w/white tracer the groud wire?

Originally posted by KooTeowMan@Feb 3 2006, 10:24 AM

Yes, its a dual filament H4. According to the chart, there are 3 wires connecting to each H4 bulb, Yellow, White and Black w/white tracer. Is the Black w/white tracer the groud wire?

From what I know, White is lowbeam, yellow is highbeam, black is ground.

But do confirm with a Multimeter first, cos different bikes might have different wire colors.

it seems really funny to say this..

i have never gotten such problems b4 on my phantom..

it has nothing to with my current sv..

but lots to do with other road users who look at me and my sv.. so confused..

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11337/tri_daytona675.jpg

counting down again to the final class of license..

riding.. freedom.. it comes together..

Originally posted by KooTeowMan@Feb 4 2006, 10:40 AM

What problems?

a lot of lacer~ get wat i mean :sweat:

i do nothing they also purposely highbeam at me from behind, come beside me, stare at me, then cut my lane~ :mad:

Originally posted by KooTeowMan@Feb 5 2006, 01:36 AM

Nobody disturb me lei...

Try putting a box, it may help...

quite firm on this.. no box for me..

went to chiap lee today, looking at a givi tank bag.. for $95..

wondering if i can get cheaper ones..

Originally posted by hart@Feb 4 2006, 11:17 AM

a lot of lacer~ get wat i mean :sweat:

i do nothing they also purposely highbeam at me from behind, come beside me, stare at me, then cut my lane~ :mad:

never happened to me b4

er u dun let them go beside u lor...go faster!!! hahaha

Postman Eating Inc*

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a208/murano04sfs/38y29ty14.gif

http://4gifs.com/gallery/d/155006-1/Mascot_scares_girl.gif

Squid defination: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=squid

A quick check with guys here. I've changed my front signal light to those aftermarket (flat LED, stick on fairing type). Any problem clearing the vehicle inspection?

Appreciate some feedback.

:bouncefire: :bouncefire: :bouncefire:

http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j259/SV650_photos/P1140039.jpghttp://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j259/SV650_photos/P1130008.jpg

hello, sorry to interrupt you all...hehe..:sweat:

i want to ask you about this tl1000 bike..... it looks good, has a twin engine, sounds good, isnt a honda, looks good, sounds good....did i mention the twin engine?o_O

anyway the thing is....i saw an ad where this dude is selling his tls....

... i think its a 97 or 98 model....

ive done some research on the net & found out about the weird clutch slipping, oil splurting, weird rear rotary shock, tankslapping problem (tankslap could be a myth or due to tremendous torque...:thumb: )

I want to ask you fellows seeing as how you ride sv's which are the closest relatives of the tls & tlr, how you guys go about the maintenence of your bikes? & what do you guys think of the tls & the tlr? are they solid bikes? where to go for servicing & parts?

the guy selling his tls quite reasonable....somemore its a one of a kind rare bike.....

ah... one more thing...can the bike handle a good thrashing? i mean weekend pg or trunk roads...the bike can tahan?o_O

***Only 1 image allowed in signature***

http://bp0.blogger.com/_ES9JRO6fI4g/RgUtxP7he2I/AAAAAAAAAdM/80dbjgjm04U/s320/North+Thai+Laos+454.jpg

http://pistolwhipsite.blogspot.com/

Originally posted by snailgun@Feb 6 2006, 09:08 AM

ive done some research on the net & found out about the weird clutch slipping, oil splurting, weird rear rotary shock, tankslapping problem (tankslap could be a myth or due to tremendous torque...:thumb: )

The problems you stated are very true...

Although somewhat similiar, its quite a different package from the SV. Its one of the first fuel injection bikes in the market and thus has its own bugs.

This bike is nick named the widow maker in Europe because of its poor handling, due to the rear rotary suspension. Combine that with an explosive torque, you'll get tankslappers and high siders. Being so, I don't think its a fun bike on PG.

Engine wise, its one of the best, being used in many bike model. But I had heard one case where the piston ring slipped. That rider had pushed his TLR to 280kph.

There's a separate forum here for TLs/r, I think. Better to check with them for 2nd opinion...

This bike is nick named the widow maker in Europe because of its poor handling, due to the rear rotary suspension. Combine that with an explosive torque, you'll get tankslappers and high siders. Being so, I don't think its a fun bike on PG.

ahhh mannnn....ceh....:weep:

Engine wise, its one of the best, being used in many bike model. But I had heard one case where the piston ring slipped. That rider had pushed his TLR to 280kph.

There's a separate forum here for TLs/r, I think. Better to check with them for 2nd opinion...

whoa....but im not surprised that it blew a ring.....thats what happens when you start looking for the wrong thing in the wrong place...twins arent made for high speed....nevertheless, what is surprising is that it handles oddly......one would think a v twin could corner like a razorblabe cutting butter...but this thing tankslaps?.....:faint: sad... :weep:

i read some articles....most actually... praising the sv650 for the engine & handling....superb bike that one..... :thumb: :thumb:

Anyway, now it seems my only other alternative is a chunky, plastic, common fireblade or gixxer type of bike.....easy to maintain, upgrade, reliable, blah blah blah...what a total bore....:faint:...

i really want the TL....:sweat:

***Only 1 image allowed in signature***

http://bp0.blogger.com/_ES9JRO6fI4g/RgUtxP7he2I/AAAAAAAAAdM/80dbjgjm04U/s320/North+Thai+Laos+454.jpg

http://pistolwhipsite.blogspot.com/

Originally posted by snailgun@Feb 6 2006, 10:41 AM

ahhh mannnn....ceh....:weep:

whoa....but im not surprised that it blew a ring.....thats what happens when you start looking for the wrong thing in the wrong place...twins arent made for high speed....nevertheless, what is surprising is that it handles oddly......one would think a v twin could corner like a razorblabe cutting butter...but this thing tankslaps?.....:faint: sad... :weep:

i read some articles....most actually... praising the sv650 for the engine & handling....superb bike that one..... :thumb: :thumb:

Anyway, now it seems my only other alternative is a chunky, plastic, common fireblade or gixxer type of bike.....easy to maintain, upgrade, reliable, blah blah blah...what a total bore....:faint:...

The SV is totally different from the TL, the chassis, the engine and the suspension, total different package but still the V-twin fun. Just that it does not have the punch of a litre engine. Not all V twins handles like what you mentioned, i.e. Harleys?

Check out the SV650k2 for sale on top of this page, quite a good deal I think. Go for a test ride.

Originally posted by snailgun@Feb 6 2006, 09:08 AM

i want to ask you about this tl1000 bike..... it looks good, has a twin engine, sounds good, isnt a honda, looks good, sounds good....did i mention the twin engine?o_O

anyway the thing is....i saw an ad where this dude is selling his tls....

... i think its a 97 or 98 model....

I want to ask you fellows seeing as how you ride sv's which are the closest relatives of the tls & tlr, how you guys go about the maintenence of your bikes? & what do you guys think of the tls & the tlr? are they solid bikes? where to go for servicing & parts?

the guy selling his tls quite reasonable....somemore its a one of a kind rare bike.....

ah... one more thing...can the bike handle a good thrashing? i mean weekend pg or trunk roads...the bike can tahan?o_O

sounds like you want a track tool. If thats the case you're better off with a GSX.

Get an SV if you want an excellent street bike, good tourer and decent occasional track bike.

If you want a V-Twin for the track? A duke or SP2 :cheeky: Not sure about the TL though, you should check with the TL forum guys.

I like the looks of the TL-S though (not TL-R). :lovestruck:

Originally posted by snailgun@Feb 6 2006, 10:41 AM

The SV actually came out after the TL...so you can consider the bike to be an improvement of its predecessor...

In fact, in the Fast Bikes review on naked bikes, the SV1000 actually beat the kawa z1000 in everything else except all out straight blasts, which is kinda expected comparing a 1000cc twin and an inline 4...

Why go for the old, buggy TL when you can go for the more recent SV that has more or less solved the tankslapping problems? There's the really trick fully faired SV1000 available... :thumb:

Postman Eating Inc*

Originally posted by SV650@Feb 6 2006, 12:49 AM

A quick check with guys here. I've changed my front signal light to those aftermarket (flat LED, stick on fairing type). Any problem clearing the vehicle inspection?

Appreciate some feedback.

:bouncefire: :bouncefire: :bouncefire:

don't think will have problems la...

Postman Eating Inc*

Originally posted by nE0@Feb 3 2006, 08:06 PM

From what I know, White is lowbeam, yellow is highbeam, black is ground.

But do confirm with a Multimeter first, cos different bikes might have different wire colors.

Hi Lim and Neo,

after some thinking, I decide it.

And after 4 long hours in the void deck twisting and cutting the wires, it finally it worked!

Thanks for the advice guys, now, I just hope I do not get an electric shock while riding in the rain...