i feel they are toughening up on cars as well these days.

my guess is the number of road accidents involving bikes are relatively higher so the people up-there want to ensure the riders follow by the book closely.

hopefully 2014 they will relax a bit but lets do our part to not give them reason (ride safe)

• Replies 109

maybe they wanna slove the problem ,kill the root

so in future , maybe cannot eve change exhaust pipe

There is a lot of debate on this matter, so much it seems like flogging the dead horse.

I think certain modifications are actually beneficial, like the whole braking system, pads, discs, pumps, brake hose etc. Chains and sprockets should be allowed as well (within reason) as the rider can customize his ride to either get better pickup or better mileage.

Pipes is subjective. I myself prefer deep tones, not shrill tones. Not too loud also. I don't mind having akra or yoshi pipe etc, with silencer in. I know some people like to remove silencer, but if they keep pulling throttle in hdb neighbourhoods, i will pour water. I know they like the sound, sibeh orgasmic, but please lah, pple trying to sleep. Be more courteous a bit, msia not far away.

As teraboi said, we all want our rides to look good, and unique. If the only difference is the number plate, then we're all gonna have a hard time searching for our bike in big carparks.

Unfortunately, LTA is the law. And they seem to be very stubbornly stupid on this issue. Very rigid thinking, not dynamic enough.

The only way i see changes will be made is that we start to infiltrate their structure at high level positions, and start making decisions that make more sense.

The clamping down on modification not only hurts the vehicle owners, it hurts the motortiam business, which many are small shop owners. It also means that the market for aftermarket parts are shrinking in Singapore, and those companies will be likely to invest less in Singapore, which will then lead to less jobs, less GDP, less economic growth and opportunities. Not to mention, less knowledge on automotive parts and less creativity in designing paint schemes and stickers, since fully stock bike with sticker design can fail cos not same as registration details.

Well said well said.

I think after so long, LTA is beginning to lose sight of why they had annual inspections in the first place -- that is to ensure that vehicles comply to adequate safety standards. It would have made a lot more sense if they focused on things such as braking power, headlight intensity, horn and other essentials such as sprocket wear, bolt tightness and tire thread depth (I don't see them checking this nowadays). All they care about now are aftermarket parts and carbon emissions.

` ` ` ,=; ` ` ` ` ` ` `

` ` `/_____ ` ` ` ` ` `

` `()[_____\,,,,. ` ` `

` `_//\=x(_)\/ __ ` ` `

` / `\ \{}}}/ / `\ ~ ~`

`| () | \(_)=| () |~ ` ~

` \__/ ` ` ` `\__/ ` ` `

There is a lot of debate on this matter, so much it seems like flogging the dead horse.

I think certain modifications are actually beneficial, like the whole braking system, pads, discs, pumps, brake hose etc. Chains and sprockets should be allowed as well (within reason) as the rider can customize his ride to either get better pickup or better mileage.

Pipes is subjective. I myself prefer deep tones, not shrill tones. Not too loud also. I don't mind having akra or yoshi pipe etc, with silencer in. I know some people like to remove silencer, but if they keep pulling throttle in hdb neighbourhoods, i will pour water. I know they like the sound, sibeh orgasmic, but please lah, pple trying to sleep. Be more courteous a bit, msia not far away.

As teraboi said, we all want our rides to look good, and unique. If the only difference is the number plate, then we're all gonna have a hard time searching for our bike in big carparks.

Unfortunately, LTA is the law. And they seem to be very stubbornly stupid on this issue. Very rigid thinking, not dynamic enough.

The only way i see changes will be made is that we start to infiltrate their structure at high level positions, and start making decisions that make more sense.

The clamping down on modification not only hurts the vehicle owners, it hurts the motortiam business, which many are small shop owners. It also means that the market for aftermarket parts are shrinking in Singapore, and those companies will be likely to invest less in Singapore, which will then lead to less jobs, less GDP, less economic growth and opportunities. Not to mention, less knowledge on automotive parts and less creativity in designing paint schemes and stickers, since fully stock bike with sticker design can fail cos not same as registration details.

Well said. :clapping:

my guess is the number of road accidents involving bikes are relatively higher so the people up-there want to ensure the riders follow by the book closely.

hopefully 2014 they will relax a bit but lets do our part to not give them reason (ride safe)

Of course it is higher. Riders fall into the vulnerable category. But whats the statistics of riders getting into an accident without any involvement of some reckless drivers? I believe nobody wants to get involved in an accident especially riders. Not even the minor ones. In any accident the rider will always lose out. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

so brembo RCS masterpump is legal or illegal now?

some ppl say can pass, some ppl say they failed theirs

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

Meh, I still think they just want to make spare change off us and make life difficult and hopefully scare riders off riding.

The only way to solve the problem is cut the head, change the idiot in charge. Period.

Try viewing it from another aspect. when there is a crash, its easy to associate it with the after market parts.

I see some folks changing exhaust, rejetting, air filter etc to get some more speed but fail to upgrade the brakes or tires. They focus on the speed aspect but not the stopping aspect. Even if there is upgrade, are the mounts, frames, etc able to take the added torque and stopping power? Who is it to certify if something happens?

If performance is what is lacking from that bike and it needs so much performance mods, maybe it is not the right bike in the first place?

I altered a bike that was not designed for disc brakes a long time ago and the other parts got stressed. The front seal leaked, two suspension was changed in less than 6 months and when I left the bike with a lady, she rode and damaged the upper bearing cones and the upper bearings were busted.

LTA cannot say what work well with what, and if they are going to approve something during an inspection, they are going to take the rap if something happens. There are liability issues and no one will stick their neck out unnecessarily.

Please do not take offence, this is just the flip side of a coin view.

Try viewing it from another aspect. when there is a crash, its easy to associate it with the after market parts.

I see some folks changing exhaust, rejetting, air filter etc to get some more speed but fail to upgrade the brakes or tires. They focus on the speed aspect but not the stopping aspect. Even if there is upgrade, are the mounts, frames, etc able to take the added torque and stopping power? Who is it to certify if something happens?

If performance is what is lacking from that bike and it needs so much performance mods, maybe it is not the right bike in the first place?

I altered a bike that was not designed for disc brakes a long time ago and the other parts got stressed. The front seal leaked, two suspension was changed in less than 6 months and when I left the bike with a lady, she rode and damaged the upper bearing cones and the upper bearings were busted.

LTA cannot say what work well with what, and if they are going to approve something during an inspection, they are going to take the rap if something happens. There are liability issues and no one will stick their neck out unnecessarily.

Many people just want more power, more speed etc when comes to bike modding. But a friend of mine shared that the first thing to mod is always the braking system. Your stopping power must be able to overcome the increment in speed when you mod for speed. Otherwise, plain modding the speed aspect is a shortcut to accidents.

At the same time, i feel that riders should buy the correct bike for what they want to mod for. If they want speed, get a sports bike or a sports-tourer. No point modding a RXZ to perform like a motoGP bike. It will never happen. Likewise, there are limits to modding. The more power you try to juice out of your engine, the faster it wears and there may be parts that are not designed for that punishment.

Mod also must use brain and mod.

RIDE.

2012 - 2015: Honda NSR150SP

2015 - current : Honda CBR600RR

ya agree with you.

simply things like say for example mod to larger or better disc rotor, theres a huge stress added to the mounts, bear in mind that the rotor mounts screw holes and bolts are still the same size, the rim may crack due to the stopping power of the larger disc ( again mounted on the same small stock bolt), Larger disc means a caliper thats further away, exerting more stress. Who knows it may one day break off and lodge itself into the front rim. sometimes mod must really be careful dun herd instinct.

On the side note, I really like the low exhaust notes.

I have a question.

This petition, did you guys send it to LTA only? Have you tried sending them to MPs, whether PAP or Opposition?

Reason being LTA will just disregard the matter or give lame excuse. But the politicians, have to seem like they do something, and actually produce results, or lose their seats. Even if they ignore, it means enough to us that they are not working for our welfare, we can then make a decision to replace them in the next election.

This is provided that the petition contains very strong points for our case. E.g. Small business startups fail due to clampdown on aftermarket parts, market becomes smaller, the industry becomes smaller, lesser jobs in industry being offered, big aftermarket companies turned off from investing here as market is small etc.?

Our points must have direct relation to economy, amongst other factors that affect our population.

RIDE.

I have a question.

This petition, did you guys send it to LTA only? Have you tried sending them to MPs, whether PAP or Opposition?

Reason being LTA will just disregard the matter or give lame excuse. But the politicians, have to seem like they do something, and actually produce results, or lose their seats. Even if they ignore, it means enough to us that they are not working for our welfare, we can then make a decision to replace them in the next election.

This is provided that the petition contains very strong points for our case. E.g. Small business startups fail due to clampdown on aftermarket parts, market becomes smaller, the industry becomes smaller, lesser jobs in industry being offered, big aftermarket companies turned off from investing here as market is small etc.?

Our points must have direct relation to economy, amongst other factors that affect our population.

i think it will be

1.bikes are toublesome

2.bikes are problem child

3 . bikes are poor

i think it will be

1.bikes are toublesome

2.bikes are problem child

3 . bikes are poor

If they really reply like that, then no point already. But the number of people taking class 2 licences are increasing lately due to the high cost of taking cars. This will start to become more of an issue for Singaporeans.

RIDE.

I think one point is that how come some modifications not allowed but these same mods done by foreign plated vehicles are not controlled and allowed entry to be used on this very roads? ( or are they barred from entry)

LTA thinking is old school.. this cannot, that cannot..if aftermarket is good for world top rider, why cant we used it.. Im very sad that this new generation, still we living in Old communise style regime..

we should go write a petiontion to the MP..

now days, street legal exhaust cost is increase by 15 or 30%..but others countries is cheaper..

current bikes: NSR 250 PGM4, HRC CBR 1k & SYM GTS200

Cars :KIA CERATO H/B(05-09)

Bikes:Ypvs 125(90-92),NSR PGM 2(92-93),MBX 125(93-94)

TZr250(94-95),GSXR 400sp(95-98),Aprilia Extrema(96-98), Fireblade 400(98-00),RXZ(98-00),RVF400(00-02), Dalim magma(00-02),RXZ(00-01) Krr150(00-03),R6(02-05),Wave(03-05),125z(03-05),RXZ(08),DRZ SM(06-08)VTR SP1(08-11)Phantom 200(08-10),Fz1s(11-13)

Shows they have nothing better to do.

With heavy vehicles being loaded unsafely, and/or spilling gravel and sand on the road, or not securing their loads properly, you'd think that LTA has more important things on their hands.

But NOooooo. Your little LED indicators or pole lights are more dangerous.

LOL. Bunch of dumbfucck bureaucrats.

In jan this year i skidded at keppel due the bend is full of mud..

current bikes: NSR 250 PGM4, HRC CBR 1k & SYM GTS200

Cars :KIA CERATO H/B(05-09)

Bikes:Ypvs 125(90-92),NSR PGM 2(92-93),MBX 125(93-94)

TZr250(94-95),GSXR 400sp(95-98),Aprilia Extrema(96-98), Fireblade 400(98-00),RXZ(98-00),RVF400(00-02), Dalim magma(00-02),RXZ(00-01) Krr150(00-03),R6(02-05),Wave(03-05),125z(03-05),RXZ(08),DRZ SM(06-08)VTR SP1(08-11)Phantom 200(08-10),Fz1s(11-13)

[QU OTE=MIGHTY MAX;8087506]In jan this year i skidded at keppel due the bend is full of mud..

They will penalize u for losing control instead. Zzz

Ride fast..ride safe..don't crash...

Lol... Welcome to the club... I got fined for not being aware that my iu unit was changed by the previous owner... $70 x 3 times... $210...

How you kena de?

Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk 2

Long Live the Dream.

Erp gantry can't detect my iu... So the first summon I receive is for

1)"going through an erp gantry with a defective iu unit on 26th January 2013"

Second one is for

2)"Going through an erp gantry with no iu unit on 30th January 2013"

And third one is for

3)"Going through an erp gantry with no cash card inserted on 13 February 2013" when I obviously remember inserting it before going through. I always remember. Even if I forgot to insert, I'll insert it while riding. That's how I can confirm I never forgot to insert...

Ok so when I receive the reminder of the summons, it was already March 2013 and the 2)"going through erp gantry with no iu unit" already expired and I have to pay $200 for it alone. And the 1st summon at $70 and the 3rd summon at $10.50

But because the LTA always don't have any record when I attend court, I purposely don't pay the $10.50 fine so there confirm will be a record when I attend court. And when I attend court, the LTA prosecutor said that I was using a "de-registered vehicle's iu unit". And he's willing to accept composition fine for $70 for all three cases... No point fighting anymore... Seems like the judges in subordinate courts are under the governments payroll and they don't give a f**k about justice... Because I was wrongfully accused for the 1 & 2 summons... Lol... Simple as that lol...

ya agree with you.

simply things like say for example mod to larger or better disc rotor, theres a huge stress added to the mounts, bear in mind that the rotor mounts screw holes and bolts are still the same size, the rim may crack due to the stopping power of the larger disc ( again mounted on the same small stock bolt), Larger disc means a caliper thats further away, exerting more stress. Who knows it may one day break off and lodge itself into the front rim. sometimes mod must really be careful dun herd instinct.

On the side note, I really like the low exhaust notes.

Perhaps just perhaps it was done with shobby worksmanship. :rolleyes:

I think one point is that how come some modifications not allowed but these same mods done by foreign plated vehicles are not controlled and allowed entry to be used on this very roads? ( or are they barred from entry)
They are not barred. Everyday I see and MY bikes with these mods. :D

Erp gantry can't detect my iu... So the first summon I receive is for

1)"going through an erp gantry with a defective iu unit on 26th January 2013"

Second one is for

2)"Going through an erp gantry with no iu unit on 30th January 2013"

And third one is for

3)"Going through an erp gantry with no cash card inserted on 13 February 2013" when I obviously remember inserting it before going through. I always remember. Even if I forgot to insert, I'll insert it while riding. That's how I can confirm I never forgot to insert...

Ok so when I receive the reminder of the summons, it was already March 2013 and the 2)"going through erp gantry with no iu unit" already expired and I have to pay $200 for it alone. And the 1st summon at $70 and the 3rd summon at $10.50

But because the LTA always don't have any record when I attend court, I purposely don't pay the $10.50 fine so there confirm will be a record when I attend court. And when I attend court, the LTA prosecutor said that I was using a "de-registered vehicle's iu unit". And he's willing to accept composition fine for $70 for all three cases... No point fighting anymore... Seems like the judges in subordinate courts are under the governments payroll and they don't give a f**k about justice... Because I was wrongfully accused for the 1 & 2 summons... Lol... Simple as that lol...

Justice only for the rich. :cool: Edited by duo

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Perhaps just perhaps it was done with shobby worksmanship. :rolleyes:

They are not barred. Everyday I see and MY bikes with these mods. :D

Justice only for the rich. :cool:

Haha well said man... Justice only for the rich... So true... But my police officer friends in subordinate courts told me that the Justice only at high court, not subordinate courts... Lol... I think only high court fights for justice with a jury of 12... I think only, I never been there before... Maybe I watch too many American shows lol... -.-

2 problems.

The LTA does not take the rap if something happens. They are a govt body, Singaporeans aren't their priority, profit is.

Your safety is not their concern, that's TP's area of concern, if they happen to be at a scene of an accident, they are there to saman you for illegal mods to fill up their quotas.

Imo, the LTA is simply an extension of another man's ego, just like how much of Singaporean life is governed by anyway.

People want more power that's their god damned problem, if power and noise is an issue, why homologate supercars?

Be careful of LTA giving summon letters on faulty IU when you have had inserted the cashcard before riding pass an operating ERP.

I really think they think they are the authority and can bully us and just randomly summon commoners like us to earn the $10.50 ($8.50 if pay online) fine.

So to prove our innocence, i guess we need a bloody camera to be placed capturing our IU unit with cashcard clearly visibly seen with GPS location and tracking as well as accurate day, date and time recording???

In any case, the stock exhausts of Harley Davidson, Ferrari and Lamborghini actually very soft to pass homologation tests.

Sent from my LG-P875 using Tapatalk

"---- Still trying to lose weight ----"

Class 2B: 20 Oct 2011

Class 2A: 04 Jan 2013

Class 2: 01 Apr 2014

Class 3: 05 Mar 2012

Class 4: 24 Mar 2015

PPCDL: 06 Sept 2012

When it comes to IU... It's their call la I think. They put the device on the bike, the thing spoil means blame the rider... Sien.. And last week my mech told me if your IU is on a non standard IU holder and it's damaged even though under warranty, it will not be covered as they will blame the owner for changing the bracket.

As for the Supercars, the noise test is only for what is called a Drive-by noise test. Meaning, not at idle and not at full throttle. It's at slightly open throttle. So far Supercars, if u get to peep below you'll see a bypass valve. That is programmed only to be closed by vacuum at around 1500-3000 rpm thereabouts to pass the drive by noise test.

Or else, an idling lambo will blow the crap out of the mic. Pay attention to how they sound at the red lights next time.

Ride fast..ride safe..don't crash...