I recently join the neighborhood committee centre gym early. I have been living in this area for more then 20 yr, the CC is a place where I consider my home.

I was a poor kid then which cannot afford to join the gym. The committee centre's gym has always been my dream to enter as a member. To many – the membership didn't really cost that much. But to me, I just could find the spare cash to join in my early years. I was simply not earning enough.

Early this year, I finally save enough money to join the gym (it consists of a 1 time payment fee ($40+) & a 3 month subscription fee ($60+).

No word can express my feeling when I first step into the gym facility. The feeling of belonging to some place is so GOOD.

I actually have watched the gym grow in the past few years - as an outsider. I witness the equipment changes and renew (stare thru the window from time to time). I witness the facility changes from open air to air-con facility (if my memory didn’t fail me as I didn’t keep record).

The only wish I should be doing now (after joining the gym) is to befriend with the gym people. Learn a few tricks to train my body or etc.

Earlier this month, the management of the committee told me that they have decided to close the gym. I was told that the decision was only made after long & serious consideration by the committee.

My mind was blank. I went into the gym and over-hear many complain about the sudden closure. Anger and displease filled up the entire room, follow by disappointment and restless (I understand that some of the members are with the gym for many years.)

I personally don’t wish to question the decision of the committee decision board. As I totally respect the committee.

I understand the CC is supposed to be a non-profit club (I believe). And its aim is to promote bonding and harmony among the people in that area. It supposes to portray a sense of belonging image to its entire resident.

I have been doing some thinking. What is the main reason for closing the gym?

1. Not enough members, I have heard. – Could we solve this problem by promoting the gym facility to the resident? So as more member could learn and join the gym. The government aim this year is to promote healthy lifestyle and exercise. Isn’t closing a committee’s gym facility going against this promotion?

Promoting healthy lifestyle will indirectly increase our country productivity. A health people will create fewer burdens to the country. This is logic.

2. No enough profit, I have heard. – Isn’t this a non-profit organization? If the incoming generate by the membership fee cannot cover the overhead cost, we jolly well could increase the fee. I am sure the member is most willing to pay more (provided the correct information is relay to them) so as to keep the facility up & running.

3. The gym merely takes up a fraction of the whole committee floor space. By free-up this little area, it will not really increase the profit margin of the origination (if there is one exist).

Once again, it all pin down to the “money factor” for the closure decision.

From my point of view only, (as the committee is a non-profit organization) the floor space that the gym took up should be rental free. The membership fee should be use to cover the overhead costs and the maintain costs. If the membership fee is not enough to cover these costs, hold a membership meeting to discuss the situation with the member and a solution can and will be create.

For eg,

1. Increase the monthly fee reasonably.

2. Or request a yearly contribution to aid in maintaining of the gym (the burden is fairly distribution to the member)

3. Maybe the gym can accepting donation by the member and the public to aid in maintaining of the gym.

4. There is so many action and proposal to solve the issue beside closure of the gym.

• Replies 17

** Emotion thoughts – if there is a strong union protecting the member of the gym, there is will be open negotiation. Strike and demonstration will be organized. Boycott may also be implying. But then again, we are in Singapore. These are just thoughts that will remain as thoughts and will not be thinking out aloud to avoid trouble. Please ignore these emotion thoughts as I am only thinking to myself only. – End of emotion thoughts **

Is this PAP gym actually NTUC Fitness Club gym??? :confused:

no. it is actually a small (about a small classroom size) gym of teck gee CC. if you visit amk ave 10, you will see a teck gee CC (not RC hor). there is badminton court, study room, basketball court, etc. thsi is a small gym facility belong to the cc itself.

It is more for the resident that stay around this area. Of cos, we have to join the PA member first, then join the gym member. then can use the facility.

there are gym everywhere in sg. it is just that this gym is meant for resident of this area. what a pity to close it. so sad.

actually they told the gym in charge that no enough member.

We are thinking no enough member = no enough $$.

the gym is there for many year liao. i seen 3 revamp. it is only this year i have spare money to join only.

tgcc gym ar.. last time i use to close the gym at night. close one door can 5 dollars haha... not many ppl go i guess? go bishan gym la i used to go there,quite alot of ppl at times and the ppl there are friendly as well..

relax and take some chill pill only :angel:

the prices for the equipment n maintainence costs quite alot. there's a gym at ubi cc too..must be a passioncard member...so $10 + $2.50 per entry...

so i just joined california fitness at orchard..

more ex..$50 per mnth +$98 processing fee.....

but the equipment is top notch..but for one who doesnt need the really heavy weights,the neighbourhood gyms are more than sufficient...sorry to hear about the closure of the gym....

-= Unsure of what to get=-

i feel very shy to go california fitness at orchard.

1. i am going gym hoping to lose weight. a 100+ kg male going to california fitness at orchard will be laughed at.

2. all the male is california fitness at orchard have not bad figure. not like me out of shape alot.

3. by the way, california fitness at orchard and at where? or only at orchard?

4. the fee is ok. may like to join, it is just the shy part only.

5. i work at boat quey, that is why i am looking for a gym that is very near there. so that i can go after work. then return to home for dinner with family.

james]

no worries about body shape...me also not fit..but slowly slowly work out...

at orchard is opp cineleisure...there's one at novena square and bugis..

dunno where else...

for adults i think it's $80 per mnth, $98 processing fee and must pay for the 1st and last 2 mnths upfront. for more info just go down and talk to their recruiters.

easiest way to lose weight from experience is to do aerobics...u can go for their sessions there...or u can work out alone. start brisk walking first then can up to running....or u can use the striders...no impact on joints

-= Unsure of what to get=-

ohh... itz closed oredy... i live in the vicinity aswell but nvr visited the gym cos its ONLI meant for members... wth !!

If its open to public den its a pity to close it down but since its restricted to members, entertaining onli tt few regular gymmers.. den i tink its being under utillised.. YCK cc gym is a better choice for public i guess..

Honda Nsr Sp 150 (FR73444X)

Honda Cbr RRr 400 (FR1735R)

Honda Wave S 125 (FW2009X)

Kia Pregio RS (GY8319P)

Kia K2700 (GZ1663K)

Fiat Doblo (GBA3065Y)

Yamaha YZF R1-08 (FBD7947C)

actually not a few lah. for the 2 month i join, i visited 10 time. i see about 20 new faces. and the membership isn't really that high. about 20 per month but have to pay 3 month at a time.

yck also collect fee u see. is it $2 or $3 per visit?

lot of gym collect per visit fee. even safra. it is $10 per visit.

they close it becos of "whatever" reason they gave. it is still an excuse only.

i think they are talking about the gym locate all at statium. most statium i know are equip with gym.