Shell own law, very conceited

Lonewolf

Originally posted by Lass@Feb 27 2005, 03:49 PM

i dun pump at shell and thk goodness for that. wat kinda silly rule is this?

stand and pump for bikes without main stand will not allow u to fill full tank.

did they come out w the rule cos someone tipped over without closing the fuel cap and spilled everything when the bike dropped? otherwise i dun c no rational in doing this.

petrol price just went up again rite? sigh....

Just curious... how many more litres can u fill by standing the bike up vs using side stand? For me, using side stand can still go 300 km.

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/4926/1961_7_168x113.jpghttp://img24.exs.cx/img24/6209/158_3_168x112.jpghttp://img99.exs.cx/img99/6289/index_04.gifhttp://img31.exs.cx/img31/5149/122006304_T.jpg

"Thy fate is the common fate of all;

into each life some rain must fall" - Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

• Replies 268

sooner or later we will get

1. No handphones Allowed in petrol stations

2. No bikes putting on mainstand as theres a risk that when we lift off e mainstand, it might cause sparks

3. No cotton or wool stuffs etc.......

4. Worst still, no more bikers

5. u can only bring in ur own fuel tank without ur bike. Only Professionals will do e topping up.

6. No more petrol stations :cheeky:

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11496/34175638049782l.jpg

Originally posted by sfowner@Feb 27 2005, 10:35 PM

Just curious... how many more litres can u fill by standing the bike up vs using side stand? For me, using side stand can still go 300 km.

at least can last me another 20km or more

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11496/34175638049782l.jpg

Originally posted by sfowner@Feb 27 2005, 10:35 PM

Just curious... how many more litres can u fill by standing the bike up vs using side stand?

From the "heat" here, the different probably up to 5L.

Lets do some math here :

Each time pump Shell, becoz of the stupid safety policy, each bikes pump 5L petrol less, and SBF got 14,500 bikes.

Then, 5L x 14,500 = 72,500L

The petrol price now is $1.45 (agak lah, long time no pump Shell) :

72,500L x $1.45 = $105,125.

Every week, we need to pump at least 1 time, 1 year got 52 weeks :

$105,125 x 52 = $5,466,500.

Becoz of the stupid safety policy, Shell is going to have renevue loss $5,466,500 each year, just SBF alone.

** Be smart, ride safely, stay legal **

Please read the << Street Smart >> thread.

Originally posted by MrLau@Feb 28 2005, 08:53 AM

Becoz of the stupid safety policy, Shell is going to have renevue loss $5,466,500 each year, just SBF alone.

Whahahahhahahahaha!!! :faint: :faint: :faint:

watever.... the fact is tat bikes are the least priority...... cars are their top consumer...... u tink they give a damn abt us boycottin them?

anyway i was told off rudely by a pump attentant to get off my bike with i was refuelin, he said, " cant u see the sign?" but the fact is the NO SIITING ON BIKE WHILE REFUELING SIGN is small n unnoticable.....

from there, i cancel shell as one of my options. the fact is not abt the precaution, is the fact tat they didnt bother to annouce the motion thru newspapers, or the news, or radio...... its the attitude......

1999 - YAMAHA TZR 125

2000 - YAMAHA RX 125

2001 - SUZUKI DR 200

2002 - YAMAHA WR 200

2003 - HONDA CB 400 VTEC I

2004 - HONDA TELEFONICA MOVISTAR CBR 1000 RR4

2005 - SUZUKI GSX 1300RX HAYABUSA

2006 - SUZUKI GSR 600

2007 - HYUNDAI GETZ 1.6 FL

2014 - YAMAHA FZ 6 S1

From the "heat" here, the different probably up to 5L.

5 litres? Wow, at 20 km/l, I can ride another 100 km. That means my bike's range is about 400 km even before reserve comes on... hmm... :giddy:

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/4926/1961_7_168x113.jpghttp://img24.exs.cx/img24/6209/158_3_168x112.jpghttp://img99.exs.cx/img99/6289/index_04.gifhttp://img31.exs.cx/img31/5149/122006304_T.jpg

You'll never know, the next time they may only let riders who are wearing Full-Face helmets pump petrol.

After all, wearing full-face is safer, can better protect your face if suddenly got flames ignited, if you "suay suay" slip on petrol and fall down can save your chin, mouth and teeth from impact. They are committed to our safety!

Then I can foresee those already wearing Full-face helmets to say it's an alright/okay/no problem ruling what, while those not wearing say: "@#%$@#&^!!"

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

I think it depends on which station u go to. I pumped at Sengkang and Tampines Shell without geting off 2 days ago. Just rode in took off my fuelcap and pumped. And I pumped twice cos I mix V-power and 98. The attendants saw me, but din say anything. The cashier also justasked, "You pumped twice?". Thats all. I've gone to other Shell stations before too and have not been told to saddle off yet. Maybe cos my big fat self looks nasty under my fullface but I'm just a teddy bear really. :sweat:

Have not encountered any rude service yet, but I normally pump at these 2 stations only. Maybe certain stations are more understanding than others. Maybe those stations near condos, prime areas or those estates with lots of complainers are more strict cos of the "clientele" who may make a big hoo-ha out of seeing "dangerous" practices by the bikers. Guess if u encounter any bad service, ride to the next nearest friendly petrol station that u noe, be it Shell or others, just to spite that particular station. But if more Shell stations continue with the bad service, it'll lose a lot of unhappy bikers, and like someone said, drivers who are bikers too, who are increasing in number.

http://img70.imageshack.us/img70/6360/monkee4lb.gif

XBOX Original Games for Sale

As i have said a few pages earlier , bikers use hp cannot , passengers inside car using hp while pump petrol can , where got logic ?

If in both scenario , got a case of fire , c which one got more casualties .

Anyway , all 3 shell stations along aljunied have asked me to get off the bike while pumping n given me a nasty look .

M now thinking of redemming $160 worth of metro vouchers from them as a goodbye gift to me . :mad:

Yah me too.... wondering what to redeem as my farewell gift with the 1900+ points...

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Originally posted by william_liu@Feb 28 2005, 11:53 AM

Yah me too.... wondering what to redeem as my farewell gift with the 1900+ points...

check out their website . :smile:

Lets do more math :

1) Assume every bike drop at petrol kios need $1,000 to repair :

$5,466,500/$1000 = 5466 drop per year = 14 bikes drop everyday.

2) Assume a bike cost $10,000 when total lost caused by pump petrol without side stand :

$5,466,500/$10,000 = 5466 fire per year = 1.4 bike burn everday.

3) Assume that a customer sitting on bike while pump petrol kana burn, and insurance claim up to $200,000 :

$5,466,500/$200,000 = 27 customers kana burn per year = every 2 weeks got 1 customer caught fire when pump petrol at Shell setting on bike.

I think is a reasonable precaution not to pump petrol while seated on the bike. Most bikes have tank directlly above engine, which can be very hot after some spirited riding. Bearing in mind that petrol has a low flash point, should you overflow during refueling, chances of ignition is high if you spill sufficient petrol on the engine's hot surfaces If you are seated, then it makes getaway more difficult.

whoever states that you can't generate static in singapore high humidity condition is dead wrong. Ask any car driver, how many experience static shock when in contact with the car metal body when leaving the car.

Let's show some maturity in your arguments. Why must bikers always pull in cars whenever they are in a disadvantage position. Did you ever hear car owners fuss about bikers are exempted from the 3/4 tank rule ?

Originally posted by william_liu@Feb 28 2005, 11:53 AM

Anything la. Just grab and go. :lol:

So how now? Are u ppl following up on the "boycott" yet?

Or is it still angry talk, but still standing and pumping?? :p

Cum cum, let's go JB for fuel. :p

Originally posted by DeusExMachina@Feb 28 2005, 12:06 PM

m pumping at Esso/Mobil nowadays , the cashiers oso more chio looking . :cheeky:

Originally posted by Demon@Feb 28 2005, 12:05 PM

I think is a reasonable precaution not to pump petrol while seated on the bike. Most bikes have tank directlly above engine, which can be very hot after some spirited riding. Bearing in mind that petrol has a low flash point, should you overflow during refueling, chances of ignition is high if you spill sufficient petrol on the engine's hot surfaces If you are seated, then it makes getaway more difficult.

whoever states that you can't generate static in singapore high humidity condition is dead wrong. Ask any car driver, how many experience static shock when in contact with the car metal body when leaving the car.

Let's show some maturity in your arguments. Why must bikers always pull in cars whenever they are in a disadvantage position. Did you ever hear car owners fuss about bikers are exempted from the 3/4 tank rule ?

While I may agree with 1)... but insofar, there has been few (if any) cases of that happening in SG. I've had a friend overflow petrol on his bike after a long ride in M'sia... surprisingly (or luckily) nothing burned.

2) is possible, but highly unlikely. U must remember that car occupants almost always have their air conditioning on, which makes for a cooler and dryer climate in the cabin of their cars. And seated in that cool dry climate on their plush seats (often covered in some kinda cloth), it's not surprising that they will build up some sort of static charge. Bikers are more or less always in contact with the bike's chassis... we're more or less discharged most of the time.

3) No comments on this. But I agree abt not dragging car owners into this.

Originally posted by DeusExMachina@Feb 28 2005, 12:06 PM

I've been refueling at Esso/Mobil for about a month already.... heh heh!

As for JB petrol, not really considering that yet (Lazy lah!), let's hope it will not come to that!

:pray:

Originally posted by MiCmAsta@Feb 23 2005, 03:10 PM

Hmmm.. On v-day i was treated the same way at the SHELL in Tiong Bahru. I was sitting on the bike to pump and the fuel refuse to come out. Then the attandant came along and say "Boy, Have to get off your bike, The machine have sensor thats why you can't refill...." ITS PURE BS MAN!!!! Then I ask him to show me WHERE is the SENSOR (That he claim they have) to me... He suddenly change topic and say now they have this STUPID thing going on... Blah Blah...

I just place back the NOZZLE and left.... :mad:

If they wanna promote such things then they have to do it fair and square... Ask the people in the car to alight when refilling....

THIS IS BS!!!!

me encounter the same problem too at shell tiong bahru...at first want to pump full tank cos low on reserve liao... when i lift up pump, i heard the motor running...when i abt to slot into the tank, the motor cut off. it is control by the cashier in the office...then the attendent come to me and tell me that now cannot sit and pump, i ask y so leh chey they say new rules but i say i didnt hear it on the news and newspaper...so LL stand up and step aside to pump... in the end i buay song so pump $2... then go in pay then tong to sengkang to pump esso.... i will never go to shell singapore again....full os S**T....

Becoz of the stupid safety policy, we SBF 14,500 members going to boycott Shell.

Each bikes can pump 20L petrol, and SBF got 14,500 bikes.

Then, 20L x 14,500 = 290,000L

The petrol price now is $1.45,

290,000L x $1.45 = $420,500

$420,500 x 52 = $21,866,000

Becoz of the stupid safety policy, Shell is going to have renevue loss $21,866,000 each year, just SBF alone.

So, no worry, the marketing director or maybe the CEO soon will lost his job.

Originally posted by MrLau@Feb 28 2005, 05:49 PM

Becoz of the stupid safety policy, we SBF 14,500 members going to boycott Shell.

Each bikes can pump 20L petrol, and SBF got 14,500 bikes.

Then, 20L x 14,500 = 290,000L

The petrol price now is $1.45,

290,000L x $1.45 = $420,500

$420,500 x 52 = $21,866,000

Becoz of the stupid safety policy, Shell is going to have renevue loss $21,866,000 each year, just SBF alone.

So, no worry, the marketing director or maybe the CEO soon will lost his job.

Your calculation is correct if you assume that :

- All 14500 SBF bikers patronise SHELL, and not other Brands

- All 14500 SBF bikers pump SHELL only in SINGAPORE.

- All 14500 SBF bikers disagree with that safety rule.

So it looks like SHELL CEO gets to keep his job. :bounce:

Originally posted by Demon@Feb 28 2005, 06:11 PM

HA HA HA HA... good one!!! :sweat:

Originally posted by Demon@Feb 28 2005, 06:11 PM

Your calculation is correct if you assume that :

- All 14500 SBF bikers patronise SHELL, and not other Brands

- All 14500 SBF bikers pump SHELL only in SINGAPORE.

- All 14500 SBF bikers disagree with that safety rule.

Well.... sometimes engineering and maths don't go quite right... :lol:

So we end up with anomalies and abnormalities like 50kph limits on wide 3 lane roads. :p :P :p