[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

Aiya budget mah! i think swap tank cheapest! just pay labor only mah!

save up for it :thumb:

Anyone else riding TA150 here?? Notice that when i hit 100km/h, my bike's vibration seems to be a lot leh.. is it normal?? Other than that, the bike is in great condition. :)

Its norm. You bought a mobile dildo like every other reading this thread ;)

mitsui_kobe, it's normal for TA150/200 to vibrate at 100km/h for the reasons:

- This vibration comes from the solidly mounted engine/transmission unit, and is usually felt most in the handlebars, and to a lesser extent in the footpegs.

- The handlebars are where most riders find XL vibration most irritating at high cruising speeds. Vibration is due to the motor and not the fault of the handlebars, whatever their shape. However, generally speaking, the longer the handlebar, the greater the amplitude of the vibration. At the same time, the frequency tends to be lower. The reverse is usually true for shorter handlebars.

seePre-2004 H-D Sportster Vibration: How to Deal With It, By Chuck Hawks

http://www.chuckhawks.com/sportster_vibration.htm

What I wanted to ask PKs is abt a 'key set-less' (new model) phantom I saw. The ignition key switch was missing on this phantom & is placed at the top of the control panel (where the neutral light is).

Is this an optional version of the phantom nowadays?

If its not firmly mounted, there might be lose in efficiency also ;) I'm doing a project on that myself.

The key ignition located on top is for Custom 4 and newer only. Old batches don't have it. Custom 4s have the flames on their fuel tank if you wanna ask how to differ them mainly.

• Replies 7.2k

The key ignition located on top is for Custom 4 and newer only. Old batches don't have it. Custom 4s have the flames on their fuel tank if you wanna ask how to differ them mainly.

Got other diff as well.

Custom 4 onwards got fork cover, longer swept back handlebars, ignition key at the triple clamp there, and a round tip at the exhaust end can.

All only cosmetic though...

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

Anyone else riding TA150 here?? Notice that when i hit 100km/h, my bike's vibration seems to be a lot leh.. is it normal?? Other than that, the bike is in great condition. :)

yeah..i suppose ..all old bikes/cars running at high speed/rpm will encounter this problem.

everything is loose man.....all moving parts gets worn out..clearances becomes bigger..as in small ends/big ends of piston rod, rings,vlaves train,seats etc..just name anything that has a sliding/moving action..

these generate vibrations/noise etc..and it gets worse wiith time...

and the wheels/tyres generate those problems too...

thats why overhaul required...minor at every 100000km and major at 200000km...rule of thumb figures...on top o f regular maintenance..

if overhaul/maintenance not done ..bike will end up as a "bone shaker"...:faint::faint:

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

try to maintain your bike speed at or below 90km/hr, after all that's the speed limit in sgp. than you will be able to keep your bike for long life, otherwise, to break it is dam easy, just go full thro all the way....

Got other diff as well.

Custom 4 onwards got fork cover, longer swept back handlebars, ignition key at the triple clamp there, and a round tip at the exhaust end can.

All only cosmetic though...

:lol: brudder I already said mainly is the tank. Because its the most obvious and outstanding difference from other parts :p Like Bol'dor and spec 3 main diff is the cowling :thumb:

try to maintain your bike speed at or below 90km/hr, after all that's the speed limit in sgp. than you will be able to keep your bike for long life, otherwise, to break it is dam easy, just go full thro all the way....

wah I'm in trouble...

imo, no need to overhaul unless necessary. say, even at 100k km, you still can ride smoothly, then why overhaul.

there shouldnt be any mileage tagged to the time of overhauling a bike. its just like why some guys will never wanna wash their carb, to them, they open it up unless necessary.

however, whatever u do to your bike is still ur choice, overhauling will most probably give you a peace of mind.

:lol: brudder I already said mainly is the tank. Because its the most obvious and outstanding difference from other parts :p Like Bol'dor and spec 3 main diff is the cowling :thumb:

Haha ay just saying only la :thumb:

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

what is this washing carb?

washing carbs means u take out the carb, disassemble it and wash with petrol... all the needles springs etc.

After a long time of riding, there are bound to be particles in the carb's neeedles etc...

It is the process of getting rid of those particles.

But again, if can ride smoothly and really dun see any problem, then no need to wash.

eagle footrest, koon or planet cheaper? any idea?

washing carbs means u take out the carb, disassemble it and wash with petrol... all the needles springs etc.

After a long time of riding, there are bound to be particles in the carb's neeedles etc...

It is the process of getting rid of those particles.

But again, if can ride smoothly and really dun see any problem, then no need to wash.

sorry for being so noob. carb is?

No problem.

A device used in internal-combustion engines to produce an explosive mixture of vaporized fuel and air.

Courtesy of online dictionary.

what is this washing carb?

carb..short for carburetta,,a mechanical device in bikes/car where the fuel an air is mixed with the correct proportion,,ie fuel mix.

this device is ancient..been around since cars are invented..

device need to be wash when servicing is required.

latest bikes comes with fuel injectors. this one jiat lat..for service most probably done by bike distributor...or state of art work shop.

fuel injectors testing equipment very xxxx... small garages dont have the equipment

Edited by mepkoh

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

Heh heh Jtzx, come ride with me and i'll give u more in depth explanation. I'll tell u what u need to know.

Hint Hint, selling my phantom privately. New owner will get many stuffs that will cost much brand new. Im changing new rear tyre, speedo cable, give him 1 free bike servicing, change timing chain. Basically ensuring that the ride will be problem free.

Fyi for the would-be-owner, using fully synthetic engine oil, my phantom can run to nearly 130km/h but i dun do that coz it stresses the engine. I ride at a comfortable 90km/h speed. Its a cruiser and dats what its meant to be done, to cruise.

I want to see the world and i'm pretty sure the world wants to show a little something to me.

wow.. price drop? man i wonder how much will mine cost 18year old. from NTUC. and guesses?

get a quote from Anda (AXA), they are slightly cheaper

big tank = more jb petrol = more savings

big is beautiful... (LOL)

and heavy is good...no??

save up for it :thumb:

Its norm. You bought a mobile dildo like every other reading this thread ;)

If its not firmly mounted, there might be lose in efficiency also ;) I'm doing a project on that myself.

christ....should have pillion all horny babes the ride man....

wah I'm in trouble...

whack like me lah....EO change faster only mah...piston ring also up faster....bad den i one day ride 300+km for 1 years....

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

lol I'm beginning to feel like changing oil every 1500km already lol

Haha ay just saying only la :thumb:

hehe jk :p

eagle footrest, koon or planet cheaper? any idea?

LAB

christ....should have pillion all horny babes the ride man....

Did you manage to? :cheeky:

Heh heh Jtzx, come ride with me and i'll give u more in depth explanation. I'll tell u what u need to know.

Hint Hint, selling my phantom privately. New owner will get many stuffs that will cost much brand new. Im changing new rear tyre, speedo cable, give him 1 free bike servicing, change timing chain. Basically ensuring that the ride will be problem free.

Fyi for the would-be-owner, using fully synthetic engine oil, my phantom can run to nearly 130km/h but i dun do that coz it stresses the engine. I ride at a comfortable 90km/h speed. Its a cruiser and dats what its meant to be done, to cruise.

hahaha... yup privately.. Looking forward to get all those headacks paper work done ASAP!!!

looking forward to keep this bike for long. Intending to renew COE ;-)

good choice? finrod?

AXA does not wanna sell their insurances to me as i'm underage ;-(

no choice but to get them from NTUC with 20% rise..

almost 3/4 of the price of the bike also...

yea will pop by LABS to get the footrest ;-)

hahaha... yup privately.. Looking forward to get all those headacks paper work done ASAP!!!

looking forward to keep this bike for long. Intending to renew COE ;-)

good choice? finrod?

AXA does not wanna sell their insurances to me as i'm underage ;-(

no choice but to get them from NTUC with 20% rise..

almost 3/4 of the price of the bike also...

yea will pop by LABS to get the footrest ;-)

u got urs from finrod??well at least u have a reputable previous owner, so not too much of worries...at i guess its pretty heavily mod...hahaha...

oops too bad...if u buy NTUC...stay with them all the way...its beta for u in the long run, although the 1st few years might be expensive...

hehe jk :p

LAB

Did you manage to? :cheeky:

dun have lah...unless u count in my horny JRT, cuz she kept rubbing her genitals on my tank wen im riding...

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

u got urs from finrod??well at least u have a reputable previous owner, so not too much of worries...at i guess its pretty heavily mod...hahaha...

oops too bad...if u buy NTUC...stay with them all the way...its beta for u in the long run, although the 1st few years might be expensive...

dun have lah...unless u count in my horny JRT, cuz she kept rubbing her genitals on my tank wen im riding...

yup i got from him. His changing to a new bike too ;-) His bike looks perfect and wonderful for me.. just a little scratch on the tank top. But it's ok.

i putting my bro as the main rider as he will be getting a bigger bike in a year to come. so let him have the discount ;-)

hw to check date of coe expire.. last time simply drop down the plate number.

now?

oh... but now we need full details like owners NRIC too yea?