• Replies 287

Another enquiry is...i have heard about hurricane stainless steel air filter.isit good for fuel consumption n for the engine?I checked wit my SE he told me is ok to change but will void warranty.ask me wait till theres a need to change the air filter.

yup thts my TS :) btw anything..?

no la..

urban grey..? how long u got?

nice picture must compliment mah..

good to know more ppl driving subarus here..

blah blah blah...

http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i49/aeieio/boss.jpg

I think it looks cool only after u have change the sports rims. :angel: I try seating on the rear n for what i can compare it is more spacious than the 07 model.

dun bluff la wan23..

think u did more than seating..

eh u change ur hp number is it..? heheh

blah blah blah...

guys jst wanna check if anyone can recommend any workshop for rim n tyres.i checked at midview buildin at bukit batok lenso 17" rims wit F1 eagle tyres abt $1.2k.he takin in the subaru rims for $200 oni so pathatic.Isit worth it?pls advice...thanks

seen some eat 300 bucks..

why not ask around more shops..

u got pictures how the lenso look like..?

blah blah blah...

Another enquiry is...i have heard about hurricane stainless steel air filter.isit good for fuel consumption n for the engine?I checked wit my SE he told me is ok to change but will void warranty.ask me wait till theres a need to change the air filter.

aiyah.. everything also void one..

its only a pice of air filter for goodness sake!

i used k&n open pod on webber last time.. shiok!

dunno if change hurricane ss filter got do any good..

blah blah blah...

Not Bad looking leh the Hatchback model.... But why it drop to 1.5L?

Got fight with Mitsubishi EX.... hehehe

ugly la.. :cheeky:

blah blah blah...

Kombis are really cool vehicle. They are never old, it's ageless. Are you still having it ?

no more.. sad coz commercial cat.. lifespan oni 20yrs..

yup its huge.. air-cooled.. gd ventilation no aircon no fogs.. even when rain!

blah blah blah...

no la..

urban grey..? how long u got?

nice picture must compliment mah..

good to know more ppl driving subarus here..

Thanks for the compliement.. :cheeky: The collected the car coming to abt 1mth and yup u are rite.. its Urban grey.. :)

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h10/WesT_Spec-1/DSC00090-1.jpghttp://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h10/WesT_Spec-1/WESTSPEC.jpg

The Light Began to dim.. Music Fading out.. I Begin to Miss You

......................The Visual Cycle..........................

any reason y some of them regret after changing to the 17" inch?

IMHO well basically its a simple to ur qns.. when u get bigger size rim u get bigger size tires so weight of ur car will definately be heavier as u got more grip on road surface.. well they regret it cos it will definately affect their FC likewise u can go for Light in weight rims from Jap so u will gain slight better FC.

guys jst wanna check if anyone can recommend any workshop for rim n tyres.i checked at midview buildin at bukit batok lenso 17" rims wit F1 eagle tyres abt $1.2k.he takin in the subaru rims for $200 oni so pathatic.Isit worth it?pls advice...thanks

Correct me if I am wrong, i was told tht Goodyear tyres are now manufactuer in Thailand.

aiyah.. everything also void one..

its only a pice of air filter for goodness sake!

i used k&n open pod on webber last time.. shiok!

dunno if change hurricane ss filter got do any good..

I am looking into Simota Carbon Charger and the Apexi Power Intake but was told by Mcwell Saleperson tht Apexi power intake onli gd for Mid range n High End power.. where he pointed out tht TS has a prob in the low or initial pickup.. so he recommended me Simota Carbon Charger as it will help in the low n mid range power.. (as in for local usuage it will be better)

Btw anyone owner here has install Unichip or Greddy Engine Managment System in their TS, i do wan to find out more feedback on it.. :) thanks alot :)

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h10/WesT_Spec-1/DSC00090-1.jpghttp://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h10/WesT_Spec-1/WESTSPEC.jpg

The Light Began to dim.. Music Fading out.. I Begin to Miss You

......................The Visual Cycle..........................

any reason y some of them regret after changing to the 17" inch?

Your fuel economy will suffer, and brakes wear faster. Although the rims and tires could be marginally heavier than stock however this additional weight generate substantial rotational inertia (flywheel effect). Furthermore, wider tires are more grippy because of larger contact surface area however it also means increase in frictional force and drag.

On a larger rim and to maintain the same rolling circumference as stock, you would need lower profile tires. Lower profile tires are more stable during cornering due to less flex in the side wall but with a lower side wall, ride comfort will suffer, especially for passengers. This effect is compounded if the car is lowered.

The cost of two 17" tires will easily get you three 15" tires and three jugs of beer.

Everyone wants to race a subaru, especially a fully done-up Subaru so that they can go to their respective forums to brag how their Kia ate the subaru for lunch, or their Vios smoked a subaru.

Thanks for the compliement.. :cheeky: The collected the car coming to abt 1mth and yup u are rite.. its Urban grey.. :)

eh same same.. me too.. urban grey.. sgx..

u changed ur rims? me havent yet.. ride still virgin.. heheh

i thought engine management thingy is meant for turbo charged cars?

blah blah blah...

Your fuel economy will suffer, and brakes wear faster. Although the rims and tires could be marginally heavier than stock however this additional weight generate substantial rotational inertia (flywheel effect). Furthermore, wider tires are more grippy because of larger contact surface area however it also means increase in frictional force and drag.

On a larger rim and to maintain the same rolling circumference as stock, you would need lower profile tires. Lower profile tires are more stable during cornering due to less flex in the side wall but with a lower side wall, ride comfort will suffer, especially for passengers. This effect is compounded if the car is lowered.

The cost of two 17" tires will easily get you three 15" tires and three jugs of beer.

Everyone wants to race a subaru, especially a fully done-up Subaru so that they can go to their respective forums to brag how their Kia ate the subaru for lunch, or their Vios smoked a subaru.

i never regret on my past 17" rides..

my jaw almost dropped when i saw a fairlady..

with like at least 20" or 21" blink blink chrome & gold rims..

blah blah blah...

well i guess if u wan ur ride to look good on the exterior n on performance cant expect much on the FC. cant hve the best of the both worlds.m still drivin virgin.been onli like 3 weeks since i took out my Impreza...

i took over frm friend.. so fren fren price..

i thought jayjay wanted to give us better lobang..?

for tyres i always go to near thomson prata there..

regular since before his dad pass over the business over to him.. heheh

if u want i can ask for u.. any particular rim model & tyres u looking for ur ts?

if got budget get light rim.. those chepo rim can be really heavy.. im thinking of wrx 16" rims.. ok anot?

blah blah blah...

how abt tis chrome & gold rim.. nice..?

http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i49/aeieio/p11/p12/p13/z1/oox.jpg

or black & red trim like this.. which nicer ar..?

http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i49/aeieio/p11/p12/p13/z1/oxxx.jpg

blah blah blah...

im thinking of wrx 16" rims.. ok anot?

Rex stock rims are good if you can get a good deal. They are not only sought after by TS, but also Foresters. At least you know that the Rex stocks rims would have no problem should you subsequently upgrade your to ReX 4/2 brakes. Further 16" tires are at least 30% cheaper than 17" tires.

also been wanting to ask.. what is 4/2 brake upgrade..?

Front 4 pot brakes, rear 2 pot brakes.

For TS, the front is plug and play, but the rear conversion from drum to disc brakes is quite major.

It is not advisable to change just the front to 4 pot brake and keep the rear drum as the car will dive excessively during heavy braking.

Another option is to keep the front brake but change the rear drum to Forester's single pot brake.

the black rim wit red trimming sure looks hot.gold like becomin too common on subaru.

vig79, i think so too but ive been on black/red rotas for the past yrs..

so now kind of miss my old eighties ap star rim.. chromie & gold.. heheh

i like bbs rs gt rim.. very nice.. but too costly.. any good lite replicas to intro me..?

blah blah blah...

Front 4 pot brakes, rear 2 pot brakes.

For TS, the front is plug and play, but the rear conversion from drum to disc brakes is quite major.

It is not advisable to change just the front to 4 pot brake and keep the rear drum as the car will dive excessively during heavy braking.

Another option is to keep the front brake but change the rear drum to Forester's single pot brake.

i see.. i see.. any forester upgdrading ur rear single pot..?

demon, what is the difference btween 4 & 2 & single pot brake?

dunno why impreza dun have rear disk brake.. this really sux rite..?

blah blah blah...

sorry easyrider.im still a virgin for 4 wheels.im not pretty sure abt the rims to recommend to u.wanted to change my rims.but nw i think use my original tyres first.if not trade n waste oni.

any forester upgdrading ur rear single pot..?

The 2.0XT, and 2.5XT comes standard with 1-pot rear disc brake, only the 2.0X comes with rear drum, similar to TS.

what is the difference btween 4 & 2 & single pot brake?

More pots mean more pistons, more pistons mean bigger surface area of the pad acting on the rotor during braking. However more is not necessary good because it generates more heat which will cause brake fade.

dunno why impreza dun have rear disk brake.. this really sux rite..?:(

Personally I would think for street driving, the drum brake is as effective as a disc brake. FHI must have factored this into their design, and it must meet international safety standards. A TS is easily the heaviest 1.6litre car in the market, and it must have tremendous braking capability considering a VIOS is easily 20% lighter.

If you have a set of fancy 17" rims, it just doesn't look right if the rear is on drums. Bling factor is of paramount importance for some :angel: