• Replies 18.3k

• VidaK

• kmax

• Kevs

• jtzx

a noobie of a 2nd hand ta200 custom4 for almost 2mths. Intent to rewrap my seat like kzone, install VS, air horns and chain tensioner. Any lobangs? or any advice on my intented accessories?

-rewrap seat ? just for ur buttock pleasure..

-not airhorn (it's electric horn) but louder than stock "ti-ti-ti", price around 20-30 $ u can try steble magnum or hella brands :)

-VS is optional, according to butt dyno (rider's feeling) smooth and good pickup but nothing is proven..

-chain tensioner for slack chains, if ur chain is going strong no need.

before i change new chain, the previous one slacked so much and no money to change.. so i installed chain tensioner for temporary remedy.. anyway, it prevents from accidental chain drop..

butta some guy said before that (from machenical point of view) additional pressure in chain is not good idea.. i guess it's negeligable.

1) Rewrap seat is an easy job, Eugene Saddlery at junction of Syed Alwi Rd & Jalan Besar is a good place to go.

2) Install VS - Answer these few questions first (not to me, to yourself)

Why do you need (want) it? Do you know how it works? Based on your understanding of how it works, are you convinced that there is a nett benefit to your riding requirements?

If you don't have a convincing answer, I suggest you save your $$

3) Airhorns are illegal. 'Snail' electric horns are pretty loud already. See kmax answer.

4) A chain tensioner is a temp remedy for a chain that is already past its useful life. Its better to change a new chain and make sure it is tensioned properly.

thought this suppose to be a chat corner, not Questions for Newbie

anyway. 'fish-tailed' 3 times today

Raining condition

1st time. was going to make a U-Turn. Saw the sign but i was looking out for the arrow on the road, coz raining, can't really see the exact place to exit.

when i saw the small area for u-turn. i jammed brake. ( i use mostly rear)

the bike more of skidded den fish-tailed. the whole rear wheel was slanting towards the left. not very sure how i managed to controlled the bike. with the handle bar or feet? i can't remember it even after i made the turn when i try to recall.

2nd time.

travelling back home. know that rainy days will take longer distance to stop, i kept a distance with the vehicle infront. but when the traffic light turned red. i try to brake. not strong enough and i'm going to bang the pick-up infront. i press slightly more, using front brake more this time. still fish-tailed. -.-''

3rd time

same stretch of road going home. Serangoon Road. was going very slowly coz don't want anything to happen. Rain starting to get heavier. Uncle riding phantom move so fast. dowan to catch him, i slow down alot.

when reaching traffic light. got a feeling that the lights will turn red anything. i go even slower. but when i'm about 30-40 m away from crossing. amber red came quickly.

Very surely i couldn't get pass in time, and no time to check for red light camera, I sort of jammed brake. P plater, not many points to deduct.

i from lane 2 sort of skidded abit to lane. No cars behind, heng.

more digonally got more distance so as not to tio camera..

YEP!

It will benefit you to practice how to use front & rear brake together

!@#$%^& ARRRGGGHHHHH... 11 bikeless days liao :sian:

pardon me, but i really need to let go of my frustrations :angry:

got to be careful, ylsonny, especially during raining days....

There is no secret recipe..... To...... Inner Peace.......

http://www.latimes.com/media/photo/2008-06/39664259.jpg

I was also curious abt the VS, so tried it.. it feels weird, bike seems to be heavier but confirm less vibration in my case.. gear 5 felt like gear 6. my bike already had the spark resin wen i bought it, not sure if that affects the VS in any way... make sure u read the various threads on this gadget 1st...

ylsonny, if u cant control ur rear break, might want to try out the ABS, am sure some guys here r letting them go cheap... but also go read the various threads abt it 1st.. best is of course learn how to break on phantom effectively without the ABS. Personally, i find that the ABS increases breaking distance when jam break, but didnt notice any diff when applying gradual breaking (I compared with another older phantom, so may not be very accurate) I decided to keep it on my bike cos for now cos the fishtailing is of greater concern to me than breaking distance..

Liverpool revival has started....

how? with working engine, you engage gear one and move a lil then use your rear brake, only in a controlled area of your choice to get used to the brakes I guess? or w/out engine going, just use your legs to push the bike and use the rear brakes and get a feel of it.

skidding & Fishtailing usually happens when u break hard right? doubt gear 1/2 can recreate skidding/fishtailing scenarios

Liverpool revival has started....

I was also curious abt the VS, so tried it.. it feels weird, bike seems to be heavier but confirm less vibration in my case.. gear 5 felt like gear 6. my bike already had the spark resin wen i bought it, not sure if that affects the VS in any way... make sure u read the various threads on this gadget 1st...

ylsonny, if u cant control ur rear break, might want to try out the ABS, am sure some guys here r letting them go cheap... but also go read the various threads abt it 1st.. best is of course learn how to break on phantom effectively without the ABS. Personally, i find that the ABS increases breaking distance when jam break, but didnt notice any diff when applying gradual breaking (I compared with another older phantom, so may not be very accurate) I decided to keep it on my bike cos for now cos the fishtailing is of greater concern to me than breaking distance..

i still have this "so-called" ABS, if anyone wants, i can let go at cost of kopi (not kopitiam, starbucks kopi) hehehehe..

hey jB, my ptom next owner is from NP, guess u'll see bullet-ptom more on ur campus...

fish tailing is caused when you lock the rear wheel. either too much rear brake or you throw clutch at high speed with low gear..

http://www.weather.gov.sg/wip/pp/rndops/web/ship/gif/rad70.gif
fish tailing is caused when you lock the rear wheel. either too much rear brake or you throw clutch at high speed with low gear..

Do you noe that u can skid by the front tyres too?

http://i28.tinypic.com/5kokk3.jpg

paint is slippery.. i try to avoid them as far as possible.. the hardest to avoid will be the zebra crossing ones..

Guys needed some help. Anyone of you have any software to recover deleted files from SD cards? Please please, urgently required. Those I found on line can only view those "lost" files but to have them you have to pay. Thanks in advance.

I AM BACK!!!!!

Guys needed some help. Anyone of you have any software to recover deleted files from SD cards? Please please, urgently required. Those I found on line can only view those "lost" files but to have them you have to pay. Thanks in advance.

U can use undelete plus

It is a shareware

God in his wisdom will protect you

:pray:

paint is slippery.. i try to avoid them as far as possible.. the hardest to avoid will be the zebra crossing ones..

yup. after my 1st skid on the paint i have avoided the paint.

erm.. i use file scavenger..

http://www.weather.gov.sg/wip/pp/rndops/web/ship/gif/rad70.gif

FCUK man.....been having a Ear infection on my right ear since late January....

Still havent get better.....best part is....Yesterday it went to affect my LEFT ear also....

:sian: mood killer man........been cursing and swearing ppl around me....sigh (i feel bad man)

Doctor also kena F.....stupid noob....

FCUKING PAINFUL SIA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! cant even move jaw much coz swollen....no mood to eat also.........ARGH!!!!!!!!

Sorry for venting my pain here...... i just had to!!!!!!!!!! GOT PROBLEM!!!!!!!!

Wah like PMS sia.....

http://i28.tinypic.com/5kokk3.jpg