Originally posted by dxruzty_@Feb 5 2006, 12:22 AM

anyone saw any cbr600rr 03 model at any shops? budget up to 12k for machine price. i dun tink can get 12k OTR rite.. hehe.. any shops??

Last week, someone put an Ad in the papers about giving away an 05 model. Look at classified but eheh, if memory fails, its a few weeks back.

Btw I'm going for a short trip to A&W overhead bridge near melaka later in the morning. Maybe you guys can plan something in the future? My bike some more (phew) havent service, tyre still faulty, blah blah...

• Replies 17.1k

dear bros...

BT21 has juz finish organising the track daes....4-5 feb...

maybe ...i said maybe gonna have another track dae in april...

how guys....

juz go over n watch ...or go in n jump into the badwagon...??

:thumb: :goodluck: :smile:

The more you Sweat in Practice, the less you Bleed in Battle

Originally posted by nC aka negative Creep@Feb 5 2006, 10:15 PM

dear bros...

BT21 has juz finish organising the track daes....4-5 feb...

maybe ...i said maybe gonna have another track dae in april...

how guys....

juz go over n watch ...or go in n jump into the badwagon...??

:thumb: :goodluck: :smile:

hm.......

april i should be able to make it i think

heheee

a.......hock when u going oversea again??

Cbr600RR

05 RR with laser extreme moving around north east area~ :cheeky:

Originally posted by AlvZz@Feb 5 2006, 10:18 PM

hm.......

april i should be able to make it i think

i shd be back by 06/03(i hope).

the next trip dunno yet.....but my work very flexiable 1....so i "should" be able to go too.:cheer:

http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/7007/sbfs101.jpg

RIDE it while u can.....NOT when u want !.

Originally posted by nC aka negative Creep@Feb 5 2006, 10:34 PM

woah so fast ar reply...

anyone going for petrol run in tonite??

thought uncle HOCk got proposed ydae??

tonite? as in sunday?...the weather...walao....how to RUN? lolz

anyway...let see this coming week...any event anot lor.

anyone interested in Petrol-Run ?

date : friday 10/02

time : 11pm~

Plc : GP Esso

Purpose : 3 x "F"(Fuel/Food/Fun)

1- Hock

2-

3-

4-

5-

Originally posted by hockie69@Feb 6 2006, 10:02 AM

anyone interested in Petrol-Run ?

1- Hock

2-

3-

4-

5-

1- Hock

2- imran (mechwira)

3-

4-

5-

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Originally posted by mechwira@Feb 6 2006, 11:41 AM

1- Hock

2- imran (mechwira)

3-

4-

5-

1- Hock

2- imran (mechwira)

3- nC (MaS) try hard to join in

4-

5-

suppose to be limited in japan

but u know lah....

there is sure 1 big comp will bring it in...

Cbr600RR

1- Hock

2- imran (mechwira)

4-A|vZz

5-

Cbr600RR

the RR6 new paintwork is nice...and since..there is "almost" no chance mechnical....may as well get the RR5.....cheaper somemore...& respray. :sweat:

1- Hock

2- imran (mechwira)

4- A|vZz

5- ben

DEC 2002 ~ NSR150RR

APR 2004 ~ CB400VS

JUN 2005 ~ CBR600RR

OCT 2010 ~ YZF-R1

Originally posted by AlvZz@Feb 6 2006, 11:41 PM

suppose to be limited in japan

but u know lah....

there is sure 1 big comp will bring it in...

Then have to solve the 180km/hr restriction.

hi guys...

k6 600 have been launch in europe area though...

i saw in catalouges @ suzuki service centre...

damn ciao...kolors also ciao...

tempted leh...

design however....like r6 06...short cannonball pipe rising from the right side ..

hehehehe...

power gains are all over the place....a bike to beat ???

wat do u think guys..

have not launch yet in s'pore...

:thumb: :bouncefire: :smile:

Originally posted by Enjoy^83@Feb 7 2006, 06:53 PM

Then have to solve the 180km/hr restriction.

i believe that is a very easy thing

Cbr600RR

Originally posted by nC aka negative Creep@Feb 7 2006, 07:15 PM

hi guys...

k6 600 have been launch in europe area though...

i saw in catalouges @ suzuki service centre...

damn ciao...kolors also ciao...

tempted leh...

design however....like r6 06...short cannonball pipe rising from the right side ..

hehehehe...

wat do u think guys..

Its never gonna end for the improvements. Like what many have said, very few of the riders can actually utilise the full potential of the bike. Its more like "eh, my bike got fly-by-wire throttle, rocks eh? Its the first production bike to have u know!"

Unless one is so rich that he can just grab every single new model that comes out as long as there's improvement in that particular model. I very contented with my '04 RR now (or at least in the near future) though it would be nicer to have a 05 model with inverted forks, radial mount calipers, better mid-range, extra weight saving, etc.

Just some of my thoughts.....:cheeky:

Originally posted by Enjoy^83@Feb 7 2006, 08:56 PM

Its never gonna end for the improvements. Like what many have said, very few of the riders can actually utilise the full potential of the bike. Its more like "eh, my bike got fly-by-wire throttle, rocks eh? Its the first production bike to have u know!"

Unless one is so rich that he can just grab every single new model that comes out as long as there's improvement in that particular model. I very contented with my '04 RR now (or at least in the near future) though it would be nicer to have a 05 model with inverted forks, radial mount calipers, better mid-range, extra weight saving, etc.

Just some of my thoughts.....:cheeky:

agree! :thumb:

DEC 2002 ~ NSR150RR

APR 2004 ~ CB400VS

JUN 2005 ~ CBR600RR

OCT 2010 ~ YZF-R1

Originally posted by nC aka negative Creep@Feb 7 2006, 07:15 PM

wat do u think guys..

i try not to sound too old......but

i had my fair share of "New tech"....that become waste money.

nowadays...i prefer proven technology.

anyway....whats "New" now will be "old" in 1 year.by then....the price will settle down & there will be more option on aftermarket parts.

"New" technology are for others...that dun mind to waste money & enjoy b4 others.:cheeky:

no matter how "fast" "power" "New".....also no use...when a WHITE XJR900/VFR800P are behind u.:sweat:

Originally posted by sportb1ke@Feb 7 2006, 09:06 PM

agree! :thumb:

hmmm.....i tot someone want to move to 1K bike soon? :sweat:

can't sleep. tot i'd type out and share with you guys a great article from Fast Bikes. its about 'evolution, testing the following bikes:

'02 CBR600FS vs '05 CBR600RR

'02 GSX-R750K2 vs '05 GSX-R750K5

'02 YZF-R1 vs '05 YZF-R1

'02 ZX-636 vs '05 ZX-6R

i reproduced only the CBR portion, and their conclusion:

’02 CBR600FS vs ’05 CBR600RR

In 2002, Honda’s best effort at a road-going supersports machine was the CBR600FS. It was their half-hearted attempt at making the improbably sober ‘F’ model sportier. They saved kilogram by dumping the center stand, welded another tooth onto the rear sprocket to give it a bit more zip, and made the inlet valve springs a smidge stiffer to allow a higher rev ceiling for when they took it supersport racing.

As a real world roadbike it was only bettered by GSX-R600 of the time; the R6 was faster but couldn’t out-handle the Honda. Tuned by Ten Kate, it was a corker, taking Fabien ‘Speedbump’ Foret to the World Supersport Championship in 2002.

At that time, the closest thing to a CBR600RR was being piloted by Valentino Rossi to the first ever MotoGP World Championship, or that’s what Honda would love you to believe. Unlike the GSX-R’s, our two Hondas are about as far apart technically as a Spitfire and the Starship Enterprise, yet amazingly the performance gap in the real world is nothing like you’d expect.

The CBR600RR’s another example of all-conquering race technology under-performing on the road. Before you all think I’ve gone completely tonto, I’m not going to moan about the chassis, which in fairness is about the only bit Honda claims is derived from the RC211V. It won’t win any prizes for quick steering, the FS turns as swiftly, but both bikes are impeccably neutral, an age-old Honda trait.

Through the meat of a corner when the going’s good, the RR doesn’t have any problem shaking its older sibling. It’s at its best fully cranked, tracking your chosen line. The softer suspension of the FS takes longer to settle, and its laughable ground clearance limits you to angles of lean most CBT candidates wouldn’t be scared of. That said, the RR still decks out quicker than the three other 2005 Jap 600s, and on our mid-February test when grip was at a minimum, the FS was by no means embarrassed through the twisties.

Its more pliant suspension offered less feedback than the RR’s, but felt far less nervous. The billions of Yen spent on the RCV’s race winning formula certainly hasn't had the same impact on our highways as it did on the world’s best racetracks. Who’d have thought it?

The power plants, despite having bore and stroke dimensions in common, and Honda stamped on the side, obviously are light years apart in terms of innovation. Yet if you look at the speed data, the FS gets to 60mph quicker, knocks out a remarkably similar standing quarter, and has an almost identical top speed. The RR makes more outright power but at nearly a thousand revs higher, and doesn’t exactly monster the FS through the torque curve either. Charles Darwin may well be twitching in his grave.

When you combine those figures with a very tall first gear and resulting close ratio gear box, you need to be right in the sweet spot to make the RR’s superior handling count for anything, which means more left foot action.

Unsurprisingly, one area where the RR opens up a can of whoop ass on the FS is on the brakes. The radial Tokicos offer far more power than the oldie’s Nissins, but, compared to the new ZX-6R, feel grabby and alright at best.

Then there’s practicality. Gone is underseat storage because of the arse-cooking pipes, it’s a lot less comfortable, and on the same 92 mile journey the RR did nearly a fiver’s worth more fuel.

Honda are playing on the MotoGP card for all it’s worth, and so would you when you think of the Nelsons it costs them, but the RR has more in common with the Proton. It handles pretty well, lacks power everywhere except peak and guzzles fuel at the same rate as the space shuttle. It’s a better bike than the FS, of that there’s no doubt, but it’s not as improved as a roadbike as much as other models here.

“Conclusion” (after individual write-ups for other bikes)

Let’s clear one thing up before we go any further: without exception, all of the 2005 bikes would ###### their 2002 counterparts on the track. But this test is about trying to determine how much of a difference the updated technology makes to those of us who don’t spend every weekend in a pitlane, i.e., the majority of sportsbike owners.

The GSX-R’s were closely matched on the open road. Then only real wedge driven between them was the average brakes on the old bike, and the superb stoppers on the new one. Half the reason the rest of the experience was so similar is because Suzuki mixed up such a good blend in the first place.

The Hondas however are wildly different mechanically. On the track the RR’s ‘RCV DNA’ would give it a huge edge over the FS, but it doesn’t translate to the road in the way it should. On the road, the FS would hang on to a bike which is apparently very closely related to probably the best in the world, the RCV. It’s a real shame that the RR’s well sorted chassis is let down by a peaky engine.

The Yamahas also perform very similarly, and it again comes down to power. Both have excellent chassis, and both have shitloads of go. The new bike is much faster, but when you’re limited to the amount you can physically use, it becomes a huge leveler. There’s still a small brake disadvantage, but it isn’t enough to really separate talented riders.

The biggest difference was with the 636’s. This is because the first one wasn’t great, and the new one is class-leading. All the more reason why Kawasaki deserves huge amounts of credit for listening to what people want. We said it was too soft, so they made it harder. We then said it was too hard, so they knocked it back a bit, while always making it faster. As a result, they’ve found themselves at the forefront of roadbike development, without blinding us with ‘race-derived’ bollocks. Nice work fellas.

-Fast Bikes, May 2005, 'Evolution'

heh anybody regret picking the RR over the FS?

great article especially for would-be buyers torn between the RR and the FS/F4i.

not surprising that the kawa had the most diff; the '02 zx-636 was the dam old carb model before the paradigm shift of 2000. its like ten years' of diff instead of 3 years diff of the rest here, of coz would have the most diff. but there you go, besides such 'leaps', techno-mumbo-jumbo actually give us little on the roads.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

on a side note about bikes aging pver the years, i think people cannot deny one thing: when u look at bikes like the CBR400RR, the RVF400, CBR600F and the various Fireblades of yesteryear, u can't deny that these bikes when looked at today definitely look in better condition than their counterparts of the same age. Hondas have an uncanny ability to look half their true age when compared alongside the Yams and the Kawas and the Suzooks.

Originally posted by mechwira@Feb 8 2006, 01:09 AM

can't sleep. tot i'd type out and share with you guys a great article from Fast Bikes. its about 'evolution, testing the following bikes:

'02 CBR600FS vs '05 CBR600RR

'02 GSX-R750K2 vs '05 GSX-R750K5

'02 YZF-R1 vs '05 YZF-R1

'02 ZX-636 vs '05 ZX-6R

i reproduced only the CBR portion, and their conclusion:

’02 CBR600FS vs ’05 CBR600RR

In 2002, Honda’s best effort at a road-going supersports machine was the CBR600FS. It was their half-hearted attempt at making the improbably sober ‘F’ model sportier. They saved kilogram by dumping the center stand, welded another tooth onto the rear sprocket to give it a bit more zip, and made the inlet valve springs a smidge stiffer to allow a higher rev ceiling for when they took it supersport racing.

As a real world roadbike it was only bettered by GSX-R600 of the time; the R6 was faster but couldn’t out-handle the Honda. Tuned by Ten Kate, it was a corker, taking Fabien ‘Speedbump’ Foret to the World Supersport Championship in 2002.

At that time, the closest thing to a CBR600RR was being piloted by Valentino Rossi to the first ever MotoGP World Championship, or that’s what Honda would love you to believe. Unlike the GSX-R’s, our two Hondas are about as far apart technically as a Spitfire and the Starship Enterprise, yet amazingly the performance gap in the real world is nothing like you’d expect.

The CBR600RR’s another example of all-conquering race technology under-performing on the road. Before you all think I’ve gone completely tonto, I’m not going to moan about the chassis, which in fairness is about the only bit Honda claims is derived from the RC211V. It won’t win any prizes for quick steering, the FS turns as swiftly, but both bikes are impeccably neutral, an age-old Honda trait.

Through the meat of a corner when the going’s good, the RR doesn’t have any problem shaking its older sibling. It’s at its best fully cranked, tracking your chosen line. The softer suspension of the FS takes longer to settle, and its laughable ground clearance limits you to angles of lean most CBT candidates wouldn’t be scared of. That said, the RR still decks out quicker than the three other 2005 Jap 600s, and on our mid-February test when grip was at a minimum, the FS was by no means embarrassed through the twisties.

Its more pliant suspension offered less feedback than the RR’s, but felt far less nervous. The billions of Yen spent on the RCV’s race winning formula certainly hasn't had the same impact on our highways as it did on the world’s best racetracks. Who’d have thought it?

The power plants, despite having bore and stroke dimensions in common, and Honda stamped on the side, obviously are light years apart in terms of innovation. Yet if you look at the speed data, the FS gets to 60mph quicker, knocks out a remarkably similar standing quarter, and has an almost identical top speed. The RR makes more outright power but at nearly a thousand revs higher, and doesn’t exactly monster the FS through the torque curve either. Charles Darwin may well be twitching in his grave.

When you combine those figures with a very tall first gear and resulting close ratio gear box, you need to be right in the sweet spot to make the RR’s superior handling count for anything, which means more left foot action.

Unsurprisingly, one area where the RR opens up a can of whoop ass on the FS is on the brakes. The radial Tokicos offer far more power than the oldie’s Nissins, but, compared to the new ZX-6R, feel grabby and alright at best.

Then there’s practicality. Gone is underseat storage because of the arse-cooking pipes, it’s a lot less comfortable, and on the same 92 mile journey the RR did nearly a fiver’s worth more fuel.

Honda are playing on the MotoGP card for all it’s worth, and so would you when you think of the Nelsons it costs them, but the RR has more in common with the Proton. It handles pretty well, lacks power everywhere except peak and guzzles fuel at the same rate as the space shuttle. It’s a better bike than the FS, of that there’s no doubt, but it’s not as improved as a roadbike as much as other models here.

“Conclusion” (after individual write-ups for other bikes)

Let’s clear one thing up before we go any further: without exception, all of the 2005 bikes would ###### their 2002 counterparts on the track. But this test is about trying to determine how much of a difference the updated technology makes to those of us who don’t spend every weekend in a pitlane, i.e., the majority of sportsbike owners.

The GSX-R’s were closely matched on the open road. Then only real wedge driven between them was the average brakes on the old bike, and the superb stoppers on the new one. Half the reason the rest of the experience was so similar is because Suzuki mixed up such a good blend in the first place.

The Hondas however are wildly different mechanically. On the track the RR’s ‘RCV DNA’ would give it a huge edge over the FS, but it doesn’t translate to the road in the way it should. On the road, the FS would hang on to a bike which is apparently very closely related to probably the best in the world, the RCV. It’s a real shame that the RR’s well sorted chassis is let down by a peaky engine.

The Yamahas also perform very similarly, and it again comes down to power. Both have excellent chassis, and both have shitloads of go. The new bike is much faster, but when you’re limited to the amount you can physically use, it becomes a huge leveler. There’s still a small brake disadvantage, but it isn’t enough to really separate talented riders.

The biggest difference was with the 636’s. This is because the first one wasn’t great, and the new one is class-leading. All the more reason why Kawasaki deserves huge amounts of credit for listening to what people want. We said it was too soft, so they made it harder. We then said it was too hard, so they knocked it back a bit, while always making it faster. As a result, they’ve found themselves at the forefront of roadbike development, without blinding us with ‘race-derived’ bollocks. Nice work fellas.

-Fast Bikes, May 2005, 'Evolution'

heh anybody regret picking the RR over the FS?

great article especially for would-be buyers torn between the RR and the FS/F4i.

not surprising that the kawa had the most diff; the '02 zx-636 was the dam old carb model before the paradigm shift of 2000. its like ten years' of diff instead of 3 years diff of the rest here, of coz would have the most diff. but there you go, besides such 'leaps', techno-mumbo-jumbo actually give us little on the roads.

nice article there.. and it enlightened me that the toruing model and sports model of the F4i indeed have some diff.... weight.. sprockets size and the valves...

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f229/Hong-/tummy.gif?t=1229955192