soooOOo... the heat issues really depends on individual actualli.. and also road conditions......

any bikes who kena traffic jam.... will encounter overheating..... juz how extensive is the heat....

tink yamaha quite out perform itself by producing very road worthy bikes... but nowadays they seems too contented to further improve their current models.....

wot a shame...

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

• Replies 16.5k

Originally posted by ashenZ@Nov 21 2004, 01:24 PM

tink yamaha quite out perform itself by producing very road worthy bikes... but nowadays they seems too contented to further improve their current models.....

wot a shame...

Tourer class is not supposed to be changed very often...

ST11 12 years then change to STX...

dun kan cheong leh... design new bike very expensive one, you must make back all your R&D money before launching a new bike, boh the prices will all increase by 40% liao...

Yo FJRians !

interesting reading the posts here on this thread. Understand that there are about six actual owners on this thread, right ?

I am in my forties and looking to go over the 1000 cc boundary and contemplating the FJR.... guess it is the only sensible bike in this category given the price, spec, performance, and and and !

What is the road tax like for this babe ? 2nd party insurance cost ? My last ride was a brand new Strom which lasted less than 5 months before it crashed into the side of a stupid truck. The bike is a total loss considering the cost of the repairs ( mainly the cost of the spares and the quotation put up by the workshop ).

Hoping to join you guys.

Jim

CBX

Suzuki DL1000K4

V-Strom

Originally posted by CBX750P@Nov 21 2004, 07:56 PM

I am in my forties and looking to go over the 1000 cc boundary and contemplating the FJR.... guess it is the only sensible bike in this category given the price, spec, performance, and and and !

What is the road tax like for this babe ? 2nd party insurance cost ? My last ride was a brand new Strom which lasted less than 5 months before it crashed into the side of a stupid truck. The bike is a total loss considering the cost of the repairs ( mainly the cost of the spares and the quotation put up by the workshop ).

Hoping to join you guys.

Jim

Hi Jim,

Well, road tax is $500 per year or = $320 + 0.6 x (1299 - 1,000)

Insurance for your age group (which is also mine) is about $400+ 3rd party, $600+ TPFT and $1300+ Comprehensive. Might be more if you've claimed insurance on that V-Storm :cheeky:

Doesn't drink much you you're easy on the throttle (you can get by under 2,500 rpms in Singapore.

Helps if you are 1.75 m tall or more. Its a heavy bike, but if you were riding a Vstorm then you should have no problems.

Nice engine, plenty or power, does not do well in start-stop traffice (HEAT!). Great if you like touring, one tank will see from from the border to KL.

Originally posted by Easyrider_Bandit@Nov 21 2004, 08:09 PM

Insurance for your age group (which is also mine) is about $400+ 3rd party, $600+ TPFT and $1300+ Comprehensive. Might be more if you've claimed insurance on that V-Storm :cheeky:

600+ for TPFT?

My uncle over 40 yrs old as well..

The insurance is 800+ for the first year, 500+ after NCD for the second yr...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

About there..., note what I said about the prices including NCD already... also, I'm with NTUC, which is more expensive... Its 500+, late 600+ and late 1300+ for me without NCD. I just bought my FJR, so had to work out which type of insurance I wanted and got all 3 quotes...

BTW... you get 5% discount per year... if 1st year is $800, second year cannot be $500... That's over 30% discount in one year!!

Originally posted by Easyrider_Bandit@Nov 21 2004, 01:47 PM

Tourer class is not supposed to be changed very often...

ST11 12 years then change to STX...

dun kan cheong leh... design new bike very expensive one, you must make back all your R&D money before launching a new bike, boh the prices will all increase by 40% liao...

maybe u got it wrong... Yamaha has yet to produce Tourers.. but rather sport touring as they wana get the best of both worlds... which they did rather well with the FJR..... Tourers are really juz way too boring...... (ST is abit boring liao.. after testing BMW R1150RT on sat... RT over comfortable and way way tooo Boring~!)

Wot im trying to say... tink which most FJRians shud agree... is there are a few more designs on FJR which needs improving.. like maybe an even bigger windscreen?? wider n cushier seat?? a better pillion legs position???

Dun nid to come out with new designs... FJR is more den enuf to tackle any sports tour/ Tourer class..... juz need a few more minor improvements... don't u tink?? :sweat:

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

That's looks like a full dress tourer to me...

http://www.motorsports-network.com/YAMAHA/99mc/venture.htm

Actually, all the Japanese manufacturers made full tourers. Yamaha Venture, Kawasaki Voyager and Suzuki Cavalcade.

Anyway, what you mean is the modifications to the FJR. I think Yamaha is taking a break. They are still trying to cover their asses over the infamous "ticking' problem on the FJR and had to change the valves of many FJRs... although Yamaha still officially denies the existance of this problem... the problem even exists on the R1.

Personally I think that Yamaha created the FJR because it knew if it went into the full touring market, its going to get killed by Honda (ST11 and Goldwing is already 80+% of that market liao). Anyway... definitions are strange things... the ST11 "ST" actually stands for "sport touring"... so it is also a sport tourer.

Originally posted by Easyrider_Bandit@Nov 21 2004, 10:59 PM

That's looks like a full dress tourer to me...

http://www.motorsports-network.com/YAMAHA/99mc/venture.htm

Actually, all the Japanese manufacturers made full tourers. Yamaha Venture, Kawasaki Voyager and Suzuki Cavalcade.

Anyway, what you mean is the modifications to the FJR. I think Yamaha is taking a break. They are still trying to cover their asses over the infamous "ticking' problem on the FJR and had to change the valves of many FJRs... although Yamaha still officially denies the existance of this problem... the problem even exists on the R1.

Personally I think that Yamaha created the FJR because it knew if it went into the full touring market, its going to get killed by Honda (ST11 and Goldwing is already 80+% of that market liao). Anyway... definitions are strange things... the ST11 "ST" actually stands for "sport touring"... so it is also a sport tourer.

I think that belongs to cruisers category...

Anyway, bout the ticking prob, does anyone of u experieced that? Actually, I cant really tell the diff btw a normal valve tick and the so called ticking prob thats so heavily discussed...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v416/urylle/284668.gif

Biting on the fray of my hair, I muse upon the way to find the oasis of evermore beyond the vertical horizon, I shall join the windupdeads in owl city, neither my safetysuit nor my red jumpsuit apparatus can save me, cuz I mistook a death cab for cutie in plain white T's...

Originally posted by omnislash@Nov 21 2004, 11:07 PM

Anyway, bout the ticking prob, does anyone of u experieced that? Actually, I cant really tell the diff btw a normal valve tick and the so called ticking prob thats so heavily discussed...

:thumb: you are right.. that is a cruiser-class bike... hehhee~

I guess its right to say ST11 is also a sports tourer... according to the seating position it gives... but the looks, the performance and handling brings it to Tourer class i guess....

TICKING PROBLEM?????? Does it really exists???? 1st time hear ehh... Can anyone further elaborate????? :confused:

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by ashenZ@Nov 21 2004, 11:15 PM

:thumb: you are right.. that is a cruiser-class bike... hehhee~

I guess its right to say ST11 is also a sports tourer... according to the seating position it gives... but the looks, the performance and handling brings it to Tourer class i guess....

Ha! Challenge me! Ok... I show you... 1993 Yamaha GTS... Got ABS, look like ST 11, Come with 2 Diversion type box... hehe that time I only 25 years old :smile:

http://www.motorbikes.be/en/Yamaha/1994/GTS%201000/

But cannot make it in the end...

Originally posted by ashenZ@Nov 21 2004, 11:15 PM

TICKING PROBLEM?????? Does it really exists???? 1st time hear ehh... Can anyone further elaborate????? :confused:

Eh, you must read all the international FJR forums mah...

The most famous FJR rider, Warchild even sacrifice his own FJR to have scientist take it apart to discover the reason for the ticking.

Yah, its very well know, and well proven, except Yamaha still don't officially admit it. Not all FJR have it, but enough do have it, and it results in a worn out valve :sian:

Originally posted by ashenZ@Nov 21 2004, 10:36 PM

Tourers are really juz way too boring...... (ST is abit boring liao.. after testing BMW R1150RT on sat... RT over comfortable and way way tooo Boring~!)

It think boring shouldn't be the word to be used. IF you had travel it borders to borders, you will realise it capabilities. It fuel comsumption alone is already one thumb up. I tried riding it for one R&R, it has no problem in it power i.e overtaking etc. They (ST & RT) are make for touring, one will appreciate it better if he is much into touring. Most of the ST riders i met with acknowledge of what they can get from their STs.

If you think ST is not fun, FJR shouldn't be a choice for ya either as they are more or less the same. Get a BUSA or R1 instead. It should give more fun.

Originally posted by luN@Nov 22 2004, 12:55 AM

It think boring shouldn't be the word to be used. IF you had travel it borders to borders, you will realise it capabilities. It fuel comsumption alone is already one thumb up. I tried riding it for one R&R, it has no problem in it power i.e overtaking etc. They (ST & RT) are make for touring, one will appreciate it better if he is much into touring. Most of the ST riders i met with acknowledge of what they can get from their STs.

If you think ST is not fun, FJR shouldn't be a choice for ya either as they are more or less the same. Get a BUSA or R1 instead. It should give more fun.

whahaha... exam finish liao so fierce ah...

Congrats on ya new baby. Haven seen it yet. I am trying to do up the cooling system before heading down northern Thai this dec. You intend to do up ya cooling system? Any hose? Wanna to DIY leh.

Originally posted by ashenZ@Nov 21 2004, 10:36 PM

Wot im trying to say... tink which most FJRians shud agree... is there are a few more designs on FJR which needs improving.. like maybe an even bigger windscreen?? wider n cushier seat?? a better pillion legs position???

Redesign the tail lights. They look ugly IMO.

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg
Originally posted by Easyrider_Bandit@Nov 22 2004, 12:03 AM

Ha! Challenge me! Ok... I show you... 1993 Yamaha GTS... Got ABS, look like ST 11, Come with 2 Diversion type box... hehe that time I only 25 years old :smile:

http://www.motorbikes.be/en/Yamaha/1994/GTS%201000/

But cannot make it in the end...

The reason that it had stop production of the GTS1000 is the poor sales, or else it will be a hit during the launch.

I am having one now, one of the eight in singapore.

If compare GTS verus FJR, GTS is a stable horse during cornering and high speed while FJR offer you better wind protection and integrated luggage.

Top speed definately FJR will win over but the initial pickup will be the GTS.

Will be aiming for my next touring bike FJR1300.

Singapore Goldwing Owners Group is now in facebook http://www.facebook.com/GoldwingSG

Now own only BMW K1600GT and Ex rider of Honda GL1800, Yam GTS1000, Yam Fazer 1000, Kawa GPZ400 , DukeSS400,Kawa ZXR400....and more to come

www.singapore-gts-club.8m.com

Hi All FJR Riders,

My friend and I will be confirming the 2005 FJR soon. Hope to join you guys soon.

New adventures created when you ride your bike....

Driving car is like cooking my food in a mirco wave oven..

Riding bike is like BBQ my food in nature

Get your heart pumping and adrenaline flowing..

Information on the FJR's ticking problem

http://www.fjrowners.ws/discus/messages/2/...html?1100509338

Here's a shot of the "secret" yamaha document that was passed around service agents of the problem.

http://www.fjrtech.com/photos/ticking/FJR_TSI.jpg

Most people guess this problem affects about 1% of bikes, so its up to your luck. The result is valve guides and valves that suffer verybad abrasion and are worn away. The problem still exists in '05 bikes as late as a month ago-- there have been reports on the forum. This was one of the reasons I decided to buy a second hand FJR... if there is no ticking sound after a certain mileage, then you're safe.

Problem also happens on the R1. Here's a scary R1 Story.

"I was going about 70-80mph at 8k rpm when I heard a faint tapping sound even though I had my ear plugs in. I knew that wasn't right. I started to slow down, and the tapping sound grew louder and then I also started to hear a rattling sound. Within about a min, I was down to 40mph under 5k rpm and the sound was VERY loud. It actually started to make me ill. I knew I had to pull over. I think I put it into neutral to coast and then all of a sudden I heard a loud klunk and the engine died. I knew I was screwed then. "

Warchild explains: "every so often, a 2004 R1 valve will actually come "un-made" and the valve head will drop into the piston at speed. That's the ball game at that point. Some of the pictures are particularly brutal to see. Pistons destroyed, camshaft lobes chewed, large chunks of camshaft bearing material.... it's rough business to look at."

Originally posted by luN@Nov 22 2004, 01:03 AM

Congrats on ya new baby. Haven seen it yet. I am trying to do up the cooling system before heading down northern Thai this dec. You intend to do up ya cooling system? Any hose? Wanna to DIY leh.

Whats wrong with your cooling system ? :confused:

** Be smart, ride safely, stay legal **

Please read the << Street Smart >> thread.

Originally posted by omnislash@Nov 21 2004, 11:07 PM

Thank god I don't have this "ticking" problem :sweat: or is it because I only hear wind noise during riding?

If there is ticking noise, is it very loud? Can the sound be heard when the bike is stationery during warming up? :confused:

BTW the only improvement that I wants is to have a better design pannier box lids that opens from the top :smile:

It doesn't make any difference whether a motorcyclist has the right-of-way or not, the rider is the one most likely to get hurt.

http://www.motorcycle-accidents.com/bike_photo/4-21-02_b.jpg

Originally posted by none@Nov 22 2004, 08:46 AM

Redesign the tail lights. They look ugly IMO.

IMO too.

Why are people who ride motorcycles called bikers and people who ride bikes called cyclists?

Originally posted by luN@Nov 22 2004, 12:55 AM

hhhahahhaa... fierce ehh~~ :sweat:

Wana exchange bikes???? hhhhahahaa.. each to his own i guess.... not my cup of tea though... but ST is really a worthy ride no matter how i deny it..... compared to an RT.. except for the brakes, suspension n radio... i wun change my ST for it siahh~ :smile:

Anyone can actually verify the early warning signs for the "ticking" problem???

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N