Thanks for your developed answer. However more answers begets more questions, vicious cycle. Think we all have to meet up for kopi session post exam. Interesting biking general knowledge to learn and hear about for non-trackies like me. :thumb:

Ya. Same. I wonder how do you guess know so much. Come this holidays I am going to immerse myself in bike books in the library. Stan, meeting for lunch tml?

when there's a WHEEL...

there's a way...

• Replies 41.9k

• AsHaRiE

• Singaporean

• muhdhaikal

• kitty23

Ya. Same. I wonder how do you guess know so much. Come this holidays I am going to immerse myself in bike books in the library. Stan, meeting for lunch tml?

Yep should be. French final oral test/exam tomorrow, written test/exam Thursday. The end is in sight liao loh.

Your tyre repair kit permanently in my left pannier, pass to you tomorrow. :p

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3506/3466942491_3c2e673ece_o.jpg

Sure. I am viewing a DRZ b4 that. Haha. Tell you more tomorrow then.

when there's a WHEEL...

there's a way...

clutch control.

anyway CH:

i understand that backing it in will allow for greater entry speed in the corner... but...

how long will your tyres last if you back it in during a race? maybe since you raced competitively before, in terms of how many times u back it in in 1 lap, how many laps in a race and which lap will the tyres lose traction?

i've tried backing it in at PG before, once due to braking too late at the BMW turn, once backside itchy at turn 1. balls retracted on both occasions and never tried since.

but i'm pretty much ok with power sliding (the other method of throttling hard) a small part of my way on the exit of the turn. apparently the angle provided by the power slide allows me to have quicker exit speed coz cornering curve is reduced. tyres lasted that 1 power slide at turn 1 every lap until 5-6 laps later when my michelin pilot sports started sliding too much for comfort...

thanks for enlightenment man, haven't much experience nor knowledge on backing it in safely n sustainably.

there are many reasons why tire start to lose traction.

Based on my experience, sliding on supermoto bikes does result in some form of wear and tear, but i have never experience tires losing traction because i tried to backing it in every corner possible. It just wears faster, as long as there's still threads and tire is not more than 1yr old, it's good to go.

During my most siao-on period, I played at go-kart track 2-3 times a month and my dunlop rear tire last about 3months.

During the 3 races i joined in 2006, plus few practise sessions, 1 pair of tires is enough for 1 season.

I think sportbike track enthusiasts change tires after 3-4 session of track?

Assuming that there's still a lot of threads left, maybe one of the reason why your michelin pilot sports start sliding 5-6laps could be because the tire overheated? tires on sportbike tends to overheat because of highspeed riding and weight of bike.

I don't think power slide will affect that much. It's really just my assumption.

Besides that, another reason could be the tire pressure you are using. 1psi will make hell lot of difference and it takes many track session to find the optimum tire pressure.

Furthermore, suspension settings will also affect tire traction. I'm not very sensitive to suspension settings and i never really bother to tune my rear shock. I only stiffen my front fork by adding spacers so that my fork will not dive too much during hard braking.

Size of the tire will affect too. Have to consult people who ride the same make for recommendation, sometimes following stock size doesn't mean it's the best size. It affects your lean angle, how fast your bike drops when you bank in. Maybe your tire start sliding because you corner too low and hit edge of tire? :cheeky:

Is michelin pilot sports a good track tire? Many of my motard frens recommend michelin pilot power 2CT and it's a very very good tire. I think many sportbike use this as well. Never skim on tires if you are track orientated. If you can afford not to ride the bike on daily basis (which i think u do cos u drive), then get good tires and ride with confidence. They have limited heat cycles, so best to ride as often as possible.

Supermoto bikes typically weigh 100+kg and the tracks we ride are much smaller. I seldom hit more than 100km/h on the tracks i played (esp for PG). I normally lose traction because the track has sand particles or i bank too low.

Seriously i don't quite understand the purpose of power sliding other than

1) to look nice because you exit the corner with style

2) you brake too late, cannot lean any lower in the corner and looks set to chiong into the gravel. Then you wack the throttle to make it for the corner.

It takes a lot of balls to do power slide because you are doing something against normal behaviour.

Can enlighten me?

http://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j47/marzocchi84/la_LM6F3528.jpg

Supermoto Is Not A CRIME .

hongwei u changing bike?? btw at 3:58pm were u at the junction waiting to turn left to aye near the cultural centre? wearing kaki shorts rite. i horned at u.

FU2***L NSR 150 SP Pramac (RIP)

FBB 1***H Spark 135 Lmt Ed (RIP)

FZ4***B Aprilia RS125 (RIP)

FT3***J S4 Spec1 (RIP)

FG7***E RXZ (RIP)

FBD***** YZF-R1 (RIP)

FBD8***D YZF-R6 (RIP)

Sure. I am viewing a DRZ b4 that. Haha. Tell you more tomorrow then.

wah laoz...took me 1 hr to type those 2 replies. hahaha

so u really looking into drz? good choice. It's a reliable and fun bike. :thumb:

Madeline made a big mistake by saying she is from NUS...haha

now the whole thread is on her..

and of cos Stan and WQ's discussion on superbikes.

huh?!?! then is she from NTU or SMU or SIM? if not it's weird for someone to say she's from nus. She's pretending to be one?

bro shes confirm from nus. my fren is linked to her in facebook, it states she from nus, yr 3. also, she was kitty's project mate last sem

FT3***J S4 Spec1 (RIP)

FG7***E RXZ (RIP)

FBD***** YZF-R1 (RIP)

FBD8***D YZF-R6 (RIP)

ch: just spray water all over yourself, then slowly peel off your clothes in front of her and show your hot bod. she will be moved in many ways:angel:

FT3***J S4 Spec1 (RIP)

FG7***E RXZ (RIP)

FBD***** YZF-R1 (RIP)

FBD8***D YZF-R6 (RIP)

anyway who lives near khatib mrt? past few days i've been playing ball there. nice rims and net.

FT3***J S4 Spec1 (RIP)

FG7***E RXZ (RIP)

FBD***** YZF-R1 (RIP)

FBD8***D YZF-R6 (RIP)

isaac>>> wow wow! thank u for those pics.. hahhaha..

dustydii>>> when taking 2A?

wq>>> melaka trip gt any details??

still at first lesson....haven book any at the moment...waiting for exams to finish

Power is nothing without control

wah iz...ur like sibe obsessed with this chick...check up on her like a stalker...wats ur next move??

ya lor. Agree. He seems obsessed. haha. Somemore got gf already! :giddy:

NUS riders!!!

Fill this up for me!! I wanna plan a ONE DAY OUTING after exams!!

When do you finish your exams?!

The Duos - 7th May

Isaac - 3th May

Kitty -

Ash -

Wadi - 6th May

Weiquan - 6th May

Stan -

CS -

Char -

Pplater -

Yu Wen -

Kevin -

xyoshi -

inspire85 -7th May

Chie Hui - 7th of May

dyingxatheist -

haikal -

Madeline

hahaz..dun tell me u regret being with ur gf coz not as good as madeline....

nice bike!

http://inlinethumb07.webshots.com/3718/2370780400089788945S600x600Q85.jpg

wadi im attached, but still very much available:angel:

FT3***J S4 Spec1 (RIP)

FG7***E RXZ (RIP)

FBD***** YZF-R1 (RIP)

FBD8***D YZF-R6 (RIP)

hongwei have u made up your mind not? tmr viewing drz but msn nick still says R6

FT3***J S4 Spec1 (RIP)

FG7***E RXZ (RIP)

FBD***** YZF-R1 (RIP)

FBD8***D YZF-R6 (RIP)

wah hahaha...can lidat ah?? does dat apply to ur gf too??

NUS riders!!!

Fill this up for me!! I wanna plan a ONE DAY OUTING after exams!!

When do you finish your exams?!

The Duos - 7th May

Isaac - 3th May

Kitty -

Ash -

Wadi - 6th May

Weiquan - 6th May

Stan -

CS -

Char -

Pplater -

Yu Wen - 7th May

Kevin -

xyoshi -

inspire85 -7th May

Chie Hui - 7th of May

dyingxatheist -

haikal -

Madeline

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y135/newuy/BannerFull.jpg

actually rite...da girl im gonna meet is not madeline...the other girl with her...camy...hahaz...i think she looks sweeter and hotter den madeline...

ehz...i saw the advert banner...SPIDI!!! hahaha...

who's madeline?

ok im lost. all these posts with high levels of testosterone involved.

start reading from 3 pages back! click on all the links issac post!

when there's a WHEEL...

there's a way...

so hongwei any details on the motogp trip?

hongwei and issac, why tookara kena banned in sgbikes? kpo a bit. :cheeky: