Hi all...I need help n advice from u all.... i went to a certain shop in BB to get a new bike...B4 i went to this shop i already scout afew other shop regarding the price of this new bike...most of the shop the price are reasonable but i dun wan to get from them bcoz they cant offer me the number plate i wish to get...upon reaching this shop...they offer me the price which is around what other shops offer me...best of all the saleman say he got the number plate that i wish to get..hearing this im kind of happy...so we procced to go do the paper work...after the paper work..i pay a deposit to the cashier first..after i pay the deposit the saleman say he forget to add the COE price in...i though that maybe the saleman really forget so i jus ask him to include the COE as im still happy as i manage to get the number plate i wanted....after all this i left the shop... guess what...today i receive a call from the saleman saying that they cant let me have the number plate i want as it belong to someone else....WTF...after going thru so much stuff i though i manage to get the number plate which i been searching high n low... i jus check the LTA website....i manage to trace the number hab been reg to another bike...the bike was reg this yr feb onli...can anyone advice me on what to do as i already pay a deposit to the shop...do i have a case here....can i complain to CASE regarding this matter... help really needed asap...:mad: :mad: :mad:

• Replies 25

:popcorn:

Yesterday was history, tomorrow is mystery, today is a blessing. I love today.

1998: honda hurricane

1999: Rxz, TXR150 gamma

2000: L2s turbo

2001: ZXR250

2002: RS125

2003: CBR900

http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g43/FireBLade9282/SBFpic.jpg

Originally posted by slow_sp@May 07, 2007 10:06 pm

Hi all...I need help n advice from u all.... i went to a certain shop in BB to get a new bike...B4 i went to this shop i already scout afew other shop regarding the price of this new bike...most of the shop the price are reasonable but i dun wan to get from them bcoz they cant offer me the number plate i wish to get...upon reaching this shop...they offer me the price which is around what other shops offer me...best of all the saleman say he got the number plate that i wish to get..hearing this im kind of happy...so we procced to go do the paper work...after the paper work..i pay a deposit to the cashier first..after i pay the deposit the saleman say he forget to add the COE price in...i though that maybe the saleman really forget so i jus ask him to include the COE as im still happy as i manage to get the number plate i wanted....after all this i left the shop... guess what...today i receive a call from the saleman saying that they cant let me have the number plate i want as it belong to someone else....WTF...after going thru so much stuff i though i manage to get the number plate which i been searching high n low... i jus check the LTA website....i manage to trace the number hab been reg to another bike...the bike was reg this yr feb onli...can anyone advice me on what to do as i already pay a deposit to the shop...do i have a case here....can i complain to CASE regarding this matter... help really needed asap...:mad: :mad: :mad:

u asking for ur frenz ah ?

Looking For R6 08 anyone selling?

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i177/luthertoh/PGsepang.jpg

After reading through your post, I didn't see you mentioning about your so called black and white.

So what exactly is in it?

As a 3rd party point of view :-

If it is verbal, you can't bring the case up unless somewhere in the process of the trade has some governing law in standard procedures. (EG. IU he machine tax he put 20% more to mark up the OMV..). If he/she breaks his word, then its a mis-use of trust. He'd prob get "bad name" and u'd just suck thumb.

I'd had similar issues too--> promised me that my bike will come in a particular state but it didn't. So I never went back to them. Like wise, my prev bike came in exactly the way i requested(they promised), hence I actually look forward to buy again from them & also recommended them to my peers.

If you are in the wrong (which we wouldn't know) its probably dependant on whose "stakes" are higher

My 2 cents worth... :smile:

Ride hard & safe...

my take on this..

onstart, you've expressed alot of interest in the specific plate you desired.. so being a saleman, he worked on that weakness of yours...

alot of promises and assurance made you feel happy and forget about other stuffs that might screw things up... so some things never say properly...

i wouldnt dare say its his sales tatics to entice you to the offer... things might have really screwed up which he has no control over..

so advice would be... if you're happy with the bike you're getting... the i guess you should follow tru and get the ride with whatever plate you gotten thus far...

else you'll just have to forgo the initial cash you pumped in (if they dun allow refund)...

afterall, its just a plate number for a machine... leave that desired number for the next bike you upgrade....

Originally posted by SMR@May 08, 2007 01:20 am

After reading through your post, I didn't see you mentioning about your so called black and white.

So what exactly is in it?

it is a copy of agreedment on the price n blah blah blah...with the number plate written on it...at first the saleman wrote it on the paper with a pencil...after questtion him how come he wrote all the stuff in pencil he give me all the blah blah blah excuse....insist of havin a copy of that...he LL pohotocopy a piece of it to me....

Originally posted by Refugee@May 08, 2007 01:40 am

else you'll just have to forgo the initial cash you pumped in (if they dun allow refund)...

afterall, its just a plate number for a machine... leave that desired number for the next bike you upgrade....

even if they give refund...do i have a case here.....there is black n white stating the number plate n all sh*t....can i bring his matter up to CASE....

also there will be anymore upgrade as this is a class2 1000cc biike....might be my last bike im going to buy....:mad:

wats ur black and white..

i f have .. charge him ar

Hi slow_sp,

U brought a fren along? If not, it's ur words against their words, very difficult. Write to the boss first (if dun noe who, attention to Managing Director, send by register post) and see what they say. Maybe the boss can help a bit, also useful as black and white since everything you have is verbal. :goodluck:

HELP FIND MY BIKE! Blue RXZ (New Model), completely stock FBB3668U Stolen from Block 502A MSCP Choa Chu Kang Street 51

Originally posted by ThePole@May 08, 2007 07:48 am

Hi slow_sp,

U brought a fren along? If not, it's ur words against their words, very difficult. Write to the boss first (if dun noe who, attention to Managing Director, send by register post) and see what they say. Maybe the boss can help a bit, also useful as black and white since everything you have is verbal. :goodluck:

a friend was there.....everything was written on a piece of paper....have a copy of it....it not jus verbal agreedment.....

Originally posted by slow_sp@May 08, 2007 08:26 am

a friend was there.....everything was written on a piece of paper....have a copy of it....it not jus verbal agreedment.....

orh oh...

NEW BIKE HUH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i179/vjjam/SBFpic3.jpg

Bikes Owned Previously : Aprilia RS125 / Suzuki GSX 400RR / Aprilia RS250 / Honda Phantom TA150 / Yamaha YZF-R1 2004 / Yamaha X1 2005

Bikes Owned Currently : Yamaha YZF-R6 2006

Sponsorship by : SPA TREASURES

i think very hard if only one piece of paper lei.. it's not agreement or contract..

anyway, if u able to get the deposit back, then good liao..

Technically, a verbal agreement is legally binding. The only difficult part is proving that it had been said.

That said, if you have papers written stating that the bike will come with the specific number plate and signed and endorsed with the salesperson's signature and company stamp then you have a strong case. Them not being able to give you the no plate then consitutes a breach of contract.

I'd say look for the boss and state your demands(reasonable lah, like take back deposit etc and void contract or enforce the contract and get what is stated). Don't take any bullshit from anyone in the shop. If they manage to convince you otherwise and offer you something else, do remember to get a fresh copy of the agreement with everything stated and endorsed.

If not, go to the small claims tribunal and file a claim. Don't bother with CASE cos if the shop ignores their letters there's nothing much they can do.

Small claims tribunal on the other hand forces them to attend. If they don't come, a judgement may be made against them which is legally binding.

It basically forces them to waste their time to attend the initial compulsory mediation session, and wastes even more time if no conclusion comes out of it and a hearing in court may be arranged. But i only encourage you to go this path only if you have enough concrete evidence and time on your hands.

Cos you need to go 1) file claim, 2) attend mediation, 3) Attend Court(if mediation fails)

1 will prolly take 2 hours depending if you have done all the preparations before going. 2 will take abt 3-4 hours including waiting time. Needless to say, 3 will take even more time.

If you got no time then just go shop make big hoo ha and demand your way through like a hooligan as though you have evidence against them. Piss them off and traumatize their customers. :cheeky:

Originally posted by Arcfire@May 08, 2007 02:54 pm

If not, go to the small claims tribunal and file a claim. Don't bother with CASE cos if the shop ignores their letters there's nothing much they can do.

Agree with you. CASE is a waste of time, go straight to small claims tribunals.

BTW, slow_sp, is this your regular bike shop? :confused:

http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m87/fruitcakepablohoney/DSC02554-1.jpg

sue them lor.. since bikeshops like to sue ppl so much.. now its ur chance to sue them back since you have a black and white.

Completely agree with ARCFIRE, a verbal contract is as good as a written one as long as it can be proved. I would go and talk sensibly to the salesman, say we had a deal, you broke it. can you fix it? if this fails...

Go to the manager say we had a deal can you fix it?.

Just remember to have a voice recorder in your pocket at the time...

WHATEVER YOU DO, DONT POST THEIR NAME HERE.... or you'll have the problem

It doesn't matter what the question is, the answer is more power!

he break contract, u break his bones lah.

Yesterday was history, tomorrow is mystery, today is a blessing. I love today.

1998: honda hurricane

1999: Rxz, TXR150 gamma

2000: L2s turbo

2001: ZXR250

2002: RS125

2003: CBR900

http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g43/FireBLade9282/SBFpic.jpg

Wow, @lvin, change ur name so fast, thot I quote the wrong person.

If tat piece of paper has the salesman name/signature, you have a good chance. Now u got witness (ur friend), evidence (his name).

Suggest u still write to the boss first though, as Small Claims Tribunal very troublesome, worst if they send a talker there good at twisting the word, u will have problem. Writing to the boss means u still want to settle privately, so the door to negotiation still open. Give them a deadline, say 2 weeks and see wat the boss says. If he wants to do business, he will do something for u. If still cannot, show the copy of the letter you wrote to SCT, u will have better chance.

By the way, this is a letter that state facts, please don't get emotional and let them have a chance to make you write apology letter. o_O

State what exactly the salesman tells u. Also help u to organise wat to tell in SCT.

HELP FIND MY BIKE! Blue RXZ (New Model), completely stock FBB3668U Stolen from Block 502A MSCP Choa Chu Kang Street 51