• Replies 1.8k

To share my recent bike repair experience...

After being conned by FcukMaster in lvl 3 at Sin Ming Autocare, I reverted back to my usual mechanic at lvl 1, Alexendra Motor at Sin Ming Autocare.

Well, I'm not a siao motor guy..just a leisure rider.

Recently, my signal lights and headlights blew. The horn also spoilt. So 1 fine Sunday, I rode to AM and parked there since they are closed on Sundays.

2 days later, I called the boss and told him my bike problems,where I kept the keys etc.

3 days later,I called again and the boss said he haven do anything yet since he's alone and busy. No problem. I'm not in a hurry. But I left my numbers behind and specifically told him to inform me the repair fees first before start work,since my bike is very old and not worth spending a bomb on repairs.

The next day, AM called me and said my bike is fixed. I asked how much? $60!!!

Ok fine. I immediately go and collect. No problems. The replacement parts all worked fine.

What I'm unhappy is that, despite my instruction to inform me of the charges before starting work, AM went ahead and start the work without informing me. And they did not show me what are the parts replaced. Are the parts old,recycled stuff? I do not know. From what I see, the horn button is definitely old one. They did not tell me the breakdown charges too, except that the horn is $15.

So, if they say my bike repair fee is $100, I must pay $100? Am I a carrot good to chop for what?They anyhow give a figure, I have to pay?

Just change a few bulbs,cost $60?? Convince me.

I know the headlight is $12.Which is what Fcukmaster charged me and blew less than 10mins later.

So,$60-$12-$15=$33.

$33 for 2 signal light bulbs and 1 headlamp small bulb + 1 OLD horn button + workmanship?

You be the judge.

which unique ?

Same company same type of service. Just do not trust a shop on hear says.... Look at the user review on the forum before visiting the shop. But if you ask for recommendation then please look for another bike shop such as the popular HLC

Y125z : FY2**6Y - 7th Nov 2009

CBR150R: FW****R - 5th Mar 2011

aiyo. dont need to create so many clone account lah. can see from join date and the way you post.

**only 1 img allowed in signature**

hrmm ok. here 1 :

http://content.ytmnd.com/content/9/f/f/9ff983101ba372c76820377e83214651.gif

To share my recent bike repair experience...

After being conned by FcukMaster in lvl 3 at Sin Ming Autocare, I reverted back to my usual mechanic at lvl 1, Alexendra Motor at Sin Ming Autocare.

Well, I'm not a siao motor guy..just a leisure rider.

Recently, my signal lights and headlights blew. The horn also spoilt. So 1 fine Sunday, I rode to AM and parked there since they are closed on Sundays.

2 days later, I called the boss and told him my bike problems,where I kept the keys etc.

3 days later,I called again and the boss said he haven do anything yet since he's alone and busy. No problem. I'm not in a hurry. But I left my numbers behind and specifically told him to inform me the repair fees first before start work,since my bike is very old and not worth spending a bomb on repairs.

The next day, AM called me and said my bike is fixed. I asked how much? $60!!!

Ok fine. I immediately go and collect. No problems. The replacement parts all worked fine.

What I'm unhappy is that, despite my instruction to inform me of the charges before starting work, AM went ahead and start the work without informing me. And they did not show me what are the parts replaced. Are the parts old,recycled stuff? I do not know. From what I see, the horn button is definitely old one. They did not tell me the breakdown charges too, except that the horn is $15.

So, if they say my bike repair fee is $100, I must pay $100? Am I a carrot good to chop for what?They anyhow give a figure, I have to pay?

Just change a few bulbs,cost $60?? Convince me.

I know the headlight is $12.Which is what Fcukmaster charged me and blew less than 10mins later.

So,$60-$12-$15=$33.

$33 for 2 signal light bulbs and 1 headlamp small bulb + 1 OLD horn button + workmanship?

You be the judge.

This mechanic is the boss himself, if I am not wrong his name is Ah Huat. I went there few months back with my classmates, my classmate change a set of Pilot Power there but the mechanic did not balance the wheels with the new tires. So I get my classmate to ask him. He replied "this kind of bike (cb400) dont go very fast so no need to balance" Wheel Balancing only apply to big bikes (class 2)

From then onwards, I condemn this shop. I tell myself never to step into this shop again.

3 Sides to a Story: His story, Mine & the Truth

Recently wen to RS bike shop,this is wat i wanna say abt the shop

1) the boss is quite ok with the bike repair

2) Charges are on the steep side.

3) Poor time management as bike was park for 4 days exclude sunday n when i go to collect, still got to wait till almost cls shop then can collect plus some of the repair that was agree on was not done. By the way, it is not a major repair n it should take ard 2-3 max to repair +source+ test the bike.

4) i still got to source myself for one of the part as he indicated supplier dun have, i believe it was not worth his effort to source for other supplier.

Finally what i can say is this

1) go there if u really got serious pro with ur engine, other than tat can go other place

2) u got tons of time to spare, can go there

3) Better had some suppliers nos if he tell u he cannot find the parts.

4) disappointed with the service provided.

SPC @ Upper Thomson Road

Date: October 2010

Shop Name: SPC Upper thomson road, go around there's a garage for bikes

What service/product did you purchase?

I normally come here for my general servicing, change EO and spark plug as I live in the northern part of Singapore

Level of service: 1-10

8. They only have 2 bike mechs, and there's a tall gentleman called ah wei.

He will always do more than his fair share of work, when I requested to change EO and spark plug, he will automatically check the tire pressure, tire threading, chain and sprocket, brake pads, and other minor stuff. Upon request, he would also (willingly) help to clean the air filter.

Level of knowledge: 1-10

8. Quite willing to share. Once he said my tire was balding unevenly, and advised to change. Sensing a impending carrot to be, I asked him to explain, and he taught me to see the tire uneven-ness, even though to my untrained eye it looked okay, but upon closer look, it was slightly uneven. He said it could wait but advised to change because of safety.

Level of value for money: 1-10

8 The only "complain" I would have is they only carry SPC products. their EO is all SPC, but this is really nit picking. No Belray, thumper or anything. They also have some mods, but have to request and wait. But again, I'm riding a TA200 so this is really finding bones in an egg.

How happy are you overall? 1-10

8. Quite Happy overall, never felt compelled or pressured to buy anything i don't want.

"Wolves and sheep will live together in peace, and leopards will lie down with young goats, calves and lion cubs will feed together, and little children will take care of them. Cows and bears will eat together, and their calves and cubs will lie down in peace." Isaiah 11:6-8

http://s-ak.buzzfed.com/static/imagebuzz/web02/2010/9/8/17/be-an-optimist-prime-4756-1283979887-3.jpg

Another update from one of my previous post.

Date: October 2010

Shop Name: Universal Motor (UM)

Address: Jalan Bukit Merah

Phone Number: 6479 3126

What service/product did you purchase?

Wanted to seek refinance for another bike, sell my current bike

Level of service: 1-10

9 Wanted to sell my current bike, get another bike and UM to finance that transaction

Level of knowledge: 1-10

9 Their sales rep knew what he was talking about, and he clearly and transparently advised and explained everything

Level of value for money:

10 I have to give them a perfect 10 although I didn't purchase a single thing. I went to him for advice, he gave it without his own agenda.

How happy are you overall? 1-10

What makes this shop commendable?

Look for David. This shop was the first place I bought my first bike. But on to the current case, the refinance for a Vara. Firstly, UM doesn't do 3rd party refinancing, they only refinance their own bikes. So I proposed to David, that how bout I get the seller to sell to them, and they sell it back to me at their marked up rates.

David then clearly wrote out that even though I was asking for a 6k refinance package, the total cost would be raised from the mark up, the GST, the interest and the Insurance to closer to 8k, which was double the first installment I had taken. He cautioned and advised against it, and suggested a higher downpayment to offset as I explained my concerns. Long story short, if you are afraid you are getting carrot-ed go to UM.

Their prices as transparent as can be, what he gives is what you have to pay. And their not out to squeeze every cent you have.

**I am not being paid or affiliated to either UM or SPC reviews above.

"Wolves and sheep will live together in peace, and leopards will lie down with young goats, calves and lion cubs will feed together, and little children will take care of them. Cows and bears will eat together, and their calves and cubs will lie down in peace." Isaiah 11:6-8

http://s-ak.buzzfed.com/static/imagebuzz/web02/2010/9/8/17/be-an-optimist-prime-4756-1283979887-3.jpg

Hi everyone. Previously I bought a new bike from HL Cycle. I have been with them since then. I have been very satisfied with their service so far, that is why I'm making this post. I'll list down some good points of this shop.

Excellent customer service

-You can ask them anything under the sun. They will always try to answer your questions. They will treat you with respect unlike some motodiams who are arrogant.

-Everytime I service my bike there, I'll get a free drink :cheers:

Trustworthy

-HL Cycle is a trustworthy shop. The mechanics are skilled and efficient. Feel free to ask the mechanics any questions.

-Of course they will not sabo your bike. Your bike will be treated with utmost care.

Bike wash

-One of the rare shops where you can do a foam wash after servicing your bike. Super convenient for those lazy people who seldom wash their bike. The end result is always good. Your bike will be as good as new.

All in all, in Singapore, to stand out from the competition, excellent customer service is the way to go. Every motodiam provide similar services. To stand out from the rest, great customer service, good workmanship, trustworthiness and of course great prices are important.

If H L Cycle keep up their excellent customer service, soon you guys have to hire more people even open new branches when you get hundreds or thousands of customers :angel:

Also, in my opinion, if they keep up their good work, without compromising on their excellent customer service, they will go far. Look at AS Phoon, they pride themselves on their customer service. Now they are successful.

Keep up the good work H L Cycle. Never ever compromise good customer service for a big profit margin. Yes, profit margin is important too, but if customer service is bad, everyone will just leave meaning 0 profit :faint:

Build a huge customer base, work hard, maintain the customer service level, and I'm sure you guys will be successful in the future! :cheers:

So yeah, I'll recommend this shop to anyone. I ride an x1-R. Big or small bikes, all are treated the same. :thumb:

(Ying Hao, now go sell more bikes! :goodluck: )

Keep hearing good comments abt HLC..might drop down soon..:thumb:

I am kinda having some prob with the motodiam (shop in Ubi) tt i bought my bike...

Bike was sent for respray 2 weeks ago, now the parts are here and is the 3rd week since i 'ordered' it. until yesterday, was told that the painter lost some of the body panels, so i need to wait for another couple of days for them to find it, else will be another couple of weeks for the stock to arrive from Japan.

Not sure if i made the mistake by paying in full prior to getting the bike...

http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k127/jytheorem/SV%20-%20Skinzo/SV_jy.gif http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k127/jytheorem/jy_sv.jpg

Wonder y my ST11 dun look as good as my SV...

Got cut throat by HUA CHIN BT BATOK again.

My Bike Stalled just before about 1 Km from my house recently. which is nearest to HC so no choice thought I might as well let them do.

My Electrifier they said is spoilt so they charge me $280 for it and a new bty, My original they dunno hijack where and told me change and mine spoilt and mine is yuasa bty they give me Shinko Bty and charge ne $85.00 and later i buy another bty yuasa cos another similar bty spoilt they charge me $75.00 for Yuasa so U guys know what they are doing. They charge high price but give you cheap brand bty., so should u go there again ,....

Lousy shop. only know how to earn more profit. but give lousy SPARES...

Bro, i condemn that shop liao. i have my spark plug changed in Hua Chin before and when i went to have my spark plug replaced at other motor tiam after few months, they told me that the spark plug was for 125cc bike.Another incident was there's a leakage of lubicant and hua chin worker suggest to change the part(dun know what to call that) that cost more than $250, heng never change and went to my freqent motor shop and replaced at the cost of $30 nia.

Edited by yunao

Guys, there is a motordiam directory somewhere here in the forum right? One which lists the addresses of all the well-known motordiams in S'pore. Seen it a long time ago, but can't seem to find it now. Can anyone help pls?

Ok, let me rephrase that..... I know there is a "Shop Directory" link at the top of the webpage, but that has the so called "Branded" shops. I'm looking for address of Roslee's shop. Anyone know?