Honda RVF400/NC35

i feel that the lost of power within this range is becos maybe our rvf power curve is having a dip in that range, or its time to change piston block, piston and piston ring seal. hahahaha

maybe oso becos some parts that ppl wont go and change, need to be change.

• Replies 6.7k

Originally posted by vroomvroom@Apr 18 2004, 11:03 PM

me too .. had bad response below 6 k rpm .. esp when it's on the verge of 5k going upwards.. the power will have a slight delay .. and tt is bad esp when u need the additional pull when u r cornering or doing a normal bend. well i know someone dun corner at such low rpm but sometimes in small congested area.. this will be the sort of range i work with ... sigh ..

so usmonkey.. u intend to solve this problem? and btw, go check out your fuel consumption so tt i can do a comparison since u also change to 40 sprocket

heh bro, me just changed from 38 to 40 last week n petrol comsumption seems the same le.... no diff at all. 200-210 den resv.. speedwise oso ard the same, last time on a 38, 5k rpm is ard 84kph(est) now on 5k rpm wid the 40, ard 82kph(est). In short, at 5k rpm exact, speedo needle is pointin between the 80kmph n the line w/o any number that stand for 85kmph(the shorter line between 80 n 90 that dun hav number de).

Pickup wise, improve by 20%. Thats all i can comment on it, but if u realli wan good pickup, i reccom 14/42.

Note: rear spoc up 1= up1, front spoc down 1= rear spoc up 3, do ur calculation

eg. 14/40 = 15/43 so 14/42 = 15/45 :giddy:

I LOVE my R1!!!:shades:

Originally posted by benson@Apr 19 2004, 03:43 AM

heh bro, me just changed from 38 to 40 last week n petrol comsumption seems the same le.... no diff at all. 200-210 den resv.. speedwise oso ard the same, last time on a 38, 5k rpm is ard 84kph(est) now on 5k rpm wid the 40, ard 82kph(est). In short, at 5k rpm exact, speedo needle is pointin between the 80kmph n the line w/o any number that stand for 85kmph(the shorter line between 80 n 90 that dun hav number de).

Pickup wise, improve by 20%. Thats all i can comment on it, but if u realli wan good pickup, i reccom 14/42.

Note: rear spoc up 1= up1, front spoc down 1= rear spoc up 3, do ur calculation

eg. 14/40 = 15/43 so 14/42 = 15/45 :giddy:

my sprocket is 14/42 lor.very good pickup so far.

http://69.20.30.185/rvf400/pictures/nc35gearing.jpg

i dunno how many times i post this liao. check out the gear ratios. you'll see that our stock 15/38 has better results than 15/40, 14/42 has worse results.

15/38 combi beats 15/40 in every combination. So i dun really think it's a good choice of sprocket combi. Depending on what gear you want more power to, choose the higher numbers at the gear-to-sprocket ratio.

You'll see that 15/35 and 16/37 combis give the best output in all the combis given. Maybe if you wanna change, should change to these sizes instead.

Originally posted by jungleboy111@Apr 19 2004, 08:42 AM

http://69.20.30.185/rvf400/pictures/nc35gearing.jpg

i dunno how many times i post this liao. check out the gear ratios. you'll see that our stock 15/38 has better results than 15/40, 14/42 has worse results.

15/38 combi beats 15/40 in every combination. So i dun really think it's a good choice of sprocket combi. Depending on what gear you want more power to, choose the higher numbers at the gear-to-sprocket ratio.

You'll see that 15/35 and 16/37 combis give the best output in all the combis given. Maybe if you wanna change, should change to these sizes instead.

Jungleboy, I dun think u realli understand wad the graph is tellin u.....

it means, at 10k prm, a 15/38 can bring u to 101MPH at 6th gear whereas a 14/42 can onli bring u to 86MPH, a diff of 15MPH=roughly 25KMPH.

We all noe that for the spoc comb, if u wan pickup, top end will be sacrifice, vice visa. Hence, of all the comb there, 14/42 hav the best pickup as its equalivant to 15/45, thats y it hav the worst top end.

But our guy here wans to noe the best comb for PICKUP, I presume he noes that he's gg to lose his TOP END....

So, its still the FACT that 14/42 hav the best pickup here....

Originally posted by benson@Apr 19 2004, 12:23 PM

Jungelboy, I dun think u realli understand wad the graph is tellin u.....

it means, at 10k prm, a 15/38 can bring u to 101MPH at 6th gear whereas a 14/42 can onli bring u to 86MPH, a diff of 15MPH=roughly 25KMPH.

We all noe that for the spoc comb, if u wan pickup, top end will be sacrifice, vice visa. Hence, of all the comb there, 14/42 hav the best pickup as its equalivant to 15/45, thats y it hav the worst top end.

But our guy here wans to noe the best comb for PICKUP, I presume he noes that he's gg to lose his TOP END....

So, its still the FACT that 14/42 hav the best pickup here....

Oops... Didnt see the top left hand corner of the graph... i see ur point now

Originally posted by jungleboy111@Apr 19 2004, 12:29 PM

Oops... Didnt see the top left hand corner of the graph... i see ur point now

u hv sign up for my trip hor??

Heh, KEN, SHAY, DLM, BUZZ....

Y nv see u all sign up too??

The rest of our rvfian?

and also, shay, wheres our rvf t-shirt?

Ok, i found a website on sprocket sizes. This might help if you wanna change the ratios.

http://www.vsource.org/VFR-RVF_files/SprocketRatios.htm

Theres a thread in 400greybike forum. Quotes from one guy...

"Actually, the only thing could be gained in going up a tooth in the front sprocket is fuel economy. Our NCs don't really have enough hp/torque to pull hard enough for this sprocket combination. Without reaching the rev limit, you actually may lose top speed for this. With my stock 15/38 sprocket on my NC35, I was only able to rev out just pass 14,000 rpm for an indicated ~135mph top speed, but with my new 14/42, I was able to rev it out to 15,500 rpm relatively easy (HRC CDI rev limit) for an indicated ~150mph (127-8 mph corrected speed when taking sprocket and tire into account)!"

http://www.400greybike.co.uk/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=3492

Sounds like 14/42 is better :smile:

haiz... guys. exam next week. this week chiong book.

will be getting bike during my exams week... sianz...

so outing how to go...

guys, which nicer?

1: Arai rx7nakano

2: Shoei x11tc6 Daijaro memorial

3: Shoei xr1000 Diablolic(latest)

Gib comments le...

lasti, u guys think spendin at 800-900+ on a FF is worth it?

Originally posted by benson@Apr 19 2004, 12:38 PM

The rest of our rvfian?

wtf?? what TSHIRT??! me not doin mass order u know?? mai lai fan wa. :mad:

im a busy man now..family Man!! well at least till this comin friday.

BTW when yr outing??? u nvr say leh!! can be this coming weekend on 24th april or not?? coz i wont be back till then.

guys, which nicer?

Gib comments le...

lookin at u spending so much needless cash on yr body work..i rather see u spend those 800-900 bucks on a FF that can protect yr head and ""handsome"" face.

if u ask me...800-900 is a little too costly as u are payin EXTRA for the special replica designs. Buy one plain color one like what i had, or Ken's FF...a simple black Arai AstroJ or watever model will only set u back $500-$600 only.

so iz up to u. if u wana pay $400 more for the designs then go for it lor.

but at the end of the day, getting a Arai or Shoei FF is definitely a good life investment plan. :thumb:

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

Originally posted by benson@Apr 19 2004, 02:14 PM

guys, which nicer?

Gib comments le...

nakano.....:cheer:

Originally posted by jungleboy111@Apr 19 2004, 12:39 PM

Ok, i found a website on sprocket sizes. This might help if you wanna change the ratios.

http://www.vsource.org/VFR-RVF_files/SprocketRatios.htm

Theres a thread in 400greybike forum. Quotes from one guy...

"Actually, the only thing could be gained in going up a tooth in the front sprocket is fuel economy. Our NCs don't really have enough hp/torque to pull hard enough for this sprocket combination. Without reaching the rev limit, you actually may lose top speed for this. With my stock 15/38 sprocket on my NC35, I was only able to rev out just pass 14,000 rpm for an indicated ~135mph top speed, but with my new 14/42, I was able to rev it out to 15,500 rpm relatively easy (HRC CDI rev limit) for an indicated ~150mph (127-8 mph corrected speed when taking sprocket and tire into account)!"

http://www.400greybike.co.uk/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=3492

Sounds like 14/42 is better :smile:

REPEAT AFTER ME GENTLEMEN.......

STOCK IS BEST. STOCK IS STILL THE BEST!!!

repeat this sentence a hundred times to yurself with the help of a swinging stopwatch in front of yr eyes :giddy: soon..u will drift off to sleep and wake up knowing that STOCK IS BEST. STOCK IS STILL THE BEST!!!

repeat therapy as and when your wallet is startin to burn a hole from your mindless quests for bike mods.

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

Originally posted by benson@Apr 19 2004, 12:38 PM

The rest of our rvfian?

Post the details up again

Originally posted by Shay@Apr 19 2004, 04:03 PM

repeat this sentence a hundred times to yurself with the help of a swinging stopwatch in front of yr eyes :giddy: soon..u will drift off to sleep and wake up knowing that STOCK IS BEST. STOCK IS STILL THE BEST!!!

repeat therapy as and when your wallet is startin to burn a hole from your mindless quests for bike mods.

this part i agree with u totally !

STOCK IS STILL THE BEST

http://alpha.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-1115.jpg

why get a 1 when you can have a perfect 10 ?

Originally posted by Shay@Apr 19 2004, 04:03 PM

Sometimes,stock is not always the best.The orignal sprocket size for rvf is much slower than my current 14/42 in pickup.No damage in parts to the bike even after half a year.Running quite well also.Repeat after me also.you never try,you never know.We perhapes should try new things for our bikes.Who knows,we will discover that that not always stock mean the best.:cheer:

Hi bros,

Does majority of you here tried fixing a illegal aftermarket end can for your bike before?Does anyone know which end can is the least restricitve and the most powerful for rvf?Pls state the brand and the model and the price for a secondhand end can which you think you will recommend.thanks.:cheer:

Guest Byran

Can any RVF riders please tell me whats the market price for FN, FP and FQ plate RVF. Ya some more whats the age? :smile:

benson, get a arai helmet better.

any parts spoil can get parts easily.

shoei is oso good, anyway, which 1 u choose, wont be wrong.

Originally posted by Rvfians@Apr 19 2004, 05:26 PM

Sometimes,stock is not always the best.The orignal sprocket size for rvf is much slower than my current 14/42 in pickup.No damage in parts to the bike even after half a year.Running quite well also.Repeat after me also.you never try,you never know.We perhapes should try new things for our bikes.Who knows,we will discover that that not always stock mean the best.:cheer:

wats ur speed at 6k rpm and 10k rpm? thinking of getting this combination, looks great in pickup but think top gonna suffer quite alot rite?

REPEATED POST AS REQUESTED

Outing

-Its gonna be a successful 1,not those meet-at-where-den-go-where-sit-down-think-go-where-do-wad type

Date : the lastest P.H (provided I can apply the leave successfully)

Time : See below

Venue(s) : See below

1: Meet at changi V- to gather 1st : ard 6-8pm ba

2 Den head for the hawker center area or the kopitiam area to eat SEAFOOD- crabs, prawns, fish, LOBSTERS?? We shall discuss abt the cost issues.

3: Aft meal, walk over to agua carpark see agua

4: Head for fisherman V n sit down there, eat snacks, drink--any liquid items available there n slack under the romantic embience...

5: Head for seletar dam n slack there tok c***, guys wid pillons can pat-tor there, guys w/o pillon can TOK COK--not again?

6:Some nite riding/cruisin to maybe J.kayu or Al-ameen for indian supper n teh tarek n TOCKCOK AGAIN!

7: Shld be 2-4am by now n its home sweet home.

Pls gib additional suggestions n ur comments on the 7-STEPS TRIP organized by me

:cheer: :hungry: :smile:

lelong lelong, my rvf selling away liao.

wanna take what quickly post here.

firts come first serve.

ISE reserve my muffler liao.

i got 2 front goodrich steel braided hose. who wan who wan.

anything wanna take kin ah.