[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

thanks for the info. cause my neighborhood who is riding ta2, he told his phantom need to top up eo monthly. and one mech recommended me to pour in 1.4l hmm

Hope its useful to you. Monthly topping up is okay, but too much is wayyy to bad :nono:

Ther person who advised 1.4L obviously wants the bike to visit him much often. :cheeky:

Too much of every other "good" things might be bad :thumb:

well.. i tried pumping at least 30 for rear tyre(shinko tyre i think, saw somewhere on tyre can pump till 33..). front i try at least 28 (dunlop).

but i never get the sound..

so i dunno whether im pumping it right..

is there a difference? 1 inflate 1 deflate?

but i tink gt inflate when i pump so i guess its the correct side..

Read your tyre max limit imprinted, I forgot whats mine. If the max is 250kpa then probably go below by 30kpa to be safe? Your tyre heats up and so does the pressure within.

• Replies 7.2k

Hi guys! i need some opinions..

Until recently abt 2 weeks ago, my gear cannot seem to be able to engage gear 1...when i try to kick down it will be stuck at neutral...even at stationary or slowing down. Sometimes lucky can engage back to gear 1..otherwise i will have to keep on upping gear and down gear..

I do hope its the EO problem and not because of my gear box...cause i recently changed from maxima semi to motul 5100, mileage going to hit 2k soon since the last change...

Need some advice from bros here :)

I think u change EO and see... no prob with other gears right?? :angel:

For TA200 i always change at 1500km .... so i think urs about time also... change and see how lor...

i tried to pump till gt sound.. but everytime dun have..

but the person before me got..

alright.. thanks alot.

will try again soon

Should be able to hear the beeping else it might not have finished pumping or worst... leaking. Last time dunno leak until left 8 psi and continue riding.

front tyre become unstable and skid while cornering. luckily i got a shaolin leg and kick the bike upright :D

try press harder nxt time.

Until recently abt 2 weeks ago, my gear cannot seem to be able to engage gear 1...when i try to kick down it will be stuck at neutral...even at stationary or slowing down. Sometimes lucky can engage back to gear 1..otherwise i will have to keep on upping gear and down gear..

I do hope its the EO problem and not because of my gear box...cause i recently changed from maxima semi to motul 5100, mileage going to hit 2k soon since the last change...

on the other hand I have a hard time kicking to neutral... sometimes I cannot kick up to neutral/gear 2 at all when stationary... need to reverse a little, throttle forward a little then try again... and I just changed engine oil and clutch plates...

That's actually quite a common problem, and its not limited to just phantoms. I would think there's nothing to worry about unless its so stiff even blipping the throttle does nothing to help.

http://i511.photobucket.com/albums/s351/thenation_bucket/whowatches.jpg

Ha I begin to miss those school bikes (ybr 125) already... They are pretty good for old bikes

ok nvm off topic...

I think u change EO and see... no prob with other gears right?? :angel:

For TA200 i always change at 1500km .... so i think urs about time also... change and see how lor...

Okay I think I'll go change eo first.. thanks

Try belray thumper 20w50 from unique motorsports. Had that problems with maxima and silkolene in the past.

very common. try changing different brands and types of eo.

i'm pretty new to Phantoms and riding too but my mech told me to try to just release n squeeze the clutch real quick once or twice and will be able to get first gear

for getting neutral when i keep missing it between 1 & 2 i just go up to 2 and then ( of course clutched in ) and then tap down gently. once you get used to your bike should be no prob to get liao :)

hope this helps from a noob :p

Grounded... :/

yeah those with hard to engage gears problem...check the following..

1, time to change EO?

2. check your clutch handle clearances??? if you have adjusted probably but have this problem..signs of clutch plate/springs problem..

3. when is the last time u have lubricated /chnage the clutch cables..the symptoms is slow return of clutch handle after the handle is released some may describe it as stiff cables..

one or all of this can result in poor gear engagements..IMHO

. Clutch wear will results in difficult gear change... signs of clutch wear are difficult to engage gears, clutch slippages, when change to a higher no. gear the bike suddenly pick up faster than expected..

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

After staring at my bike for a long time I still can't figure some basics... if anyone can gimme some tips (pics even better) on the following it would be greatly appreciated...

1. Where/how to change spark plug

2. How to remove seat (is it that hex bolt behind the seat?)

3. How to check if I need to replace my sprocket

i tried pumping.. front tyre can pump but rear tyre cant..

it seems blocked.. i cant fit the nozzle thing to it..

any risk if tyre if under pressured??

'bikes are your sweet poison. despite knowing it would kill, you would die just to have a taste of it. '

After staring at my bike for a long time I still can't figure some basics... if anyone can gimme some tips (pics even better) on the following it would be greatly appreciated...

1. below your right chrome cover closet to fuel tank. careful with threading. no play play.

2. 1 behind, other two below ur upper thigh and below the seat

3. If sprocket becomes too sharp or too blunt. Usually mechanic would advice.

Go to esso station to pump. under pressured easy to puncture, use more fuel and could have to a certain extent, imbalances.

See attached sections from TA200 manual.

sparkplug.jpg

seat.png

sprocket.jpg

try to push the nozzle out towards you to get it pumped. I changed my nozzle because of this hassle. Under pressure will get you more fuel consumed, more tyre consumed, worse case scenario you'll lose balance, damage the tyre or even the rim itself.

I just bought a 2nd hand Phantom and guess wad, after riding for awhile, the bracket holding the ERP reader came off! On closer inspection, the wielding of the metal bracket broke off!

Any idea where can I fixed it or wield it back? And if it's cheaper to change to a new ERP unit? The old one is quite dirty and not in good condition...

Oh, and who has the PDF version of the TA200 manual?

I just bought a 2nd hand Phantom and guess wad, after riding for awhile, the bracket holding the ERP reader came off! On closer inspection, the wielding of the metal bracket broke off!

Any idea where can I fixed it or wield it back? And if it's cheaper to change to a new ERP unit? The old one is quite dirty and not in good condition...

Oh, and who has the PDF version of the TA200 manual?

Go to vicom to ask for help or ask your bike shop ;)

Planet motorcycles can do welding for you. They are at Blk 3007 Ubi road 1 #01-430. They have welded my exhaust for $25 dollars before...

Anyway, what a coincidence! my bracket holding the IU is broken too... but I'm not too concerned about it... maybe I should get it welded too...

hello people, quite interested in getting a phantom due it's awesome fuel consumption. any peeps out there know of any reputable shops which sells this great bike which i can check out? your help is appreciated! thanks!

The most important thing is that you must have at least one well experienced friend to go bike shopping with you, because he/she can tell faults in engine, parts, etc, and whether the price is reasonable or not.

I can't recommend any shop, I got my phantom relatively cheaply from a not so reputable shop and solved its massive list of flaws at a reputable service shop (planet ^^)

Planet motorcycles can do welding for you. They are at Blk 3007 Ubi road 1 #01-430. They have welded my exhaust for $25 dollars before...

Anyway, what a coincidence! my bracket holding the IU is broken too... but I'm not too concerned about it... maybe I should get it welded too...

HAha! ok. Are you going to wield it or change the bracket? My IU unit seems super old too! haha. Perhaps I wanna take it down to do it together when I'm doing the servicing of the bike.