any pilot's here?

Originally posted by mika14@Jul 5 2006, 09:07 AM

Hiz!

For Singaporeans besides SIA, which other airlines can a Singaporean apply as a fresh cadet?

Successful candidates will be offered employment with one of the companies in the SIA Group:

* Singapore Airlines

* SilkAir

* Singapore Airlines Cargo

*Quoted from the website*

Best Regards,

PROJECTBIG1

• Replies 931

I'm selling my Flightcom Aviation Headset (4DX-C).

Less than 1 year old. Flawless condition.

Bought for AU$250 during my training in Australia.

Selling for S$180.

Comes with receipt, warranty card and headset bag.

All in very good condition.

Anyone interested pls drop me a PM. Thanks.

Best Regards,

PROJECTBIG1

Originally posted by mika14@Jul 5 2006, 09:07 AM

Hiz!

For Singaporeans besides SIA, which other airlines can a Singaporean apply as a fresh cadet?

Erm...maybe u can try airasia? I think they started cadet program recently, but dunno if singaporeans are allowed... They have just bought around 100 A320...so should be recruiting alot of people. Of course, pay will be quite low compared to sia. :cheeky:

We R One!

Hiz!

Wonder how come Singaporeans are at so much disadvantages to become an airline pilot...

Malaysians can either chose Malaysian Airlines or SIA whereas Singaporeans can die die only chose SIA.

Boils down to company policy. I think SIA will take in any Singaporean or Malaysian, as long as they are competent enough? Is it meritocracy in action?

Singaporeans still have a choice of which airline they want to fly for. Unfortunately to fly for most other airlines e.g. Emirates, you need to be a certified pilot with plenty of airtime first!

Originally posted by mika14@Jul 5 2006, 06:24 PM

Hiz!

Wonder how come Singaporeans are at so much disadvantages to become an airline pilot...

Malaysians can either chose Malaysian Airlines or SIA whereas Singaporeans can die die only chose SIA.

what are the 'disadvantages' u refering to?

Best Regards,

PROJECTBIG1

Originally posted by hydrop@Jul 5 2006, 10:24 AM

Erm...maybe u can try airasia? I think they started cadet program recently, but dunno if singaporeans are allowed... They have just bought around 100 A320...so should be recruiting alot of people. Of course, pay will be quite low compared to sia. :cheeky:

Hiz!

Airasia don't have cadet pilots leh...

Originally posted by mika14@Aug 8 2006, 01:09 AM

Hiz!

I believe most budget carriers will not have any sort of training programme for pilots, as it would incur too much cost. It's much more cost-effective to hire pilots with flying hours already under their belt.

That is correct, smaller airlines, such as airasia, easyjet, ryanair, wont have their own cadet pilot schemes unlike Singapore Airlines, MAS, both which have their own cadet pilot programmes.

Some airlines such as Emirates too are not really bothered with the idea of cadet pilots, and just look for pilots and first officers with at least 3000hrs flight time under their belt.

But anyway, since most of the pilots were ex- air force, it was one of the reasons why airlines never really bothered implementing a "train from scratch flying program." And one reason why Singapore needs a cadet pilot program, they are not too keen in "capturing" all the air force pilots that will sure run over due to all the perks and of cause the better pay?

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n84/danielburgess/b562f855-326b-4d71-a656-0eeb9e05ecff.jpg

Hiz!

I guess they may restart the scheme again in 2007 when more of their aircraft arrive... :sweat:

here's a copy of a thread in PPRuNe:

Dear Applicants,

Thank you for the interest shown in the AirAsia Cadet Pilot Scheme.

The AirAsia Cadet Pilot Scheme intake is frozen for the time being as we

have sufficient number of pilots. We may be reopening for recruitment

sometime in 2007. All aspiring candidates are requested to lookout for our

advertisement and then submit your application. Also please convey this

message to any of your friends or relatives who may be interested in this

Cadet Pilot Scheme.

The advertisement will specify the entry requirements and where to submit

your applications. All applications received so far will not be processed

and you will be required to submit your application again.

Thank you and regards.

Capt. C. Subramaniam

Cadet Pilot Recruitment Coordinator

AirAsia Berhad

Lot N1, Level 4

Main Terminal Building

KL International Airport

64000 Sepang

Malaysia

...But then again, I think for singaporeans, the SIA/silkair/cargo cadet pilot program is the best option. :smile:

We R One!

Hiz!

Airasia do have cadet pilot program.. not in singapore though.. in malaysia.. trained a few of them before...

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

It's also possible that they may have outsourced the training to SIA? That would kinda save cost for them as SIA already has the training infrastructure and programme in place...

SIA would also stand to benefit from the added business of training pilots for other airlines based on the same aircraft type e.g. 747s, 340s, etc

HmmHow many rounds of interviews test assessments to go through ?

Wats the chances of being successful ? as in SIA needs pilots ?

needs qualifications ? work experience >

1 of 2 ?

1 of 10 ?

makes it thru ???

sorry for the ingnorance

BTW i have perfect eyesight and think to apply so i ask ard wat its like?

got kenna chop halfway thru the course one or not , then how ?

got pple drop out of course ? themn how?

got to study rite ?? take exams ???

Juz interested to know more

airasia trained their cadet pilots @ Malaysian Flying Academy (MFA) in malacca.i went there 4 to enquire abt CPL.i already have Oz PPL so i intend 2 take up CPL in MFA.but money seems to be de problem here...where can i find $80k??? :faint:

Oct 2002 - PPL

19 Sept 2005 - 2B

18 Sept 2007 - 2A

20 July 2010 - 2

Oct 2005 - present: Aprilia RS 125

Oct 16 2010 - Feb 2011: Honda CBR 600 RR

Apr 08 2011: Ducati Monster 620

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs099.snc3/16635_162719989997_751319997_2733440_6167145_n.jpg

is there really a age limit ?

MUST be 26 ? or 25 will do ?

is this a stringent criteria ? do they take 23 or 24 yr olDs?

CheeRsZ

I dropped out from SIA in Jandakot. Let me share.

TRUTH

1. AirAsia takes in Malaysian NOT Singaporeans.

2. SIA takes in Malaysians. Priority reserve to them. Don't be shock, currently SIA pilots more than 60% are Malaysians. SIA recruits Indians from India.

3. SIA DO NOT take in RSAF pilots. Don't think RSAF pilots can get in SIA.

Originally posted by hiccup@Nov 8 2006, 03:52 PM

I dropped out from SIA in Jandakot. Let me share.

TRUTH

1. AirAsia takes in Malaysian NOT Singaporeans.

2. SIA takes in Malaysians. Priority reserve to them. Don't be shock, currently SIA pilots more than 60% are Malaysians. SIA recruits Indians from India.

3. SIA DO NOT take in RSAF pilots. Don't think RSAF pilots can get in SIA.

think your truth is not really true...

2 and 3 wrong... SIA do take in malaysians but not 60%

SIA do take in RSAF pilots... the pilots in RSAF should know...

so which phase were you terminated?? first solo?? :confused: sorry to hear abt that....

Originally posted by moccajava@Dec 31 2006, 10:00 AM

i know personally 2 persons who got axed midway. the drop out rate is scary.

from SIA??? dun think the axe rate is high... i think it's very low already...

Originally posted by moccajava@Dec 31 2006, 10:00 AM

i know personally 2 persons who got axed midway. the drop out rate is scary.

so bro, u got enroll a not???

knn, went to senai there to ask about the fees for learning to fly, they quote me about 14k!!!

sh*t got to wait for few years liao..

Ride safe, or else urs will be the one I'm looking at, at work!!!! :cool:

http://www.visualsunlimited.com/images/watermarked/992/99279.jpg