• Replies 45

Originally posted by Cool79@Dec 4 2004, 02:42 PM

will gana summon?

if u gana those guai lan officer be it ROV or TP...yes will kana summon....

advice is don waste ur money to do sticker number plate...for wat....no harm putting the original one there :smile:

if afraid of pple wanan steal...even if u use sticker they will still peel it off

so don bother to waste money to make sticker numebr plate and still have to pay fine if kana :cheeky:

Originally posted by Ah Siao@Dec 4 2004, 02:50 PM

advice is don waste ur money to do sticker number plate...for wat....no harm putting the original one there :smile:

if afraid of pple wanan steal...even if u use sticker they will still peel it off

so don bother to waste money to make sticker numebr plate and still have to pay fine if kana :cheeky:

mine is sticker 1 le

planning to redo the sticker.. i just bought my bike meh....

then the sticker stick until not nice.....

Originally posted by Ah Siao@Dec 4 2004, 02:50 PM

sticker no. plate is legal.

u need to follow the colour scheme...

such as..black back grd n white letter.

n the lettering cannot be fancy fonts la

mus be same like normal plate.

then mus follow certain requirements of the size of the no. plate

the size of the fonts n thickness n spacing.

i m using one as described for almost 2ys now. wan to punch hole on mud guard or wiser la...so use sticker.

went through so many road blocks, one of them even by TP or ROV and inspection also bo tai chee leh.

Yamaha LC 125 03/02 - 04/03

Yamaha RXZ 03/03 - 04/05

Suzuki Bandit VV 04/05 - 02/06

Yamaha Fazer 1000 03/06 - 10/07

Honda Blackbird 10/07 - 08/08

Yamaha Fazer 600 10/08 - 02/10

Honda Blackbird 02/10 - 03/12

Itz perfectly legal.

One of our bros here wrote to LTA to enquire, and their official reply is it is acceptable provided the dimensions and colours are correct.

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y191/MPeX/DSCF0048.jpg

Unless you kenna the kuai lan one i met :angry:

Managed to wavied the summon off after an appeal. :sweat:

So i guess its leagal by the books, illegal by some kuai lan kia's standard. :goodluck:

Originally posted by BaaBaa Black Sheep@Dec 5 2004, 01:48 AM

Unless you kenna the kuai lan one i met :angry:

Managed to wavied the summon off after an appeal. :sweat:

So i guess its leagal by the books, illegal by some kuai lan kia's standard. :goodluck:

I can't find that post which shows the LTA reply leow... :(

But how did they reply u when u appeal?

putting the appealing process 1 side...i hope u got all the things to back u up.

correct colour for backgrd. correct colour for numbering.

n correct size n spacing for the numbers. to prove it to them everything is ok n yet u kenna summon for notting.

Yamaha LC 125 03/02 - 04/03

Yamaha RXZ 03/03 - 04/05

Suzuki Bandit VV 04/05 - 02/06

Yamaha Fazer 1000 03/06 - 10/07

Honda Blackbird 10/07 - 08/08

Yamaha Fazer 600 10/08 - 02/10

Honda Blackbird 02/10 - 03/12

Managed to find it finally.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....showtopic=45970

Our Ref: LTA/CSV/F20.032.000/3384/1

Date: 12-JUL-2004

Tel: 1800-2255 582 (1800-CALL LTA)

Fax: 6553 5329

Dear Mr XXX,

NUMBER PLATE REGULATIONS & MATERIAL USED

FEEDBACK NUMBER: 153370

Thank you for your enquiries of 30-JUN-2004.

2. We wish to inform you that the technical requirements for motorcycle licence plates used in Singapore can be found in Rule 15 and Fourth Schedule of the Road Traffic (Motor Vehicles, Registration and Licensing) Rules.

3. In summary, these rules specify that licence plates should comply with either of the following descriptions (colour code):

a) Letters and figures are white, silver or light grey on a non-reflective black background for both front and rear; or

b) Letter and figures are black on a white reflex-reflecting background for the front, and on a yellow reflex-reflecting background for the rear.

4. The front licence plates for motorcycle must also meet the following dimension specifications:

(a) The letters and figures are 35 mm high, 25 mm wide and 5 mm broad;

(b) The space between adjoining letters and between adjoining figures shall be 5 mm;

© The space between the letters and figures shall be 10 mm;

(d) A margin between the nearest part of any letter or figure and the top

or bottom of the number plate shall be 5 mm;

(e) A margin between the nearest part of any letter or figure and the sides of the licence plate shall be 10 mm.

5. The rear licence plates for motorcycle must also meet the following dimension specifications:

(a) The letters and figures are 50 mm high, 30 mm wide and 5 mm broad;

(b) The space between adjoining letters and between adjoining figures shall be 10 mm;

© The space between the letters and figures shall be 20 mm;

(d) A margin between the nearest part of any letter or figure and the top, bottom and sides of the licence plate shall be 10 mm.

(e) For licence plate that consists of 2 rows of figures and letters, the space the 2 rows shall be 10 mm.

6. No other figures or letters, design advertisement or ornamentation shall be placed near the licence plate in such a manner as to render it more difficult to read or distinguish the registration number of the motorcycle when in motion.

7. Many licence plates used in Singapore are attached to plastic licence plates holders that contain wording and brand names. We have no objection to the fixing of licence plates with such holders if it meet the above requirements. In addition, the wordings on such holders shall not contain obscenities or profanities and shall not be derogatory seditious.

8. As for your enquiry on the sticker type licence plate for the front, we have no objection to it so long as the above requirements are met. We hope we have addressed your enquiries satisfactorily, thank you.

Yours sincerely,

(SIGNED IN LOTUS NOTES)

GOH SEONG HONG

for MANAGER

VEHICLE ENGINEERING DEPARTMENT

VEHICLE & TRANSIT LICENSING DIVISION

LAND TRANSPORT AUTHORITY

Originally posted by MPeX@Dec 5 2004, 02:29 AM

Managed to find it finally.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....showtopic=45970

Our Ref: LTA/CSV/F20.032.000/3384/1

Date: 12-JUL-2004

Tel: 1800-2255 582 (1800-CALL LTA)

Fax: 6553 5329

Dear Mr XXX,

NUMBER PLATE REGULATIONS & MATERIAL USED

FEEDBACK NUMBER: 153370

Thank you for your enquiries of 30-JUN-2004.

2. We wish to inform you that the technical requirements for motorcycle licence plates used in Singapore can be found in Rule 15 and Fourth Schedule of the Road Traffic (Motor Vehicles, Registration and Licensing) Rules.

3. In summary, these rules specify that licence plates should comply with either of the following descriptions (colour code):

a) Letters and figures are white, silver or light grey on a non-reflective black background for both front and rear; or

b) Letter and figures are black on a white reflex-reflecting background for the front, and on a yellow reflex-reflecting background for the rear.

4. The front licence plates for motorcycle must also meet the following dimension specifications:

(a) The letters and figures are 35 mm high, 25 mm wide and 5 mm broad;

(b) The space between adjoining letters and between adjoining figures shall be 5 mm;

© The space between the letters and figures shall be 10 mm;

(d) A margin between the nearest part of any letter or figure and the top

or bottom of the number plate shall be 5 mm;

(e) A margin between the nearest part of any letter or figure and the sides of the licence plate shall be 10 mm.

5. The rear licence plates for motorcycle must also meet the following dimension specifications:

(a) The letters and figures are 50 mm high, 30 mm wide and 5 mm broad;

(b) The space between adjoining letters and between adjoining figures shall be 10 mm;

© The space between the letters and figures shall be 20 mm;

(d) A margin between the nearest part of any letter or figure and the top, bottom and sides of the licence plate shall be 10 mm.

(e) For licence plate that consists of 2 rows of figures and letters, the space the 2 rows shall be 10 mm.

6. No other figures or letters, design advertisement or ornamentation shall be placed near the licence plate in such a manner as to render it more difficult to read or distinguish the registration number of the motorcycle when in motion.

7. Many licence plates used in Singapore are attached to plastic licence plates holders that contain wording and brand names. We have no objection to the fixing of licence plates with such holders if it meet the above requirements. In addition, the wordings on such holders shall not contain obscenities or profanities and shall not be derogatory seditious.

8. As for your enquiry on the sticker type licence plate for the front, we have no objection to it so long as the above requirements are met. We hope we have addressed your enquiries satisfactorily, thank you.

Yours sincerely,

(SIGNED IN LOTUS NOTES)

GOH SEONG HONG

for MANAGER

VEHICLE ENGINEERING DEPARTMENT

VEHICLE & TRANSIT LICENSING DIVISION

LAND TRANSPORT AUTHORITY

then can go n make my rear lic plate to 1 line onli

heehee

see is the guy can do it a not

keekeee

Originally posted by Cool79@Dec 5 2004, 04:46 AM

then can go n make my rear lic plate to 1 line onli

heehee

see is the guy can do it a not

keekeee

Don't push ur luck. LTA mentioned nothing about a 1 liner rear number plate being legal...

And don't quote the entire post when replying.

Where to make the sticker number plate for the front cheaply, my one is currently is mount on the front fender which is very ugly.

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

Originally posted by MPeX@Dec 5 2004, 01:53 AM

I can't find that post which shows the LTA reply leow... :(

But how did they reply u when u appeal?

The ROV say my sticker number plate curve along my wind screen. I am riding a scooter btw..

All scooters put their number plate there! He just wants to tekan me i guess.

Somemore say must be flat and he stress must be metal for both front and rear.

Think he just wants to add another victim to his little black book.

Anyway, i took pictures of my number plate and send in with my appeal. then they waived off my summon. Kinda waste of time and effort. Hopefully they wake up their ideas. I hate it when the govt bodies perform double standards.

Originally posted by ^_Chaos_^@Dec 15 2004, 04:19 AM

erm mine is plastic , not sticker type , it's black word with yellow back ground.

fail? thx

Black word yellow background is for the rear not front .. front have to be black word and white background ..

Originally posted by ^_Chaos_^@Dec 15 2004, 04:19 AM

erm mine is plastic , not sticker type , it's black word with yellow back ground.

fail? thx

they states that rear yellow wif black wordings den the front muz be white wif black wordings..plastic depends..if standard size den maybe can escape..

Originally posted by MC21@Dec 15 2004, 11:50 AM

so can i jus check that up till now is the sticker type no. plate for the front is allowed? :sweat: :sweat:

with the correct sizing etc then allowed lor

juz cleared inspection with the sticker number plate that day

inspector #1 failed me but inspector #2 tell me verbally it's allowed and acted like he's going to screw inspector#1 for failing me :lol:

Originally posted by d0n^@Dec 15 2004, 12:47 PM

with the correct sizing etc then allowed lor

juz cleared inspection with the sticker number plate that day

inspector #1 failed me but inspector #2 tell me verbally it's allowed and acted like he's going to screw inspector#1 for failing me :lol:

Ya i think it all depends on different TPs and inspectors .. i once got fine for having a sticker no. plate infront by highway patrol and my friend just failed his inspection due to the sticker no. plate .. :confused:

Can anyone post any picture regardin this matter?:confused:

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

Originally posted by xers007@Dec 15 2004, 02:08 PM

Ya i think it all depends on different TPs and inspectors .. i once got fine for having a sticker no. plate infront by highway patrol and my friend just failed his inspection due to the sticker no. plate .. :confused:

hm

if yr friend stayin in west side can ask him to drop by vicom bkt batok

i left a copy of the letter posted above in the post extracted by MpeX

the inspector told me he would paste that letter up to remind the other inspectors

alternatively..u can also do a printout of the relevant letter and show to the inspector

Originally posted by ProjectD@Dec 16 2004, 07:31 PM

Can anyone post any picture regardin this matter?:confused:

picture?

what picture? :confused:

wtf man, i jus got stopped by tp for having one row rear, i got no objection but wad he say is that the front sticker also cannot

then how, lta say can tp say cannot, like this how siah

my windscreen is is curve one how to put metal plate, bend meh ?

http://i145.photobucket.com/albums/r239/utopian355/ABCD0006-smallcopy.jpg
Originally posted by ah_tee@Jan 4 2005, 09:19 AM

wtf man, i jus got stopped by tp for having one row rear, i got no objection but wad he say is that the front sticker also cannot

then how, lta say can tp say cannot, like this how siah

my windscreen is is curve one how to put metal plate, bend meh ?

change to sticker lor maybe Tp wan u to bend u to no: plate

2003 - 2004 -->TA200 -- FW9**8Y

2004 - 2005 --> Rvf -- FQ****R

2005 - 2006 --> Cbr 954 -- Fw 3**6 B

2006 - 2007 --> Cbr 954 , Wave , Vios '07

2007 - Now --> Vios '07

If U CaN't CaTcH Up WiF Mi PlS StAy BeHiNd N EnJoY ThE ViEw

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/7070/rvfgroup5cy.jpg

Originally posted by Xiao_Di@Jan 4 2005, 06:47 PM

change to sticker lor maybe Tp wan u to bend u to no: plate

he's already using sticker den tp say cannot..

last time oso kena one tp who stop mi for visor..den he say dun tink front no plate sticker can..i shoot him(already damn piss)..u sure cannot?lta say can den u tink cannot den u go confirm wif lta wan?after that he LL liaoz..