Originally posted by stroker@Aug 15 2005, 12:51 AM

TH? I think you meant NHRC... Tat's not road legal.. Anyway, with the GPR baffle removed, that might be a diff story..

Cheerios

ya its not road legal... well see when then change one... my exhaust rotting

RIDE TO THE LIMIT OF YR BIKE!

http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/2263/pgturn1ho8.jpg

Reviews of my fast throttle. Have a look!

Reviews by so many dun lie ppl! come have a look!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=217369

• Replies 4.1k

Originally posted by NooBNooBNooB@Aug 14 2005, 03:11 PM

Interested in the bike coz of its appearance & automatic transimission.Look through all the 14pages here but canot find the specs of the bike leh.Most of the page is about the modification which i dun understand coz i know nuts about bikes.

Anyway,interested in gettin a Red Dna,hope u guys can help mi keep a lookout if got any good deal ard.Thx & :cheer:

In case you haven't got it:

General information

Model: Gilera DNA 180

Year: 2002

Category: Scooter

Engine and transmission

Displacement: 182.00 ccm (11.11 cubic inches)

Engine type: Single cylinder

Stroke: 2

Starter: Electric

Cooling system: Liquid

Physical measures

Dry weight: 125.0 kg (275.6 pounds)

Seat height: 780 mm (30.7 inches) If adjustable, lowest setting.

Chassis and dimensions

Front tyre dimensions: 120/70-14

Rear tyre dimensions: 140/60-14

Front brakes: Single disc

Front brakes diameter: 240 mm (9.4 inches)

Rear brakes: Single disc

Rear brakes diameter: 240 mm (9.4 inches)

Speed and acceleration

Other specifications

Fuel capacity: 10.00 litres (2.64 gallons)

Hope it helps... I tot all of us guys have got the manual, so never tot of posting this.. ha. Cheers!

http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/5600/kuantan049596tc9.jpg
Originally posted by stroker@Aug 15 2005, 04:06 PM

In case you haven't got it:

General information

Model: Gilera DNA 180

Year: 2002

Category: Scooter

Engine and transmission

Displacement: 182.00 ccm (11.11 cubic inches)

Engine type: Single cylinder

Stroke: 2

Starter: Electric

Cooling system: Liquid

Physical measures

Dry weight: 125.0 kg (275.6 pounds)

Seat height: 780 mm (30.7 inches) If adjustable, lowest setting.

Chassis and dimensions

Front tyre dimensions: 120/70-14

Rear tyre dimensions: 140/60-14

Front brakes: Single disc

Front brakes diameter: 240 mm (9.4 inches)

Rear brakes: Single disc

Rear brakes diameter: 240 mm (9.4 inches)

Speed and acceleration

Other specifications

Fuel capacity: 10.00 litres (2.64 gallons)

Hope it helps... I tot all of us guys have got the manual, so never tot of posting this.. ha. Cheers!

eh... y is its 2stroke one? and the tank 10 litres!

Heyz,

Maybe different version as my DNA is 4 stroke, and my full-tank is more like 7 litres? Anyway, my exhaust also starting to rot! Want to like mass order some after-stock ones?

Cheers...

P.S. Heyz, I was wondering whether I should install a switch so that I could manually turn on the cooling fan, like when I am riding long distance and the engine feels really hot? What so you guys? Also thinking about a hazard light...

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n84/danielburgess/b562f855-326b-4d71-a656-0eeb9e05ecff.jpg
Originally posted by spiderman@Aug 12 2005, 11:23 PM

hey i saw a red one one the road today.. rider is a girl...

Yup.... I've heard of a female Starhub employee who rides blue one too! Heard from a bike shop....

Originally posted by danielburgess@Aug 13 2005, 12:06 AM

Yeah, the suspension is really bad on the DNA, as what most pillions tell me. Anyway, I have a similar problem with the white powder, seems like it is my battery leaking and so the white powder in my case is dried up battery acid crystals...

Cheers...

By the way I saw a yellow DNA at serene centre today...

Oh okie.... thanks....

Any way to solve it?

Oh ya... i remember the very first time I saw the DNA. It was at Plaza Singapura. In fact, I saw it twice. Both at night. Red if I'm not wrong....

Belong to any one of you guys?

Originally posted by stroker@Aug 13 2005, 07:53 PM

Guess what?? Beside the seeing the red coloured DNA with the lady rider, I too saw (for the first time ins singapore), a grey coloured one too...

These days see more and more dnas.. Esp ard town... More posers riding maybe?? (me included!) ha. No offence huh..

Grey colour? Eeeww..... I mean... no offence... But that colour is a little..... dull?

Space age design must have space age colour mah...hehe.

Hmm.....i thought DNAs were no more imported since like more than a year ago? The ones on the road are generally at least a yr old right?

Anyway....let's hope our "club" stays exclusive...! haha...

Originally posted by spiderman@Aug 13 2005, 11:17 PM

should try mah... its the major fun in biking... cornering shows how much u trust yr bike and how u tame it... :thumb:

Hmm....for me.... The front portion seems very unstable whenever I corner...esp when I lean-in (body lean more than bike).... Any solutions?

Originally posted by NooBNooBNooB@Aug 14 2005, 03:11 PM

Interested in the bike coz of its appearance & automatic transimission.Look through all the 14pages here but canot find the specs of the bike leh.Most of the page is about the modification which i dun understand coz i know nuts about bikes.

Anyway,interested in gettin a Red Dna,hope u guys can help mi keep a lookout if got any good deal ard.Thx & :cheer:

The DNA is powered by a four valve liquid cooled version of the high performance four stroke LEADER engine (Low Emission ADvanced Engine Range). These engines set new standards, not only where power delivery is concerned, with 11 kW (15 bhp) on the DNA 125cc and 15 kW (20 bhp) on the DNA 180cc, but also with regard to European standards regarding emissions and fuel consumption.

The beautiful hydraulic fork with its 35mm diameter stanchions, fitted with dual yokes like on a motorcycle, is in full view as a result of the essential styling of the DNA. The braking system relies on a 240mm front disc with floating calliper and 25mm double piston and a 240mm rear disc with 30mm opposed dual pistons, larger than the rear disc on the 50cc model, which has a diameter of 200mm.

Gilera DNA 180cc: Technical Specifications

Engine Single-cylinder Piaggio LEADER, 4-stroke

Displacement 182cc

Bore 69mm

Stroke 48.6mm

Fuel Unleaded

Distribution SOHC

Ignition Electronic CDI, with variable advance

Start Electric (Bendix) with automatic valve lifter

Lubrication Wet sump (1 litre lubricant volume); chain-driven trochoidal pump; full blow filter

Cooling Liquid

Gearbox CVT “twist & go”

Clutch Automatic dry centrifugal

Frame structure Open cradle with twin beams in extruded steel

Front suspension Hydraulic fork, 35mm diameter

Rear suspension Twin shock absorbers, spring pre-load adjustment to 4 positions

Front brake 240mm disc, floating calliper with two 25mm pistons

Rear brake 240mm disc, calliper with 30mm opposed pistons

Front wheel rim 3.5 x 14" pressure die cast aluminium alloy

Rear wheel rim 3.5 x 14" pressure die cast aluminium alloy

Front tyre Tubeless 120/70-14”

Rear tyre Tubeless 140/60-14”

Length 1,890mm

Width 720mm

Wheel base 1,370mm

Seat height 780mm

Dry weight 125kg

Fuel tank 2.2 gallons or 10 litres

Power 20 bhp/8,500 rpm

Max. speed 76 mph

Consumption on ECE 40 cycle 71 mpg

Emissions Meets European Directive 92/61 EC. Complies with all the chapters of European Multidirective 97/24 EC (Euro 1)

Got this from somewhere else in the forum... Hope it helps!

Originally posted by spiderman@Aug 15 2005, 08:32 PM

eh... y is its 2stroke one? and the tank 10 litres!

Haha, I just pluck it ofgf from somewhere, never even check!! ha.

Should be 4stroke and 9litres.

Anyway, I think twisterx has gotten us a more comprehensive one..

Originally posted by twisterx@Aug 15 2005, 11:38 PM

Grey colour? Eeeww..... I mean... no offence... But that colour is a little..... dull?

Space age design must have space age colour mah...hehe.

Hmm.....i thought DNAs were no more imported since like more than a year ago? The ones on the road are generally at least a yr old right?

Anyway....let's hope our "club" stays exclusive...! haha...

Its nice-- gun metal grey, set against the small little touches of red calipers.. ;=)

Yeah, no more imported. But there're still some left-over stocks (in shops) somewhere around, as spotted by a few members here...

It will stay pretty exclusive I suppose... So dun worry. ha

Originally posted by twisterx@Aug 15 2005, 11:51 PM

The DNA is powered by a four valve liquid cooled version of the high performance four stroke LEADER engine (Low Emission ADvanced Engine Range). These engines set new standards, not only where power delivery is concerned, with 11 kW (15 bhp) on the DNA 125cc and 15 kW (20 bhp) on the DNA 180cc, but also with regard to European standards regarding emissions and fuel consumption.

The beautiful hydraulic fork with its 35mm diameter stanchions, fitted with dual yokes like on a motorcycle, is in full view as a result of the essential styling of the DNA. The braking system relies on a 240mm front disc with floating calliper and 25mm double piston and a 240mm rear disc with 30mm opposed dual pistons, larger than the rear disc on the 50cc model, which has a diameter of 200mm.

Gilera DNA 180cc: Technical Specifications

Engine Single-cylinder Piaggio LEADER, 4-stroke

Displacement 182cc

Bore 69mm

Stroke 48.6mm

Fuel Unleaded

Distribution SOHC

Ignition Electronic CDI, with variable advance

Start Electric (Bendix) with automatic valve lifter

Lubrication Wet sump (1 litre lubricant volume); chain-driven trochoidal pump; full blow filter

Cooling Liquid

Gearbox CVT “twist & go”

Clutch Automatic dry centrifugal

Frame structure Open cradle with twin beams in extruded steel

Front suspension Hydraulic fork, 35mm diameter

Rear suspension Twin shock absorbers, spring pre-load adjustment to 4 positions

Front brake 240mm disc, floating calliper with two 25mm pistons

Rear brake 240mm disc, calliper with 30mm opposed pistons

Front wheel rim 3.5 x 14" pressure die cast aluminium alloy

Rear wheel rim 3.5 x 14" pressure die cast aluminium alloy

Front tyre Tubeless 120/70-14”

Rear tyre Tubeless 140/60-14”

Length 1,890mm

Width 720mm

Wheel base 1,370mm

Seat height 780mm

Dry weight 125kg

Fuel tank 2.2 gallons or 10 litres

Power 20 bhp/8,500 rpm

Max. speed 76 mph

Consumption on ECE 40 cycle 71 mpg

Emissions Meets European Directive 92/61 EC. Complies with all the chapters of European Multidirective 97/24 EC (Euro 1)

Got this from somewhere else in the forum... Hope it helps!

Originally posted by danielburgess@Aug 15 2005, 10:13 PM

Heyz,

Maybe different version as my DNA is 4 stroke, and my full-tank is more like 7 litres? Anyway, my exhaust also starting to rot! Want to like mass order some after-stock ones?

Cheers...

P.S. Heyz, I was wondering whether I should install a switch so that I could manually turn on the cooling fan, like when I am riding long distance and the engine feels really hot? What so you guys? Also thinking about a hazard light...

:thumb: Yeah, the rotting zorst is one of the most widely-reported prob with this bike from riders overseas...

So I've gotten mentally prepared to change it before buying it.. hee

Originally posted by twisterx@Aug 15 2005, 11:41 PM

Hmm....for me.... The front portion seems very unstable whenever I corner...esp when I lean-in (body lean more than bike).... Any solutions?

perhaps yr hand position is wrong... make sure its bend around slightly more than 100 degrees...

Originally posted by spiderman@Aug 16 2005, 04:39 AM

perhaps yr hand position is wrong... make sure its bend around slightly more than 100 degrees...

Wow, rossi in the making! haha

Originally posted by danielburgess@Aug 15 2005, 10:13 PM

Heyz,

Cheers...

Daniel, regarding the fan, I dun think you shoud do it... As long as there's no prob with the fan operating mech ( meaning, it should turn on when it should—roughly more than half of yr temp gauge), its fine..

4stroke always run hot.. This is not hot compared to the bigger 4cylinder brothers... They're like oven man.. Designed to kill sperm count.. ha

Originally posted by stroker@Aug 16 2005, 11:20 AM

Daniel, regarding the fan, I dun think you shoud do it... As long as there's no prob with the fan operating mech ( meaning, it should turn on when it should—roughly more than half of yr temp gauge), its fine..

4stroke always run hot.. This is not hot compared to the bigger 4cylinder brothers... They're like oven man.. Designed to kill sperm count.. ha

ya i saw k1 with coolant temp over 90degress... shock of my life!:help:

Originally posted by stroker@Aug 16 2005, 11:17 AM

Wow, rossi in the making! haha

haha... just something i found out after riding dna.... u tend to sit up right and corner with yr hands straight thus giving u unconfident feedback from then from.... don have any of this prob with my 250... the riding posture don allow to do so...

Originally posted by 172R@Aug 16 2005, 07:20 PM

y does piaggio engine CRACK!!!!!!??!??!?

:confused: :confused: Will ma? Which part of engine??

Originally posted by 172R@Aug 16 2005, 07:20 PM

y does piaggio engine CRACK!!!!!!??!??!?

haha dave... told u fatigue liao cos alu alloy mah... somemore u mod mod mod.... tell u don mod liao.. haha:sweat:

Originally posted by spiderman@Aug 16 2005, 09:01 PM

haha dave... told u fatigue liao cos alu alloy mah... somemore u mod mod mod.... tell u don mod liao.. haha:sweat:

:help: :help: :help:

ha ha. :goodluck: :goodluck:

Originally posted by stroker@Aug 16 2005, 12:46 AM

:thumb: Yeah, the rotting zorst is one of the most widely-reported prob with this bike from riders overseas...

So I've gotten mentally prepared to change it before buying it.. hee

Hmm....is it the problem where the inside of the exhaust rusts so badly? Hmm....i think I'm experiencing that too.... Haha....

Originally posted by spiderman@Aug 16 2005, 05:32 PM

haha... just something i found out after riding dna.... u tend to sit up right and corner with yr hands straight thus giving u unconfident feedback from then from.... don have any of this prob with my 250... the riding posture don allow to do so...

Hmm...ya...you're right....!

I just realised..... but then again... riders sit upright on the DNA partly cos the natural lean causes backache... haha....

Maybe just for me.... :p