i did say i won't be off-topic so i'll try to stick on topic and avoid anything about food...hehehe...

...about gear...

...i remember my fall on inline skates going at relatively slow speed...how fast can it be right? but still, with all of my guards on, i still got some pretty bad friction burns. imagine what an 80-90kph fall will get me?

well...i sure hope they will learn one day...and not the hard way.

I will definitely look into investing in some good gear before I start riding!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v200/fuzzywuz85/IronBee3.jpg

Dress Not For The Ride, But Dress For The Fall

• Replies 25.1k

what size? my head very very small liao :( size s also still got space to move..:dozed:

then my helmet is not suitable for u then, mine is size M:(

sometimes faster is better..just a second too late & jialat..

like ytd while going back home at nyt near my home, was lane splitting as usual (dun tell me not to..i still will as n when i see fit :p), it just turned green at traffic light & i was from a distance..so i jus quickly zoom past the vehicles as fast as i can to get to the front cuz i hate getting squeezed between vehicles (think i like is it lane splitting so much?)..

usually d vehicles jus moved off from traffic light they maintain straight..but this as$hole driving some lorry on my left suddenly move to his right, dunno y..if say wan to change lane also, next lane got car..so perhaps wanna create trouble with purpose dun wan me to selit..NB..

by that time the lorry was few cm away from me ah..scary shyt..have to speed up at that point to get away frm that stupid lorry..was so shocked ah..gave the F*kr a bloody hell good view of the finger..

you can't really blame them. cos by right, we are lane splitting. and no matter what happen, we are in the wrong and we are responsible for our own actions. there are some drivers who will shift out to let us lane split while some just like to inch closer(as if they can move so much further forward) until i cannot squeeze.

like you, i also like to squeeze through traffic. and i lane change quite abruptly cos i like to get into lanes faster rather than being in neither. and like what you've experienced, it's ALWAYS the same thing for me everyday. either, i just step on my brake and let him 'win' or i just open throttle if i see got enough space for me to pass through. at traffic light, i think it's really important to open full throttle as it's not good to be trapped in between cars while everyone is moving out together.

i selling my FF helmet but nobody interested:(

tats y i nv try theor steak before, but the other stuffs taste gd:cheers:

does the server knows anything or just wanna "cook" up a story:cheeky:

oh well, wat to do:dozed:

these people in the food industry always think that there's nothing wrong with their food. just yesterday, i broke my fast at KTM. i've smelt something wrong with the food. told them about it. and they told me there's nothing wrong. i was just about to throw it away and buy from another stall when another helper decided to taste it. and indeed, it has turned bad and so they replaced it. then, later on when i ate my food, the sambal had also turned bad! gosh! i'm SOOOO not gonna eat from that stall ever again. was a mistake trying the other coffeeshop yesterday!

i did say i won't be off-topic so i'll try to stick on topic and avoid anything about food...hehehe...

...about gear...

...i remember my fall on inline skates going at relatively slow speed...how fast can it be right? but still, with all of my guards on, i still got some pretty bad friction burns. imagine what an 80-90kph fall will get me?

well...i sure hope they will learn one day...and not the hard way.

and that's why i always wear gloves and not jacket. i need my hands to write in school. i'm ok with abrasions on my arms though. but then again, wearing a jacket in this hot weather is crazy!!!!

and today while at BBDC, I've finally passed my 2A!! :angel: but the funny thing I wanna share with you guys is that there's 1 guy who skipped one part of the route and the TP don't realise it. lucky him. cos i think he turned left after the slope and went straight on to finish the circuit instead of turning right to go through the mazy right and left 90 degrees turns.

This morning while riding... SLE towards Woodlands, heavy & slow traffic... first time I met one J plate rider who doesn't really dare to lane split... already riding at lane 1.5, but everytime want to pass cars like hesitant hesitant a bit, even braking unnecessarily... o_O

and that's why i always wear gloves and not jacket. i need my hands to write in school. i'm ok with abrasions on my arms though.

well, it is your prerogative to decide what you want in terms of protection. please note that the friction burns i got was from a inline skating fall at less than 10kph, there is hardly any real speed involved. if i were to fall from my bike, at the very minimum i will be going at 30-40kph. at those speeds, i will expect much more than abrasions. and if i fall at 60kph, it will be major road rash. and i never want to have any road rash just from the testimonies i've read from people who have experienced road rash. i never thought i'd be wearing full protection for every ride until i read some of the experiences people had. so please do read up so you are making informed compromises.

but then again, wearing a jacket in this hot weather is crazy!!!!

having worn a jacket for every ride since i got my own bike, and having not worn a jacket for the many months in riding school, i can say that wearing a jacket to ride is a lot more comfortable in the hot weather than many people think. the trick is to wear a jacket with the right material. try wearing mine and you'll see what i mean. we will sweat in the hot sun no matter what we wear. difference is the sweat will evaporate fast with the jacket making me feel very cool. and i get protection from the sun on my skin as well. so its good. i can imagine how some jackets can feel warm and wet. but the right one will feel comfortable, even in the hot hot singapore sun.

Edited by scubasimon
http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg
This morning while riding... SLE towards Woodlands, heavy & slow traffic... first time I met one J plate rider who doesn't really dare to lane split... already riding at lane 1.5, but everytime want to pass cars like hesitant hesitant a bit, even braking unnecessarily... o_O

maybe he just got his license? or maybe its a new bike?

Yesterday while riding, kena my first accident. :(

Bumped into the bumper of the auntie driving in front. Totally my fault. :slapforehead:

My tire left a slight impression on the bumper, like the impression on the notice board when you press hard. Bumper alignment was also slightly off.

Paid for the repair for her bumper. Haizzz.... $$$$:angel:$$$$

Edited by Silent Hunter

you prefer him to lane split fast and then due to lack of experience accidentally bang car mirror and fall down? Like that would cause even more obstruction.

new rider (or at least new lane splitter) la... must be more patient with him

but he should also move over when possible and let you guys pass when he sees a line behind him forming la...

Edited by swiftee

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

Bumped into the bumper of the auntie driving in front. Totally my fault.

My tire left a slight impression on the bumper, like the impression on the notice board when you press hard. Bumper alignment was also slightly off.

you're a good soul!

i remember my first accident, was driving my car back then, also bumped into someone's bumper. good thing is no real dent so no money changed hands.

my first real big one was when someone driving a mazda astina (remember those?) hit me on the back at the centrepoint junction. geez...i could see the guy's face on my mirror and it turned all white. hahaha!

you prefer him to lane split fast and then due to lack of experience accidentally bang car mirror and fall down? Like that would cause even more obstruction.

but he should also move over when possible and let you guys pass when he sees a line behind him forming la...

i almost never lane split as well...and many riders pass me by wondering why...somehow when i did lane split, i felt weird...maybe its because i've driven so many years. still...its an advantage bikers have to lane split...especially when there's a looooong line of cars. that's when i thank god i'm out with my bike...and try to lane split :-)

ytd while riding i cannot count how many fingers i showed, for the whole day..huhu! either they are blocking the riders' way while lane splitting or they are being really inconsiderate and/or incompetent..showed the finger alot during my ride from clementi to simei on pie, jammed, so lane splitting 90% of the way..not impatient or what..just a lil peeved over their whatever i showed the finger for..hurhur~!

today was only once..at a dumb cab..but forgot what..let's see how many more during the afternoon jam later :angel:

eh.. normally if traffic light turn green while i lanesplit, i will slow down. neh mind i slowed down coz of SLOOOOW cars moving off @ traffic light. that's me la.

coz it's exactly when cars start to move off that such cases can happen, the lorry most likely chuiz ald, steering loose or what...

when cars are ald moving, unlikely will "auto" steer. although we all know abt the ping pong rider from LTA ald.

i near case b4 coz of traffic light turn green, just like ur case. after that slow down liaoz. :cheeky:

one reason why i sped up is cuz i dun wanna get between the vehicles..i really dont like the feeling..only once in a while i feel the thrill for lane splitting and enjoys doing that..but usually, cuz in my pov, i dun wanna get stuck behind and dun wanna get stuck in between..

i think mebe the fella drunk la & lose control a little :cheeky:

:lol: dun bother abt those bimbotic 'princesses' la, seriously, some of them probably dun even know what is pain/ sweat... :faint:

PS: not all gals, is really "Those Bimbotic 'princesses' nia"

hahah..to me, most of those are bimbotic 'princesses'..unless they are riders, and unless they are my girl friends, and of coz especially not for my good girl friends..of coz..i can be bimboticly-princessey, but even when i am in one of those bimboticly-princessey moods, heck, i am one who rides! hehehe....

then my helmet is not suitable for u then, mine is size M:(

orrhh..okiee lorh :):)

you can't really blame them. cos by right, we are lane splitting. and no matter what happen, we are in the wrong and we are responsible for our own actions. there are some drivers who will shift out to let us lane split while some just like to inch closer(as if they can move so much further forward) until i cannot squeeze.

ya i know:)

like you, i also like to squeeze through traffic. and i lane change quite abruptly cos i like to get into lanes faster rather than being in neither. and like what you've experienced, it's ALWAYS the same thing for me everyday. either, i just step on my brake and let him 'win' or i just open throttle if i see got enough space for me to pass through. at traffic light, i think it's really important to open full throttle as it's not good to be trapped in between cars while everyone is moving out together.

hahaha..same sentiments there..its just a matter of knowing what is when at the right time..

these people in the food industry always think that there's nothing wrong with their food. just yesterday, i broke my fast at KTM. i've smelt something wrong with the food. told them about it. and they told me there's nothing wrong. i was just about to throw it away and buy from another stall when another helper decided to taste it. and indeed, it has turned bad and so they replaced it. then, later on when i ate my food, the sambal had also turned bad! gosh! i'm SOOOO not gonna eat from that stall ever again. was a mistake trying the other coffeeshop yesterday!

ok, mee soto for me one okie :D hehe

and that's why i always wear gloves and not jacket. i need my hands to write in school. i'm ok with abrasions on my arms though. but then again, wearing a jacket in this hot weather is crazy!!!!

i wear half gloves, that ok? :cheeky:

ya, tell me abt it..guess my jacket is those type which kept the warmth, which is great during a ride at night, can still get some wind while riding during the day but stiffy when stop at traffic junction! :faint:

and today while at BBDC, I've finally passed my 2A!! :angel: but the funny thing I wanna share with you guys is that there's 1 guy who skipped one part of the route and the TP don't realise it. lucky him. cos i think he turned left after the slope and went straight on to finish the circuit instead of turning right to go through the mazy right and left 90 degrees turns.

congrats! finally means? how many times? hehe..dun wanna say its okie :D

LUCKY fella sia that guy..hahaha....

ya..weird when we bump into such J plate rider..in any case..was he lane splitting? if he is, then :faint: if not, good what..safe:)

i almost never lane split as well...and many riders pass me by wondering why...somehow when i did lane split, i felt weird...maybe its because i've driven so many years. still...its an advantage bikers have to lane split...especially when there's a looooong line of cars. that's when i thank god i'm out with my bike...and try to lane split :-)

hahahaa..lane split within ur own abilities & confidence..i have seen super 4 splitting like no one's business, and in my pov, he's not reckless, just fast & experienced..ytd also saw this cl 2 sportsbike (cant recognise what) lane splitting like no one's business..overtook me at an opportunity where there is a gap on the right when a cab wanna change from lane 1 to lane 2..he sped up and overtook the cab & continue lane splitting..what i can say is..respect :D

Actually i find the bikers are still ok. It's the non-bikers...

I was with a group of female friends and while i was putting on my gear they were standing around saying to each other "Is that even NECESSARY?"

And I was only wearing fullface and gloves that day... and riding a class 2A bike

really dont understand these people sometimes

Thank god my bunch of peeps are not like that. The 1st few weeks without proper gear, they didnt say anything. Once I bought my jacket and gloves, they asked once or twice. Explained to them throughly and they understood and never asked again. :)

:lol: dun bother abt those bimbotic 'princesses' la, seriously, some of them probably dun even know what is pain/ sweat... :faint:

PS: not all gals, is really "Those Bimbotic 'princesses' nia"

They know lor! Sweat comes when they get excit.. wait.. that's another thing altogether.. :angel:

I tend to lanesplit alot in the day, but at night once its cooler, I stay in line more.

ytd while riding i cannot count how many fingers i showed, for the whole day..huhu! either they are blocking the riders' way while lane splitting or they are being really inconsiderate and/or incompetent..showed the finger alot during my ride from clementi to simei on pie, jammed, so lane splitting 90% of the way..not impatient or what..just a lil peeved over their whatever i showed the finger for..hurhur~!

today was only once..at a dumb cab..but forgot what..let's see how many more during the afternoon jam later :angel:

Girl, you have to understand that the road is not yours. Blocking or whatever, you must learn to be more relaxed and not always rush for things.

Would you like it if I happen to bump into you everyday and for whatever lapse of judgement and errors you do on the road, I point the finger at you??

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v652/IZECUBEZ/Motivational/Determination.jpg
maybe he just got his license? or maybe its a new bike?

ya..weird when we bump into such J plate rider..in any case..was he lane splitting? if he is, then :faint: if not, good what..safe:)

Maybe what I said is confusing ah... Haha... we were lane splitting @ 1.5, but everytime after he pass one car, it seems like it takes a lot of courage to pass the next... I'd rather he just follow the cars in lane 2, safer for everyone...

Anyway, I'm not a fan of lane splitting, only doing so when necessary, otherwise, I'm an in-lane rider... If it's a short queue at the lights (can pass without waiting for another round of lights), I'd even queue behind the cars instead of wriggling my way to the front. When I'm pillioning, I hardly lane split... :cheeky:

Girl, you have to understand that the road is not yours. Blocking or whatever, you must learn to be more relaxed and not always rush for things.

Would you like it if I happen to bump into you everyday and for whatever lapse of judgement and errors you do on the road, I point the finger at you??

dun u girl me..u like if i call u "Boy, you have to understand.."? you make yourself sound so old & naggy.

what i do is seriously nothing of your concern. if i show the finger, what danger would i cause? most prob just to myself IF i lose control. well, ok, sure, if i lose control n lane splitting, would cause yadayadayadayadaandsoonandsoforth..so in the end, it comes to my own judgement. fine, dad, dun need to get all naggy on me.

if i kena point the finger, i'd have the same reaction as anyone wud, i'd be 'hey!', maybe pissed off, mebe give chase (if in nasty mood), or just let it be & cool down by myself. which is pretty much anyone's reaction as well, no?

so u'd bump into me everyday la. :angel:

so u shud know that i dont really do that most of my riding journey so far. just that lately it's getting more frequent. for some reason.

and just so you know, you have never gone out riding with me, thus you do not know the nature of my riding style. it is not always rushing for things nor impatient all the time. you think i dont wanna enjoy my ride like any rider? like hello, it was a JAM. who wouldnt feel the impatience? dont tell me you relax and chill all the time, do you? if it is ALL & EVERYTIME, then we have a liar. and furthermore, i was only describing about one instance. you wouldnt know if i am relaxed and not always rush for things during the other times, would you?

in any case, judge me anyhow u'd like. i dont give nuts. cuz i can jolly well do the same about you or any one else for that matter. :)

today BEFORE riding...

found some low life stole my givi wind shield off my phantom... sianz...

hope he goes so fast it shatters and takes the top of his skull off... LOL

today while riding...

on the way home, i thought i'd try my luck around my neighbourhood to see if it was from my area

and LO AND BEHOLD!!! i actually saw it... you ask me how i recognize it, there were some chemical marks and scratches when i e-braked into the back of a pick up some months ago, attached to no less than another TA-200... repainted a shocking orange...

so called Yishun NPP and within 15 minutes they were there at 419A MCSP

took down my particulars and did a vehicle trace and told me to go home first as it could take a while

so i came back - barely half hour ago - and showered and waited for their call...

just my luck, they got the address but no one was in, so they couldn't interview the vehicle owner... haiz...

also they did explain to me and i do understand and agree that as it is a non-serial #'ed accessory unlike pipes and the like... it would be pretty difficult to have a case...

his advise was in future to silicone the allen screw areas as well as where possible to use different types of screws or bolt/nuts so they have a more difficult time getting the accessories you bought with your hard earned $$$...

Grounded... :/

was that a lady jogger? haha~

wa bro, ur video says everithin.. LOLs.. nice:thumb:

Just in case, i wasn't the one who horned, it was a car. and the lady HAD TO continue running across. :faint:

and today while at BBDC, I've finally passed my 2A!! :angel:

Shucks, lousy stall -> like that the coffeeshop also cannot tahan long ba...

anyw, bro, just to share arh, even WITH mesh jacket (soft padding), i had some minor abrasions when i skidded some time back. jittao cannot imagine if neber wear. :faint: :smile:

Congratz on passing 2A! :smile:

the category is "see too many things happened".

I frequently see such riders, along KJE, BKE, SLE, travelling slowly, but at lane 3 la. really relac relac liaoz.

Bumped into the bumper of the auntie driving in front. Totally my fault. :slapforehead:

heng u alright dude, as in no serious injuries or what. no damage to ur bike? wonder what bumper material is that...

I feel u sis, it's freaking ridunculous when West jam to East, maciam Singapore kenna high blood pressure and heart attack like that. :angry:

if jam at traffic lights, ok la, can unds. funking hell, jam all the way from west to east... Really bong bong leh...

They know lor! Sweat comes when they get excit.. wait.. that's another thing altogether.. :angel:

OOOKAEEE... :faint:

today while riding...

on the way home, i thought i'd try my luck around my neighbourhood to see if it was from my area

and LO AND BEHOLD!!! i actually saw it... you ask me how i recognize it, there were some chemical marks and scratches when i e-braked into the back of a pick up some months ago, attached to no less than another TA-200... repainted a shocking orange...

so called Yishun NPP and within 15 minutes they were there at 419A MCSP

took down my particulars and did a vehicle trace and told me to go home first as it could take a while

so i came back - barely half hour ago - and showered and waited for their call...

just my luck, they got the address but no one was in, so they couldn't interview the vehicle owner... haiz...

also they did explain to me and i do understand and agree that as it is a non-serial #'ed accessory unlike pipes and the like... it would be pretty difficult to have a case...

his advise was in future to silicone the allen screw areas as well as where possible to use different types of screws or bolt/nuts so they have a more difficult time getting the accessories you bought with your hard earned $$$...

Chao Nah Bong! ask some friends come down all sit ard his bike wait for him to come liaoz! :lol: jk jk.

i jit tao doubt their efficiency eh, but hope they can prove me wrong.

just 2 nights ago, i went down to nearby coffeeshop with fren for supper.

my fren den tell me the large group of ppl gathering ard the table are frequently illegally gambling, with "scout" all ard in case got QZ.

just as we finished supper, walked towards road, a QZ came and STOP DIRECTLY IN FRONT of The table (less than 15m away), with all the punters merrily gambling away - no one ran or anything, they prob dun even noe the QZ was there.

The QZ drove away and never came back... ... ... ... :dozed: well done.

another case. There's a lot of rumours (insider info?) abt ppl taking drugs and stuff at another block, the NPP is jit tao directly below that block. :faint: well done.

dun u girl me..u like if i call u "Boy, you have to understand.."? you make yourself sound so old & naggy.

what i do is seriously nothing of your concern. if i show the finger

..... bla bla bla bla.........

She bites. Be careful....

Listen to him. He's right. You keep pointing your finger around, one day you're going to meet a really belligerent driver or rider who will come after you and knock you down... nevermind that you're a girl, that you're riding a 2B bike, or whether if you're a P-plater or not.

When you cross that line with the wrong person, you might regret it.

So think twice. Always think of this:

"Can I win this fight?"

If you can, go ahead.

but if she has a long finger???

http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/photo/2006-07/26/xin_2007032617404862968011.jpg

as compare to the short one

http://www.bite.ca/mtBlog/archives/Little%20Girl%20Gives%20Finger.jpg