I'm looking for my first bike, and i thought this would be a good place to ask for advice. I have looked around, and popular choices seem to be wave, phantom, rxz, cbr150, and SP.

my main purpose for getting a bike is to be same, if not cheaper than public transport.

right now i'm spending at least $120 a month on my ezlink card.

from my research, all the bikes stated above, 2nd hand value is about 2k +- from forums

the prices to take note besides the machine price would include

insurance

24yrs P plate $900+ reasonable or not hur? NTUC at least for the 1st yr bah?

road tax

standard 80 a year?

maintainance

80 dollar a month enough? including spark plug, EO, petrol bla bla bla

helmet

150 2 person

gloves

100 2 person

riding jacket

100 2 person

transfer and admin fee

how much roughly arh?

i'm really not sure what else to add in. please help me add in whatever need to.

secondly, i'm still wondering which machine would be good. i need very good fuel economy (below $80 a month assuming need to account for spare parts replacement also, eg.travel jurong - pasir ris - jurong 7 day a week)

reasonably comfortable for 2 adults.

cheap to maintain (not just petrol. also the general maintainence) total below $120

would it be reasonable to want a breakdown of under $120 a month, or best $100?

Thanks for all the advise. i'm leaning towards TA200. but wondering if there's a kick start option, coz i dunno what to do if it can't electric start.

thanks so much. any prices posted will be taken w a pinch of salt and assumed to be very rough estimates, so please shoot all possible prices. i need to do the accounts before getting the machine.

• Replies 18

cannot kick start, can runnong start bro,

i say ur prices are very good..

u can get a bike wothout exceeding ur budget...

but y u need gloves and jacket..?? safety?? touring??

if for safety, this items could affect ur confidence bro as u will feel very vulnerable shoould u forget them..

Originally posted by pyro13@April 20, 2007 11:10 pm

thanks for the prompt reply

gloves and jacket (protection and rain) is coz of safety in case buang or kena buang, won't be too badly hit. more worried about girlfriend safety than my own coz pillion sure kena more injuries.

can run start hur...... ok, first time i know. but most pple post that will run till whole body wet, true or not?

anyway hur, based on the possible use. can u very kindly give an estimate on prices of

petrol a month

general maintainence cost a month

admin fee

transfer fee

coz i really can't find reliable info.

make it based on the phantom TA200 can?. I think its the most ex to maintain of the lot ba? but i like the thick tyres. more contact w ground means safer usually.

Originally posted by normanlai@April 20, 2007 11:20 pm

thanks for the prompt reply

gloves and jacket (protection and rain) is coz of safety in case buang or kena buang, won't be too badly hit. more worried about girlfriend safety than my own coz pillion sure kena more injuries.

can run start hur...... ok, first time i know. but most pple post that will run till whole body wet, true or not?

anyway hur, based on the possible use. can u very kindly give an estimate on prices of

petrol a month

general maintainence cost a month

admin fee

transfer fee

coz i really can't find reliable info.

make it based on the phantom TA200 can?. I think its the most ex to maintain of the lot ba? but i like the thick tyres. more contact w ground means safer usually.

u are a caring boyfriend, good for u man. But trust me, u won't need gloves.

Actually all these accessories are cheap to get at LAB. so u wont even need to spend over $100. my jacket cost only $20.. cheaper jacket do give u the basic functionality -protect from rain.

Heard that run start got to do with clutch, run abit then release clutch or something, guess people who ride that might advise u on this. I riding scooter.. but if u always pillion, i guess the best should be x9. Everyone say it will be the most comfortable ride for both rider and pillion.

It doesnt neccessary mean thick tyres= more safe. It all abt ur controlling, perception and judgement... Keep within speed limit, keep a gd safety distance, don't squeeze, etc , all these factors will make u more safe than thick tyres.

U buying from motortiam or direct seller? But if u have the $$, do buy direct from riders in this forum or those auction sites. save u on alot of $ on admin fee and interest. Anyway transfer fee normal is just ard $20+ at LTA.

Regarding petrol cost depends on the distance u will travel everyday, how u ride and the grade of petrol. Mine is from jurong to kallang, roughly abt 40km distance daily. i use esso 5000, so roughly cost me $2 on petrol lor. i very calculative on petrol also. anyway different bikes "drink" differently. Saw before in this forum that 1 litres for ard 30+km.

Anyway all these are just my personal opinions, correct if i wrong.

Originally posted by tranquility82@April 20, 2007 11:50 pm

Actually all these accessories are cheap to get at LAB. so u wont even need to spend over $100. my jacket cost only $20.. cheaper jacket do give u the basic functionality -protect from rain.

Heard that run start got to do with clutch, run abit then release clutch or something, guess people who ride that might advise u on this. I riding scooter.. but if u always pillion, i guess the best should be x9. Everyone say it will be the most comfortable ride for both rider and pillion.

It doesnt neccessary mean thick tyres= more safe. It all abt ur controlling, perception and judgement... Keep within speed limit, keep a gd safety distance, don't squeeze, etc , all these factors will make u more safe than thick tyres.

U buying from motortiam or direct seller? But if u have the $$, do buy direct from riders in this forum or those auction sites. save u on alot of $ on admin fee and interest. Anyway transfer fee normal is just ard $20+ at LTA.

Regarding petrol cost depends on the distance u will travel everyday, how u ride and the grade of petrol. Mine is from jurong to kallang, roughly abt 40km distance daily. i use esso 5000, so roughly cost me $2 on petrol lor. i very calculative on petrol also. anyway different bikes "drink" differently. Saw before in this forum that 1 litres for ard 30+km.

Anyway all these are just my personal opinions, correct if i wrong.

jacket ard 20 bux? if damn suey, fall from bike i think it will probably tear and get grazes on your limbs bah? sorry if i sound like i dun believe, but i never seen reliable material below $50 ever.

1st thing that came to my mind also x9, but!

heard.......

ang mo brand bike, spare parts expensive

FC about 20+ only.. TA200/wave/cbr almost double

small wheels somehow not as reliable as big wheels.

i'm going to put aside 2k (machine price) to buy from SBF sellers. but i'm pretty worried about the extra paperwork, transfers etc....... wonder if its worth a bit extra let motordiam do for me. (total noob with only 1 biker friend who's always busy at work)

so based on a fairly economical scooter, 1 day about 2 dollar worth? so petrol alone only $60. yep i know its estimated only. add another 50kg, may end up $80

so EO, spark plug, bla bla bla maybe once in 2 months, give $30? totally no clue.

so assuming i want to ride it for 3 yrs before earning a proper salary and upgrade to car,

machine 2k

insurance 1.3k

helmet $100

road tax 240

est 100 a month w/o petrol and maintaining

if add petrol, sounds like totally off budget man.

or i count too much liao?

Originally posted by normanlai@April 21, 2007 12:47 am

jacket ard 20 bux? if damn suey, fall from bike i think it will probably tear and get grazes on your limbs bah? sorry if i sound like i dun believe, but i never seen reliable material below $50 ever.

1st thing that came to my mind also x9, but!

heard.......

ang mo brand bike, spare parts expensive

FC about 20+ only.. TA200/wave/cbr almost double

small wheels somehow not as reliable as big wheels.

i'm going to put aside 2k (machine price) to buy from SBF sellers. but i'm pretty worried about the extra paperwork, transfers etc....... wonder if its worth a bit extra let motordiam do for me. (total noob with only 1 biker friend who's always busy at work)

so based on a fairly economical scooter, 1 day about 2 dollar worth? so petrol alone only $60. yep i know its estimated only. add another 50kg, may end up $80

so EO, spark plug, bla bla bla maybe once in 2 months, give $30? totally no clue.

so assuming i want to ride it for 3 yrs before earning a proper salary and upgrade to car,

machine 2k

insurance 1.3k

helmet $100

road tax 240

est 100 a month w/o petrol and maintaining

if add petrol, sounds like totally off budget man.

or i count too much liao?

hmm... to individual bah. budget-conscious riders like me won't mind the quality but functionality matters lor. But even good jackets wont guarantee no injury substained if u fall lah. I remember i one time at driving sch circuit, fall at e-brake and i got lot od grazes on my kneecap even i m wearing LEVI jeans! The rough surface of the road no matter what, will still scratch off ur skin and the jeans was not torn at all! Upzz for LEVI!! .. lols. beside, basically jackets are meant to shield u from rain.. but up to u lah, bro.

Haha, same lor, my first thought was x9 too. but since i new in riding, in the end i got a old scooter lor. i was thinking, since i new, more accident-prone, better dont commit to a good bike yet. anyway piaggio from Italy. spare parts will naturally be more ex.

Of course big wheels are better, more for safe cornering. but out of all bikes, the tyres look somehow dreadful to me, are raider and kups.. their tyres are just that slightly bigger than bicycles.. that really shun me as i not that small size.

I bought directly from sbf sellers also. the procedure is actually simple lah. Early morning meet at LTA or seller lobang u. reach sin ming abt 9am. then go do insurance first, located near LTA. (but now only got NTUC there.....) then go LTA do transfer. Transfer fees abt $22 or somethin ard there. then the bike is urs. but try to do the transfer early morning to avoid crowds....... If can, avoid motordiam to do the transfer. It will cost $40 to $60, just plainly for their "transfer service" lor. No point right??

u totally noob with 1 biker friend busy at work.. but u know what? i was totally noob few months back with NO biker friend.. but all thanks to sbf. have been reading everyday on different threads for all types of issues.

EO i not sure. mine is 2 stroke.. 2 stroke need top up 2t oil lor. I think for 4 stroke, EO need to be change frequently. But bro, sorry .. i really know nuts abt 4 strokes.

Spark plug normally can last a year or so......no need to change every 2 months.. if u manage to buy a well-maintained bike, i dont think u need to think so much on servicing, just normal maintenance like EO.

wow, insurance 1.2k?? no lah, where got so high? i 25 this year, 125cc only $200++ .......... i think road tax varies. mine is $63 per half a year.

To finalise, u count too much liao. I think u wont spend over $100 every month. But if u breakdown ur insurance, road tax and bike cost, it stil within ur budget. But try to avoid instalment payment for bike if u can. anyway for TA200, i saw alot of sbf sellers selling around 1.7k to 2k. just check the "used bikes for sale" section for the best deal bah!!

ok,

so as a more realistic guide for myself

based on 3 years

machine 2k

insurance 1k

maintaining per 6 month give 30 (wear and tear everywhere), 3 yr give 180

petrol give 1 month 60 3 yr 2k

road tax 240

1 month est $150 at the MOST ba? coz i like to think in bad situation.

if break down like this, would it be more "real life"?

if at 150, then, its a gd idea to invest in a machine. stupid public transport, last yr 1 month $120, this year jump nearly $150..... 3 yrs time easily hit $180. own ride faster somemore.

yah, regarding the x9, same sentiments. feel like will throw money into the drain.

errr, kup tire is damn tiny, true, but scooter like slightly better only. doing some physics, larger diameter would mean, for the same thickness, the larger diameter the larger contact with the tar usually (i been checking out the phantom and the wave at my house these days, area in contact w floor world of a difference)

not including the extreme cases where pple pump till wan to burst already lar.

also depend on the way u ride and maintain may want to consider the tyres and chain. if want good and reliable brand one plus some more change in singapore more expensive.

i beg to differ.

gloves are a very important aspect of riding. it will provide you with grip as well as protection...

i will highly recommend that you develop this good habit...

also...if your budget permits..get a decent full face helmet...

As you consider yourself as riding only for a transport, i would assume u to ride like me i.e. safe with lots of patience but of cuz the occassional trottle happy hand =x

Riding like that can save u alot. cuz the high end performance stuff can only be differentiated at speeds 150 above (correct me if im wrong)

Thus u can compromise on stuff like racing 2T (use normal standard can liao la)

Engine oil (fully syn can liao no need racing)

chain, sprocket, spark plug, head lights and apparel stuff

but of cuz for safety some stuff cannot be compromised. stuffs like brake pads (cheap one cannot stop! WTF!)

tyres also impt (esp front! front lose grip cannot gain back!)

just by avoiding track runs u can save alot on maintainence. These are the stuff that u should save and spend on say (gloves, helmet, jacket i.e. basic protection)

and i agree with you on pillions usually suffer most. cuz rider can anticipate.

but the most important saftety is being patience! (is it necessary to save a few seconds by squeezing inb/w the 2 buss)

ride safe!

http://i247.photobucket.com/albums/gg123/illa19/ParkEunKyung3.gif

thank you all for the replies.

yep, i'm just getting a commuting bike. dun intend to go track. anyway the bikes i most likely to get, i think if go track pple will laugh their *ss off. namely the phantom or wave/spark (whichever got manual gear, or shd i say, clutch coz i'm a huge fan of engine brake ever since i skidded once in CDC due to overapplied brake)

so far, all u guys have suggested stuff to enhance safety (glove, jacket)

and stuff that can don't need to use (racing stuff)

but still nobody give estimate of their own maintainence consumption. that's the most important thing i want to know actually. i know it varies, but besides petrol, surely there's a cost for EO, spark plug bla bla bla that is quite constant bah?

i spoke with a 2A pal who started from 2B, and he warned me that there's no such thing as bike cheaper than bus. he mentioned

tow need 30 bux

gd tyres need 100 at least

annual overhaul need about 500

EO, spark plug etc maybe 6 month change once if i want healthy bike

petrol 1 yr he already spent almost 1k (almost price of bus for 1 yr)

and its just 30% of the total cost. so how can be cheaper than public? but i suspect he's just a hardcore roadster with a 20/L 2a bike. i doubt i move around half as much.

the machine and insurance is just the start of headache. just like own a car.

any views on this? that's why i'm so eager to know maintainence costs.

i will ride everyday with pillion, jurong to pasir ris (expected distance lar)

different bikes have different maintainence cost.. so don't expect any one to give you their estimate.. if you wanna worry so much, just take bus and mrt la.. you wasting a lot of brain cells thinking so much..

cub can get up to 40km/l for fuel consumption or even more.. if you gonna spend 1k on petrol for a cub and you pump v-power everytime, one year you can travel about 20000km which is about 55 km per day.. will you even travel that much everyday? if not get a pulsar, heard can get 50km/l

if you keep your bike in good condition, you won't have to tow your bike every month.. and i rarely hear pple overhaul their bikes annually.. good tyres can last you up to a year at least i guess, unless you use off-road tyres..

machine you get 2nd hand the most 3 k? insurance get 3rd party dun think will exceed $400?

i can definately say a 2b transport bike is cheaper than public transport.. no doubt about that!! even if it is more ex, just think about the amount of time you save travelling.. and the joy of riding..

[CENTER][IMG]http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t148/binkaz11/1_980549729l.jpg[/IMG] [I][B][FONT="Verdana"][SIZE="3"][COLOR="DarkRed"]Wooo HoOOoOooooo~[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][/B][/I][/CENTER]
Originally posted by normanlai@April 20, 2007 10:56 pm

I'm looking for my first bike, and i thought this would be a good place to ask for advice. I have looked around, and popular choices seem to be wave, phantom, rxz, cbr150, and SP.

my main purpose for getting a bike is to be same, if not cheaper than public transport.

right now i'm spending at least $120 a month on my ezlink card.

from my research, all the bikes stated above, 2nd hand value is about 2k +- from forums

the prices to take note besides the machine price would include

insurance

24yrs P plate $900+ reasonable or not hur? NTUC at least for the 1st yr bah?

road tax

standard 80 a year?

maintainance

80 dollar a month enough? including spark plug, EO, petrol bla bla bla

helmet

150 2 person

gloves

100 2 person

riding jacket

100 2 person

transfer and admin fee

how much roughly arh?

i'm really not sure what else to add in. please help me add in whatever need to.

secondly, i'm still wondering which machine would be good. i need very good fuel economy (below $80 a month assuming need to account for spare parts replacement also, eg.travel jurong - pasir ris - jurong 7 day a week)

reasonably comfortable for 2 adults.

cheap to maintain (not just petrol. also the general maintainence) total below $120

would it be reasonable to want a breakdown of under $120 a month, or best $100?

Thanks for all the advise. i'm leaning towards TA200. but wondering if there's a kick start option, coz i dunno what to do if it can't electric start.

thanks so much. any prices posted will be taken w a pinch of salt and assumed to be very rough estimates, so please shoot all possible prices. i need to do the accounts before getting the machine.

After readin i realli suggest that u get Phantom 200. :smile:

Lookin ard and u might get a good deal. BEST if u can full cash out cos if u reloan it will be more Ex......

-For a 24 yr old 900+ P-plate , Is this ur budget or wat u was quote??

For a phantom shld not be that Ex....

-Rd tax 80 per yr standard for 2b bike(if im not wrong)

-80 per mth for maintance... too much for a 2b and oso u dun do maintance every mth...

-U can get cheaper helmet(for mi 150 can get 5 open face helmet)-one for 30 buck

-Quite okie for gloves but prepare to pay more for better one.....

-Riding jacket(if u lookin for protection in case of fall, 100 sure not enuff for 2)

-Transfer fee is cheap but oso see which shop do for u..... As for Admin fee oso depend on the shop

Phantom FC is good oso it comfort enuff for 2 adult....

Oso plus a box @ the back or if u like two more by the side , u can keep quite a no of thing.....

Oso better to get a 4 stroke bike cos it does not nd 2T, and less prone to piston jam....

http://img220.exs.cx/img220/7457/gforcesig1hc.jpg

annual overhaul?

with proper maintenance, a bike can go for 10 years without overhauling...

i dont know...but engine braking is not common on the roads cos of the damage it does to your clutch pads...

i would rather change brake pads than clutch pads...

you will learn how to do it properly with time...dont worry...

i will definitely do it full cash. hate to pay extra and hate to owe money. no rush. work first lor

i'll be putting aside 2k machine price. a friend contacted me and informed me that ta200, 1.5k stock with box usually no problem from motordiam, as he asked for me when he was looking around.

i'm not that type to jump the gun when it comes to huge sums of money, so i thank you all for wasting brain juice with me.

well if like u guys said, maintainence don't need to be so ex

spark plug probably once a year

engine overhaul a bit over the roof

fuel is least of my worries so toss that aside for a while

tyres, i sure change to good ones the moment i get the machine. unless default is bridgestone already (hardly possible).

insurance, that's just my estimate. i will definitely get good coverage. first time own bike, scared bad stuff happen while learning the mean machine. at least cover any possible problems. personally, i expect to cause damage to the bike at least within the first few week. though i only skid once in CDC due to aquaplaning.

just wondering, isn't engine brake same as from car? if its the same, principle is, using the engine natural spin speed is much better than forcing the tyres to slow down. isn't it. i'm ok with cars, but noob at bikes. :p

i'm a safety first freak lar, with a tight pocket. dun mind me please. i'm sure this thread will be useful for noob student with a tight pocket who want a smooth ride pt A to B with safety in mind.

Originally posted by normanlai@April 23, 2007 12:36 am

i will definitely do it full cash. hate to pay extra and hate to owe money. no rush. work first lor

i'll be putting aside 2k machine price. a friend contacted me and informed me that ta200, 1.5k stock with box usually no problem from motordiam, as he asked for me when he was looking around.

i'm not that type to jump the gun when it comes to huge sums of money, so i thank you all for wasting brain juice with me.

well if like u guys said, maintainence don't need to be so ex

spark plug probably once a year

engine overhaul a bit over the roof

fuel is least of my worries so toss that aside for a while

tyres, i sure change to good ones the moment i get the machine. unless default is bridgestone already (hardly possible).

insurance, that's just my estimate. i will definitely get good coverage. first time own bike, scared bad stuff happen while learning the mean machine. at least cover any possible problems. personally, i expect to cause damage to the bike at least within the first few week. though i only skid once in CDC due to aquaplaning.

just wondering, isn't engine brake same as from car? if its the same, principle is, using the engine natural spin speed is much better than forcing the tyres to slow down. isn't it. i'm ok with cars, but noob at bikes. :p

i'm a safety first freak lar, with a tight pocket. dun mind me please. i'm sure this thread will be useful for noob student with a tight pocket who want a smooth ride pt A to B with safety in mind.

ya, full payment for bike is always wiser. Avoid interest n "chopping" if u buy from motortiam, like what i mention earlier..

Actually just like u, i just own a bike, and because it's my first time riding, i getting a old but good scooter in case of any possible accident. Juat remember, ride confidentally during ur first few days of riding. I stil remember months ago, when i first ride after i got my license last year, i was riding quite ..recklessly.. nearly knock pedestrian at zebra crossing .. and side mirror scratch cars while squeezing.. So my advice to u is to drive slowly at speed limit n try not to squeeze yet. U need some time to get the feel of it.

For me, i did skid once at BBDC and got multi scratches at elbows, palms and kneecap also. U know.. skidding wont really occur if u r careful of the controlling. Do plan ur budget well and btw riding is fun! It's my hobby to ride now

Hey,

For a 1st bike, phantoms are good.

If you're afraid about parts being ex, phantoms are undoubtedly the most common bikes in singapore.

My maintenance for the bike is $80 a month including virtually non-existent parking fees, petrol and season parking, plus EO change.

Plus, think of the hours of travel time you'll be saving. time is money, no?

If you're concerned about safety, I suggest you get a jacket with foam armour for the first few weeks and really get to know your bike and its limits.

You MUST get gloves. Leather preferably. if you skid, your fingers are very vulnerable. Want to see your hand with the whites of your bones showing?

Yeah sure, jacket is hot, smelly after a while, but its safety and there is no compromise for safety. you can stop using jacket when you feel you are confident enough on the road.

I've been riding for close to a year now, I still use my gloves when riding it it's available.

----------

Catty Box

http://www.geocities.com/fiaery/IMG_0003.JPG

No more P Plater!!! :angel: