• Replies 41.9k

• AsHaRiE

• Singaporean

• muhdhaikal

• kitty23

anyway , anyone knows if there is anywhere that is selling pit shirts?

:thumb: one for all, all for one. NUS forever!

C.S said:
anyway

for all you guys going for long trips 1st time or 2nd time (kukup and kulai, not counted)

do take note of a few pre-trips preparations

1) bike --- basic things like plugs/chains/EO/battery/clutch cables/throttle cable/brakes.... dun let such things bring u down on a trip... get them up for the trip

2) documents --= photocopied IC, driving lic,insurance coverage for riding ur bike, all these are essentials... before u forfeit extra kopi $

3) money --- other than ur own expenses, prepare more, in case of breakdown/disruption cost (which include kopi $ and in worst case-- tow fees)

4) ur leaders for the trips (know the way, care for the members, not like cheeko poon, who will ignore when things happen... LOL )

5) proper communication --- instructions, and auto roaming, in case ppl deviate from some place and end up in thailand alone...

last of all.................... do a stress free trip... if tired, rest more at the petrol kiosk

it has been calculated that the difference betweeen traveling 120 / 150 / 180./ 299 is only about 5 - 15 mins rest time each stop... as long as u are in the group, you WILL wait at the next agreed petrol stop......and how much difference it makes for the whole trip...........is about (10mins X number of stops)...

in anycase

never ever leave a single person alone riding...................

http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/8836/copyofnanshansoyamilkmame5.jpg

maxwell hawker centre :slurp:

  muhdhaikal said:
does anyone know if bikeworks accept credit card/debit card/ NETS?

I know they accept nets. :)

http://i1209.photobucket.com/albums/cc393/Siaolian/togetherforever.jpg

MAY THE V4 BE WITH YOU

  Herculie said:
btw ash: i decided not to go to cameroon.. will join u all for PD only..

y cannot go? is it $ problem?

http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/8836/copyofnanshansoyamilkmame5.jpg

maxwell hawker centre :slurp:

  Singaporean said:
anyway, anyone knows why fjr looks appealing to me?

FJR1300, imho, is one of the nicest tourer to date.. If i were to ever consider long distance touring on a regular basis, with extra cash to burn, FJR would be one of my choice weapon.. :angel:

But it damn big lah.. hahaha

FJR1.jpg

FJR2.jpg

FJR3.jpg

Edited by AsHaRiE

931153_10151259704352614_844334838_n.jpg

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do.

So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.

  C.S said:
anyway

for all you guys going for long trips 1st time or 2nd time (kukup and kulai, not counted)

do take note of a few pre-trips preparations

1) bike --- basic things like plugs/chains/EO/battery/clutch cables/throttle cable/brakes.... dun let such things bring u down on a trip... get them up for the trip

2) documents --= photocopied IC, driving lic,insurance coverage for riding ur bike, all these are essentials... before u forfeit extra kopi $

3) money --- other than ur own expenses, prepare more, in case of breakdown/disruption cost (which include kopi $ and in worst case-- tow fees)

4) ur leaders for the trips (know the way, care for the members, not like cheeko poon, who will ignore when things happen... LOL )

5) proper communication --- instructions, and auto roaming, in case ppl deviate from some place and end up in thailand alone...

last of all.................... do a stress free trip... if tired, rest more at the petrol kiosk

it has been calculated that the difference betweeen traveling 120 / 150 / 180./ 299 is only about 5 - 15 mins rest time each stop... as long as u are in the group, you WILL wait at the next agreed petrol stop......and how much difference it makes for the whole trip...........is about (10mins X number of stops)...

in anycase

never ever leave a single person alone riding...................

the next thing most impt after the lead bike is the markers...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v47/herculie/Valky_Siggy.jpg

I think every key appointment holders are as equally important to ensure the safety of the convoy.

The convoy leader, aside from leading the way is always on alert for breakdowns, contingency plans and situational assessment (heavy downpour, contingency/fatigue stops, detours). Shooting all the way to the next checkpoint without caring for the rest of the bikes (while the convoy stretches a far distance) would defeat the purpose of convoy riding, which should be a fun group activity.

The markers will always be a prominent figure with at every junctions so it's his responsibility to be seen and "wave/signal" to approaching riders to make the turn. Failing which, he will have to reroute the lost sheep back to the herd (provided that sheep havent reach Thailand yet), which means he will need to know how the route especially well..

Nonetheless, the sweeper will indeed be one of the more important persons, usually, experienced in breakdown procedures, knows the nearest petrol kiosk (for those who ran dry in the middle of the NSHW). Generally, the sweeper must be able to handle breakdowns (participants & His own bike, equipped with Tow Rope and tools) and basically, noes the route well. Personally, i think he needs to be extra patient when the second last bike is particularly slow. (hehe) One of my trips, the hayabusa (sweeper) have to sweep the Class 2B riders to Melaka.. Not the best of choices, imho..

Generally, I agree to CS's view that no one should ride alone and that everyone should be properly brief and be given a map and contact details (showing the petrol stops + Police stations and Exit Names).. For convoy, its better to have a buddy system prolly the same travelling capacity, coz if the convoy stretches too far apart, any breakdowns will not be as scary. (Preferably, one of the buddy must have auto-roam capability).

Lastly, i think everyone also will have their part to play in ensuring they have upkept their bike to good service condition and that, they should not risk other riders' lives nor endangering the convoy along the tour. One to name is overtaking on the first lane, which is usually one of the dangerous maneuver which alot of riders fail to execute correctly. Maybe one of the seniors share with us, what is the best way to do this, from their wise experience)..

My two cents.. :D Please share your view/ correct me if I'm wrong

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do.

So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.

ash: sorry i was busy with my project. will come out with more info on the alarm. one should not cost more than 60 buck for one way.

If anyone interested in disc brake lock I also got lobang la. CMO section selling 45 buck I can get less than half the price (Singapore stuff always over priced)...but at least equal scary..anyone interested i can bring for next outing.

  shong said:
ash: sorry i was busy with my project. will come out with more info on the alarm. one should not cost more than 60 buck for one way.

If anyone interested in disc brake lock I also got lobang la. CMO section selling 45 buck I can get less than half the price (Singapore stuff always over priced)...but at least equal scary..anyone interested i can bring for next outing.

can can.. Please post up some pics and specifications, prolly some of the guys are interested too.

Some funny teasers I read from a forum. This Guy A was shooting Guy B for asking on where to get "Good and Cheap" service.. hahahah

1) u pay peanuts , u get a really gay and dumb monkey

2) the mech tell u that, cos he think u are that gay and dumb monkey

3) ur life is not worth peanuts, but he thinks since u are a gay and dumb monkey, might as well just feed u peanuts and leave u satisfied

Edited by AsHaRiE

  w4hkauz said:
u guys planning a trip up to thailand?

Nolah.. Not yet.. But I surely love to.. :angel:

Sorry but can I ask you all something. I'm in the midst of getting 2B license and I'm unsure of the procedure of downshifting gears. As in, I know how to downshift but when you are slowing down/stopping, do you like look at the speedometer and shift like when it's 40kph then shift to gear 4, 30kph then shift to gear 3, and so on. Or you 1 shot shift all the way down from the highest gear (or whatever gear you're at) when you're stopping? And how about during emergency brake? Hope what I typed is understandable. :/

thank you! ;)

http://i1209.photobucket.com/albums/cc393/Siaolian/togetherforever.jpg

MAY THE V4 BE WITH YOU

  AsHaRiE said:
I think every key appointment holders are as equally important to ensure the safety of the convoy.

The convoy leader, aside from leading the way is always on alert for breakdowns, contingency plans and situational assessment (heavy downpour, contingency/fatigue stops, detours). Shooting all the way to the next checkpoint without caring for the rest of the bikes (while the convoy stretches a far distance) would defeat the purpose of convoy riding, which should be a fun group activity.

The markers will always be a prominent figure with at every junctions so it's his responsibility to be seen and "wave/signal" to approaching riders to make the turn. Failing which, he will have to reroute the lost sheep back to the herd (provided that sheep havent reach Thailand yet), which means he will need to know how the route especially well..

Nonetheless, the sweeper will indeed be one of the more important persons, usually, experienced in breakdown procedures, knows the nearest petrol kiosk (for those who ran dry in the middle of the NSHW). Generally, the sweeper must be able to handle breakdowns (participants & His own bike, equipped with Tow Rope and tools) and basically, noes the route well. Personally, i think he needs to be extra patient when the second last bike is particularly slow. (hehe) One of my trips, the hayabusa (sweeper) have to sweep the Class 2B riders to Melaka.. Not the best of choices, imho..

Generally, I agree to CS's view that no one should ride alone and that everyone should be properly brief and be given a map and contact details (showing the petrol stops + Police stations and Exit Names).. For convoy, its better to have a buddy system prolly the same travelling capacity, coz if the convoy stretches too far apart, any breakdowns will not be as scary. (Preferably, one of the buddy must have auto-roam capability).

Lastly, i think everyone also will have their part to play in ensuring they have upkept their bike to good service condition and that, they should not risk other riders' lives nor endangering the convoy along the tour. One to name is overtaking on the first lane, which is usually one of the dangerous maneuver which alot of riders fail to execute correctly. Maybe one of the seniors share with us, what is the best way to do this, from their wise experience)..

My two cents.. :D Please share your view/ correct me if I'm wrong

:thumb::thumb::thumb::thumb::thumb::thumb::thumb:

bravo.. its four cents worth...

  lnfinity said:
Sorry but can I ask you all something. I'm in the midst of getting 2B license and I'm unsure of the procedure of downshifting gears. As in, I know how to downshift but when you are slowing down/stopping, do you like look at the speedometer and shift like when it's 40kph then shift to gear 4, 30kph then shift to gear 3, and so on. Or you 1 shot shift all the way down from the highest gear (or whatever gear you're at) when you're stopping? And how about during emergency brake? Hope what I typed is understandable. :/

thank you! ;)

Down-shifting: when slowing down, once there's a knocking sound you should shift down. More or less it's like you said, the guideline is 40km/h for gear 4, 30km/h for gear 3. For stopping, what I know is you can slow down while at gear 3 then from gear 3 immediately kick down to gear one like while braking just before you stop.

Emergency brake, technique-wise never kick down. You're supposed to stop while in gear 3, clutch-in, engine on and behind the red line. If you kick down to first gear, you'll be penalised under incorrect technique which is 2 demerit points. For E-brake:

1) Hit 30km/h before mid-cone and in gear 3.

2) Once speedometer cover white-line Apply firm but gradual braking, if possible, rear brake consistent, front brake gradually become harder till you stop

3) maintain upright posture, but your left hand DO NOT STANDBY CLUTCH. Keep a firm grip on the handlebars

4) just before stopping, clutch-in to prevent engine from dying. But if stall (engine die) it's okie. From what I know they won't penalise. Then you just apply safety checks, kick down to first gear, start engine, safety check then move off.

.... errr Do feel free to comment guys. Haha. This was what I did for 2B and 2A and it got me through. Left class 2 leh. =D (but speed for 2A was 40km/h lar, not 30) :shy:

:cheers: Rider for life!
  lnfinity said:

thank you! ;)

erm...

for E-break:

while going down the path, keep checking the speedo now n then to comply with their speed limit.. then once u are over the cone, look straight ahead..

once ur front wheel past the white line, apply the front break.. follow by the foot break.. apply more pressure on the front break...

clutch in last min to prevent engine from died off..

left feet down,

check right, right feet down, left feet up.. kick gears down all the way..

check left, left feet down, right feet up.. right signal.. move off

for normal downshiting of gears:

do not look down.. go by the feel..

coming to a stop... just kick down to 1st gear...

just wanting to use the engine break.. just kick down one gear, then let go clutch.. if u wan to slow down somemore, click down once more..

infinity

fall and skid a few times

and u will learn

WHO DON"T AGREE AND WANT TO CHALLENGE THIS STATEMENT?????

  C.S said:
infinity

fall and skid a few times

and u will learn

WHO DON"T AGREE AND WANT TO CHALLENGE THIS STATEMENT?????

so... u learnt the hard way eh...?

hafiz i saw the pic of your future bike. It looks solid. just remember to change to single line license plate!

FU2***L NSR 150 SP Pramac (RIP)

FBB 1***H Spark 135 Lmt Ed (RIP)

FZ4***B Aprilia RS125 (RIP)

FT3***J S4 Spec1 (RIP)

FG7***E RXZ (RIP)

FBD***** YZF-R1 (RIP)

FBD8***D YZF-R6 (RIP)

  hellsfury said:
hafiz i saw the pic of your future bike. It looks solid. just remember to change to single line license plate!

hahaha...thx iz...single line license plate looks chio~...like urs...cee how lah..

http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa46/hafizjap/BannerFull--.jpg

http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa46/hafizjap/bikecombine3.jpg

Remember with great power comes great responsibility and greater $$$