Does u feel it is worth it 2 buy class 2 sportsbike?  

281 members have voted

1. 1. Does u feel it is worth it 2 buy class 2 sportsbike?

• yes
    • no

depends on your age la bro. Take wat u can afford.

Seriously speaking 2003-2005 models of 600, CBR6, K4 k5, R6 the insurance premium not that expensive. Maybe wif NCB $500-$700 depend on age. IF above 25 years shld be quite affordable !

New bike don need to say la. I ask for quote for 07 R6. My age 25. I was quote $1050 ( with 20% about $800).

So if you cannot pay $500-700 comfortably, then THINK TWICE:angel:

icic....so lets sae i ride R6 03 model at the age of 22yrs old. Hw much wil my insurance b? At tt time i wil have onli 2 yrs of riding experience.

http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q292/hohaoyi/1_394809140l.jpg

My Humble "Xiao Huang S4"

• Replies 75

Sorry to hijack your post cos i also interested in the maintaince cost of a bike. So if i'm around 24+ years old and with only like 1 year of riding of experience would the insurance be very high to get a new litre bike like R1?

shld be about $1200 i guess - call up to get quote lah

u like to travel.. on a bike or normal means??

now the qns is.. how passionate are u??

BAJAJ Pulsar 180(apr06)-(nov07)

HONDA NSR 150 sp(nov07)-(mar09)

HONDA specIII(mar09)-(dec10)

HONDA wave125(dec10)-(nov12)

YAMAHA rxz135(nov12)-

top speed: TBC

mileage: miles away

Quote: not the fastest bike but the faster rider...

**if iam wrong please correct me, iam only new to this**

u like to travel.. on a bike or normal means??

now the qns is.. how passionate are u??

pai sae for late reply. I am passionate abt bike if nt i wun buy super 4 lor...lol...

But when i caluate the price of class 2 bikes, it wil b close 2 driving a car liao lor...then mine as well drive car better. No nd kena rain. Tt's jz my own opion.

Afterall i feel 400cc is quite fast in singapore liao. Unless it comes to touring wif class 2 bike then i feel slow.

Tt's y i am confused.

If u have only a year of experience, it would mean that you do not have a Class 2 licence, right?

pai sae for late reply. I am passionate abt bike if nt i wun buy super 4 lor...lol...

But when i caluate the price of class 2 bikes, it wil b close 2 driving a car liao lor...then mine as well drive car better. No nd kena rain. Tt's jz my own opion.

Afterall i feel 400cc is quite fast in singapore liao. Unless it comes to touring wif class 2 bike then i feel slow.

Tt's y i am confused.

Already proves you are not passionate.

i guess u r rite in some ways ba...thanx

yeah... i onli gt up 2 class 2a. I can get my class 2 in 2 mths time. Tt's y i am deciding lor.

i think cl2 bikes is really ex now & unless u have plans for it, riding around in spore in that litre machines is just too costly for me...

1997 - Yamaha RXZ (Jap Model), 1999 - Yamaha TZM150, 2000 - Yamaha RXS115, 2001 - Honda Wave 125S, 2002 - Yamaha 125Z, 2004 - 2011 Yamaha XJR400RR Redbull Theme, 2005 - Spark Z110, 2006 - Kawasaki KRR150, 2009 - Suzuki Bandit 400, 2010 - Suzuki GSXR400R(project cannibalism), 2011 - Suzuki Hayabusa Gen 1 White Motul Theme, 2012 - Suzuki K6 1K & RZ350LC *lead XJR Sgp since 2007 - 2012*

Tt's y i am confused.

Can you calculate for us, cos I own a Cl2 bike but still haven come close to owning a car....

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

if u comparing bike with cars,means u r not really 100% interested in cl2 bike,

if u not riding outta from s'pore,i suggest u stick with current bike,

Tt's y i am confused.

How can the price of riding bike close to driving car?

Did you add up downpayment, monthly installments, interest, running cost, ERP, fuel, maintainence etc

Road tax & season parking cost a lot more than bike. Even parking coupons also cost more than bike.

If you are holding back because of bike insurance then maybe you can forget about car at the moment. The insurance fee is even more.

I did some calculation myself before i get my class 2 bike and it is not even close.

Maybe he can shred some light doing some calculation for us..I knew even for a very basic car,each month you got to cough 1.1k to 1.3k or so for the next 10 years...Cl2 bikes...Maybe 50-70% of that....

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

how much is the insurance for a typical 1.6L jap car?

again...it mainly boils down to age and experience...can be as low as 600 or as high as 2k...but at least u can have ur dad or someone senior be the owner...not like bikes...need to have named rider to ride...

How can the price of riding bike close to driving car?

Did you add up downpayment, monthly installments, interest, running cost, ERP, fuel, maintainence etc

Road tax & season parking cost a lot more than bike. Even parking coupons also cost more than bike.

If you are holding back because of bike insurance then maybe you can forget about car at the moment. The insurance fee is even more.

I did some calculation myself before i get my class 2 bike and it is not even close.

i guess u r rite in sum ways. Thanx u for yr comments. I was tinkin at the start tt let sae i buy a brand new 600cc bike. The machine wil cost mi around $16k +-. Let sae an old car cost $30k +. I can use tt $$$ as downpayment instead.

Fuel consumption is around 1lite=11-18k.

Insurance=1.6k.

Tt y i find it quite close to driving le.

Wat i did nt tk in consideration was ERP, parking fee. Thanx.

buying 1 is easy, maintaining & keeping is another.

u dun need much capital in buying one, but u gotta ask yrself if u can afford to keep it (no offences)...

as in, regular maintance, rd tax, insurance, aftermarket parts...

IMO, getting any class 2 motorcycle is a passion for riding. You do not really think about the money aspect. If commuting is all you need, think small.

Sad to say, this question has been raised many times. You do not ask whether a bike is worth it or not when you really want it. If you have to consider the worthiness of your passion, you are not ready for it.

I could not agree more. Not because you 2 idiots are my frens, but a lot of us are short sighted. We think buying the bike is forever. Not true. In this case, a diamond is more forever. The running cost is high, and easily caught us off guard, toppling the balance on the scales of spending and overspending, often sending what used to be healthy saving accounts to demise. Those who hold onto a credit card, hold it tight. You had been warned :lol:

Most of us are from the outside looking in, because we are not upgrading thus it's easy to say rational things. But come the time ourselves, we let emotions rulz, to find ourselves in commitments we could not get out off, after the first few months of ownership.

I am getting withdrawal syndrome now that I had not been riding for 4 months. I so wanted my previous bike, but I know that it is not the right time for that bike now. It's hard to look somewhere else, but I had to. I had to tell myself it's for the better.

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

I could not agree more. Not because you 2 idiots are my frens, but a lot of us are short sighted. We think buying the bike is forever. Not true. In this case, a diamond is more forever. The running cost is high, and easily caught us off guard, toppling the balance on the scales of spending and overspending, often sending what used to be healthy saving accounts to demise. Those who hold onto a credit card, hold it tight. You had been warned :lol:

Most of us are from the outside looking in, because we are not upgrading thus it's easy to say rational things. But come the time ourselves, we let emotions rulz, to find ourselves in commitments we could not get out off, after the first few months of ownership.

I am getting withdrawal syndrome now that I had not been riding for 4 months. I so wanted my previous bike, but I know that it is not the right time for that bike now. It's hard to look somewhere else, but I had to. I had to tell myself it's for the better.

well said!!!

i guess mani of us simply admire class 2 bikes. But not knowing hw it is lk 2 own 1 and the price behind. It may nt b as great when owning it.

Sumtimes, we sld ride wat wi nd instead... and wat wi can afford.

If the rider is nt tt fast, no point ride a class 2 fast bike at slow speed of 100km/h. It simply mking the engine cry, also mking yr wallet cry...lol

well said!!!

i guess mani of us simply admire class 2 bikes. But not knowing hw it is lk 2 own 1 and the price behind. It may nt b as great when owning it.

Sumtimes, we sld ride wat wi nd instead... and wat wi can afford.

If the rider is nt tt fast, no point ride a class 2 fast bike at slow speed of 100km/h. It simply mking the engine cry, also mking yr wallet cry...lol

Anyway given yr current lifestyle i think Class 2A is sufficient for u.

Buying a Class 2 bike is a huge commitment and how long u plan to ride that Class 2 bike too?

Wait until u r very fiancially well off then u can reconsider a Class 2 again, more choices too!

Anyway given yr current lifestyle i think Class 2A is sufficient for u.

Buying a Class 2 bike is a huge commitment and how long u plan to ride that Class 2 bike too?

Wait until u r very fiancially well off then u can reconsider a Class 2 again, more choices too!

i guess u r rite ba. Class 2 bike is indeed a huge commitment. If for class 2 i plan to ride around 1-2yrs ba

hi guys

Giv mi yr suggestion weather u tink class 2 sportsbike are worth buying. Rate in terms of performance, maintance cost, road tax, insurance( less sae 22 yrs old+- ), reliablity, spare availabitly.

I am current riding a super 4 spec 1. I wil b able 2 get class 2 nxt yr jan, bt unsure if i 1 to upgrade ant?

I am considering getting 600cc or 1000cc sportsbike. Probably R6 or R1. Old model it's ok. More towards the $$$.

I dun go to track. I love travelling.

For now, juz take the risk and buy a cheap older class 2 bike. Try and feel the power. If u fall in love with it, save money, take ur time and browse ard for ur dream bike. The more u downpay, the lesser it hurts to pay ur monthly installments.

If by then u still feel its not worth it, juz sell it off n go back to 2a bike... :thumb:

As salamu alaikum, May peace be upon you...