:cheeky: Hi guys, my gf intends to get a Laptop for herself and she wants to buy it at harvey norman, pay by installments,cant afford to pay all. we saw SONY VAIO, looks nice but being an IT Idiot, i dont know if it was good. any laptop u guys can recommend? any specs for me to look out??

thanks guys..

Patience, A Virtue

• Replies 19

First and foremost, if you are offered a notebook with Windows Vista, I would recommend you look out for:

• Memory a.k.a. RAM:
    Maybe 1.5GB, higher better
  • Processor:
    Intel Core-duo (or Core 2 Duo) , or, AMD Turion X2
  • The rest you can ignore. (Unless you have specific needs that you did not list out here?)

IMO, Sony VAIO is very nice...that's why it's expensive. People buy and own VAIOs because they're powerful. Extreme video and photo editing, gameplay, and whatever performance they can squeeze out from there -- is in the heart of those notebooks themselves.

these are the specs of the laptop my gf is interested in courtesy from sony website.

Model

VGN-C25G/W

Platform

Intel® Centrino® Duo Mobile Technology

•Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T5500 (1.66GHz) *1*2

•Intel® PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection

•Intel® 945PM Express Chipset

Operating System

Genuine Windows Vistaâ„¢ Home Premium (English version) with Traditional Chinese Language Pack

Processor System Bus

667MHz

Memory Bus

533MHz

Cache Memory

2 MB Advanced Smart Cache

Main Memory

1GB DDR2 SDRAM*3 (**gradeable ** to 2GB)

2 SO-DIMM slots (The pre-installed memory module uses one)

Hard Disk

80GB (HDD Recovery Storage:7GB*4, C:Remain ) Serial ATA, 5400rpm

Optical Drive

DVD±RW/±R DL/RAM Drive

Maximum reading speed: DVD-ROM,DVD+R, DVD-R: 8x

DVD+RW, DVD-RW, DVD+R DL: 6x

DVD-R DL: 4x

DVD-RAM: 5x

CD-R, CD-ROM, CD-RW: 24x

Maximum writing speed: DVD+R, DVD-R,DVD+RW: 8x

DVD-RW: 6x

DVD+R DL,DVD-R DL: 4x

DVD-RAM: 5x

CD-RW: 16x

CD-R: 24x

Graphics Accelerator

NVIDIA® GeForce® Go 7400 notebook graphics processing unit (GPU)

Total Available Graphics Memory (Max) *5

319MB

Display

13.3" Wide (WXGA: 1280 x 800) TFT colour display (Clear Bright LCD: Single Lamp, Standard View)

Interfaces

•USB 2.0 x 2 •i.LINK (IEEE 1394) S400 (4pin) •S-Video Out connector •Network (RJ-45) connector (100BASE-TX/10BASE-T) •Headphone jack (stereo mini) •Microphone jack (stereo mini) •Monitor connector (Analog RGB, mini D-sub 15pin) •Modular (RJ-11) connector •Docking Station connector •Memory Stick slot*6 (Standard/Duo Size compatible, MagicGate compatible, Memory Stick PRO compatible, High-speed data transfer compatible) 

Compatible Memory Cards *7

•Memory Stick*8 (Standard/Duo Size, MagicGate, Memory Stick PRO) •SD Memory Card*9 •xD-Picture Card •Multi Media Card

Wireless LAN

•Integrated Wireless LAN IEEE 802.11a/802.11b/802.11g*10 •Intel® PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection •Data rate: maximum 11Mbps (802.11b)/54Mbps (802.11a/g) *11 •Frequency: 5GHz (802.11a), 2.4GHz (802.11b/g)

Bluetooth®

•Bluetooth® standard version 2.0+EDR •Output: maximum +6dBm •Frequency: 2.4GHz

Modem

V.92 and V.90 compliant

PC Card Slot

ExpressCardâ„¢ /34 x 1

Audio

•Intel® High Definition Audio compatible • 3D audio (Direct Sound 3D s**port) •Built-in stereo speakers

Keyboard / Input Device

Approx. 19 mm key pitch / 2.5 mm keystroke ・86 keys ・Intelligent Touchpad

Battery

VGP-BPS2C*12 Lithium-ion battery: ** to 3.5 hours of use *13

Dimensions (W x H x D)

329.6 x 36.7 - 37.2 x 235.6mm

Weight

2.3kg (including the s**plied battery)

Included Software

•AV Entertainment: Windows® Media Center

•Video Edit/Playback: DVgate Plus 2.3, VAIO Video & Photo Utility 1.0, Adobe® Premiere® Elements 3.0(Installer), VAIO Edit Components 6.1(Installer), WinDVD for VAIO 8.0

•DVD Creation: Click to DVD 2.6

•Music: SonicStage CP 4.2, SonicStage Mastering Studio 2.3, SonicStage Mastering Studio Audio Filter 2.3

•Still Image/Photo: Windows® Photo Gallery , Adobe® Photoshop® Elements 5.0 (Installer)

•Home Network: VAIO Media 6.0

•Tool: Roxio Easy Media Creator 9.0 (Installer) , Adobe® Reader® 7, Norton Internet Security™ 2007*14

•Utilities: VAIO Control Center 2.0

•S**port: VAIO Recovery Utility, VAIO **date 3.0

S**plied Accessories

•AC adapter (VGP-AC19V12) •Lithium-ion battery (VGP-BPS2C) •Memory Card Adapter(VGP-MCA20)

Warranty

One year*15

Costs $2299

Is it a good buy?

04.jpg

Patience, A Virtue

sony get hots fast

25 Nov 2003 - 24 Nov 2004 (FS6087P) (NSR SP)

24 Nov 2004 - 28 Feb 2006 (FJ7457X & FJ*5**) (Hurricane & Vespa PX200)

01 Mar 2006 - 04 Jul 2006 (FS9367L, FJ7457X & FJ*5**)(CBR 919 RRW, Hurricane &Vespa PX200)

04 Jul 2006 - 13 Jun 2011 (FV8507R & FJ*5**)(Suzuki K2 & Vespa PX200)

13 Jun 2011 - Till Now (X1)

15 Jan 2013 - 10 Sept 2015 (FBG9588B)(GTR1400 2013)

overall the specs are quite ok.. is just that the main memory aka ram is too little.. 1GB ram is not really enough to run & experience vista.. i suggest a minimum of 2GB ram and above (if possible) in order to fully experience vista.. but on the other hand, vista is not really very stable and has a lot of software incompatabilities..

IMO, if it is not very urgent to get a laptop, wait a little while longer.. Better processors are launching next year and vista might get more recognised and stable too..

18/10/07 - 19/08/08 : Honda NSR150 SP

21/08/08 - 24/09/09 : Honda Wave S 125

02/10/09 - 22/02/12 : Yamaha X1-R

09/04/12 - 13/02/15 : Kawasaki Ninja 250R

24/12/14 - 24/02/16 : Honda Wave R 125

29/06/16 : Honda MSX 125

http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s109/edalpha/DSC00291-1.jpg

on the same bandwagon as laptops...

Is it a wise long-term investment to get a Mac / Apple book instead of a tranditional laptop?

Thinking of getting something worthwhile for a laptop this time after my loyal Acer Travelmate finally died 2 weeks ago.

I wrinkling my nose at Vista for now (maybe forever).

So options left are a Linux laptop (Very cheap. $888 at Courts) or a MacBook (very ex but very solid infrastructure though I just dun like the fact that I may have difficulty upgrading certain specs).

Also, the laptop gotta be a bit user-friendly. I'm fine with either but since my wife & some of her sisters maybe using & they're both Linux & MacOS blur.

Any advices?

overall the specs are quite ok.. is just that the main memory aka ram is too little.. 1GB ram is not really enough to run & experience vista.. i suggest a minimum of 2GB ram and above (if possible) in order to fully experience vista.. but on the other hand, vista is not really very stable and has a lot of software incompatabilities..
Gotta agree with the issue on RAM. Please at least get 2GB if u r using Vista.

IMO, if it is not very urgent to get a laptop, wait a little while longer.. Better processors are launching next year and vista might get more recognised and stable too..
Buying things like a PC or laptop, pls dont make it like a waiting game. Its pretty useless to wait and wait. Its never-ending if u keep waiting. U can always wait till the 10GHz processor come, but soon, a 12GHz proc is on the way. Juz go out and buy now.

i agree with newbie that new stuffs will keep emerging so no point waiting.

Anything that is in its 1st generation will have lots of bugs and vulnerabilities so i personally dun recommend vista also. Ironically, i will wait until some service packs of vista are out before i commit to it.

Also, the laptop gotta be a bit user-friendly. I'm fine with either but since my wife & some of her sisters maybe using & they're both Linux & MacOS blur.

Any advices?

Mac OS X is indeed user friendly. You just gotta "unchain" your family members from the "shackles" of Windows.

I'm assuming that your family members do know what is Microsoft Word, how to start surfing the internet on a Windows PC, etc?

You have used Macs before correct?

My suggestion, should you buy a Mac, is to use the notebook. Get your members to see how you (say) use the Internet on the Mac, or do Word processing using the Mac version of Microsoft Office, for instance.

It's all about inculcation. Your family members have been sucked into the Windows dimension. Even though it's been known that Windows have a higher learning curve for new birds, its presence around the world makes those newbies think that they also "cannot live without Windows"

see lah, I now sound like a Mac salesman... :angel:

(Linux users care to share your suggestions?)

Buying things like a PC or laptop, pls dont make it like a waiting game. Its pretty useless to wait and wait. Its never-ending if u keep waiting. U can always wait till the 10GHz processor come, but soon, a 12GHz proc is on the way. Juz go out and buy now.

when it comes to electronics, we can never keep up with the trend. new products keep releasing every year. specs wise, i agree it is not worth waiting. it is the software that is worth waiting.

i agree with newbie that new stuffs will keep emerging so no point waiting.

Anything that is in its 1st generation will have lots of bugs and vulnerabilities so i personally dun recommend vista also. Ironically, i will wait until some service packs of vista are out before i commit to it.

i agree with waiting until some service packs of vista are out before committing to it. for me, i find it not worth to get a software that will make me end up cursing & swearing over it. hahahaha

18/10/07 - 19/08/08 : Honda NSR150 SP

21/08/08 - 24/09/09 : Honda Wave S 125

02/10/09 - 22/02/12 : Yamaha X1-R

09/04/12 - 13/02/15 : Kawasaki Ninja 250R

24/12/14 - 24/02/16 : Honda Wave R 125

29/06/16 : Honda MSX 125

http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s109/edalpha/DSC00291-1.jpg

That's why we plan. I'd simply buy what I need in relation to what my software demands from my (new) computer. If it isn't enough, upgrade. It's that simple

If possible, get a desktop instead of a laptop.

You can easily change the configuration of a desktop rather than a laptop.

I'd say that this would be a good suggestion for them power-hungry computer users.

But for those light computer users who also want portability (i.e.) to bring their work around, a decently-priced midrange notebook should be able to make the cut for them.

a decently-priced midrange notebook should be able to make the cut for them.

Wat is considered decently-priced midrange notebook/laptop?

Im getting one but reali dunno which to get... :(

I tot of getting e free laptop from e maxonline promo, but e promo over oredi...

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c60/Ajimey/Mine3.jpg

In OtHer CoUnTrIeS PpL DiE oF StArVaTiOn,

In SiNgApOrE PpL CaN DiE oF OvErEaTiNg!

U cAn RiDe FaSt In ThE lEfT mOsT lAnE bUt

NoT rIdE sLoW iN tHe RiGhT mOsT lAnE!

new mac notebooks can switch to windows mah, so no issue...

Acer aspire lor...cheap and good specs, wanted to take, price is right wallet is empty...how???made an extra comp for my mum and sapu away her laptop, cheap and good, juz dat my gf complains, aiya so slow de, no d2c no vista no this no that so heavy...in my heart i thinkin count ur lucky stars i help u save money give u laptop den u say all this mind blowing, gut wrenching kek sim words...such a good deal in this world where to get???150bucks for 1.3 centrino mobile 2GB ram...plus all preloaded stuffs...sigh...but e person whos gonna make most of this deal is ME!finally i can passed on my P4 to my mother and go D2C or Quad...hehehee

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan