there is no temp gauge meter.. the only way is to ensure ur fan is working

1 Oct 04 - 8 Dec 05 ____Phantom 200 FV 6644R -- LAURA

8 Dec 05 - 24 Jan 09 _______ Super 4 Vtec 1 FR 4602X--LANA

------- - --- _______________________________-- LENALEE

• Replies 70

After reading thru this thread..I suggest that all those who have had tried almost anything to cure their overheating sickness do this..

Talking about flushing..its not just pumping clean water thru to git rid of the scales...etc in the path system.

Go get a can of radiator system cleaner (kind of 'acidic' to formation found in your coolant flow system..effective especially in cleaning the internal of the radiator cooling tubings)...mostly comes in liquid form in most brands..except for "HOLTS" comes in power form. Read the instruction carefully..you are suppose to drain off your coolant...then mixed this coolant flush detergent with water and filled it up in your coolant system like you normally do. After that..let it run for 5 to 10 mins or more...better still..go and ride a few km. The idea is to have it heated up and once hot, it would break and cleanse all the accumulated scales and whatever **** that narrowed or obstruct your coolant flow path. After that..you have to drained it off and use normal water to washed (just hosed with clean water or if you do not have access to that..use a clean empty 1.5 litre Coke or Mirinda or F&N filled with water and squeeze hard to 'pump' water thru).. to clear any residues left behind. After this is done and you think its clean..top up with any brand of coolant.

And for coolant..just dont add into the coolant system...read instruction if its premixed already or concentrated. The one selling at NTUC is only $7.59 I think and its concentrated..so mix mix lah. If you get premixed one and you mix mix lah...you feel things hotter than usual and coolant dry out sooner than usual. Good luck guys :)

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

Sometimes, it may not be just due to the slag in the coolant system, especially if the color of the coolant is still good and not in rusty condition. For older bikes/engines when the mileage gets high, excessive carbon build up will occur in the cylinders, exhaust header and silencer. In addition, the compression ratio would have deteriorated and increase heat built up will occur during the normal operation of the engine.

Long ago, my sister's 8-years old SUZUKI (car) with high mileage also experienced abnormal overheating. We sent it to a workshop for a complete radiator flush, using their so-called specialized machine and detergent, running for a good 20 minutes or so. After that, it did improved a bit, but the same problem recurred again after a few months of usage. Finally, the mechanic recommended either have to recondition the engine or to change a new car, which she did on the latter.

hello

I am so afraid by hearing this problem.

Where can i Buy temp gauge meter something like voltmeter for super 4 Version S.

i used to hv one 3in1 temp gauge $200+ from MW but spoiled in less than 1 yr. MW refunded me the money. Now MW got another brand, specially for bikes used only, water resistant. Also $200 plus.

i really find it useful, coz when coolant level low, or radiator fouling or radiator pump spoil, the temp gauge will warn you before the engine block cracks.

John 15:7 (New International Version)

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

-- it's true & it really works for me. :)

I had the same problem too last few days... when i was riding, the overheat light came out and when i stopped my bike,heard boiling sounds came from the coolant reservoir and also the coolant squirt out from below of my bike...Went to southern motor..found out that my thermostat gets burn up and the fan is not werking...so they change for me a NEW THERMOSTAT and A NEW FAN SWITCH...after that...WaLLa!!!! My bike feels good as new..no more overheating...

The name is pOJi05HoNdA..

The FaMoUs StaRs AnD StRiPs

http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff109/pOJi05HoNdA/IMAGE_008.jpg

And it only cost me 70 bucks....U guys might wanna go check wat happen....i myself worried when the lights pop out

The name is pOJi05HoNdA..

The FaMoUs StaRs AnD StRiPs

http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff109/pOJi05HoNdA/IMAGE_008.jpg

hi, anyone knw for VER S how big is the coolant compartment? For VER S i knw there is a coolant under the tank area and a reserve compartment at a side at the rear brake area. So does 1 lites of coolant liquid enough to fill up both the main and reserve compartment? Thanks...

mi aso have this problem b4... but i change a new radiator n the water pump nw pro solve liao....

http://www.motorcycle.kuarto4.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/2011-yamaha-fz1-motorcycle1.jpg

Scary.

I just bought the S4 Revo, albeit it's my first S4. But, after a while, I feel as though my nuts are being ground-roasted. Is this common?

Drive : Proton Saga 1.3M SJN plate (11th June 10 - Present)

Ride : Honda S4 Revo FBC plate (12th July 08 - Present)

Former Ride : Phantom TA200 FV plate (9th September 05 - 12th July 08)

Revo is much2 hotter compared to the carb version...Rode my dad's revo and i too feel like my nuts are being roasted.Its normal as long as the temperature light does not lights up.

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/582610_512257702123995_1975741852_n.jpg

Hey guys, abit noob here. :sweat: Just wanna ask, If overheat, what is the aftermath? As in what will actually happen to the bike? (Kaboom, the coolant reservoir explode??) :dot:

Just got a spec 1 today, is there any light indicator on it? And i do know the thigh there will be hot, but how hot is too hot?? :lol:

Haha, sorry ar, dunno much abt super4 also. Thanks for replying too :sweat:

http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2679/189/29/620279922/n620279922_2379756_8186156.jpg

Shared grief is half the sorrow. Happiness when shared is doubled

http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs110.snc3/15733_203433224922_620279922_4083571_81483_n.jpg

在错的时候é‡åˆ°å¯¹çš„人, æ˜¯é—æ†¾;

在对的时候é‡åˆ°é”™çš„人, 是错爱;

在错的时候é‡åˆ°é”™çš„人, 是幸è¿;

在对的时候é‡åˆ°å¯¹çš„人, 是幸ç¦.

Hey guys, abit noob here. :sweat: Just wanna ask, If overheat, what is the aftermath? As in what will actually happen to the bike? (Kaboom, the coolant reservoir explode??) :dot:

Just got a spec 1 today, is there any light indicator on it? And i do know the thigh there will be hot, but how hot is too hot?? :lol:

Haha, sorry ar, dunno much abt super4 also. Thanks for replying too :sweat:

I tink if overheat, the temp light will turn on.. Tat means engine is overheating and u shld stop riding and get to bike shop to have a check.. Overheating will caused sever damage to ur engine and other parts of the bike.. It'll cost u a bomb in repairs if ur bike gets severly overheat.. Tat's y it's impt to check once in a while for ur coolant level, fan etc etc..

Max

SpecIII Rider

http://i277.photobucket.com/albums/kk53/u0605382/SNC00042-1.jpg

http://www.speedtest.net/result/333285646.png

bro, thanks for the info. Cos i stay east, work in west, worried 1 day might just break down on the expressway :pray:

http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2679/189/29/620279922/n620279922_2379756_8186156.jpg

Shared grief is half the sorrow. Happiness when shared is doubled

http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs110.snc3/15733_203433224922_620279922_4083571_81483_n.jpg

在错的时候é‡åˆ°å¯¹çš„人, æ˜¯é—æ†¾;

在对的时候é‡åˆ°é”™çš„人, 是错爱;

在错的时候é‡åˆ°é”™çš„人, 是幸è¿;

在对的时候é‡åˆ°å¯¹çš„人, 是幸ç¦.

bro, thanks for the info. Cos i stay east, work in west, worried 1 day might just break down on the expressway :pray:

No prob.. Juz make sure u do the necessary maintainence and occassionally checks, it shld keep ur bike free from problems..

Max

SpecIII Rider

http://i277.photobucket.com/albums/kk53/u0605382/SNC00042-1.jpg

http://www.speedtest.net/result/333285646.png

hi bros... if i buy the autogauge temp meter, where and how to install? into the engine oil cap? or is it just placed against the radiator? thanks for any advice...

btw guys .. ( and gals, if any..) im riding version S also and my coolant always dries up... give up topping up already, give up spending money to fix it also.... how much does the cooling system help anyway? if riding at expressway is the air cooling effect substantial enough? anybody knows?

(i.e im trying to say if avoid traffic jams is it possible to just ride it without coolant system working properly...)

(a friend of mine has been unknowingly riding his ver S for nearly a year without coolant)

currently holding on to one reburished version S radiator, anybody knows how to check if it works (no leak) before installing?

thanks for all the advice

I tink coolan water flow orund ur piston part n bring heat 2 riadiator 2 cool down .. it circulate..so witot tat culand water... very jialat..

btw how 2 chk if fan is working or not?

DUN RACE WITH TIME...

I had the same problem too last few days... when i was riding, the overheat light came out and when i stopped my bike,heard boiling sounds came from the coolant reservoir and also the coolant squirt out from below of my bike...Went to southern motor..found out that my thermostat gets burn up and the fan is not werking...so they change for me a NEW THERMOSTAT and A NEW FAN SWITCH...after that...WaLLa!!!! My bike feels good as new..no more overheating...

bro,they change ur fan switch izit bcoz ur fan not werking?

Its Totally Not About The Bike,But its Totally Bout The RIDER!!:angel:

to test yur fan? pull out the wire at radiator and put the connector on a hot/metal surface

passed class 2B 31-08-06 (ex phantom TA200)

passed class 2A 06-11-07 (riding cb400 S1)

passes class 3 17-04-07 (some times)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v431/ahboy_ahboy/image004.gif

I think cheapest way of solving this problem is to get some cheap coolant and flush the radiator. THEN use Engine Ice Coolant.. It works for me i dunno if you guys wanna try.

Ya... Engine ice.... Gd man... Hv a try on tat...

Rider Can Be Driver, But Driver Cannot Be Rider......