having rode a cub with rear disc and one with drum brake, during wet weather, i find the drum brake is more effective... IMO of course...

and its forever the if i use racing footrest, must i change to rear disc? the ans is UP TO YOU... got money then change lor. but actually also no use one. initially might feel the diff lah... over the time, probs will occur. got some friends riding wave change to disc brake with racing footrest also got problem... best is stock.

also, when my raider is using racing footrest, the brand is NUI racing, not those kuching kurax one. I also cannot feel my rear disc makan. and my bike is stock rear disc. now use back stock footrest, tap only makan liao. want the bike to look nice or want to compromise safety, your choice. :goodluck:

and... :offtopic:

howstuffsworks is damn very good website. i used it for my studying too. have fun understanding and reading...

c'est la vie~

• Replies 1.6k

aktuali the rear brake become ineffective cause the leverage ratio on the brake foot pedal become lesser oledi.

On certain bikes can modify it so tat it has the same lever ratio as stock when u fit in the racing footrest. Nid to cut short piece of metal and weld it on to increase length

Just use the lever's rule

N1L1 = N2L2

where N is the force applied

L is the length between on end to the fulcrum point

Of course it wud be difficult to determine the actual numerical value of the force,

so just treat it as N1/N2 ratio when calculating.

i oso quote like blue streak,

Wikipedia is damn very good website. i used it for my studying too. have fun understanding and reading...... and do lab report :cheeky:

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a235/royalemy/cooltext14886910.jpg

Applying science to riding bikes........ :thumb:

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b12/Ah_Hia00/Thai/MaeSod.jpg

My Bike Outside The Immigration Checkpoint of Mae Sod(Thai Mynmar Border), Mae Sod, Thailand

25th Dec 2005 to 9th Jan 2006

Singapore - Malaysia - Thailand

Total Distance Covered ~ 7000+ km

hi guys can i check something with u all.. my wave S has hitted 51K milage already what are necessary services tat i need to do for him? wash piston, piston rings?

Roughly how much for a full servicing and which shop?

any one been to ah boy (JB) to do full servicing? how much and they done?

thank

2007 FEB -YZF R1 2004&WaVe S 125 wiT Audio SyS.---- YZF-R1 Puig Clear Windshield, HEL brake lines, GPR Twin Exhaust with Y-pipe, Bagster Tank Bra, ACumen Gear Indicator, Motivation Sliders-Balancers, Power Boosters, Harris Racing Footrest, Ohlin Damper and Corsa tyres

http://photos-754.friendster.com/e1/photos/45/71/3041754/1_204611127l.jpg

most probably nid to do top overhaul lor

nid to check if ur conrod has worn loose oledi a not

if top overhaul mar cheap lor

if conrod loose, nid to full overhaul mar expensive lor

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a235/royalemy/cooltext14886910.jpg

Originally posted by ~GarY~@March 06, 2007 05:44 pm

I suggest u get original parts from Singapore and then find a shop which is less busy in JB. Not in ah gua lane esp. They are mostly busy.

Cuz if like JB Ah Boy so busy, u might get less the perfect work.

U'd probably need a few hours to sort everything out.

Cheers !

My Bike Outside The Immigration Checkpoint of Mae Sod(Thai Mynmar Border), Mae Sod, Thailand

Originally posted by Thai_R@March 07, 2007 12:45 am

I suggest u get original parts from Singapore and then find a shop which is less busy in JB. Not in ah gua lane esp. They are mostly busy.

Cuz if like JB Ah Boy so busy, u might get less the perfect work.

U'd probably need a few hours to sort everything out.

Cheers !

how abt in singapore which shop is good? and roughly top overhaul cost how much?

i been to HKL to ask abt full servicing, but the ppl there told mi no need to do this kind of servicing one, just wash carb, change EO and plug will do. when engine got problem den come do top over haul.. :giddy: :giddy:

i was stunned!! wher got ppl wait till got problem den solve one? must also have preventive action ma.. correct? :cheeky:

2007 FEB -YZF R1 2004&WaVe S 125 wiT Audio SyS.---- YZF-R1 Puig Clear Windshield, HEL brake lines, GPR Twin Exhaust with Y-pipe, Bagster Tank Bra, ACumen Gear Indicator, Motivation Sliders-Balancers, Power Boosters, Harris Racing Footrest, Ohlin Damper and Corsa tyres

correct..i tink full servicing 80...if im nt wrong

Originally posted by pyro13@March 07, 2007 01:51 pm

correct..i tink full servicing 80...if im nt wrong

singapore? which shop?

heard b4 tat if u do service of ur piston ( mean got problem or spoil) had to change the whole block together. this wat i heard dunno truth anot.

NSR Hornet

NSR SP

KRR

RXZ

phantom TA 200

Phantom TA 150

Spark T135

i asked at tampines..ah loo workshop

Originally posted by ~GarY~@March 07, 2007 11:54 am

how abt in singapore which shop is good? and roughly top overhaul cost how much?

i been to HKL to ask abt full servicing, but the ppl there told mi no need to do this kind of servicing one, just wash carb, change EO and plug will do. when engine got problem den come do top over haul.. :giddy: :giddy:

i was stunned!! wher got ppl wait till got problem den solve one? must also have preventive action ma.. correct? :cheeky:

the rule of the thumb is always... dun touch the engine if its didnt give you problems...

wash carb , EO change and spark plugs are the first things people do to see if it solves their problems...

so if full servicing solves your problem... why open the engine and risk it?

Originally posted by ~GarY~@March 06, 2007 05:44 pm

hi guys can i check something with u all.. my wave S has hitted 51K milage already what are necessary services tat i need to do for him? wash piston, piston rings?

thank

if me..

i ask a few shops in JB hw much they charge for Labour only.

den i go buy the parts on my own, n send to that shop..

make sure u stay n watch..

whichever shop u go. make sure u sit down/stand up beside ur bike till repair's done.

in case they try to do a fast one..

or worse still, do half way.. attend to another bike..

den u will wait forever n ever for the repair to end. hehehe.

OR

if u dun mind paying abit more, buy parts in JB, bring back, send to shop in SGP to do it.

*ps. wave parts in SGP quite ex altho its from Thai becoz its the Original..

Jb got variety of copy products. u muz tell them u dun want the inferior quality copy.. heh

EST labor charge in SGP ard $100max.

'90 DT200RR | '95 Skipper 125 | '94 RXZ 135 | '99 WRE 125 | '80 Super 150 | '99 KTM200EGS

'91 NC30 | '00 GN250EY | '03 YZF-R1 | '00 Y125Z | '04 X-1 | '06 R6

'07 GSX1300R

PC3USB | Ti-Force Sumo | BMC Race | Discacciati | Swage | Venhill | ZG | Motovation | Ariete | Michelin PilotRoad 2 | SPY Alarm

Originally posted by Refugee@March 08, 2007 01:34 pm

the rule of the thumb is always... dun touch the engine if its didnt give you problems...

wash carb , EO change and spark plugs are the first things people do to see if it solves their problems...

so if full servicing solves your problem... why open the engine and risk it?

if small cc non modified 4stroke bike..

i believe u can get away with just regular EO change n plugs..

but u are actually neglecting it.. the ill effects comes slowly in long run.

before u say about piston rings, clutch plate, etc, the very first prob would be carbon build up.

and its wld be even worse if u've been using non-original heat rating plug.

at the end of the day, ure the owner. so u decide wats best for ur bike..

*ps. but i wouldnt even recommend/dare applyting the rule of thumb "dun touch engine if its didnt give u prob" on 4stroke bigger cc.

simply becoz bike alrdy cost much more than a kapchai and the higher repair cost if needed..

'90 DT200RR | '95 Skipper 125 | '94 RXZ 135 | '99 WRE 125 | '80 Super 150 | '99 KTM200EGS

'91 NC30 | '00 GN250EY | '03 YZF-R1 | '00 Y125Z | '04 X-1 | '06 R6

'07 GSX1300R

PC3USB | Ti-Force Sumo | BMC Race | Discacciati | Swage | Venhill | ZG | Motovation | Ariete | Michelin PilotRoad 2 | SPY Alarm

Originally posted by ~GarY~@March 07, 2007 11:54 am

Why not ?

U repair punctures before or after they happen ? :sweat:

Jokes aside.

I would reccommend Combine Motors at Sim Ming....cannot remember the building name. It's beside ST Inspection Centre.

The shop is on the 2nd floor.

They are :thumb:

Cheers !

Got back my bike from AGL FINALLY!!! After 1 month of wasting installment and my carpark coupon :cry:

Ok here is what I find out about my bike after overhaul cum mod and you expert gimme a conclusion can?

Max speed with a 65kg pillion is 100km/hr on level road, currently around 46km/L. I dunno why the FC is still the same after boring the piston 110cc to 130cc, change bigger carb and bigger block. Is it temporary or is it that higher power means less engine stress thus lower FC? Inputs appreciated!!! Good or bad!!! Thanks!

PS. Finally can join u guys for outing hehe!!

Bro....pls take care of ur newly mod/big bored bike.

The engine is still relatively new and thus(probably) not run in properly yet.

U might risk a piston jam at high speeds.

This is the biggest advice at this current moment.

The mod/FC part will be discussed by the many flamboyant racers here.

Cheers !

ya, u r suppesed to be running in..not going at 100... and y didnt u get wave s 125 at the beginning??

Thanks I will let it run in 1st. I just wanna test the speed oni hehe. How many km to run it in? Also wat is the average speed I must ride it during running in?

I dunno la my bro got it cos he say it is cheap, around $1300 machine price, and fully stock so he say it would be fun to make it nice from scratch, like the show RIDE where they make break down car into nice car. He always into such project one. I am concern about FC but seems ok to me now. I hope after running in it wun drop to 30+km/L. What is flamboyant racers?

run im, less than or equal to 80.. dun drage gear..change eraly

on wen to change engine oill..

im nt sure

Originally posted by Samicksports@March 09, 2007 05:40 pm

Thanks I will let it run in 1st. I just wanna test the speed oni hehe. How many km to run it in? Also wat is the average speed I must ride it during running in?

I dunno la my bro got it cos he say it is cheap, around $1300 machine price, and fully stock so he say it would be fun to make it nice from scratch, like the show RIDE where they make break down car into nice car. He always into such project one. I am concern about FC but seems ok to me now. I hope after running in it wun drop to 30+km/L. What is flamboyant racers?

u cant really compare with what others are doing in the magazine.. 1stly, the equipments and parts are kinda cheap for their income. 2ndly some of them might be frenes or owners of bike shops and they use their bikes as mascot..sort of like advertisment..

As for fuel consumption, simple physics.. increase in capacity = more fuel used. just like human..u eat more to get more energy.. :smile:

As for running in of bike, there are diffferent ways to do it..hard or soft..up 2 u.. soft means ride ur bike at a max speed of 70km/h b4 500km-800km.. hard means run at high speed eg: 80-100km/h but do not accelerate hard..

jus my 2cent..:thumb:

http://www.freewebtown.com/idioticlown/library/image/Pic_0011a.JPG

Lamer by Day Poser by Night

EX-Wives

r ppl whom u cant have....

Current Wife

is in ur heart nt on screen...

All is not lost..at least i did it b4.Have you? Life is not abt regrets, its abt how you live it 2 the fullest everyday..Bt its doesnt matters anymore cos i have been fooled by e deceptions of LIFE..

Originally posted by Samicksports@March 09, 2007 05:40 pm

Proper running in of an engine is not based on speed in which the engine is being run.

It's based on RPM during the run in period never on speed.

Here's some read up.

http://www.dansmc.com/engine_breakin.htm

http://www.usu.net/sites/motorcyclebreakin/breakin.html

http://www.one-ring.net/vfrfaq/general.html#breakin

Anyway, from what u have already told us, guess it's already too late to properly break in ur engine cuz the first few km are the most crucial part of the engine overall life.

Maybe u can try this above steps on ur next overhaul.

Cheers !

PS : Yes i do also know that Wave and most other cubs have no RPM meter. So how ? There's another method called throttle positioning. Not very acurate by close enough.

Originally posted by Samicksports@March 10, 2007 12:29 pm

:cry: I dun think I will have another overhaul till dunno when. What will happen to the engine if I dun break it in properly? If I start doing it now is it too late? Sianz... Thanks alot!

If u dun break in properly, the pistons rings dun seat in properly causing loss in.....

Hey didn't u read the articles i provided u ?

Dun be lazy. It's all in there. :nono:

hey...any1 knows how much does NOS cost? include wif installation..

Past Rides:

May 2006-Oct 2007 - Honda wave 125R

July 2007-Feb 2010- Yamaha TZM

May 2009-Feb 2010- Yamaha 125Z

Jan 2010-Aug 2010 - Yamaha R15

Current Rides:

June 2010-current - Yamaha R125