Will you warming up your engine by letting it idle for a few minute before riding off?  

685 members have voted

1. 1. Will you warming up your engine by letting it idle for a few minute before riding off?

• Yeah, I let the engine running at idling speed for a few minutes.
    • No, what for? Waste of petrol.
    • Depends, usually will if have not started engine for a period of time.

hi skateboy,

that was the first thing i did... had the bike for 5 years already... problem only cropped up in the last year... carb just serviced, with top overhaul... still the same...

Not all who wander are lost.....

• Replies 297

Originally posted by rohan@May 11, 2007 11:09 am

Hi everyone,

Need some advice. My bike seems very reluctant to start when cold. Idle rate below 500rpm, tends to die off if I don't keep my hands on the throttle. I usually spend a few minutes letting the engine warm up before it hovers around 1K to 1.3K rpm.

However, after about half an hour of easy riding (not more than 80kph) the idle rate at neutral or when I clutch in jumps to 2.5K rpm and refuses to come down until I start moving again.

I could try adjusting the timing screw but it doesn't help. I end up having to increase when cold and decrease when warm. Definitely something not right somewhere. Been to a few bike shops but they're not sure why. Any opinions before I send it in again?

you can check your spark plugs first. See whether the plug caps are fully insert to the plugs. If either one of the plugs are not inserted fully (loose), then your bike might have this problem. Mine also have this problem, but it's okay now

http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z52/jim_lkf/mz_03_10010403706.gifhttp://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z52/jim_lkf/mz_091005_10010661780.gif

how about ur spark plugs' condition? spark plug cables? like hst said, is it plugged in properly?

air filter u using K&N? if so, u might wanna check if the filter is gone. how to check? take out the filter, c if the filter is in good condition or got alot of big holes n small holes... if so, can change already.

Hi hst, skateboy,

Like I said earlier, the bike started having problems for the last one year. Already tried everything you've suggested, including sending the bike for a top overhaul. Spark plugs have been changed, air filters newly changed to K&N.

hmmm... that is a tough one... how about going to different shops to ask the mech wat prob n how much to service?? but dun let them do... c wat they can say... can try K&T, planet, bikewerks etc which is situated ard ubi area... c wat they say lor... then do update us again.

lets hope its not a bad prob... else worse come worse, sell the bike n get a new one.

I'll probably do that again... but the problem was there even before I cleaned and tuned the carbs... will send it in again soon to check it out... funny things is, it doen't happen after riding in hard rain...

Hey super4 bros,

I juz bought a VTEC2 last 3 mths.. N i hav this start up prob where i hav to throttle for quite sum time wen i wanna start my bike early in the morning.. If nt the engine wil juz die.. However if my engine is hot aready, there's nt a prob.. Been having this prob since i got the bike.. I juz chg my engine oil, spark plugs n oso service n tuning of my bike at Sanfu.. First, they told me my needle valve was spoilt.. So i chg for $72.. But stil the problem occurs.. De last thg de shop suspect is tat my "bar" is leaking or sumthg.. So wat shall i do? Really need yr help guys.. A newbie in 400cc bikes.. Thxs..

maybe u can adjust the idling knob abit higher...

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y117/nebulaz/KTM-Pink-1.jpg

HUA Hua hua....WADEVER..AR you STOOPID OR WAD? HUA hua hua version 2.....

For my Ver.S also i have this problem.

from wat i heard from my brother (he is now riding blackbird). S4 is still a manual bike..so this is common and nothing to worry. As long as your idle is ok after engine a bit warm..it is fine..

x-perts correct me if wrong...

ver.s: may 2007..

LC: nov 2002 - may 2007

if ur FC is okie then no problem ba... engine die off when cold cos higher air intake than fuel... that's why... anyway, my bike also like that, but touring very shiok, response, FC, performance all there, but i donno about your bike...

Jul' 01 - Jun '02: Honda 185 XL

Jun' 02 - Mar '03: Yahama 200

May '06 - Oct '07 : Honda CB400 Version 'S'

First thing is check ur idling, recommended idling is 1.15k to 1.25k....also check if ur air filter is clean...

If all ok....u can use ur choke when warming up....Ver S got choke right?.

tAnGoA~~!!

If all ok....u can use ur choke when warming up....Ver S got choke right?.

his bike is Vtec 2..... got choke also la...

Jul' 01 - Jun '02: Honda 185 XL

Jun' 02 - Mar '03: Yahama 200

May '06 - Oct '07 : Honda CB400 Version 'S'

either pull the choke or adjust the idling higher...

idling knob? but wen i increase it, wen engine hot it wil rise to like to like 2k rpm or even more.. n there's one more thg.. my end can is not ori anymr.. prev owner go n "tebok" de pipe.. so its kind of noisy.. so does it hav any effects on tat?

aniwae bro's, really appreciate yr help aite.. thxs so much..

n u guys got any really trusted shop tat i cn go to for servicing n stuffs? coz i feel as if i got cheated at Sanfu.. i came bck to de shop 5 TIMES last wk after i service my carb there.. still they can't seem to find de actual prob..

thxs bros..

Super 4 is a carburettor bike so u'll have to trottle abit or use the choke when u first start in the cold morning. For EFI bike, the engine will 'auto fast idle' by itself until the correct operating temp and then it will drop the rpm back to it's idle rpm. So it's not necessary to adjust the idle rpm higher as it will overshoot to more then 1100rpm which is the norminal idle range for super 4. All Carb bike will have this prob when cold start but once warm up, it will operate as normal...

Hope this helps

Super 4 is a carburettor bike so u'll have to trottle abit or use the choke when u first start in the cold morning. For EFI bike, the engine will 'auto fast idle' by itself until the correct operating temp and then it will drop the rpm back to it's idle rpm. So it's not necessary to adjust the idle rpm higher as it will overshoot to more then 1100rpm which is the norminal idle range for super 4. All Carb bike will have this prob when cold start but once warm up, it will operate as normal...

Hope this helps

adjust the idling only when the engine is warm up properly. a gd bike can just warm up from start at cold even the idling at start is

in sg, sound fast look fast is enough. run fast fine fast die fast.

dun see it as any major problem. some bikes require longer warm up time

Think it should be idling leh... u mean when u start yhe engine , it will not start unless u turn the throttle or when u start the engine from cold and u have to hold the throttle for some time to make the idling up?

my spec 2 is when start from cold have to turn throttle a bit than can start..but once started , it will be ok.. my FC is abt 280-300.

Ride safely and enjoy it As quoted in the movie BIKER BOYZ...."Burn rubber,not your soul"