Honda RVF400/NC35

Originally posted by GhostRider17@Jun 3 2004, 02:42 PM

I wanted to change it , but some of them say not so good .. dun know how true :confused:

i think ohlins will be best.. :thumb: prices wise dun know how much $$$.. :help:

Ohlins? save up at least $1000.

PEnske is another option. slightly less pricey than Onlins i guess.

the OEM unit is a showa which is too soft for track use as reckoned by many track veterans.

There is a much better performing Showa Unit at around $500. worth a look too if u are on tight budget.

migs@mcasia

Posted on Jun 3 2004, 08:11 AM

good day to all..

I am currently attempting to set-up an RVF for racing in our local racing in the Philippines. we have a tight track therefore small bikes have good advantage against big cc bikes on the tight turns. last race weekend my team mate place 5th over all against 12 other beginner racers who were mostly on gsxr600, R6's , R1's and 954's - lap times on the RVF was the fastest on the track... he only placed fifth because he had a poor start, he stalled the bike and everyone started and took the first corner already before he was able to take off.

great comeback and the little rocket (which is basically on stock trim) just zoomed against bigger cc's - obviously rider skill was a big factor but what impressed me the most is how it handled and had decent power on take-off from corners.

based on this initial succes on the track - we decided to set-up the RVF to fine tune the power on teh bike.

anyone have tips or sources for performance parts to trick up the RVF. we really dont have a big budget.

any information to a race specialist or performance parts specialist on the RVF would be highly appreciated.

Mabuhay from all of us here to all you guys in singapore!

hey! u guys have RVFs there too? thaz neat!

go here for more info on tricking out yr bike

http://www.400greybike.co.uk/

Go to Forum and look under 'Racer's Edge' for more relevant details pertaining racing or u can look under 'VFR/RVF Owner' for more infos.

u can try entering " HRC CDI" , " HRC Ignition", " Jet Kits" or HRC airbox in that forum's search engine. Tons of info will be at yr fingertips.

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

• Replies 6.7k

Originally posted by GhostRider17@Jun 3 2004, 02:42 PM

I wanted to change it , but some of them say not so good .. dun know how true :confused:

i think ohlins will be best.. :thumb: prices wise dun know how much $$$.. :help:

Dun think Ohlins produce shocks for RVF....Bt if u really wanna change ur shocks,think Penske might have it....

Originally posted by Ise@Jun 3 2004, 06:29 PM

Dun think Ohlins produce shocks for RVF....Bt if u really wanna change ur shocks,think Penske might have it....

i remember u told me there's one brand shocks is good , is it Penske u told me..:sweat:

StRaIgHt RoAd Is FoR KiDs ....... BuT CoRnErS Is FoR RaCeRs

Ya,think that time I told u abt Penske liao...Anyway so far I do not know of anyone using Penske on RVF so also not sure whether it'll be really good or not but so far the feedback on Penske brand is quite good....Anyway if u intend to upgrade then beta save the money cost it'll definitely cost a bomb.... :deal:

Originally posted by Ken@Jun 4 2004, 03:40 PM

think there's 1 rvf in sg which is with ohlins.

heard sporting done up 1 b4.

i also heard before

StRaIgHt RoAd Is FoR KiDs ....... BuT CoRnErS Is FoR RaCeRs

Originally posted by Shay@Jun 3 2004, 06:09 PM

Ohlins? save up at least $1000.

PEnske is another option. slightly less pricey than Onlins i guess.

the OEM unit is a showa which is too soft for track use as reckoned by many track veterans.

There is a much better performing Showa Unit at around $500. worth a look too if u are on tight budget.

hey! u guys have RVFs there too? thaz neat!

go here for more info on tricking out yr bike

http://www.400greybike.co.uk/

Go to Forum and look under 'Racer's Edge' for more relevant details pertaining racing or u can look under 'VFR/RVF Owner' for more infos.

u can try entering " HRC CDI" , " HRC Ignition", " Jet Kits" or HRC airbox in that forum's search engine. Tons of info will be at yr fingertips.

yup we have RVF's here too...

we have lots in common in terms of teh bike you use - actually we have almost every jap model in here.

thanks for the info by the way - do you know any store in singapore that has peformance parts for the RVF a buddy of mine is there, wondering if you point me to the right direction. thanks

like to check..... did anyone of u hang your helmets on the bike????

i cant seems to find 1 to hang thats the problem......

back seat to not have a hook like other bikes.......

Originally posted by john81@Jun 5 2004, 01:33 PM

Actually can be done... Open up yr pillion seat there's 4 hook that can be use to hook helmet.. but remeber the hook have to be kept in side if not ppl can just take it.

2002 - 2003 Honda NSR SP 150

2003 - 2005 Honda RVF 400

2004 - 2006 GSX-1300R Hayabusa

2008 - ? Yamaha FZ 600

IBA Member No 25268

http://www.121network.net/images/sig11.gif

i've tried to hook my open face before and its possible, under the pillion seat on the rite side.. u have to look for it, hard to explain.. its just like the way those SP rider hang their helmet on the side of the pillion seat.. but u have to adjust it so that ur pillion seat can close back. :smile: But i dun recommend it.. u will know why when u manage to hook ur helmet by the side. :thumb:

Anyone know how much to change spocket front & rear + X ring chain?? :confused:

There is a metal cable that has one side attached to the metal frame inside the pillion seat. The other end has a loop. what u do is pull the metal cable thru the helmet rings and have the loose end of the cable hooked up to a hook in the metal frame.

Originally posted by acidhurt@Jun 5 2004, 07:16 PM

Anyone know how much to change spocket front & rear + X ring chain?? :confused:

AFAM front(15) n rear(40) spocket + DID X-ring at $235

original spocket + X-ring ard $220

prices varies from shops n euro market(afam spocket)

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

*~it's not WHAT u ride, it's HOW u ride~*

if u do not have the ''string'' to tie ur helmet, u might wanna noe where to get from DLM.

Originally posted by Ken@Jun 6 2004, 03:39 AM

if u do not have the ''string'' to tie ur helmet, u might wanna noe where to get from DLM.

iz not a 'string' lah.

iz a metal cable with black rubber insulation. this thing is meant to secure helmets. comes standard as oem but if u dun have it, u can buy the metal cable from DIY shop...they sell by length.

Good n bad la this thing..good is can hang helmet, bad is must be careful, i cut myself several times liao..ouch!

btw Ken, havent got a chance to see yr pillion seat compartment....how do u hang helmets on your rocketship? just curious....cable too?

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

Hey Buzz,

Welcome back to Singapore. Didn't know you are back till now actually!

So when is da next track day gonna be?

By the way FIY, there will be a Clubman race series goin down at Pasir Gudang on the 27th June(Sunday). Everyone is welcome to take a look. Introduce you'll to the track scene of Singapore, Johor and some say Batam.

Guys,i had an "ugly" incident with the JB authorities today.Don't want to talk bout that now,but those JB MBJB farkers scratched my RVF's new paintwork and refused any responbilities.

Just want to know any shop in Singapore that do custom airbrush(no stickers).Can recommend me?Actually got frend who recommend a shop in JB that airbrush and price was reasonable but i don't trust leaving my bike in a "foreign" country for a week or two.

Give me an address and price quotations if possible.Thanks!

Bikes Previously Owned: Aprilia RS125, Kawasaki KRR150, Honda RVF400, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ6N, Suzuki Hayabusa ,Yamaha RXS115, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha Nuovo Elegance, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ16,Honda Vtec1, Yamaha FZ1N, Honda Wave-S, Honda CB400X, Honda NC750X,Yamaha TMax 530, Vespa GTS 300, Yamaha XMAX 300 

Current Ride: Honda X-ADV 750

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@Jun 6 2004, 01:53 AM

AFAM front(15) n rear(40) spocket + DID X-ring at $235

original spocket + X-ring ard $220

prices varies from shops n euro market(afam spocket)

Heard that original sprocket last longer than AFAM cos AFAM actually for track/racing use.Is this true?Cos my AFAM is wearing out.Changing soon.

Bikes Previously Owned: Aprilia RS125, Kawasaki KRR150, Honda RVF400, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ6N, Suzuki Hayabusa ,Yamaha RXS115, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha Nuovo Elegance, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ16,Honda Vtec1, Yamaha FZ1N, Honda Wave-S, Honda CB400X, Honda NC750X,Yamaha TMax 530, Vespa GTS 300, Yamaha XMAX 300 

Current Ride: Honda X-ADV 750

Originally posted by usmonkey@Jun 6 2004, 12:57 PM

Hey Buzz,

Welcome back to Singapore. Didn't know you are back till now actually!

So when is da next track day gonna be?

By the way FIY, there will be a Clubman race series goin down at Pasir Gudang on the 27th June(Sunday). Everyone is welcome to take a look. Introduce you'll to the track scene of Singapore, Johor and some say Batam.

back for abt a month already.. not ready for track yet..

will go after getting my cl2 n change tires... there's a nail in it!! :giddy:

hope to change tis weekend

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

cheh san, mine oso by the metal cable with black rubber.

but dun think that i will hold helmet there, will scratch the fairings.

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@Jun 7 2004, 11:19 PM

back for abt a month already.. not ready for track yet..

will go after getting my cl2 n change tires... there's a nail in it!! :giddy:

hope to change tis weekend

What tyre r u chnaging to?

Then the present dunlop.. pass to me lei.. so I can use..

2002 - 2003 Honda NSR SP 150

2003 - 2005 Honda RVF 400

2004 - 2006 GSX-1300R Hayabusa

2008 - ? Yamaha FZ 600

IBA Member No 25268

http://www.121network.net/images/sig11.gif

Originally posted by joshy@Jun 8 2004, 08:29 AM

What tyre r u chnaging to?

Then the present dunlop.. pass to me lei.. so I can use..

http://www.planetsmilies.com/smilies/avatars/kaos/kaos0287.gif middle botak already... somemore got nail.. u sure u wan?

very unsafe wor :nono: dun wan to hai u

im changing back to GPR70 lor..