Hi Myred

welcome here ... we are a very very small bunch of Versys riders.

i believe the Red versys is without abs right as one of the guy we know have it he got it from Chia Motors or something like that at Shah Alam. nice colour man Cilli Red Fast heheheh

why not use Hepco top box and side panniers ? i find Givi getting too expensive now days... wanted to fix the maxia 52ltr top box but when i hear the price i go fix the Hepco top box insted.

my current farkles i have on my bike are

Skidmarks screen - from our friendly motovation dealer for 160sgd

Skidmarks HL protector - ditto for 60 sgd

Hepco engine guards - from mtechnic 230sgd i think

Hepco Jr top box - ditto for 300 plus

nautilus Steble horn 140 decible - 85 sgd

scottoiler - not fixed yet for 165 sgd

currently i looking for Rad Guard, and Scopio End Can but can only get it after marriage hahahah anyway if you find the price cheaper in SG and if you want to get it from here do tell so i can pass u the contacts if u want.

or why now do a running trip to SG so can kopi :)

~Biker Till I Die~

• Replies 1.8k

hi dintigger,

thks yr welcome. yo, this red one no got ABS. colours for 2008 imported by kawasaki msia are blue n red. for 2007, black n orange.

hve actually tossed between hepco n givi bags. funny enuf, the givi bags are cheaper here than hepco. maybe because givi got office n manufacturing plant in msia but hepco is brought in by motobike shop (sunny cycle) n i guess he makan all of us sampai pokai !.

as a comparison, a hepco configuration of two junior 30 L side boxes n a 40 L top box with original brackets n mountings n installed will cost RM3300 (@ 2.3 = S$1435). total capacity 100 L.

Givi, two V35 side boxes (35 L each) and a E350N top box (35 L) with original brackets n mountings n installed cost me rm2326(S$1011). total capacity 105 L. hence i save about rm1000.

the hepco boxes are probably tougher but are rather boxy looking. the givi 35 L side boxes can tale a full face helmet, have side reflectors n more pleasing to the eye.

i chose the smaller n lighter E350N top box becos i do not wish to be top heavy (but for women, tat's ok !). anyway the top box will only store emergency items like raincoats, gloves, sun glasses, water, etc.

the hepco engine guard here costs rm650 (S$283) n scottoiler rm450 (S$196). spore cheaper, but not very far off.

if any of you want to compare prices of any givi/kawasaki products obtained here in kl, pls let me know n i will check it out. infact i am going to givi on saturday to collect my things. have just sold my shadow n will rush to hve the red bugga registered n be ride ready by next week. planning a trip to penang end of the month.

dintigger, congratulations on your coming big day. if you decide to bulan madu (honeymoon) in msia with your new bride on the versys, let me know n i will be honoured to be your guide ("lamp post" ?) !. or if you guys want to make a trip up to camerons, count me in. heard the new road up there via simpang pulai is lovely. or we can cari-cari makan in ipoh. tasty n cheep food.

good to connect back with you all again. when i was staying south, had a road king n hung out with the gang in orchard road on friday nites. but tat was over a decade ago, had less white hair n more chick pulling power then !.

hello cheeko,

the prices of givi products here in KL are as flws :

1. PLX 447 side mounting kit rm 471 (@ 2.3 = S$205)

2. FZ 447 top mounting kit rm217 (S$94)

3. for item 2, you will need either the monolock base plate rm70 (S$30) or the monokey base plate rm120 (S$52).

4. V35 side boxes rm1368 pair (S$595)

5. V46 top box rm780 (S$339)

6. E350N top box rm200 ($87)

7. D405ST windscreen rm380 (S$165)

installation is included in the price.

FYI, i am using items 1, 2, 3 (monolock base plate), 4, 6 and 7.

if KL can give you a better deal, let me know n i will meet up with you or any of your friends n show you where givi is.

rgds.

hi there myred welcome to the V club! I'm sure you gonna have loads of fun on it. you mentioned about the Skid Plate from Happy Trail - yeah was gonna have it ship but not atm. saving up for Motech's Alu-Trax 37l black powder coated side panniers which i'll prob get from BikeTech21 here.

@dintigger maybe after ur big day we can pool together order for the skidplate. D'oh! i still haven't put up the Race Shield dude! sorry man still waiting for my RHS fairing to arrive :angry:

Hi Myred

welcome here ... we are a very very small bunch of Versys riders.

My count is ten pieces in singapore.

First batch : one

Second Batch : six

Current one : three

Hopefully there will be MORE.

g

Ride like everyone else on the road is an Idiot

Know your ride well if you wanna go fast

Enjoy your ride, Have Fun

Live to Ride ,Ride to Live

kwaki66,

TQ yr greeting. dintigger n you hve fitted out your versys with parts not available here. guess the choice of accessories n brands in spore is wider. definitely count me in for the skid plate when u do a bulk purchase.

according to kawasaki msia, over a hundred units hve been brought in but it is easier to get a date with drew barrymore than seeing another versys on the road !. saw a black unit in welly's which went to cambodia n back with the owner smiling but having a sore butt (from riding or wat, i dunno !).

my initial fear is how to handle such a tall bike. hve been riding cruisers all the time and the 33.1 inch seat height puts me up there in the clouds. my inseam is only 29 inches n need to tip toe to keep it up right. anyway the bike is coming out next week n i am desperately trying to grow the extra inches n working with weights. hope it will not be like an ant trying to mount an elephant ..... sigh .......

looking forward to meeting some of you up here in kl for a meal n a chat n a guided tour ......

hey myred ok well i dunno if ur aware but kawasaki does have a low seat gel to somehow lower the seat height. maybe you could give that a shot. heh the guy u mentioned with the sore but prob got it from an insect or something cos in my opinion, the Versys' seat is one of the most comfy ones i have ever sat on in my riding life!

kwaki66,

thks for the tip. checked with kawasaki msia n they quoted rm2600 for the low gel seat. also got to indent the unit from japan. gosh, for this price i can probably get a pair of gary glitter's six inch platform shoes n use that for riding !. meantime will hve to tippy toe like a ballerina ....

dunno if tat V guy who rode to cambodia was nooty or not, but agree with you tat them seats are comfy.

met a fellow V rider at Givi yesterday who was fixing a rear E450N box. rides a red one too. he had a hugger on the rear tyre to keep the road muck away from the rectifier. costs rm488. will get this fitted when bike gets delivered on wednesday. thanks lionel for the contact.

reading thru the postings, will guess the average age of most V owners are 30 plus (like foresight @ 37 n dintigger @ 33). me ? crossed the big five-oh already n still riding to live .....

Guest tangolima

Dear Fellow Kawasaki Riders

thank you for your support today. We couldnt have done it with you. Seen a few old faces and new face. Aplogies i couldnt interact much with you guys. Do PM me any feedback about today outing or what to expect in the future outing.

Great Wheater, Great Turnout and Great Crowd

You guys rocks!!! Cant wait for the Magazine to print out in the next edition...

Let the good times roll.....

@Myred, i just got my flatfoot for the V's sidestand. hop on over to the uk site - lotsa good info on suspension setup and such. that's also where i ordered my flatfoot from a fellow forumer - he totally machined it hand made and all for a coupla of guys who were interested. i've also ordered a vinyl sticker cut out to placed over the foot rest frame protector cos it gets beat quite easily.

i was using a Wunderlich flatfoot but it wasn't specific to the Versys. the guy that i ordered it from is Speedy Gonzalez. he's also machined out a Garmin GPS windshield bracket for those interested. might get that cos my dad just beat me to buying the Garmin Zumo 550. apa lagi? use daddy'o's Garmin first lah keke.

Rudy bro so sorry i had to miss ur wedding day dude. i got ur sms but i had already made plans for that weekend. anyway i wish you and the new missus a long and blissful union Insya-Allah!

kwaki66,

tq for the tips. hve browsed the UK versys owners' forum n noted the specially machined lowering kit. but suspect this will alter the frame geometry n upset the fine handling of the bike. so will not make any changes n tip toe for now.

picked up the lady in red yesterday. a totally different riding style from what i was used to on a cruiser - legs stretched up front, wide handle bar, low seat n foot firmly planted on the ground at traffic lights. versys, mid section foot peg position, high bars, firm seat, doing ballet at stop lights.

can compare it to flying on SIA. when u ride a cruiser, it's like being in raffles class. relaxed, stretch out on the recliner, no need to do much. just sit back n enjoy the scenery. but on the versys, it's like being in the cockpit. you are IN CONTROL. totally IN CHARGE. instruments telling you rpm n speed. sitting high n you are the CAPTAIN. engine under your EXACT command. INSTANT response to the twist of the throttle.

but when stopping, cruiser is heels down first n then both feet firmly on the ground. versys, no, no. if you try to go heels first, you will miss a step n loose balance. remember, this bugga's seat is 6 inches higher. so it will be tip toe as you approach the lights and tip toe when you stop. then lean a little to the right n right foot flat down.

but the bikini wind shield is more like a g-string. small n cute but of little use. the air turbulence is terrible. noisy like hell. like sitting on the wings of a 747. will hve to get rid of tat quick n get me a givi. use ear plugs for now n cannot wear half shell helmet.

how i like her ?. let's say that if you got the legs n the dosh, dump the ez riders n go for it . now i understand why sport tourers are iron butt riders. the seating position is so damn comfortable, makes you want to ride up to phuket non-stop. taking corners is a breeze. bike has a fantastic "flicking" ability. throw her left, throw her right, lean into curves n she takes them all like a well seasoned whore being ridden by a boy scout !. lucky i waited, lucky i made the switch from cruiser n bloody well lucky i bot it when petrol hit rm 2.70 a litre.

the cruisers are great for trolling the boulevards, but the versys (or similar genre) is best for doing the distance in comfort, speed n versatility.

there, i hve said it all n now just gotta get time off n ride her till she screams ......... tomorrow fitting the hepco engine guard n scottoiler ......

glad you've come to appreciate the flickability of the bike - if you're new to riding enduro style bikes then i guess that;s one of the first things you pick up on.

well my bloody plastic parts finally came today. since i was gonna tear off the RHS cowling and radiator cover and wind screen, i might as well take this time to fix the "plastics buzz" problem. wasn't too hard except for the instrument bezel - was a ***** to carefully remove the push pins. check out the thread at the uk site for detailed instructions and pics by alvis.

expensive lesson learnt - dun have too much fun on a new bike when ya haven't fully understood how she behaves and moves :dozed: :p

hello kwaki66 n v iders,

yes, it's lotsa fun throwing the versys into curves n then pulling away like a pit bull is hard on your tail. sheer joy on the ride up to awana in genting.

noted from earlier comments tat kawasaki is poorly represented in spore. tat's a sad state of affairs. their bikes are tops. over here, kawasaki msia is the only one of the big four japanese brand which imports directly from n is fully supported by the manufacturer. the others (big cc bikes from honda, suzuki n yamaha) are brought in by independent bike dealers with AP's (Approved Permits). Naza (with the Ducati n Harley dealership) is in a different league altogether. hence kawasaki is the market leader in big bikes (CBU) here. we are therefore rather fortunate to hve a 24 months or 20,000 km warranty on our new bikes.

earlier this week kawasaki msia introduced two new models into the market. the ninja 250R n the ER6N. both bikes are CKD (locally assembled). the smaller 250R will cost RM19889 (@ 2.3 = S$8647) n the ER6N is RM27989 (S$12170). the ER6N was fully imported previously n costs over RM45k (S$19565) then !. the queue to get the ER6N is now longer than the one for free tickets to a paris hilton porn movie. i suppose with petrol at 2.70 a litre, this 650 is a great commuting n weekend play bike.

the kawasaki showroom n parts centre is located in glenmarie industrial park, shah alam. operates a five day week. contact no. : 03 - 5566 5688. however if any of fellow v riders want to check on availability of parts n prices, pls pm me your requirement n i will find out for you. see how i can help out ....

rgds

that's great news from you myred! i figure down the road we could order stuff like gaskets and such for our maintenance. anyway altho the wait was too damn long, my V is finally looking tops again. i'm still saving up for my panniers and skid plate

kwaki66 n friends,

glad to be able to help. with the ER6N locally assembled and sharing the same engine as the versys, parts should be readily available n competitively priced too.

did my first service yesterday at 550 km. changed to a bosch horn (FC2 Compact, 110 dB, normal tone, twin units) for rm60 (S$26) and wired with a relay. mounted them on the lower radiator brace.

the speedometer error on the V is about 8 percent over. checked against a gps unit (garmin 60csx) and observed the following :

gps / speedometer / @ rpm in sixth gear

1. 80 kph / 86 kph / 4000 rpm

2. 100 kph / 108 kph / 5000 rpm

3. 110 kph / 119 kph / 5500 rpm

4. 120 kph / 130 kph / 6000 rpm

so guess it will be safe to go at about 130 kph as per the speedo n yet be within the speed limit on the NS expressway. (?)

any other fellow riders care to verify the accuracy ?. or add for higher speeds ?.

good to hear that k66's V is back in tiptop condition n take care of her (better than the gf) !. yes, it takes time to get used to the height (seat) n handling characteristics. go easy ....

am riding up to penang this coming weekend with a few friends (royal star, shadow 600, kawa 500, vulcan 800 classic n TDM). will see how the versys handle two up with top box, side boxes n the larger givi windshield.

rgds

interesting find on the speedo comparison myred. Most of us know that most or all bikes here have speed inaccuracies just that we dun bother to find by how much let alone install a speedohealer unit.

Yeah will definitely take batter care of ma V heh. Have fun for ur weekend ride and feedback us wit pics yea? I'll be flying(sadly not riding haha) to Bangkok for 10days vacation and maybe Chiangmai. Dun ask y 10 days! Initially thought ma buddies wanted 5 or 7...ended with 10. Once again have fun and ride safe!

Hi guys

sorry for the inactivity hahah just got back from my honeymoon and now back to the god danmmm office :(

thanks Kwaki for the wishes ... :) apparently my best man was down with chicken pox too on my wedding day so sad he not around.

anyway Myred when are you coming over to SG la ... come here la i belana you kopi and the horrible singapore food (horrible compared to penang's) just got married la ..tell my wife want to ride up to KL only her face black black ... somehow i am soo missing my singlehood.

~Biker Till I Die~

hello,

just returned from a quick trip to penang. utilized all three givi boxes for the first time. when leaving home early friday morning, tipped the bike over on the right side outside the house . lesson #1. bike handles very differently when fully loaded. just lost balance when decending the gradient at the front gate. but the hepco engine guard n the V35 box cushioned the fall n these were only very lightly scratched. no damage done but bike was too darn heavy for me to upright alone. fortunately two patrolling sentries rode by n helped. back on the road n away ..... fetched pillion (can i classify her as a rear hugger ?) from ipoh. lesson #2. with side boxes, pillion mounts bike awkwardly. with left foot along the foot peg (instead of at right angle to the peg) becos the V35 boxes come in very close to the rear pegs. so if he/she is wearing heavy biker boots, maybe a little iffy. ok, she was in her crocs. then to squeeze between rider n top box to get comfortably seated. all this movement at the rear end and me on tip toes, thank goodness it wasn't big mama climbing on board !. but once underway, bike was very stable. she likes the cocoon effect of the bags beside n behind her. she cannot roll over or fall off .......

didn't go fast. 130-140 kph per the speedo. the givi windshield did catch the dawn bugs before they hit me n kept the cold air off my chest. but wind noise was still high, probably becos i wasn't wearing a full face helmet. bike picks up speed without u realising it and often we were above 150 before pulling back. didn't check for fuel consumption.

got a few fotos to share but dunno how to post. can anyone help ?.

dintigger, welcome back to earth. thks for the invite n will take it up soon. spore food is ok. penang food is ok+. n caught the tummy bug by eating too much hawker fare. take the wify when you ride to kl. the mega sale is on next month. we drop her off in mid-valley mall, n we go riding to awana/genting.

heard another green V is hitting your roads this weekend !. welcome mystery rider .......

rgds

hey guys wassup? myred great to hwear ur report. u can join photobucket and let them hist ur pics and then u can link to them here. i should think it's still free - quite awhile back when i joined up. new shipment eh? ok well the black wasn't me i suppose cos i jus got back from bkk jus now.

i night go for short day trip to malacca next weekend - just to accompany my fren to go back home for awhile heh. will be good trying her out for long distance riding.anyway malacca ain't that far off.

sigh i am not the only green shreky one now in SG:(

that the other one will be me ha!ha! Today, I saw ur ride parked next to mine. Sorry no time to look for u becos i got so many requests, Ahmad & co must be was so piss off with me. Entirely my fault, as i din tell them in one go...

Lastly, this is an awsome ride, it really lived up to its name.

anyway, i miss wildcard.

just one of his insensate followers...