guys..

i juz took over my fren's XR4.. its a FP plater.. the thing is i cant seem to be able to kick start it properly.. whack n whack.. sometimes it starts sometimes nothin happens.. sometimes it comes to the point when i juz gif up n push start it..

is anyone able to explain how exactly to kick start the XR4 ?

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

• Replies 17

to cold start the bike,

1) fuel switch on

2) choke on

3) kick few times to find compression

4) once compression found, give it one good kick, it should start

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/fleaz/_MG_5656-1.jpg

Honda Phantom TA200 [FT73*2H][2005-2007]

Honda XR400 [FN9*32Y][2007]

Aprilia Atlantic [FX751*K][2007-2008]

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

Mitsubishi Lancer [2013-2014]

we live in the back, ride at the back -BSR

Originally posted by fleaz@May 18, 2007 06:28 pm

to cold start the bike,

1) fuel switch on

2) choke on

3) kick few times to find compression

4) once compression found, give it one good kick, it should start

choke eh.. i didnt realise it had one.. dun see any levers on the handlebar.. izit located at the carb ?

Originally posted by Wayang@May 18, 2007 06:43 pm

choke eh.. i didnt realise it had one.. dun see any levers on the handlebar.. izit located at the carb ?

Yup. XR4 has 2 stage choke. Half choke and full choke.

But by right, XR4 starts very easily. Don't need choke one.

They don't call it a one kickstart bike for nothing.

Originally posted by anakBujang@May 18, 2007 09:06 pm

Juz wondering, is it better to kick start a scrambler than to push start it???

Is there any difference? :cheer:

of course kick start bro... imagine your bike stall at traffic light.. you wanna kick start or dismount and push start? haha..

[CENTER][IMG]http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t148/binkaz11/1_980549729l.jpg[/IMG] [I][B][FONT="Verdana"][SIZE="3"][COLOR="DarkRed"]Wooo HoOOoOooooo~[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][/B][/I][/CENTER]

I suggest u kick start bro!!Every XR4 owner have their own opinion on how to kick start their bike.

So,asking how to kick start is quite subjective.Basically u just have to feel the compression then kick hard!!Anyways,u will get a hold on starting that lovey bike after maybe about 3 weeks.

Good Luck bro!!:goodluck: :thumb:

Teach a man to ride,he will ride for the day.....

Give that man your ride,good luck my fren......!!!

Originally posted by binkaz@May 18, 2007 11:30 pm

of course kick start bro... imagine your bike stall at traffic light.. you wanna kick start or dismount and push start? haha..

errrr.... u mean push starting is not electric start???? aiyo... i tot it's the same. hakz. :sweat:

The faster you go, the harder you'll fall.:box: :

like wat other mention, u gotta find the compression using a few 'test-kick'...

after u find it, give it a good kick all e way down, dun stop half way.

rem: kick all e way down.

tat's wat i do.

Guest rookie517

no need whack

just do a full stroke kick will start liao

no throttle

i heard of something called a decompressor lever.. wat izit actually ?

Originally posted by Wayang@May 21, 2007 12:34 am

If you are willing to drop by Suntec area after office hours, I'll be most willing to give you a brief rundown of your XR4 once and for all.

Let me know.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

Originally posted by Wayang@May 21, 2007 12:34 am

when the decomp is been activated, it will open a valve to release engine pressure

so u can kickstart with ease

something like that...lol

I like my women like my bikes, SHAFT DRIVEN!!! :gun:

Why my bike is difficult to start on a hot engine...e.g clearing ssg custom i off den after dat i tried to start is very diificult most of the time my friends haf to push start for me.any way to solve?

Hi all xr4 owners, need some info on xr4. Haven been riding for 5 years. Never riden a scrambler before. Not going off road though. Just wanna try a different type of bike. But I am not going to ride it everyday. So here goes...

1) Fuel consumption?

2) Service n maintenance?

3) Engine power? Torque?

4) Difficult to kick start(i am getting old)?

5) VALUE for $$$?

Thanks alot!!!

RIDE :cool:

Hi all xr4 owners, need some info on xr4. Haven been riding for 5 years. Never riden a scrambler before. Not going off road though. Just wanna try a different type of bike. But I am not going to ride it everyday. So here goes...

1) Fuel consumption?

3) Engine power? Torque?

5) VALUE for $$$?

Thanks alot!!!

im getting about 22-24km/l...the routine maintenance is engine oil change...in terms of pick up...yes power...but speed wise...don't expect too much..especially if u previously rode a sports...

kick start will be difficult...but only for the first few days when u getting used to...after that..its quite a breeze...

in my opinion..definitely value for money...i use it for transport only...a hardy bike i must say...just do ur regular oil change and ensure enough oil...bike will keep going...

Why my bike is difficult to start on a hot engine...e.g clearing ssg custom i off den after dat i tried to start is very diificult most of the time my friends haf to push start for me.any way to solve?

its strange.. i oso encounter tat prob.. the bike seems harder to start when its hot..

1) Fuel consumption?

3) Engine power? Torque?

5) VALUE for $$$?

Thanks alot!!!

maybe u shld get a smaller scram since u r juz startin out.. perhaps a 250cc 4 stroke wif electric start..