• Replies 16.5k

Originally posted by SpEr@Nov 1 2004, 09:44 AM

Eh guys ...

Think i should be one of the youngest FJR rider around here...

24 yr old paying $1272 3rd party fire and theft after 15 + 5 % NCB .... Road tax 500/ yr.

3 years of 2nd party insurance + road tax can buy a brand new Phantom.... guess my FJR dreams have to take a cold shower....

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Originally posted by capirexx@Nov 9 2004, 02:07 PM

anyone bought the new motovation sliders?

Yeah, they are not bad...

They reverse-engineerd the Moko Sliders. No need to cut fairing, fixed with a "V" plate on each side.

Installation almost identical to this:

http://www.micapeak.com/bike/FJR1300/howto/MokoSliders.html

Haven't done it yet, may do so when the weekend comes.... need to lay my hands on a torque wrench.

I got my Motovation slider last week too, but found that they gave me a wrong size bolt, I should have TWO 80mm long 10mm hexhead bolt and TWO 65mm long 10mm hexhead bolt,........

Instead I was given THREE 80mm long 10mm hexhead bolt and ONE 70mm long 10mm hexhead bolt.

I needed to have a torque wrench and will be going to buy one this Saturday together with the 65mm long 10mm hexhead bolt at the hardware shop.

Please be careful when replacing this four bolts because they are the mounting bolts for the engine, replace them one at a time.

It doesn't make any difference whether a motorcyclist has the right-of-way or not, the rider is the one most likely to get hurt.

http://www.motorcycle-accidents.com/bike_photo/4-21-02_b.jpg

hi guys, jus wish to ask, how much and where to get the headlight protector and hw much is the sliders that similar to moko ones? thanx alot

Ride Safely, NoT BlInDlY

Originally posted by sonic_seed@Nov 9 2004, 06:47 PM

hi guys, jus wish to ask, how much and where to get the headlight protector and hw much is the sliders that similar to moko ones? thanx alot

Headlight protector ------ $55 from Motoworld

Motovation slider ------ $150

Do you have a torque wrench to lend me? :sweat: :smile:

It doesn't make any difference whether a motorcyclist has the right-of-way or not, the rider is the one most likely to get hurt.

hmm, not a bad idea, can organise something like slider fitment day for most FJRians, easier to help each other out as well as some pointers from old birds bout this bikey... :smile:

Ride Safely, NoT BlInDlY

Originally posted by Easyrider_Bandit@Nov 9 2004, 07:45 PM

Do you want to fix the sliders together in a batch? Probably easier than doing alone.

What do you mean "together in batch"?,

Because the bolt for the slider is the same one for mounting the engine, I don't trust any mechanic to do it for me, would prefer to do it slowly myself and tighten the bolt with a wrench at the correct torque.

Also must replace the bolt one at a time to prevent the engine from slipping out of alignment to the frame.

If you have a place to do it together ourself, I am for it. :smile:

Originally posted by Easyrider_Bandit@Nov 9 2004, 10:44 PM

OK Lets start the ball rolling, everybody who is interested put down your acceptable times and places:

1) Easyrider_Bandit: Time- Anytime this long weekend. Place- Prefer NorthEast, but anywhere ok.

Fwah guys sibeh on huh .. But too bad i dun have a slider to fix... lol

Originally posted by Easyrider_Bandit@Nov 9 2004, 10:44 PM

OK Lets start the ball rolling, everybody who is interested put down your acceptable times and places:

1) Easyrider_Bandit: Time- Anytime this long weekend. Place- Prefer NorthEast, but anywhere ok.

Huh.. I going for holiday.. coming back on sunday late afternoon i guess..

2) Omnislash: Time-Preferbly monday. PLace- Anywhere. SInce i dun have torque wrench.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Originally posted by ReBornBikeR@Nov 9 2004, 06:43 PM

I got my Motovation slider last week too, but found that they gave me a wrong size bolt, I should have TWO 80mm long 10mm hexhead bolt and TWO 65mm long 10mm hexhead bolt,........

Instead I was given THREE 80mm long 10mm hexhead bolt and ONE 70mm long 10mm hexhead bolt.

I have the same set of items. I think we need to contact motovation and ask them if this is correct. It may well be that the original moko ones are short?

I.e. there is actually space for a 80 mm and a 70 cm on the right side (instead of 2x 65mm). Can those who have already fitted the sliders advice us on the situation?

yehhh... the thread is alivee~!~! welcome Easy_rider.. u r "Encik Quek" rite??? hehhe~

How i wish i have an FJR...... :weep:

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

2) Omnislash: Time-Preferbly monday. PLace- Anywhere. SInce i dun have torque wrench.

3) capirexx: time-next mon - wed. place: anywhere.

facebook fjr1300sgp: [email protected]

Originally posted by Easyrider_Bandit@Nov 9 2004, 10:54 PM

I have the same set of items. I think we need to contact motovation and ask them if this is correct. It may well be that the original moko ones are short?

I.e. there is actually space for a 80 mm and a 70 cm on the right side (instead of 2x 65mm). Can those who have already fitted the sliders advice us on the situation?

I am not sure whether the length of bolt given was suitable,

have to remove the original bolt to check.

Since a bolt don't cost much, I intend to buy two 65mm bolts just in case I need it like what the advice given for installing the Moko slider. :smile:

I think the supplier doesn't know much since they don't do the installation themself.

But no harm checking with them about it.

Originally posted by Easyrider_Bandit@Nov 10 2004, 01:08 AM

Based on above, it will be next Monday, confirmed.

Best in daytime, so we can see what we are doing, and if some clip or screw drop we find it...

Anyone Else?

Don't think I can make it on Monday, because my work don't have public holiday like you guys :weep:

I will go to Alexandra road to purchase the torque wrench and bolts on Saturday and fix it on Sunday morning.

Will update any findings or problems on this thread to you guys after I have it installed. :smile:

Originally posted by ReBornBikeR@Nov 10 2004, 05:33 AM

Don't think I can make it on Monday, because my work don't have public holiday like you guys :weep:

I will go to Alexandra road to purchase the torque wrench and bolts on Saturday and fix it on Sunday morning.

Will update any findings or problems on this thread to you guys after I have it installed. :smile:

I will be happy to come help you out on Sunday. At least anything, got 2 pairs of hands. Then I can meet up with the rest on Monday and provide them with assistance. Always good to meet more people who ride the same bike. Dun mind, can you get 2 65mm bolts for me too? Just in case... :cheeky:

BTW, I am a new FJR owner, I'm still riding my bandit to work until I finish all my 'farkles' (HEL brake hoses are my next item). My bike is same model and color of lun's bike; and I decided to buy a FJR after being his Pillon rider a few months back...

So, now we will have 2 sessions (I will go to both).

Sunday and Monday. Any others interested?

That's great :cheer:

certainly appreciate your help, but please let me purchase the required items first, will update this thread on Saturday to inform you the place and time that I will be doing it. ( Will hunt around at Alexandra Village for the hardware )

I will buy some 65mm long bolts for the others too :smile:

Thanks again for your help :cheer:

Originally posted by Easyrider_Bandit@Nov 10 2004, 10:33 AM

I will be happy to come help you out on Sunday. At least anything, got 2 pairs of hands. Then I can meet up with the rest on Monday and provide them with assistance. Always good to meet more people who ride the same bike. Dun mind, can you get 2 65mm bolts for me too? Just in case... :cheeky:

BTW, I am a new FJR owner, I'm still riding my bandit to work until I finish all my 'farkles' (HEL brake hoses are my next item). My bike is same model and color of lun's bike; and I decided to buy a FJR after being his Pillon rider a few months back...

So, now we will have 2 sessions (I will go to both).

Sunday and Monday. Any others interested?

:smile: By the way, is the FJR1300 really so shiok as a rider & pillion?! Wah lan....dun brainwash me....:giddy: ..... that time i almost wana get the bike liao ah.... :giddy:

juz back from the motorshow. the new color scheme for the 05 fjr looks great! wonder if there are other available colors.

easyrider: why is the fjr not fast enough? thought it has "colossal power" as many reviews tend to say? i thought one of the best part of the fjr is its power?

Originally posted by speedtriple@Nov 12 2004, 05:44 PM

juz back from the motorshow. the new color scheme for the 05 fjr looks great! wonder if there are other available colors.

easyrider: why is the fjr not fast enough? thought it has "colossal power" as many reviews tend to say? i thought one of the best part of the fjr is its power?

:smile: How much is the price of the FJR1300 at the motor show? :confused:

Originally posted by speedtriple@Nov 12 2004, 05:44 PM

Well the FJR is fast in terms of a tourer, which is what most reviews are based on. Bike to bike, its far behind many other bikes in the 1 litre + class.

In anycase, look at this example:

FJR, 145 hp and 250 kg top speed 260-270

Hayabusa, 158 hp, and is far lighter than the FJR. top speed 300+

Also, the FJR is a shaft drive which means it looses about 20% of its power so you get about 115 hp at the wheel. Most certainly one fo the definitions of a superbike is "No Shaft Drive"; you loose too much power that way.

Even the CBR 1100XX, which is quite an old design, will leave a FJR far behind. There are many others that will leave the FJR behind ZX12, R1 etc.

FJR is a "very fast and powerful bike" but its certainly no "superbike". Slap fairings on a fazer and you would get fairly similar performance.

HELP!!! :help:

I can't find any suitable torque wrench in the 10Nm - 60Nm range.

The closest I found was from 47Nm - 197Nm :cry:

Anyone have any hardware shop to recommend? :confused: