I don't see how riding recklessly weaving in and out of traffic at high speeds, chionging to deliver some orders can make one a better rider... a rempit more likely.

Rempits act like they are racers.... racers don't act like rempits.

• Replies 25.1k

maybe i'm just living under tremendous pressure thats why i am behaving like this on the roads. Just praying hard to God to protect me.

About the track, its been ages since i want to try. The only thing that is stopping me is ..... $$$$$ :)

bro, like i said, u ald answered ur own questions - u ald noe what's "wrong", so do the necessary thing to counter lor. else it's like seeing a manhole in front of u and purposely walking into it right? :confused:

today while riding!

wash bike time! :lol:

lack of money chiong for docket ???

then accident the company pay for the bike repairs and yr medical bills??

Depending on the co, they do cover your medical. eg: pz ht.

Bike, if its not your fault, need not worry :) Just claim. if your fault then get ready to go broke :)

firefox87 - yeah, this rider thingy really open up my eyes on the roads. Leisure riders and those who do it for their rice bowl see the roads differently sometimes wisely sometimes not so wisely. contrary to it, when i was travelling like a tortoise along ECP a year ago, i was knocked by an idiot who failed to give way. not testing luck though. one is bad enough

To have a normal life, you work for what you need.

To have a great life, you work for what you want.

Depending on the co, they do cover your medical. eg: pz ht.

Bike, if its not your fault, need not worry :) Just claim. if your fault then get ready to go broke :)

firefox87 - yeah, this rider thingy really open up my eyes on the roads. Leisure riders and those who do it for their rice bowl see the roads differently sometimes wisely sometimes not so wisely. contrary to it, when i was travelling like a tortoise along ECP a year ago, i was knocked by an idiot who failed to give way. not testing luck though. one is bad enough

1) bro, "leisure rider" or "rice bowl rider", we still have to practice the same safety adherence to stay alive.

just bcoz a taxi driver is doing his job does not give him the right to stop anywhere he likes, to swerve into a biker's path for a passenger, to jam brake and stop on double yellow lines and the list goes on... ... Do you agree?

If yes: then how is a despatch rider any different from the above taxi driver? Just because carik makan, does not mean can and should ride recklessly right? If swerve in and out is not reckless, then... ...

If no: forget it, im just farting.. eat too much garlic and onion..

2) SLOW NOT EQUAL SAFE.

Everytime riders "talk crap" about riding safe, we dun mean slow, we mean safe. really 2 different meaning. as u can attest to it urself, slow still kenna bang.

ultimately, safe just means doing all that u can to ensure u r not injured.

3) Forget Right Of Way, Practice Right To Live.

Right of way for riders simply means egg crash rock, or rock crush egg if u prefer. :(

4) Live Life Wrecklessly.

And not Recklessly. :p

5) To have a life, you work safely. :thumb::smile:

I don't see how riding recklessly weaving in and out of traffic at high speeds, chionging to deliver some orders can make one a better rider... a rempit more likely.

Rempits act like they are racers.... racers don't act like rempits.

1) bro, "leisure rider" or "rice bowl rider", we still have to practice the same safety adherence to stay alive.

who says delivery riders just weave in and out of traffics? they ride fast, corner fast. and more chance to die younger. but then again, a better rider is someone with more experience. a delivery rider with 10 years of working experience will definitely be better than a leisure rider with 30 years of experience.

rempits act like they are racers. but that is not how they should be defined. rempits are hooligans with no respect for the law as well as other people. and the word rempit comes from malaysia and the word 'mat rempit' already has many negative connotations attached to it. so please don't associate delivery riders who weave in and out of traffic as a rempit. i'm seriously offended by your choice of word. delivery riders work proper jobs but rempits earn money by stealing and illegal races.

sometimes, people have to do what they currently do as a result of the pressure they are feeling so i really feel it's unfair to tell people what to do and what not to do by not understanding why they did so.

an analogy will be of an office worker using unethical methods to get promotion. he may say he don't like it. but he will reply that if he don't do that, he won't be able to support for his family. he have a choice and it's up to him to make that. either he is hated by his peers or not being able to support his family with better wealth.

all we can tell a rider is to ride safely and take care of his life. but it's up to him to weigh out the risks and consequences by himself.

who says delivery riders just weave in and out of traffics? they ride fast, corner fast. and more chance to die younger. but then again, a better rider is someone with more experience. a delivery rider with 10 years of working experience will definitely be better than a leisure rider with 30 years of experience.

rempits act like they are racers. but that is not how they should be defined. rempits are hooligans with no respect for the law as well as other people. and the word rempit comes from malaysia and the word 'mat rempit' already has many negative connotations attached to it. so please don't associate delivery riders who weave in and out of traffic as a rempit. i'm seriously offended by your choice of word. delivery riders work proper jobs but rempits earn money by stealing and illegal races.

sometimes, people have to do what they currently do as a result of the pressure they are feeling so i really feel it's unfair to tell people what to do and what not to do by not understanding why they did so.

an analogy will be of an office worker using unethical methods to get promotion. he may say he don't like it. but he will reply that if he don't do that, he won't be able to support for his family. he have a choice and it's up to him to make that. either he is hated by his peers or not being able to support his family with better wealth.

all we can tell a rider is to ride safely and take care of his life. but it's up to him to weigh out the risks and consequences by himself.

My apologies if you feel offended with my post.

The intent of my post is to encourage the despatch riders to think about their own safety above money. But if you content that their style of riding will make them better riders... you are entitled to your own opinions.

Ride safe everyone. Money can always make back another day... if you live another day.

Peace out.

That might be true but if the delivery rider does not practise safe riding, anticipation, patience etc, will it still mean they are better? this would also go the same for the leisure rider...experience plays its part but i believe so does practising of safety in that experience...

i like your definition of rempit and delivery rider, really makes a difference in explanation...:thumb:

Those Who Don't Know Pain

Can Never Know True Peace

i like your definition of rempit and delivery rider, really makes a difference in explanation...:thumb:

Agree with you on that. :thumb:

I had always been under the impression that a rempit was a reckless street hooligan with no respect for traffic laws... hence my apologies.

dude i love your english laa. well said :thumbs:

read the news? if i'm not wrong it was in the malay papers ...

a macrider was down. perhaps from KUCC outlet, hope he's okay.

today, nearly rear-end into a taxi as i was filtering out from ecp exit at bedok coz the bugger suddenly jam brake and when he did that, i was checking back. jam brake and lock my tyres for the first time. loud screeaching sound and almost skid. scary laa. thank goodness nothing happened...

by the way, yesterday whilst riding home around 12am, spotted few TP/LTA officers hiding at rainshelter on ECP. luckily i only going 80km/h at that time. dont know why i was in the mood to just ride leisurely and keep to lane 3 and 4, coz usually if the road is clear, i'll just whack all the way. :cheeky: wonder what will happen if i were to be going at 140km/h. hehhs ... blinker light confirm chase me eh ?:cry:

dear STALKER on SGBikes.com ,

YOU CAN SUCK MY MIDDLE FINGER DEEP DEEP !

yours truly.

My apologies if you feel offended with my post.

The intent of my post is to encourage the despatch riders to think about their own safety above money. But if you content that their style of riding will make them better riders... you are entitled to your own opinions.

Ride safe everyone. Money can always make back another day... if you live another day.

Peace out.

no prob. but then again, i never say that delivery riders are DEFINITELY better riders due to their riding style. riding style defines how you ride but a better rider is definitely someone who's more experienced.

dude i love your english laa. well said :thumbs:

read the news? if i'm not wrong it was in the malay papers ...

a macrider was down. perhaps from KUCC outlet, hope he's okay.

today, nearly rear-end into a taxi as i was filtering out from ecp exit at bedok coz the bugger suddenly jam brake and when he did that, i was checking back. jam brake and lock my tyres for the first time. loud screeaching sound and almost skid. scary laa. thank goodness nothing happened...

by the way, yesterday whilst riding home around 12am, spotted few TP/LTA officers hiding at rainshelter on ECP. luckily i only going 80km/h at that time. dont know why i was in the mood to just ride leisurely and keep to lane 3 and 4, coz usually if the road is clear, i'll just whack all the way. :cheeky: wonder what will happen if i were to be going at 140km/h. hehhs ... blinker light confirm chase me eh ?:cry:

it's just the side effects of doing essays. hahaha...

all i can say for that mcrider is too bad. his luck ran out. but if it's not his fault, just suck it up. my gf's father once told me this when i pass my license. it's lucky if you are on the hospital beds when in a serious accident. else, it could have been your life. by riding on a bike, you should already be prepared to be in an accident. if not, don't ride a bike.

be careful ah.. u never know when your luck may run out. i once saw a stationary lorry. those kinds that are used for cutting branches of the trees along the expressway and then, a TP was hiding behind it! hahaha... good luck to those who are speeding away.

Edited by firefox87

As long as when you fall, you don't take me out with you, you can ride however you want.

But TBH, if I see a bucking weaving rider fall in front of me, I'm less inclined to stop and help.

on the way back home after clearing woodlands customs, went in with friends to have seafood dinner.

2 freaking idiots tried to kill me. this smart toyota wish taxi driver think he is driving a formula 1 car, driving so fast and zoom past me so closely (i saw him approaching very fast on my right mirror and i have to moved more to the left of the lane to avoid him) and he still has the cheek to high beam me! then saw him weave in and out of traffic like lewis hamilton's overtaking moves. wanted to chase him down initially but decided not to.

next was involving a msia kup, this one think he is valentino rossi, typical msia kup, overtook me so closely and fast i was stunned for a brief moment, and saw him weave in and out of traffic at high speed. morons. want to die go ahead but please do not drag others into your suicidal plans.

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

They are the other group of foreign talents that have blatant disregards for road safety.

See how they walk or cross Serangoon Road and you will will understand.

i hope you realised that Serangoon Road is actually a 4-lane road..

I didnt realised until i went to count it.. as most of the time, i only see 2 lanes having vehicular traffic..

the other 2 side lanes humans that dun know how to walk on pavements..

As long as when you fall, you don't take me out with you, you can ride however you want.

But TBH, if I see a bucking weaving rider fall in front of me, I'm less inclined to stop and help.

plus 1! :thumb:

me too! if i see a foolish rider trying to act hero and think he/she is very skilled by weaving in and out of traffic. if sway sway kenna accident, i will say obi quack, you deserved it!

i don care how a rider ride, as long he/she do not affect me with his/her stupidity, i heck care, you can kiss the tarmac for all i care. just don drag others down with your own stupidity.

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

If a delivery rider weaves in and out of traffic or rides recklessly, there is a high chance of him endangering himself and other road users as well.

However, someone who uses unethical methods in the office may not do much harm to the company unless he's Nick Leeson or used to work for Lehmann Brothers. Even if there's damage done, it is not of the physical kind.

plus 1! :thumb:

me too! if i see a foolish rider trying to act hero and think he/she is very skilled by weaving in and out of traffic. if sway sway kenna accident, i will say obi quack, you deserved it!

i don care how a rider ride, as long he/she do not affect me with his/her stupidity, i heck care, you can kiss the tarmac for all i care. just don drag others down with your own stupidity.

:lol: under such circumstances, will still help la, not any lesser. perhaps a "pls ride responsibly" will suffice.

I didnt realised until i went to count it.. as most of the time, i only see 2 lanes having vehicular traffic..

:faint: really? i neber go and count, but feels veli cramped :lol:

-twist- coz u guys discussing abt riding fast and weaving in and out arh? of coz there are delivery riders who dun do that often..

and of coz no one has the right to tell anyone to do anything, we are just voicing our views. As this forum is being surfed by many, perhaps some new riders, of course the better thing to say is "ride safe" and not to do dangerous acts. U seriously think it's good for them to come in and see "Oh, delivery riders have an excuse to ride in another way"?? :confused:

u mean u actually passed ur tp by riding fast and cornering fast? or izzit licence pass liao diff story? :confused: or is it only when we are taking lessons then the physical laws of nature affect u, but after that we r immune? :confused:

and ur analogy is also a bit hmz.. debatable? unethical - wrong means wrong ah, try telling that to ur prof/ employer/ any authority..

purely just my views, not a lecture/ telling anyone what to do. I just feel that there are no reasons to justify reckless riding, just as there are no reasons to justify a reckless cabbie like i described earlier. And if ur answer to my above post is "no" then like i said, just take it that im farting lo. :)

Nice breakdown of the meaning of rempit. :thumb:

just bcoz a taxi driver is doing his job does not give him the right to stop anywhere he likes, to swerve into a biker's path for a passenger, to jam brake and stop on double yellow lines and the list goes on... ... Do you agree?

If yes: then how is a despatch rider any different from the above taxi driver? Just because carik makan, does not mean can and should ride recklessly right? If swerve in and out is not reckless, then... ...

Edited by JackOHJack

2) SLOW NOT EQUAL SAFE.

Everytime riders "talk crap" about riding safe, we dun mean slow, we mean safe. really 2 different meaning. as u can attest to it urself, slow still kenna bang.

ultimately, safe just means doing all that u can to ensure u r not injured.

3) Forget Right Of Way, Practice Right To Live.

Right of way for riders simply means egg crash rock, or rock crush egg if u prefer. :(

4) Live Life Wrecklessly.

And not Recklessly. :p

5) To have a life, you work safely. :thumb::smile:

no prob. but then again, i never say that delivery riders are DEFINITELY better riders due to their riding style. riding style defines how you ride but a better rider is definitely someone who's more experienced.

it's just the side effects of doing essays. hahaha...

all i can say for that mcrider is too bad. his luck ran out. but if it's not his fault, just suck it up. my gf's father once told me this when i pass my license. it's lucky if you are on the hospital beds when in a serious accident. else, it could have been your life. by riding on a bike, you should already be prepared to be in an accident. if not, don't ride a bike.

be careful ah.. u never know when your luck may run out. i once saw a stationary lorry. those kinds that are used for cutting branches of the trees along the expressway and then, a TP was hiding behind it! hahaha... good luck to those who are speeding away.

Agree with this point bro... Choose to ride must be prepared to die actually. Cause riding involves a lot of risk no matter how safe rider you are.

Sometimes i wonder this. Reckless riding means weaving in and out and of course includes going in between cars while waiting for traffic light. I'm sure everyone does that :) Just praying hard don't meet those 'ON' TP who saman for this offence. Cause i've heard of friends who encountered such officers.

2 freaking idiots tried to kill me. this smart toyota wish taxi driver think he is driving a formula 1 car, driving so fast and zoom past me so closely (i saw him approaching very fast on my right mirror and i have to moved more to the left of the lane to avoid him) and he still has the cheek to high beam me! then saw him weave in and out of traffic like lewis hamilton's overtaking moves. wanted to chase him down initially but decided not to.

perhaps, he high beam to warn you that he's coming? else, he sure horn you already. let him pass la. so many fast cars nowadays. i wonder what TPs are doing lately.

actually, 1 lane is for parking cars and another lane is for people to walk. haha...

However, someone who uses unethical methods in the office may not do much harm to the company unless he's Nick Leeson or used to work for Lehmann Brothers. Even if there's damage done, it is not of the physical kind.

sorry ah bro.. i'm just giving a simple analogy. just get the gist of it instead of opening up the analogy and scrutinise it with a magnifying glass.

Sometimes i wonder this. Reckless riding means weaving in and out and of course includes going in between cars while waiting for traffic light. I'm sure everyone does that :) Just praying hard don't meet those 'ON' TP who saman for this offence. Cause i've heard of friends who encountered such officers.

you beat me to this! haha.. come to think of it. all of us are guilty of reckless riding. i was issued 9 demerit points through my mail and the only guilty thing i did that day for riding 'reckless'ly was riding in between cars.

and of coz no one has the right to tell anyone to do anything, we are just voicing our views. As this forum is being surfed by many, perhaps some new riders, of course the better thing to say is "ride safe" and not to do dangerous acts. U seriously think it's good for them to come in and see "Oh, delivery riders have an excuse to ride in another way"?? :confused:

u mean u actually passed ur tp by riding fast and cornering fast? or izzit licence pass liao diff story? :confused: or is it only when we are taking lessons then the physical laws of nature affect u, but after that we r immune? :confused:

and ur analogy is also a bit hmz.. debatable? unethical - wrong means wrong ah, try telling that to ur prof/ employer/ any authority..

purely just my views, not a lecture/ telling anyone what to do. I just feel that there are no reasons to justify reckless riding, just as there are no reasons to justify a reckless cabbie like i described earlier. And if ur answer to my above post is "no" then like i said, just take it that im farting lo. :)

nobody can EVER have the right to do something that others can't! isn't that equality? it's just that delivery riders has a different mindset from the rest. and even delivery riders have different mindset between themselves. all i wanna say is don't jump on the gun too soon eh. who are we to judge?

seriously, who are stupid enough to ride fast during TP test? TP test are meant to convince them that we are safe riders/drivers. but after passing, who gives a sh*t? be it riders or cagers.

and btw, unethical doesn't mean it's wrong. more on backstabbing, 2 faces, boot licking and blah3..

1. not conforming to approved standards of social or professional behavior

2. not adhering to ethical or moral principles

i'm talking about the 2nd meaning but let's not digress.

btw, i also love to fart. farting is good. can release the bad air from my body.

and today, this one car totally made me laugh. a car can NEVER overtake a long SBS bus on a short merging lane and this car was testing this theory but still failed.

you beat me to this! haha.. come to think of it. all of us are guilty of reckless riding. i was issued 9 demerit points through my mail and the only guilty thing i did that day for riding 'reckless'ly was riding in between cars.

come to think about it, i never knew of riders who never ride in between cars. i've even seen traffic officers do it. Maybe, the should review the guidelines for this offence. lol:cheeky:

sorry ah bro.. i'm just giving a simple analogy. just get the gist of it instead of opening up the analogy and scrutinise it with a magnifying glass.

How about you get a gist of my point? The point being that riding recklessly can potentially harm other road users. Their decision to do so not only affects themselves but others as well.

oh well.. what harm can a motorcycle do? in my honest opinion, a reckless rider pose a far much lesser danger than a reckless driver. but then again, all of the bad press will always be on the riders who will always be deemed the scums of society. and the reckless cagers will always get away with a measly fine.

anyway, today i had a VERY eventful day. early morning, go AMK hub wanna buy insurance. third party with fire & theft cost $1050!! nvm. go upper thomson instead to get AXA instead which cost me $746. after that go LTA, transfer ownership. bloody hell!! transfer fee cost me $61!! then go bike shop at shun li to pick up my new bike. then, i happy happy ride out when sh*t happens!!

my bike stalled at the traffic light!! so i pushed my bike to the other side of the road! tried to kickstart using the right technique for a wr400. but somehow, i thought my technique was not strong enough as the bike failed to start.nvm. i kept on trying for the next hour or so. in the end, still cannot so i go push further ahead. then try to push start. still cannot make it. maybe bigger cc bike harder to push start eh? i also don't know. then go shop buy 1.5l drink. after drink finish and had my break, tried OTOT to kickstart for another one hour or so. after giving up yet again, i pushed the bike from circuit road to ubi ave 2 to go to planet motor to check on the bike. turned out the spark was fcuking spoiled!!!

after that, no problem to kick start it!! bloody hell. what a day to start my virgin day with my new bike. now, kick starting my bike is so goddamn easy due to the so many attempts i had in the afternoon.

p.s. i love my new ride. and i would never trade it for a drz or a ktm. unless the trade is for a sweet husky.