that gantry at the bottom of the slope thing is in the top ten list of dumbest things around.....what? must be that the people who made that havent seen let alone know how vehicles operate.

lol......funny......... funny & sad.:faint:

***Only 1 image allowed in signature***

http://bp0.blogger.com/_ES9JRO6fI4g/RgUtxP7he2I/AAAAAAAAAdM/80dbjgjm04U/s320/North+Thai+Laos+454.jpg

http://pistolwhipsite.blogspot.com/

• Replies 66

rochor centre. motorbikes coming out of the carpark, make sure you follow the lane indicated for motorcycles only. mistakenly, once without realising it, exited outside of the lane and the charges were for a car.

likewise, upon entry the gantry post is located on the downhill. this is a very popular carpark and if one does not know and thought you can cut the long queue of cars, you will end up facing a gantry post with no way of reversing and no way of squeesing thru. I ended in this situation and TRIED to squeeze between the posts, my bike went thru but not my top-box. resulted in a terribly damaged post, was caught by the attendant and told the damage was $300!!

Originally posted by |FREDDY|@Nov 10 2005, 02:36 AM

not a good idea to use th machine to put cash card oso

i am working in simlimsquare but there was oni once when i really enter the basement cardpark..

my iu is under my pillion seat so cannot detect ok nvm

i saw a sign board writen VEHICLE WITHOUT IU INSERT CASHCARD

so i insert my cash card in

after work happily go to the exit insert cash card again

$17plus

becoz they detect us as car

then i make a u turn go to the parking office

the auntie say y i insert the cash card at the 1st place

i told her the board writes vehicles without iu insert cash card

then i ask he motorbike not vehicle meh?

Bro i can totally understand your situation! The IU on my bike was fitted on my left n the standard IU sensor is loctaed on my right. Twice in takashimaya, i moved my bike front n back but barrier no response. The intercom speaker ask mi to insert my cash card in to the machine. I happliy do that. 4 hours laters, the charges is like 24buck!! :mad:

THE biggest hurdle to implementing ERP islandwide is nothing more than to accomodate the malaysians without IU.

I cannot imagine imposing ALL the malaysian scooters and cars to fix IU, so that they can go thru ERP gantry and park in HDB carparks.

This big headache is impossible to be solved.

Therefore I doubt it that ERP can ever be implemented islandwide in the next ten years!!

Originally posted by kiss29@Dec 4 2005, 09:21 PM

THE biggest hurdle to implementing ERP islandwide is nothing more than to accomodate the malaysians without IU.

I cannot imagine imposing ALL the malaysian scooters and cars to fix IU, so that they can go thru ERP gantry and park in HDB carparks.

This big headache is impossible to be solved.

Therefore I doubt it that ERP can ever be implemented islandwide in the next ten years!!

Is all abt $$$ :cheeky:

tats the problem with these stoopid erp sensors....

mabbe should get a bloody heavy bike n go pass the sensor n hope it can't detect. den juz park the bike on the slope n cause a huge jam and since the bike is so heavy, it'll need a few pple to push up the slope. Den call the management to come n help you push.

Do that a few times with various bikes and they'll start to use their rotting brains.

they will probably have the easiest way out. No bike parking here! :lol:

Guest pipika
Originally posted by Arcfire@Dec 8 2005, 05:03 PM

tats the problem with these stoopid erp sensors....

mabbe should get a bloody heavy bike n go pass the sensor n hope it can't detect. den juz park the bike on the slope n cause a huge jam and since the bike is so heavy, it'll need a few pple to push up the slope. Den call the management to come n help you push.

Do that a few times with various bikes and they'll start to use their rotting brains.

I did that on burlington square... gantry is halfway up the slope where one cannot see and didn't know they start charging for bikes..... caused a jam.. the car driver still sit happily in the car.... in the end 2 security guards and 1 worker help to reverse my vtec down the slope...

If they slipped and had crashed into the cars behind, wonder what the managemennt will say/do...

Jan 24, 2006

Motor cyclists are being overcharged in HDB car parks

I am a motorcyclist who, three months ago, went to the HDB Hub for some transactions. I discovered on exiting that the car park had been outsourced to a private operator who uses cash card technology to charge motorists.

This outsourcing move by the HDB to reduce cost and improve productivity is to be commended. Unfortunately this is done at the expense of motorcyclists as far as charges by the operator, especially for short-term parking, are anything to go by.

Here are two examples of overcharging for motorcycles vis-a-vis cars: For cars, a rate of 50 cents per half-hour is charged. Motorcycles are charged 65 cents per entry.

If both were to park for half an hour, the amount paid by the motorcyclist is 15 cents more than the driver. Is this justified?

Cars are charged by the minute at, perhaps, two cents per minute. Motor cycles are charged 65 cents per entry. If both vehicles were to park for 15 minutes, the amount paid by the motor cyclist is 35 cents more than the driver. Isn't this exorbitant to the poor motor cyclist?

On the other hand, motor cyclists with a single 65 cents coupon valid for the day are allowed unlimited access to any HDB-managed coupon-based car park.

The amount saved by a motorcyclist is quite substantial compared to the charges for using the cash card-operated ones. Granted that the latter are managed by different operators, it is illogical and unreasonable to expect them to emulate the HDB in granting motor cyclists the same privilege of unlimited access to the car park at the same charge of 65 cents a day.

Conversely, what is there to prevent these private car park operators from configuring their system to charge the motor cyclists according to the time they park instead of a fixed 65 cents per entry?

Can the private car park operators please explain why are the savings from not using parking coupons and less manpower in cash card-operations not passed on to motorists?

For the welfare of motorists, may I urge the HDB to retain the rights to regulate the parking charges when outsourcing the job in future.

Seah Kian Chong

Taken from online Straits Times forum

There we go, same issue. The writer mentioned 2 examples how the motorcyclists park 15 mins end up paying more than the car who similarly parked 15 mins. But then, it is exactly the same with coupons: if u haven broken out a coupon yet, u park 15 mins u still pay 65c compared to the car who pay less for 15 mins.

The issue isn 15 min parking, its transferability. despite paying more for this kind of '15 min parking', in the long run we still pay less parking than the car coz our coupon can be used whole day anywhere. so if the new system has the same transferability, there wouldn be any issue.

Which is the bottomline: are they or are they not gonna find a way to make the new system as transferable for motorcycle parking like the coupon system?

in addition to the issue of brainless locations for gantries of coz, which still irritates the hell out of me.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

and TP will be so happy. $70 summons each time.

oh and by the way, not TP happy. summoning jobs have also been outsourced to external vendors, namely, United Premas Ltd.

and u thought the JB policeman was corrupt and greedy.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v56/flykite/futurerp.jpg

TP dun get bigger paycheck or bonus or commission from summons. their bonus is the as accorded to civil sector. the idea that they summon more during christmas so that got money for bonus is just a joke from us road users to make fun of them and vent our frustration, and i dun see how anyone can actually believe it to be true.

wardens from outsource companies dun get commission either. summons go to authorities, not the outsourced companies; the companies are paid by the authorities for the service based on area, not how many summons they generate. again, the idea that the outsourced companies directly earn from summons collected is naive.

warden or tp or rov, yah we all have our grouse against them: very strict lah, dun give chance lah, etc etc etc. but one thing u cant argue: the law is there, everytime we as road users kena is coz in some way or another we broke some regulation or other. they dun pretend to write summons then wink-wink and hint-hint waiting for us extend 'special fee'.

i may have been subjected to the long arm of the law myself from time to time like the rest of us and been pissed about it, definitely, but for goodness sake dun equate our enforcers to elsewhere.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

I guess the majority of pple knows that TP do not get bigger paycheck for an increased number of summons, including myself. But I am really suspecting the quota conspiracy. I'm sure I'm not the only one, but have u diligently parked your bike in a proper parking slot, obediently put your coupon, correctly tore off four tabs, checked the coupon twice and returned happily to find no long white paper on your fuel tank, and then nothing happens until two weeks later u receive a letter telling u that u have not compounded your $8, $25 or $70 summon.

of course, i would go appeal to the authorities, but wat evidence do I have? the coupon stub? if showing the coupon stub works well enough, I wouldn't have to put a coupon each time i park. I just bid my chances, and each time I get a summon for not putting coupon, I just tear off a relevant coupon and send it in. But it's not the case. And wat happens? I sadly go pay $8 for nothing. Could it be the warden key wrong plate number? Possible. Or the summon ticket fly off? Also possible, but why is my parking coupon still at my fuel tank? Wouldn't the warden have seen my coupon while he put the summon on my fuel tank? and if its a $25 or $70 fine, do i have to take a pic of my bike each time i park? even so, will it stand as evidence?

If u ever encounter this kind of problem, u will know exactly what I say. I am innocent, but i am punished because of someone else's "honest" mistake, if it really is. If I am caught red-handed, I accept the blame. But i am innocent! And this hasn't happened just once, it's TWICE in three months! How am I to feel secure about parking my bike knowing that I could get summon even if I have put my coupon??

Which brings us to a greater solution, parking at a ERP carpark, cos u are billed upfront, there is no need for wardens to be physically present enforce the 65cents payment. The error [or quota] at human level is factored out by the use of machines. Problem is, as some of us may encounter, including myself, that ERP sensors at carparks are often so terrible that sometimes I feel really embarassed to cause that massive jam behind me cos the sensor cannot detect my IU that has passed the VICOM IU inspection not long ago.

Not only so, if we're double-billed, or even triple, who's willing to happily pay and pay? I hate to say this, but I believe more than half of the riders in Singapore ride a bike because they cannot afford a car but need the time flexibility and mobility in the form of a bike of which public transport cannot provide. I certainly have a passion for bikes, but I'd rather be driving now that there are so many cars on the road. I need to have my private transport because of my need to be mobile for my job, but I cannot afford a car even though COE prices are at their lowest now. The last thing I need is to have another person committing another "honest" mistake on the road like not checking blind spot and I'm given a passport to heaven's gate.

My point is, other than just the ERP sensors having difficulty scanning our IUs, I hope I don't have to pay more just so that I can earn my salary, which doesn't seem to rise in line with the inflation rate. Rising fuel prices have driven me to JB already, wats next? someone to "spoil the market" and the govt implements hourly parking for bikes? Not that I cannot afford to pay that an additional hundred bucks to continue riding, but it spoils the delicate equilibrium we've established long ago between convenience, cost, time, mobility, flexibility and personal safety while deciding to ride. I ride because I can't afford to drive (I drove for six months and realised that 120% of my salary went to the car) and its cheaper and more convenient to ride to work than taking public transport and my job requires me to be flexible with time and be mobile but i'm taking a chance with my personal safety. Spoil this balance and everything goes or may have to go.

We're squeezed left, right, center by cars on the road and now by the govt all the time. The phrase "Pay And Pay. Why Pay? So Don't Pay." are coined long ago to poke fun at the Govt but sadly there is truth in it. Not an equation to law enforcers elsewhere, but not all JB policemen are corrupt and greedy.

Just my views. Can't even afford two cents.

Originally posted by flykite@Jan 27 2006, 01:08 AM

but have u diligently parked your bike in a proper parking slot, obediently put your coupon, correctly tore off four tabs, checked the coupon twice and returned happily to find no long white paper on your fuel tank, and then nothing happens until two weeks later u receive a letter telling u that u have not compounded your $8, $25 or $70 summon.

actually..... never.....

but some ppl claim to have happened to them so... well cant really say how that happens. i'm more inclined to believe that its a mistake somewhere, not necessarily forgivable, but probably not a case of "i need to fill my quota i just anyhow summon this vehicle despite the vehicle not doing anything wrong".

quota? i 50/50 believe have or dun have. NEA littering officers i suspect have based on personal experience and newspaper articles, so maybe TP and ROV and wardens have too. but only suspicion, no hard evidence. but quota or otherwise, it seems to me the worst that happens is they totally dun give chance; i hardly hear of deliberate wrongful summon just to fill quota. though NEA was pushing it a bit a few years back.

as for ur views on ERP parking, i agree that IF they are transferable (and therefore same as current coupon system), and IF they work fine and to our convenience, i'm all for it. this was in fact the issue i raised in my letter: its not transferable, and its inconvenient or doesn work well for bikes.

well. quite a number of erp carparks have banned bikes. Even for those that allow bikes, seldom u find proper parking slots demarcated for bikes. Such is the situation and insignificance of the biking community to the motoring society in Singapore. Will [the govt] do more for us? i hardly think so.

Anyway, I myself do not have hard evidence to prove that there is a quota for summons. However, if u work in a corporation, u will know that statistics mean alot of things to the management and statistics alone can pay six months' bonus or having another retrenchment exercise. Here the process of summoning is outsourced to an external vendor and if the vendor fails to produce statistics that match or even surpass those of TP and ROV, they may lose the contract. which boils down to $$$.

More summon = better statistics = [implied] vendor is fulfilling its duties = renewal of contract = more $$$$$$$

Less summon = poor statistics = [implied] vendor is not faithfully carrying out its duties = termination of contract = no $

u get wat im trying to say? no one will ever publicly announce that there's a quota to meet, but u can second-guess this. i'm sure u know. :thumb:

Originally posted by flykite@Jan 27 2006, 11:29 PM

well. quite a number of erp carparks have banned bikes. Even for those that allow bikes, seldom u find proper parking slots demarcated for bikes. Such is the situation and insignificance of the biking community to the motoring society in Singapore. Will [the govt] do more for us? i hardly think so.

u referring to HDB/URA carparks? any examples? coz i haven seen any HDB/URA carparks complete 'ban' on bike lots. they might reduce the number inside the carpark coz drivers complain, but i have yet to see outright ban.

shopping centers and such, yes some dun allow bikes but thats a different story, they are not 'public', watever they want to do bikers just LL.

Anyway, I myself do not have ..... no one will ever publicly announce that there's a quota to meet, but u can second-guess this. i'm sure u know. :thumb:

so long as it never hit a situation where enforcers wrongfully issue summons purely to fill quotas, i'm fine with it; because then the worst that can happen like i said is they "dun give chance at all", if u in the right watever quota exists they still can't issue summons.

on your 1st point, i havent made the effort to verify or count, but i believe such is the case. however, as though if it is pure coincidence, some HDB/URA carparks are also outsourced to external vendors to run and manage. not too surprisingly, the vendor given the contract to manage the carpark are usually the very same one contracted to do summons. I say so because i have seen with my own eyes, and it's not just once.

I know where u are coming from, in that if im in the right there's nothing they can do to fill the quota. but im convinced that more creative and wonderful ways have been devised to help us get summoned. I reason that the act of shutting off carparks to bikes by the use of ineffective ERP sensors is itself one such method devised and is equivalent to the act of encouraging bikes to park on pavements in the vicinity, thereby promoting a series of parking offences to which traffic wardens could be easily directed at.

im not suggesting that ERP sensors have been intentionally made to be ineffective. ERP gantries at the expressways and 19 entry points to the CBD have never failed to detect and deduct the corresponding value from my IU and cashcard respectively. What puzzles me is that, despite the speed we are travelling on the expressway, coupled with the distance the sensor is from our IU, the expressway gantry still is able to detect and deduct. The ERP carpark sensor is less distant from our IU and our vehicle speed is neglible as compared to the expressway, but they have problems detecting our IU??

makes no sense to me certainly, but the conspiracy against bikes theory serves as a fulfilling explanation to pple like me who thinks that our Singapore is a fine nation that declares astounding improvement in the economy each year but majority of the citizens are still as affected as ever.

Originally posted by flykite@Jan 28 2006, 03:09 PM

on your 1st point, i havent made the effort to verify or count, but i believe such is the case. however, as though if it is pure coincidence, some HDB/URA carparks are also outsourced to external vendors to run and manage. not too surprisingly, the vendor given the contract to manage the carpark are usually the very same one contracted to do summons. I say so because i have seen with my own eyes, and it's not just once.

i have never seen any HDB/URA parking which 'bans' bike lots. sometimes there are not enough lots, but where this is so, its usually popular carparks where car lots are not enough either.

in fact i typically opt for HDB/URA parking when available rather than other types like shopping centers, because when i enter HDB/URA carpark, 99% chance i will find bike lots, with the size and location of the lots suitable for bikes. this is not the case for other private carparks.

as for the rest of your point, i think its a creative conspiracy theory. i dun believe it, but we believe what we believe.

so much for that.

anyway,

Here's wishing all a very happy chinese new year and 恭喜发财 (gong xi fa cai) to all!

恭祝新禧, 吉星高照,财运亨通, 多福多寿, 健康长寿!

愿新年带给你和你所爱的人许多美好的事物和无尽的祝福!

新年快乐!

:cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

the multi car park opp Junction 8 also like that.

Not only its on a slope. there is a HUMP also.. there are so many times the sensor cant detect my IU.. and i have to use all my strength to push my bike up the slope and over the STup1D HUMP...

Although there is a aunty working there, instead of helping, she scolded mi.. :giddy:

Happened to me twice at Bishan Junction 8 liao.... first time had to use 'cow' strength and even get off the bike and push...

2nd time was prepared and didn't go over the hump but the stupid system just 'hang' there and i had to wait for almost 5 mins.... even tried inserting cashcard.... The car behind getting impatient I'll bet but heng he didn't start horning.

In the end suddenly the sensor decide to work.... :sian:

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first