any pilot's here?

http://news.asiaone.com/print/News/AsiaOne%2BNews/Crime/Story/A1Story20080212-49320.html

A SINGAPORE Airlines (SIA) pilot caught with pornographic material at Adelaide International Airport last Saturday, has been charged and fined A$12,000 (S$15,000) by Australian authorities.

Captain Ng Kok Yauw, 41, a Malaysian national, was the third person arrested by Australian Customs Service in less than a week as part of a crackdown on attempts to smuggle pornography into the country through Adelaide.

The other two cases involved a 41-year-old Singaporean whose identity is not known and another Malaysian - 23-year-old Ahmad Said who is a co-pilot with Malaysia Airlines (MAS).

Australian media reported over the weekend that the MAS pilot was fined A$6,000, while the 41-year-old Singaporean will appear again in Adelaide Magistrates Court on Feb 25.

A spokesman for Australian Customs told The Straits Times that when Capt Ng was stopped and questioned by officers, he denied carrying any prohibited items.

But when they checked his laptop, they found 'objectionable material depicting abhorrent sexual acts.'

SIA spokesman Stephen Forshaw said in response to queries: 'We are aware of the reports of this case and are examining what the Court has said.

'All our crew are expected to comply fully with the laws of countries to which they operate, and that includes laws relating to the carriage of prohibited items, including data on computers.'

We R One!

• Replies 931

http://news.asiaone.com/print/News/AsiaOne%2BNews/Crime/Story/A1Story20080212-49320.html

A SINGAPORE Airlines (SIA) pilot caught with pornographic material at Adelaide International Airport last Saturday, has been charged and fined A$12,000 (S$15,000) by Australian authorities.

Captain Ng Kok Yauw, 41, a Malaysian national, was the third person arrested by Australian Customs Service in less than a week as part of a crackdown on attempts to smuggle pornography into the country through Adelaide.

The other two cases involved a 41-year-old Singaporean whose identity is not known and another Malaysian - 23-year-old Ahmad Said who is a co-pilot with Malaysia Airlines (MAS).

Australian media reported over the weekend that the MAS pilot was fined A$6,000, while the 41-year-old Singaporean will appear again in Adelaide Magistrates Court on Feb 25.

A spokesman for Australian Customs told The Straits Times that when Capt Ng was stopped and questioned by officers, he denied carrying any prohibited items.

But when they checked his laptop, they found 'objectionable material depicting abhorrent sexual acts.'

SIA spokesman Stephen Forshaw said in response to queries: 'We are aware of the reports of this case and are examining what the Court has said.

'All our crew are expected to comply fully with the laws of countries to which they operate, and that includes laws relating to the carriage of prohibited items, including data on computers.'

When I saw this in the papers, I was speechless.

This is the one and only profession which I have the greatest respect for, and which I have never mentioned anything negative about it. The two pilots are indeed a disgrace to the aviation community.

True, we all have our weakness.. but child pornography?? Only the lowest lifeforms will engage in such an abhorrent act. What was worse, the captain has 2 daughters. I am speechless.

If such a person is among the exclusive community whose members have earned the privileged to sit in the front of an airliner, but does not appreciate this, then his privilege should be removed.

In a Time of Universal Deceit, Telling the Truth is a Revolutionary Act

part of a crackdown on attempts to smuggle pornography into the country through Adelaide.

I guess the message is clear, governments around the world despise harm that is inflicted to children, including child pornography as one of the ways.

SIA Airbus A380 suffers fuel pump defect, grounded for problem rectification

Associated Press + a few more sources from Straits Times

Published Date: Feb 19, 2008

SINGAPORE: Singapore Airlines said Tuesday an A380 superjumbo flight was canceled due to a fuel pump defect, the first technical glitch to ground the world's largest passenger jet.

The carrier said the fuel pump problem was detected when the plane's engine was started ahead of departure Monday night on a flight from Singapore to Sydney.

"Airbus and our own engineers have dedicated teams to try to address these issues quickly, but last night's fuel pump defect took much longer to fix," Singapore Airlines said in an e-mailed statement to The Associated Press.

The airline said it had to switch to using a Boeing 747-400, which seats fewer people than the Airbus jet, because a replacement of the fuel pump failed to solve the problem. The company's second A380 could not be used as it was undergoing maintenance.

Of the 418 passengers on the flight, about 70 had to be transferred to alternative flights Tuesday, the carrier said.

The delay was most unfortunate, because to date, the aircraft has been operating with very high reliability: the highest of any aircraft type to enter service," the statement said. "It is, of course, to be expected that technical issues will occur from time to time."

Singapore Airlines said the problem has since been fixed and the plane would resume its daily service to Sydney on Tuesday night.

Airbus spokesman Stefan Schaffrath in Toulouse, France, said he was not aware of problems with fuel pumps in any other A380s currently in production. He referred questions on Monday's incident to Singapore Airlines.

"The A380 shows an excellent operational performance. It operates twice daily since the end of October and shows dispatch reliability of more than 99.5 percent," he said. "Like with a normal car, things can happen, things need to be repaired."

Just a question, a pilot has to have perfect vision if a person went for lasyk surgery will tyhat still qualify? and also pilots have to be very fit people is it? i'm talkin bout those commercial flight pilots.

Jun 06 - Aug 06: Honda Phantom TA200 FV13**Y

Aug 06 - Oct 07: Yamaha RXZ FR41**U

Oct 07 - Nov 09: Honda CB400 Spec 3 FBC10**B

Nov 09 - Mar 11: Suzuki GSR400 FBC73**C

Mar 11 - Apr 11: Piaggio X9 Evo FX 42**U

Mar 11 - Jan 14: Honda Silverwing 400 FBC 53**J

Dec 13 - May 14: Toyota Wish SJU 48**L

May 14 - Jul 15: Maxsym 400i FBJ 36**G

Aug 15 - Current: Honda Silverwing SW-T400 FBG 29**R

Just a question, a pilot has to have perfect vision if a person went for lasyk surgery will tyhat still qualify? and also pilots have to be very fit people is it? i'm talkin bout those commercial flight pilots.

Depends on which airline you are referring to. Some may have stricter eyesight requirements than others.

As for lasik, even if you do not declare when applying for the job, you cannot hide it forever. I'm sure a thorough eye check can be expected during the medicals, given the nature of the job.

And of course, pilots should be healthy. We don't want the guy in the cockpit to have dizzy spells or asthma attacks over the Pacific, do we?:)

In a Time of Universal Deceit, Telling the Truth is a Revolutionary Act

Here's a flight sim at Singapore flyer for you to try out flying a 737. :angel:

http://www.flightexperience.com.sg/index.html

can get 737 rating? hehehe

Oct 2002 - PPL

19 Sept 2005 - 2B

18 Sept 2007 - 2A

20 July 2010 - 2

Oct 2005 - present: Aprilia RS 125

Oct 16 2010 - Feb 2011: Honda CBR 600 RR

Apr 08 2011: Ducati Monster 620

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs099.snc3/16635_162719989997_751319997_2733440_6167145_n.jpg

of course flying the real thing is good..this one dun have motion.. will get airsick... haha..

You didn't mention the $$ needed to really sit and be an FO on one :mad:

I guess it is worth a try if you are really keen on becoming a pilot since the simulator is the only full-fledged one that is open to public.

Anyone took their PPL from the 3 flying clubs in Senai? Which one better ah?

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3194/2532558653_bfc8b7386c.jpg

Sunrise @ Sg Lembing

Hiz!

Juz asking when should we use TAS and when shld we use IAS and CAS?

TAS = True airspeed, the speed that you are actually travelling thro the air

IAS = Indicated airspeed, the speed u see on the airspeed tape, use to reply ATC when queried.

CAS = Calibrated airspeed, airspeed compensated for errors in equipments like pitot

Hope i remember correctly, return all my ATPL liao.....

IAS = Indicated airspeed, the speed u see on the airspeed tape, use to reply ATC when queried.

CAS = Calibrated airspeed, airspeed compensated for errors in equipments like pitot

Heard IAS is also based on the surrounding air pressure right? That's why there's this difference between IAS and TAS while in the air?

Sorry, noob question, but I'm interested to know :)

Anyone took their PPL from the 3 flying clubs in Senai? Which one better ah?

i flew with Elite flying club b4.hmm which 1 is better,i didnt compare.when i reach there,i didnt go to FRAS coz sound like frustration to me n de other 1 was closed.so left with elite..

Oct 2002 - PPL

19 Sept 2005 - 2B

18 Sept 2007 - 2A

20 July 2010 - 2

Oct 2005 - present: Aprilia RS 125

Oct 16 2010 - Feb 2011: Honda CBR 600 RR

Apr 08 2011: Ducati Monster 620

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs099.snc3/16635_162719989997_751319997_2733440_6167145_n.jpg

Then what's the diff between TAS & CAS?

since CAS is already the speed which doesn't have errors already?

Operational wise when do we use TAS or CAS?

Then what's the diff between TAS & CAS?

since CAS is already the speed which doesn't have errors already?

Operational wise when do we use TAS or CAS?

Hey, check this out:

Calibrated airspeed (CAS) is indicated airspeed (IAS), but corrected for instrument error and position error. At high speeds and altitudes, calibrated airspeed is further corrected for compressibility errors and becomes equivalent airspeed (EAS).

This one kop from Wikipedia, and nobody has put up "need citation" for it, so looks like it's true.

=====

I've read somewhere that IAS is measured via the aircraft's onboard instrumentation. And moreover, this instrumentation (pitot equipment, i believe) collects air, reads its pressure, and gives the pilot its IAS, and other stuff relating to the positioning of the aircraft, if i'm not wrong?

So, even the wind (i.e. wind changes the air pressure) is factored into the calculation of IAS i believe? That's what makes the ground speed different?

So question being, can I assume since pilots are in the air, they have to trust IAS most of the time and (maybe??) regulations advise them to do so too, and not GS?

Hope to hear from experienced pilots/ATC peeps here :)

Correct me if i'm wrong, thanks!

Btw juz asking,

On some big commercial aircrafts, at the autopilot panel, there's a "HDG" knob and then there's a "CSE" knob. What's the difference between them?

Btw juz asking,

On some big commercial aircrafts, at the autopilot panel, there's a "HDG" knob and then there's a "CSE" knob. What's the difference between them?

I think it's called the "CRS" knob? What kind of (heavy) airplane are you referring to?

http://img210.imageshack.us/img210/7683/mcplhy6.jpg

===

Eh, no biker/ATP pilots here to give us insights? :confused: