Hi everyone,

Just got my X8 2 wks ago (black - FBA plate).. super shiok ar! Comfy is my cup of tea..

Its a far cry from my previous honda sp

Still got alot to learn abt maintenaing the bike from all the bros here..

Can i join the X8 club too?

• Replies 3.1k

Originally posted by sensible_x8@May 26 2006, 09:25 AM

Hi everyone,

Just got my X8 2 wks ago (black - FBA plate).. super shiok ar! Comfy is my cup of tea..

Hi bro sensible_x8, welcome to the house of scooter, congrat on getting yr scoot.

Originally posted by sensible_x8@May 26 2006, 09:25 AM

Hi everyone,

Welcome 2 the scooter club... :cheer:

http://img134.imageshack.us/img134/8246/untitlednb3.jpg

The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing

The only thing that makes life possible is permanent, intolerable uncertainty; not knowing what comes next.

hi brudders,

do anyone know why is it that my brake light only lights up when i "jammed brakes"?

when i depress the brakes slightly, there wasn't any brake lights at all......

is tat normal? Can adjust one anot? pls advise.. :help:

Originally posted by sensible_x8@May 27 2006, 05:05 PM

hi brudders,

do anyone know why is it that my brake light only lights up when i "jammed brakes"?

when i depress the brakes slightly, there wasn't any brake lights at all......

is tat normal? Can adjust one anot? pls advise.. :help:

It is a known problem. Just go to Piaggio Service Centre. They will adjust it for free.

Originally posted by Rac@May 28 2006, 11:48 PM

It is a known problem. Just go to Piaggio Service Centre. They will adjust it for free.

Thanks, Rac!

Hi bros,

i have an enquire...

i got my brand new x8 on 8th of May at ASP Changi, also traded in my old bike. But how come when i logged onto the LTA website today, my previous bike is still registered under me?

And the most worrying part was that my new x8 is not reflected in the website...

anyone can enlighten me, pls..... :help:

Originally posted by sensible_x8@May 30 2006, 09:21 PM

Hi bros,

i have an enquire...

i got my brand new x8 on 8th of May at ASP Changi, also traded in my old bike. But how come when i logged onto the LTA website today, my previous bike is still registered under me?

And the most worrying part was that my new x8 is not reflected in the website...

anyone can enlighten me, pls..... :help:

Contact ASP and find out from them.... they may not have done the transfer for you.

Possible that they might want to do the transfer one shot to save trouble....

Btw welcome to the scooter club... enjoy your ride and ride safely.....

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s243/firestorm_33/S1030017.jpg (Nite Mode)

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s243/firestorm_33/Daymode-1.jpg(Day Mode)

Always Contactable at 92745438

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/305719-lt-CMO-gt-Mobile-Grooming-for-your-bike-at-your-place-)

Scooter Meet Up

Date & Time : Saturday 3rd June 06 @ 1930hrs

Venue : Mount Faber

Event : Chill Out Session / Follow Up On Kota Tinggi Trip

(For Those Who Doesnt Know The Place Or Wanna Go Down Together Can Meet Up At Kallang KFC@ 1900hrs)

NameList

1.) Disar + GFren

2.) Recon + Gf

3.) Goldstar

4.) kimi

5.) fatboy71

6.) beachboyzsg

7.)

8.)

9.)

10.)

Originally posted by disar@Jun 1 2006, 01:30 PM

Scooter Meet Up

Date & Time : Saturday 3rd June 06 @ 1930hrs

Venue : Mount Faber

Event : Chill Out Session / Follow Up On Kota Tinggi Trip

(For Those Who Doesnt Know The Place Or Wanna Go Down Together Can Meet Up At Kallang KFC@ 1900hrs)

NameList

1.) Disar + GFren

2.) Recon + Gf

3.) Goldstar

4.) kimi

5.) fatboy71

6.) beachboyzsg

7.)

8.)

9.)

10.)

Yo.... Bros.... next time Sms me leh..... hardly got time to check mails....

how sian.... tot can meet up with you guys.....//....

next time sms me pls... thanks....

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/305719-lt-CMO-gt-Mobile-Grooming-for-your-bike-at-your-place-)

where has all the X8ers gone ??? :confused:

so quiet in here nowadays.... :giddy:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v258/brownkai/X8gathering1-2.jpg

experts i have some queries, icon-sweat.gif

1) i got an offer for a X8 FZ7*** plate. Mileage: 3,600 km ++ going for 5.8k is it too good to be true?

2) what to look out for when buying second hand bike?

3) if the road tax of the bike is till oct, does it means that i only need to pay the transfer fee?

4) can i get 3rd party insurance for a 2nd hand bike that is less than 1 yr old and where can i get a quote for the cost of insurance?

5) where/how can i check if the bike was involved in an accident b4

6) where can i check if the bike has outstanding fines both local and malaysia?

Many thanks to your advise.

SYM GTS 200 - 2005 - 2007

HONDA Varadero XL1000V - 2011 - 2013

Originally posted by bryantlin@Jun 21 2006, 11:02 PM

experts i have some queries, icon-sweat.gif

1) i got an offer for a X8 FZ7*** plate. Mileage: 3,600 km ++ going for 5.8k is it too good to be true?

2) what to look out for when buying second hand bike?

3) if the road tax of the bike is till oct, does it means that i only need to pay the transfer fee?

4) can i get 3rd party insurance for a 2nd hand bike that is less than 1 yr old and where can i get a quote for the cost of insurance?

5) where/how can i check if the bike was involved in an accident b4

6) where can i check if the bike has outstanding fines both local and malaysia?

Many thanks to your advise.

hi bro...i got mine at same price as urs but mine 9k mileage already. and got a lot of problems also... but most of it minor la... so i bought it. rode 1 month liao. weee....

anyway for your questions, hope these answers help abit...

1) i think the price is gd...but be sure about the condition. there r many cons out there...

2) things to look out are the body first. see got scratches, if have ask y? see paintwork original or not... if re-sprayed, most likely buang before. then test everything...and most importantly sound of engine. listen carefully if there are any funni creaking sound. 3.6k should be quiet, and not 'tack tack tack' sound... if have, can prepare urself to change pump liao.

3) road tax have to check wif seller if he wan to renew for u. if can ask him renew. or u renew urself, lower the buying price. logic la bro...

4) i think 2nd hand cannot buy 3rd party. not sure leh... check wif any insurance or bike shop lor..

5) accident this kind of issue hard to tell. even seller say nv u cannot trust oso. open eye big big... bring an expert along if possible.

6) fine for local can check at SAM machine. for malaysia, u go there come back see got kena stop anot then u will know lor. waahah!!

7) mus see the seller wat kind of person n wat they doing! if ah beng or gangster, the bike might be a runaway transport!!! whaha....2cents thou....lol

anything can PM me la... i very free!

Hi to All,

I'm thingking of buying x8 in the next month or so. I am doing a lot of reading here and found out that X8 got some known problems such as water pump failure, LCD screen failure, brake light failure etc....

Can anybody enlighten on the most common problems of X8?

Thanks in advance.

-Bogs :confused:

Originally posted by btarroja@Jul 3 2006, 04:28 PM

Hi to All,

I'm thingking of buying x8 in the next month or so. I am doing a lot of reading here and found out that X8 got some known problems such as water pump failure, LCD screen failure, brake light failure etc....

Can anybody enlighten on the most common problems of X8?

Thanks in advance.

-Bogs :confused:

hey btarroja, welcome to the X8 cafe. X8 doesnt have LCD screen panel and so far I've been riding for 1 1/2 year and water pump still doin fine. It is known the water pump for piaggio bikes can last 2 -3 years. My brake lights been working fine too :smile: The more common problems faced is clutch slip and we had given feedback to piaggio about it, hopefully thay can rectify it. Most of us changed the clutch to aftermarket ones to improve the performance.

Originally posted by DT8666@May 14 2005, 12:29 PM

Just got mine service at 3000KM and found that they have the tall screen available!! So toke it and installed! Cost $190 w/gst.

back back home and happy with it as no more strong wind directly blow to the face.

Attached with some pictures for your viewing. Not easy to see from pic:giddy:

The screen is not tinted so not sure it will hv those X9 screen issue like getting darker (dirt) after long use...

After 1yr+ of happy riding, finally come to the time to say good bye and pass this to next safe hand.

Going to sell this lovely scooter with the followings:

X8 with the following and just done 10K service (change of Belt and Brake pad)

Tall wind screen (Free original screen for your spare)

Voltmeter

Alarm

and.. as picture.

Also will consider going at half price from my original purchase price for the following to the new onwer:

- Jacket

- Nolan full face with quick release to normal. local safety approved

- Pro Grip rain coat

Interested, please SMS me at 96666115 as I may not be surfing the net frequently.

Originally posted by DT8666@Jul 3 2006, 11:56 PM

After 1yr+ of happy riding, finally come to the time to say good bye and pass this to next safe hand.

Going to sell this lovely scooter with the followings:

X8 with the following and just done 10K service (change of Belt and Brake pad)

Tall wind screen (Free original screen for your spare)

Voltmeter

Alarm

and.. as picture.

Also will consider going at half price from my original purchase price for the following to the new onwer:

- Jacket

- Nolan full face with quick release to normal. local safety approved

- Pro Grip rain coat

Interested, please SMS me at 96666115 as I may not be surfing the net frequently.

I want to sell this as fair pricing. What should be the price range for a 1yr 3 months X8?

Thanks for the tips.

Hi, I just bought a 2nd hand X8, 1.9yrs old. I am quite happy with it except when it move off, at about 20km/hr, the back wheel will jerk for a short while. It does not happen all the time but seems to be quite frequent now as I used it more. Is there something wrong and what can I do to remedy it.

Thanks for any advices in advance.

Originally posted by itbike@Jul 5 2006, 09:49 PM

Hi, I just bought a 2nd hand X8, 1.9yrs old. I am quite happy with it except when it move off, at about 20km/hr, the back wheel will jerk for a short while. It does not happen all the time but seems to be quite frequent now as I used it more. Is there something wrong and what can I do to remedy it.

Thanks for any advices in advance.

hey itbike, welcome to the X8 cafe. From your brief description its sounds like clutch slip which is sad to say X8 bikes are prone to. it can be solve by changing to aftermarket clutch. Some of the X8ers are meeting up at Kallang KFC tis saturday at 8pm if you are free come and drop by so we can help you figure out wat is wrong with your scoot :smile:

hi disar,

thanks for the advice. how much does it cost to change to aftermarket clutch. btw, who should i look for if i go to kkfc this sat?

Originally posted by itbike@Jul 6 2006, 05:58 PM

hi disar,

thanks for the advice. how much does it cost to change to aftermarket clutch. btw, who should i look for if i go to kkfc this sat?

you can look for me :smile: Im rasid (disar)

Originally posted by disar@Jul 5 2006, 10:17 PM

hey itbike, welcome to the X8 cafe. From your brief description its sounds like clutch slip which is sad to say X8 bikes are prone to. it can be solve by changing to aftermarket clutch. Some of the X8ers are meeting up at Kallang KFC tis saturday at 8pm if you are free come and drop by so we can help you figure out wat is wrong with your scoot :smile:

i thought meeting at 1900hr.... :sian:

Originally posted by disar@Jul 5 2006, 10:17 PM

Wa Lao ....... X8 Big Brother ..... never jio one.....:cry:

Luckily i see this...... BUT still can't join cos i will be at KALLANG stadium watching the reheasal!!...

Enjoy yourselves!!!

Originally posted by firestorm_33@Jul 7 2006, 04:26 PM

Wa Lao ....... X8 Big Brother ..... never jio one.....:cry:

Luckily i see this...... BUT still can't join cos i will be at KALLANG stadium watching the reheasal!!...

Enjoy yourselves!!!

i sms u wat? :confused: