Kinof prefer open face helmets, coz every now & then I like to keep the visor up & feel the wind... & I haven't found a FF that I can wear comfortably.

• Replies 18.3k

• VidaK

• kmax

• Kevs

• jtzx

haha you can lift up FF's visor too :cheeky: to me I don't really like full faces with 'FINS' they add on weight to the helmet itself and its hard to keep the fins in one piece when you store them or handle them w/out care

Throw at my block rubbish chute lor...

Its a open face, like what TP used last time. I never inspect, just asked my wife to throw away both the Nolans. Both were 4 years old & due for a change anyway. I have gone to try several helmets, don't really like flipface coz those that are of better quality a generally quite heavy. I have never really liked the feel of a full face helmet + its really tough with my glasses.

Not too sure what to get this time, haven't seen any I liked or tried any that was comfortable for me... I'm picky when it comes to helmets, it MUST be comfortable & not too heavy.

if you concern about weight, airoh is the lightest helmet i've tried. (and coolest designs too) too bad it's abit noisy and some say quality is not upto standard as arai/ shoei. and they look as nice as momo design helmets.

http://www.yildizticaret.com.tr/v2/components/com_virtuemart/shop_image/product/a0eb8a98031dae695efc72d878489f69.jpg

u can check regina and AOW in jurong (ofcuz regina is better price but the other party claims their ones are better quality, original vs clone)

http://www.adventureonwheels-sg.com/home.aspx

i think this helmet goes well with cruisers, especially the mouth piece is detechable. (dont ask me about reliability and strength yah)

http://www.customlids.co.uk/helmets/airoh/tr1/tr1_mtbk_lge.jpg

shoei synchrotech/multitech is also light one among flip-ups, i've read HKL selling about 450$

http://www.shoei-helmets.com/products/multitec/multitec_black_mat.jpg

if just open face, nolan and rjays have nice design and reliable ones too.

o_O hmmm.. what bout what TP are wearing now? i heard HKL selling at 45.. the MHR one.. made from fibreglass. i thinking of getting a pair soon, but duno what to get oso.. lol...

MHR open face? i've found cheapest deal at 25$ in 219 (beside ducati showroom) but MHR flip-ups are abit heavier and i've feel like clones of rjays toru-tech flip-ups, (rjays finishing is nicer)

http://www.rjays.com.au/home/products/helmets/TourTech-Gunmetal.jpg

:lol: haha looks like masked rider for the first two helms :cheeky: no offence.

between flipup and fullface I'd still go for the latter. Thats what I'm wearing for the past 1/2 year whenever its available.

yep, even the most expensive schuberth concept is not as strong as normal full face.

but hey, i am still using MHR openface most days for easily hang on my bike, drop also dont mind... :D (what a silly me)

before

http://images.motorcyclecruiser.com/accessoriesandgear/FF-Schub-clsd.JPG

http://www.webbikeworld.com/r2/motorcycle-helmet/schuberth-helmet/schuberth-c2.htm

after

http://ktm-boy.smugmug.com/photos/84860353-M.jpg

http://ktm-boy.smugmug.com/photos/84860364-M.jpg

read full report http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=149762

flip-up comparison..

http://www.motorcyclecruiser.com/accessoriesandgear/flip_face_helmet_comparison/index.html

For daily use, I'm still partial to an open face helmet for convenience & comfort. I haven't had a look at the Multitec yet, may get that if its ngum...

btw, think about this for a moment, that flipface helmet that got destroyed in a crash, that absorbed a lot of energy. If a solid FF helmet get such an impact, there's a possibility that the impact will get transferred to the head via the helmet.

Just like why cars are designed so that the bonnet & boot will collapse in an impact, but the passanger cage is more rigid to protect the humans.

In short, it might be better for the chinbar of a flipface to break & absorb the energy from impact then to remain solid & transfer the impact to the head.

NB: This is all my opinion only, I have no facts to support :p

For daily use, I'm still partial to an open face helmet for convenience & comfort. I haven't had a look at the Multitec yet, may get that if its ngum...

btw, think about this for a moment, that flipface helmet that got destroyed in a crash, that absorbed a lot of energy. If a solid FF helmet get such an impact, there's a possibility that the impact will get transferred to the head via the helmet.

Just like why cars are designed so that the bonnet & boot will collapse in an impact, but the passanger cage is more rigid to protect the humans.

In short, it might be better for the chinbar of a flipface to break & absorb the energy from impact then to remain solid & transfer the impact to the head.

theoritically, it will absorb energy on first impact on contact. then it breaks off, what will happen if there's 2nd and 3rd impact that rider still sliding on tarmac or rolling down.. :angel:

full face helmets absorb impact at inner foam, i've read before, let me have sometime to dig up some reference..

ok, here's some..

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=DnA-OEeWitM

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=n_p4p5EEox8

hahaha...all packaging designs to protect anything like you, car, tv and other sensitive equiptment like cameras...the packaging supposed to break...ya break good no break u break..hahah...

hey can a car survive multiple crashes at the same time??? very swai..uknow..most safety equiptment use once only....like a pan cake /collasibe car when invlved in head on crashes....safety device use once only...heheh after that u throw away car...

same like helmet..in serious crahes..the helmet save your head/face after that throw away...because the helmet has been degraded cannot pass crash test anymore

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

this is just like the idea of hollow crash bars... they say a solid crash bar will not break as easily, but the damage is passed on to the chasis..

who knows? lets just ride safe. ;)

http://www.weather.gov.sg/wip/pp/rndops/web/ship/gif/rad70.gif

last time i checked, shoei flip-up is not PSB approved yet..

some airoh are PSB approved, but some are not (due to easy release strap)

only Rjays from regina comes with PSB approved sticker.

Good news Kmax, I read in 8 days mag or sth on Mar 16 "Long Way Round" will be shown on BBC Knowledge (MIOTV Ch 30) 8:30pm so for those who have MIO TV better share ;)

What show is that about? Is it an Asian production?

em, not ur favourite asian av :p

where have u been bro... miss you so muhc :lovestruck: hehehe

http://www.tescodvdrental.com/tesco/images/products/2/44702-large.jpg

Long Way Roun is a show about Ewan McGregor with another fella riding their BMW(not bus mrt walk) GS around countries.

pass me blank dvd if u dotn want to wait for mio.. :thumb:

ok.. pass me next time when i see ya..

hehe, now yas's secret is revealed... :p

i got some more but they are old movies and boring leh..

http://motorculture.com.sg/page8.html

1. on any sunday (1971 documentary... :yawn:)

2. flying scotsman (that is bicycle movie.. dunno why MCA choose it to be on film fest 08')

3. fastest indian (not so bad)