[Discussion] Technical - Exhaust Systems

BaMBiNo

What Brand Is Good and LEGAL For Super 4 Full System/EndCan?  

341 members have voted

1. 1. What Brand Is Good and LEGAL For Super 4 Full System/EndCan?

• Replies 2.1k

if want to choose exhaust especially end can only, any one shld do. mayb the power differs only by margin only. Just choose wat design or sound u like.

Yes thats correct..I agee..It all depends on how you rejet the carbs to match with the endcans backpressure.

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/582610_512257702123995_1975741852_n.jpg

Since BF already approve..dont think other models dont approve?

Buy LV lah...haha

Used to use yoshi last time, Honestly the power isn't really there. Only sounds like aftermarket but not much power. Switched to blueflame its so much different. Not much blueflame users on SBF sadly =(

I wanted to get one...

But the price really hinders me....

Cost almost 1k just the endcan....

Phuh!!.... :faint:

Rider Can Be Driver, But Driver Cannot Be Rider......

ahpek Sengkwang got convert 4-2-1 to 4-1 or not? not using PB1 header just cut the 2 part and replace with some pipe to make it 4-1? i think heard before ppl do that for $200 can u find out for us? :) or anyone else who has done it before can share experience?

They ever did before but just a time or two then stop. The reason is that if you do not use PB1 header or a 3rd party true header its pretty usless. Though it looks like a 4-1 pipe, its actually not. The header curves down b4 it meets the massive transition into one part is very important and its specially designed internally. Just after that join, there are two layers..meaning, there's another inner tube with small holes on its wall and between these two tubes, there are 'packing' inbetween. Guess that section is designed for exhaust back compression with the joints and back to the four tubing.

Also note that the inner part of the four header tubing is very much smaller and I believe midway thru, the circumference varies. Important thing to take note is that Ver "S" or "R" and for Vtec..all different from the PB1.

To use the header..let say a Ver "S" and that of PB1, the part that goes into the engine exhaust port has to be cutted off for both and interchange by welding back. For this example, oso the alignment and spacing of the exhaust header input port with the engine exhaust ports are different...has to be bend and aligned..not a straight forward, plug and play thingy. Seng Kwang does these for $380 and you ahve to find your own unit. Its a lot of work and skill invovle.

Not sure what pipe or header you ahve in mind, but whatever and the "cut", the main concern is wheather the external and internal diameter matches. If not, no matter how you tuned your carbs after that, you have a real screwed exhaust system.

For normal cutting and just welding job and say everything fits..its about $120 to $200 depending on config of bikes. If you ahve belly pan, crash bars etc..in the the way..it would cost you more..manhour I supposed.

So before you change that pipe..make sure its MADE for your model of bike..its not just standard tubings.:sian:

http://www.SiteVacuum.com/publisher/GoogleSearchIconShadow.gifhttp://www.SiteVacuum.com/publisher/SuperSearchIconShadow.gif

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

Using 4-1 aftermarket headers is better than 4-2-1 original header?

They are different..not one better then the other. My advise is what comes with the bike...just keep it. You spend more having to tune to suit and afterall, Lan_pa_pah_Lan!..still 53 horsepower. But if klooks and sound matters..that's your choice for $$$$s spend.:angel:

http://www.SiteVacuum.com/publisher/GoogleSearchIconShadow.gifhttp://www.SiteVacuum.com/publisher/SuperSearchIconShadow.gif

They are different..not one better then the other. My advise is what comes with the bike...just keep it. You spend more having to tune to suit and afterall, Lan_pa_pah_Lan!..still 53 horsepower. But if klooks and sound matters..that's your choice for $$$$s spend.:angel:

meaning 4-1 header produces nicer n louder sound compared to 4-2-1?

The difference between the two got nothing to do with sound, its your end can that amkes the difference in sound. You weld a police whistle near the end hole, your end can can oso 'whistle' at certain rpm...LOL! Sound from header to where it just meet the end can all sound the same.

to put it simply, 4-1 headers are more for bike's top range.. for low-mid range 4-2 headers will be good enough..

titanium headers? those using the moriwaki long are titanium headers isn't it..

I believe that 4-1 header compared to 4-2-1 header will be better in terms of flow of the fluids from the engine to the exit?

By the way, anyone using titanium headers? Or anyone knows where got sell? Damage must be real high

Huh!!??.." that 4-1 header compared to 4-2-1 header will be better in terms of flow of the fluids from the engine to the exit?"..where and who you hear or read from?..sound interesting..since when engine got FLUID flowing to "exit" (exhaust I presume). I tot its only waste combusted gases coming off from exhaust..err..so, what fluid is that?

Edited by Ah Pek

Huh!!??.." that 4-1 header compared to 4-2-1 header will be better in terms of flow of the fluids from the engine to the exit?"..whee and who you hear or read from?..sound interesting..since when engine got FLUID flowing to "exit" (exhaust I presume). I tot its only waste comgusted gases coming off from exhaust..err..so, what fluid is that?

in phyics, fluids means liquid or gases leh...

Of course I'm not so stupid to think that liquid will come out la wa lau..

fluid definition

fluid (flo̵̅o̅′id)

adjective

that can flow; not solid; able to move and change shape without separating when under pressure

of a fluid or fluids

like a fluid; that can change rapidly or easily; not settled or fixed fluid plans

marked by or using graceful movements

available for investment fluid capital

available as cash fluid assets

Etymology: ME

noun

any substance that can flow; liquid or gas

a liquid in the body

facts courtesy of yourdictionary.com

to put it simply, 4-1 headers are more for bike's top range.. for low-mid range 4-2 headers will be good enough..

titanium headers? those using the moriwaki long are titanium headers isn't it..

oh...

coz I'm aiming at a set of aftermarket titanium headers ma... wanna see if they are worth the $ or not

in phyics, fluids means liquid or gases leh...

Of course I'm not so stupid to think that liquid will come out la wa lau..

fluid definition

fluid (flo̵̅o̅′id)

adjective

that can flow; not solid; able to move and change shape without separating when under pressure

of a fluid or fluids

like a fluid; that can change rapidly or easily; not settled or fixed fluid plans

marked by or using graceful movements

available for investment fluid capital

available as cash fluid assets

Etymology: ME

noun

any substance that can flow; liquid or gas

a liquid in the body

facts courtesy of yourdictionary.com

Hmmm...no word of "stupid" was mentioned about you leh so...here just asking you "what liquid in exhaust". :angel:

Anyway, we are talking about bike and exhaust, not physics or by any definition as a matter of speech...at any rate, liwuid is not gas but if you tell me "compressed gas"..then that's liquid and final product is gas..example..compressed gas seem in liquid form of a transparent cig lighter.

I think next time just be simple and say "smoke" lah...LOL!

I understand by Jason's term of fluid flow... In Engineering Mechanics that's the term defined for gases or liquid flow pattern.

"Don't do onto others, what you don't want others to do onto you"

"What goes around, comes around"

I understand by Jason's term of fluid flow... In Engineering Mechanics that's the term defined for gases or liquid flow pattern.

Oh yah?..but not for me and I wonder how many others does?..that's why I asked but I didn't think he was stupid..may be too smart. May be you should have explain for him earlier.

the function of the fibre is to absorb the fumes that is coming out from the small holes of the cone of the exhaust right? that's y the fibre becomes black after a while? why does the exhaust have liquid? i removed my exhaust sleeve i realised there was few drops of liquid dripping out. was it simply rain water that seeped in what else can it be?

From what I know, the mesh or fibre are not to absorb fumes or black soot from the from the exhaust. Mesh exist only in the muffler or refer to as "can" these days.

The mesh are there for a reason..to dampen exhaust noise. The mesh in the mufflers quiet the exhaust by absorbing high-frequency vibrations. There are acoustic noise, sound is a series of waves that bounce from one surface to another and these can be very loud and a nuisance. The maxs allowable I think from LTA is 65 db, removing the mesh can easy reach 85 db is definitely fail VICOM checks.

Mesh are heat-resistant packing, usually made of stainless-steel mesh and heat-resistant ceramic fibers. There are no water or any wet fluid unless they are from over night condensation, rain or water gotten in during bike wash.

Since talkin bout exhaust, my bike is stil on stock system. Anyone experience scraping of the midpipe just after the 2-1 joint when doin a right corner? I never lowered my fork but stil scrape. Heart pain when hear the scraping sound.

my headers ever got scrapped before too.. but not sure exactly which part.. just got to slow down when approaching higher humps lor..

Mine on humps I carefully slowly go over so not much of a prob. When I do corner on the right I scrapped twice already. Now very scared to do a right corner.

Actually the right corner I took it quite low...