not trying to defend them, but if u really wanna noe why, try NOT lanesplitting during peak hours. i.e. guai guai stay in 1 lane ALL THE WAY HOME, Just 1 time.

i was going to work, see jam like crap, confirm want to lanesplit to the front leh. you want wait behind the ass of an cage and feel the smoke and heat from these cages meh?

the problem is, by swerving out really no point, cos the lane they trying to get into also jam... worse is, their mentality is i just wanna get into that lane so i don even care to check mirror or blindspot. how stupid can they get?

another thing, swerve out liao then on signal... is like i punch someone liao then say sorry. singaporeans very smart one right? i not degree holder also can think better that these highly educated elites...

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

• Replies 25.1k

as long as we share the roads and are more vulnerable, what JackOhJack mentioned about not splitting makes perfect sense. of course, it is a test of patience, but it can make the road a little safer for us and give us a little more space for evasive action when needed.

it takes a long while to change behaviours of an entire world of drivers...its not just singapore really...it happens everywhere. so as riders, we simply have to ride with active safety...be alert as you all are already...and stay safe :)

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg
as long as we share the roads and are more vulnerable, what JackOhJack mentioned about not splitting makes perfect sense. of course, it is a test of patience, but it can make the road a little safer for us and give us a little more space for evasive action when needed.

it takes a long while to change behaviours of an entire world of drivers...its not just singapore really...it happens everywhere. so as riders, we simply have to ride with active safety...be alert as you all are already...and stay safe :)

You do realize that NOT lane splitting also presents another kind of hazard right?

It's called the mega spicy Bike Sandwich special of the day.

The ingredients are:

1 Bike

1 Rider (Pillion sauce optional)

and 2 cagers.

Recipe:

Put 1 cager infront of bike. Put 1 cager behind bike.

Slam both cagers together with bike in between.

Rider and pillion should make nice red sauce now.

Enjoy your meal! Bon appetit.

hahahaha! we're not talking about fast traffic coming to an abrupt stop here...but i get your point :)

it does not need to take just 2 cars and a bike to make a hamburger, i just takes one stupid cager from a few vehicles back, ram hard into the vehicle infront, domino effect all to way to the front and if you sway sway in between 2 cagers, voila! you become instant sandwich/hamburger!

we live in a world where sh1t happens and the most unexpected crap can happen...

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

not trying to defend them, but if u really wanna noe why, try NOT lanesplitting during peak hours. i.e. guai guai stay in 1 lane ALL THE WAY HOME, Just 1 time.

I think they also victimised la, coz kenna bruff by branded undergarmen. After they realised they r paying a veli expensive liability then damn dul@n, PLUS always JAM! :faint: pay 100k to jam. good deal.

i know how they feel, coz i drive occasionally too.

and i did ride without lanesplitting during peak hours. after i took out my bike after sending it for servicing after my last accident, i was kinda phobia of lane splitting. there was once where my friend had to accompany me go to defu lane, all the way from clementi. and he said that we had to go through PIE. i told him, can, but i'm not gonna lane split. so guai2 follow traffic and stay behind cars. my friend got pissed along the way, but had to endure it coz i was really not confident at that point of time. (=

but oh well, complain also no use. just suck thumb lor. ehee

lets have this mentality when these kinda cager swerve out to change lane ..

for example, this cager suddenly lane change... just think ... " nehmind , this bugger dont wanna miss his next exit... breathe in .. breathe out ... " :cheeky:

dear STALKER on SGBikes.com ,

YOU CAN SUCK MY MIDDLE FINGER DEEP DEEP !

yours truly.

Last Saturday while riding, I was outside Orchard Cineleisure in lane 2 (centre lane) when a taxi lane change from lane 1 into my lane, diagonally to my right, behind me.

Seeing his cab inch closer to me, I held my position and expected him to lane change behind me, since he was diagonally to my rear right, but was approaching the parked taxi directly ahead of him.

The bugger clipped my rear box lightly and I wobbled. I pulled over, and he pulled over beside me. The following conversation took place

Me *left palm facing up, looks at cabby

Cabby (winds down window) "eh, u cut my lane and bang me"

Me (right hand middle finger sideways pointing) "FUK U, u bang me from behing u say i cut your lane. Want to call TP not? Here got a lot of witness. (left hand point at the crowd outside cine)

Cabby "No lah. U OK not?

Me (after inspecting boxes) "go lah go lah" (gestures him to go)

Last Saturday.. hot ah...

Edited by Slow Poke

Today while riding, I tore my rain pants while trying to wear in with the rain trickling down my back along PIE. Sh*t...

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

on the way to bishan earlier in the evening.. AYE/CTE slip road before tunnel..

saw 1 new busa accident with a cager.. TP and LTA marshal were on site already..

busa was by the shoulder, fairings chui.. but rider should be ok it seems.. no tent = OK!

and 1 cager was trying to be an idiot.. LTA marshal ask him to stop while he clear off from the lane, the marshal walk off to his bike, the car move off as well. kenna farked by the LTA marshal. HAHAHA..

so impatient for wad..

@AhCaiBiker, Knucklehead, Deus, Simon: my prev post not veli clear, apologies. I agree with knucklehead and ahcai that the cars changing lanes serve no purpose at all.

when i said to try NOT lanesplitting at all, all the way home, just 1 time, i meant that we would not really unds how it feels to be jammed packed, sitting on a $100k (include long term costs as well) private transport. Of course, i do not literally mean we do not unds - standard feelings like dul@n and impatient and frustrated is a norm.

What i really meant is that sometimes certain actions really do not warrant reasons - Indian man wanna punch pedestrian means he really wanna punch him. In this case, the fed up driver wanna change lane means he wanna change lane. he may have been so frustrated that his actions (to him) do not warrant any reasons. "I WANT TO CHANGE LANE LAH!!!!! ARGH!"

So what is my point? As simon puts it: The world is as it is - even if we get frustrated until we explode, it will still happen, so if we can instead unds it and accept it, and just continue our normal life, then it wun be such a big hooha to us. else big hooha everyday, veli exciting also..

So the key here is to unds that in such situations, SURE GOT C0CKSTERS try funny things like these, and we as riders have to anticipate as much as we can. As a fellow rider puts it: "How to get angry when the idiots act EXACTLY as we expect them to?".

Me *left palm facing up, looks at cabby

Cabby (winds down window) "eh, u cut my lane and bang me"

Me (right hand middle finger sideways pointing) "FUK U, u bang me from behing u say i cut your lane. Want to call TP not? Here got a lot of witness. (left hand point at the crowd outside cine)

Cabby "No lah. U OK not?

Me (after inspecting boxes) "go lah go lah" (gestures him to go)

Last Saturday.. hot ah...

fwa, this cabbie trying his luck? if kenna green horn think he wanna chop carrot head wan. "Fwa! u damaged my radiator arh!?!?" :faint:

Think he's the type of driver who treats us as insects. shd have went hospital at his expense. :p

i got a slight bump by a cabbie b4 too, i turned and stare at him - i dun move, he cant move at all. i stare until he gestured sorry and that he noes it's his fault - at least i hope he wun try that on the next rider...

Today while riding, I tore my rain pants while trying to wear in with the rain trickling down my back along PIE. Sh*t...

EPIC! :lol: sry bro, it's really funny the way u described it..

was riding yday nite along jurong west ave 2..was preparing to filter out to corporation road and the car in front of me stopped..so i stopped and put my leg down..SH*T!.. i stepped into a pothole near the kerb and fell into the drain...

lucky bike okay but i sustain some bruises on my hand and legs.. best part is, this bloddy lorry drove past and sarcastically shout "Wahhhh!!" and drove off..kns

precisely! try to squeeze into other lanes also, makes no difference maa.

maybe singaporeans too highly educated, when they get into their cars, no more commonsense in their head.

nothing new nothing new.

You do realize that NOT lane splitting also presents another kind of hazard right?

It's called the mega spicy Bike Sandwich special of the day.

The ingredients are:

1 Bike

1 Rider (Pillion sauce optional)

and 2 cagers.

Recipe:

Put 1 cager infront of bike. Put 1 cager behind bike.

Slam both cagers together with bike in between.

Rider and pillion should make nice red sauce now.

Enjoy your meal! Bon appetit.

best recipe in the world :thumb:

ooOoo.wet butt! :angel:

today while nt riding,

make dat 4 days of nt riding coz bike in the workshop major overhaul.hahahaha.1/1/2hr of travelling to n another 1/1/2 of fro.n aft 1 yr+ of nt taking train.i was like goin WOW!train abit hi-tech nw.gt the bling bling thingy to tell u which station u r at n which door is goin 2 open or close ++ the safety doors at JE.din noe dey sooooooooooo rich 2 do all dis things n best part is standing throughout the whole journey.UPZZZZ for public :thumb:

:clap: I love my cute, small bike! :clap:

talking abt jaywalking, just met one of my frens whom i had not seen for few mths. the realised he had an accident last mth cos some idiot jaywalker decided to play chicken with his bike. according to him, he was pulling away from the traffic light when some fuggtard ran in front of him. zham ebrake and skidded. dat fuggtard jaywalker simply walk away without assisting him. :sian:

whats with pedestrians these days? just last week, was at a junction waiting to turn left (not those zebra crossing kind, got traffic lights). As the green man was flashing, spotted a guy running towards the traffic light, seemingly wanting to cross it.

being in a good mood that day, decided to allow him to cross since he was already making a dash for it. Guess what? halfway while crossing the road, the flashing green man turned red and this particular guy stopped running and started to stroll! :slapforehead:

that got me all riled up and i swear if he had reached the other end 1 sec slower, i would have parked my bike to one side and given him a good thrashing.

today while riding...i stepped on my rear brake a little too quickly and my fantastic FAT rear wheel skidded a little...good thing i was at dempsey and there were no cars around me and i managed to stay on my bike. strange isn't it that my rear brake (a drum brake) bites so much harder when it is wet than when it is dry...hmmmm....

...then i was at esso station to withdraw some cash...and tried to start my bike after that and my bike just would not start. i was using my electric start...over and over again...it cranks but wouldn't start. a more experienced rider come and asked me if i had enough petrol...we both looked into my tank and...presto...i had enough petrol...then he said...probably my battery and asked me to kick start. now i was thinking to myself...the thing is cranking well...so it probably isn't my battery. but i tried it anyway since he really is WAY more experienced than i am...and ABRACADABRA...Marley started right up.

Big thank you to you, if you are that experienced rider in Esso today helping me out along Upper Thomson Road :)

today while riding...i stepped on my rear brake a little too quickly and my fantastic FAT rear wheel skidded a little...good thing i was at dempsey and there were no cars around me and i managed to stay on my bike. strange isn't it that my rear brake (a drum brake) bites so much harder when it is wet than when it is dry...hmmmm....

...then i was at esso station to withdraw some cash...and tried to start my bike after that and my bike just would not start. i was using my electric start...over and over again...it cranks but wouldn't start. a more experienced rider come and asked me if i had enough petrol...we both looked into my tank and...presto...i had enough petrol...then he said...probably my battery and asked me to kick start. now i was thinking to myself...the thing is cranking well...so it probably isn't my battery. but i tried it anyway since he really is WAY more experienced than i am...and ABRACADABRA...Marley started right up.

Big thank you to you, if you are that experienced rider in Esso today helping me out along Upper Thomson Road :)

http://www.webbikeworld.com/Motorcycle-Safety/braking-tips.htm

point of interest:

3. Is the rear wheel likely to skid if you apply the brakes hard?

With most of the weight being on the front wheel, the rear wheel tends to be light under braking and will therefore lock up and skid very easily.

While we are at this topic, and being a lil free today, i wandered on: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hydroplaning_(tires)

point of interest:

Tire tread wear and contact patch shape

The longer and thinner the contact patch, the less likely a tire will hydroplane. Tires that present the greatest risk are wide, lightly loaded, and small in diameter. Deeper tread dissipates water more easily.

Ratio of tire load to inflation pressure

Underinflated tires are more prone to hydroplaning, especially as vehicle weight increases.

explains the use of sotong tires? :faint:

Edited by JackOHJack

strange isn't it that my rear brake (a drum brake) bites so much harder when it is wet than when it is dry...hmmmm....

Two things you gotta know abt drum brakes and the wet.

1. In the wet, your tyres have considerably less grip, so it locks more easily.

2. Drum brakes are less affected by wet conditions than disc brakes, as the brake shoes are internal (in the drum) and are hence isolated from the elements....

1 + 2 = easier to lock the rear in the wet.

@AhCaiBiker, Knucklehead, Deus, Simon: my prev post not veli clear, apologies. I agree with knucklehead and ahcai that the cars changing lanes serve no purpose at all.

when i said to try NOT lanesplitting at all, all the way home, just 1 time, i meant that we would not really unds how it feels to be jammed packed, sitting on a $100k (include long term costs as well) private transport. Of course, i do not literally mean we do not unds - standard feelings like dul@n and impatient and frustrated is a norm.

What i really meant is that sometimes certain actions really do not warrant reasons - Indian man wanna punch pedestrian means he really wanna punch him. In this case, the fed up driver wanna change lane means he wanna change lane. he may have been so frustrated that his actions (to him) do not warrant any reasons. "I WANT TO CHANGE LANE LAH!!!!! ARGH!"

So what is my point? As simon puts it: The world is as it is - even if we get frustrated until we explode, it will still happen, so if we can instead unds it and accept it, and just continue our normal life, then it wun be such a big hooha to us. else big hooha everyday, veli exciting also..

So the key here is to unds that in such situations, SURE GOT C0CKSTERS try funny things like these, and we as riders have to anticipate as much as we can. As a fellow rider puts it: "How to get angry when the idiots act EXACTLY as we expect them to?".

fwa, this cabbie trying his luck? if kenna green horn think he wanna chop carrot head wan. "Fwa! u damaged my radiator arh!?!?" :faint:

nehh no hard feelings here. :)

eyy remind me of the incident that i have. the taxi driver said to me, "you scratch my mudguard when you fell !" i didn't know if cars have mudguards den i just ya-ya to what he said. haa

was riding yday nite along jurong west ave 2..was preparing to filter out to corporation road and the car in front of me stopped..so i stopped and put my leg down..SH*T!.. i stepped into a pothole near the kerb and fell into the drain...

lucky bike okay but i sustain some bruises on my hand and legs.. best part is, this bloddy lorry drove past and sarcastically shout "Wahhhh!!" and drove off..kns

ouch~ poor you ...next time avoid the kerb hee.

today while nt riding,

make dat 4 days of nt riding coz bike in the workshop major overhaul.hahahaha.1/1/2hr of travelling to n another 1/1/2 of fro.n aft 1 yr+ of nt taking train.i was like goin WOW!train abit hi-tech nw.gt the bling bling thingy to tell u which station u r at n which door is goin 2 open or close ++ the safety doors at JE.din noe dey sooooooooooo rich 2 do all dis things n best part is standing throughout the whole journey.UPZZZZ for public :thumb:

haha. i feel you. ive only been riding for a few months whilst they were upgrading tampines interchange and i kinda got lost there when i went public. 1.5 hours travel each time eyy? if by bike, surely much shorter right?

Two things you gotta know abt drum brakes and the wet.

1. In the wet, your tyres have considerably less grip, so it locks more easily.

2. Drum brakes are less affected by wet conditions than disc brakes, as the brake shoes are internal (in the drum) and are hence isolated from the elements....

1 + 2 = easier to lock the rear in the wet.

:thumb: good info thre..

dear STALKER on SGBikes.com ,

YOU CAN SUCK MY MIDDLE FINGER DEEP DEEP !

yours truly.

Cranking sucks alot of power out of your battery which at the same time has to provide a strong spark for engine starting. Your battery is probably going to give up soon.

It started up when you kick started it is because the battery power was not drained by the starter motor but was instead all directed to giving a strong spark to the ignition.

sometimes you hear your starter motor cranking doesnt mean the battery is strong enough to provide both sparking and cranking. Gotta have a voltmeter to monitor your battery. That said, some bikes also can run without batteries, whereby the kickstart lever provides both sparking and cranking of the piston.

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

Hmmmm.... in this case can we claim medical from LTA since it is accident due to poorly maintained road?

Edited by Silent Hunter

anyone here practises one handed steering? as suggested by a rider friend, i tried out one handed steering while doing lane changing and cornering and the feeling is good... it feels actually easier to control and steer the bike. my rider friend says, one handed steering will teach me how to countersteer which is a very important skill to possess.

however im puzzled by the theory part of this practice...

right wrist on throttle, twist, and push grip forward away from me, bike goes right, pull in grip towards me, bike goes left... how come?

someone pls enlighten me.

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

haha. i feel you. ive only been riding for a few months whilst they were upgrading tampines interchange and i kinda got lost there when i went public. 1.5 hours travel each time eyy? if by bike, surely much shorter right?

yea.much faster dik.by bike only 30mins :cheeky:

:clap: I love my cute, small bike! :clap:

anyone here practises one handed steering? as suggested by a rider friend, i tried out one handed steering while doing lane changing and cornering and the feeling is good... it feels actually easier to control and steer the bike. my rider friend says, one handed steering will teach me how to countersteer which is a very important skill to possess.

however im puzzled by the theory part of this practice...

right wrist on throttle, twist, and push grip forward away from me, bike goes right, pull in grip towards me, bike goes left... how come?

someone pls enlighten me.

this counter steer thingy is easy to see... around 10-20km/h can feel already. Try when you are riding in a straight line... you turn the handlebars left the bike goes right.....

because............

THERE IS A MYSTERIOUS BIKING GOD's HAND GUIDING THE BIKE!!!!! :lol::lol::lol::lol:

@Raptor,zyrofillica: thanks guys...you are right...my batt was getting low to the point where i could not sound my horn for 10mins yesterday...but all is well again now after my loooong ride...and i can e-start no problem also :) still...think i better watch that battery!

@ahcaibiker: countersteering is very useful for making small adjustments to my riding line, i find. i think its because when i push the right handlebar, my bike wants to lean to the right because i am changing the way my front wheel is acting on the road ever so slightly...and also my weight is shifted slightly to the right too.