Prices at the end of 2005  

100 members have voted

1. 1. Prices at the end of 2005

• $1.90 for 98 and above
    • $2.00 for 98 and above
    • $2.10 for 98 and above
    • $2.20 for 98 and above
    • It will hit $2.50..

HI Bros.,

The quality of the petrol R diffirent between singapore & Malaysia.

U can compare for yourself.It is cheaper but more harmful to your

machines & the environment.

http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h247/Gallantnice/Phantom200.jpg
  • Replies 95

Originally posted by Gallant@Oct 12 2005, 04:45 PM

HI Bros.,

rubbish

Originally posted by Gallant @ Oct 12 2005+ 04:45 PM-->
QUOTE (Gallant @ Oct 12 2005 @ 04:45 PM)

HI Bros.,

Originally posted by Gallant@Oct 12 2005, 04:45 PM

HI Bros.,

Yo Bro.

I believe you came to this conclusion because

Of people's experience and mech's comments.

I will first and foremost start off. All petrol is the same.

Consist of the petrol stock is is know as mogas by the industry.

additives are added to enhance the octane level. Namely Benzene

MTBE and others.

Cleaning additives are added also.

and finally an anti-evaporative agent. This anti-evaporative agent well varies

on climate. When our weather is hotter, it have more. When cooler it have less.

So u will notice that just right after the weather turn hot, The petrol is more responsive but lower mileage cos they have't rotate all their stock with higher anti-evaporative agent yet.

Super premium like Caltex platinium and V-power have a more exotic and expesive additive added. V-power I have no data yet. caltex platinium have oranite™ added.

And petrol in different region are fomulated differently. take V-power for example.

S'pore is formulate for city driving and m'sia is formulated for long distance highway driving.

If you say all M'sian petrol is low quality, all merc, Sport car and whatever vehicle in M'sia will breakdown already.

1 nonsense but logical comment. If it's the case. You think DR M will make noise or not. After his pump national petrol into his proton and break down after than.

The problem only lies on the petrol kiosk.

M'sia style of petrol kisok operation is not so much like singapore.

M'sia have alot of francshise private operator. Not like us, whereby the Petrol co go in direct. We do have franchise operator but it's getting very rare. M'sia have more franchise that us.

So the problem lies on the franchise operator. Not the quality of the petrol.

Some mix water. Some mix kerosene. Some never flush the storage tank for ages.

Some, the autocut off functions have not being working since donkey years.

All these translate to lower cost and bigger profit for them.

If it's the Petrol company operations, Problem of such won't be there.

It's just like factory A make very good soya bean drink. But the franchise seller.

add water it. Store in dirty conatiners and serve it to u in a dirty cup. can u say that factory A make lousy soya bean drink?

Moral of the story, u wan't good m'sian petrol? U must know where to go.

I believe there are alot of post here saying which petrol kisok n m'sai to avoid if you want to avoid petrol kiosk with dishonest practise

Everything we need to pay goes up... example is petrol, gst, housing etc..

but pay do not go up anytime these expenses go up, compensate by using more time to upgrade or work longer hours just trying to keep up.....sian... :nono:

EnJoY Your RiDE

Originally posted by BLACK COMET@Oct 13 2005, 10:34 AM

Yo Bro.

I believe you came to this conclusion because

Of people's experience and mech's comments.

I will first and foremost start off. All petrol is the same.

Consist of the petrol stock is is know as mogas by the industry.

additives are added to enhance the octane level. Namely Benzene

MTBE and others.

Cleaning additives are added also.

and finally an anti-evaporative agent. This anti-evaporative agent well varies

on climate. When our weather is hotter, it have more. When cooler it have less.

So u will notice that just right after the weather turn hot, The petrol is more responsive but lower mileage cos they have't rotate all their stock with higher anti-evaporative agent yet.

Super premium like Caltex platinium and V-power have a more exotic and expesive additive added. V-power I have no data yet. caltex platinium have oranite™ added.

And petrol in different region are fomulated differently. take V-power for example.

S'pore is formulate for city driving and m'sia is formulated for long distance highway driving.

If you say all M'sian petrol is low quality, all merc, Sport car and whatever vehicle in M'sia will breakdown already.

1 nonsense but logical comment. If it's the case. You think DR M will make noise or not. After his pump national petrol into his proton and break down after than.

The problem only lies on the petrol kiosk.

M'sia style of petrol kisok operation is not so much like singapore.

M'sia have alot of francshise private operator. Not like us, whereby the Petrol co go in direct. We do have franchise operator but it's getting very rare. M'sia have more franchise that us.

So the problem lies on the franchise operator. Not the quality of the petrol.

Some mix water. Some mix kerosene. Some never flush the storage tank for ages.

Some, the autocut off functions have not being working since donkey years.

All these translate to lower cost and bigger profit for them.

If it's the Petrol company operations, Problem of such won't be there.

It's just like factory A make very good soya bean drink. But the franchise seller.

add water it. Store in dirty conatiners and serve it to u in a dirty cup. can u say that factory A make lousy soya bean drink?

Moral of the story, u wan't good m'sian petrol? U must know where to go.

I believe there are alot of post here saying which petrol kisok n m'sai to avoid if you want to avoid petrol kiosk with dishonest practise

Oh, U R right, I suppose U R from the petrol industry.U have the

comprehensive knowledge. Yes I make a mistake to say that,

it should be like what U said that it is the culpril of the kisok operator

who spoilt the quality of the petrol.

Actually I did not mentioned the petrol conpany give the inferior

quality petrol for Malaysia market.

What make said that, is because I myself experienced the different

of the quality, U can smell the burning of the fuel & the 'force' of car

there are different from if u pump in Singapore kisoks.

Thank for your enlighten.

Originally posted by sarge@Sep 1 2005, 08:47 AM

As much as we all fear, no half tank rule would be applied IMO.

If the govt wanna do it, it's the full tank rule. open tank cap and be able to see fuel...

to open cap & check for full tank dangerous leh....

bikers in the Q sure have smoker.....

potential fire works.....

1997 TZR 125 - 1998 FZ 150 - 1999 GSXR 400K - 1999 RX 100 - 2000 LC 125 - 2001 TZR 125 - 2002 CB 400 Ver S - 2006 CBR 929 - 2006 GETZ 1.4 - 2009 STEED 400 - 2016 ???

Riders ride to work. Drivers work to drive.

One possibility .....just like bikes coming into sg dun have switch for

headlight (always On).....maybe they may make it mandatory that new bikes

imported to Sg must have fuel gauge......then impose the 3/4 rule.

1997 TZR 125 - 1998 FZ 150 - 1999 GSXR 400K - 1999 RX 100 - 2000 LC 125 - 2001 TZR 125 - 2002 CB 400 Ver S - 2006 CBR 929 - 2006 GETZ 1.4 - 2009 STEED 400 - 2016 ???

Originally posted by Baal@Oct 14 2005, 12:43 PM

to open cap & check for full tank dangerous leh....

bikers in the Q sure have smoker.....

potential fire works.....

There is NO SMOKING At Petrol kiosks.

Originally posted by Gallant@Oct 14 2005, 12:31 PM

Oh, U R right, I suppose U R from the petrol industry.U have the

comprehensive knowledge. Yes I make a mistake to say that,

it should be like what U said that it is the culpril of the kisok operator

who spoilt the quality of the petrol.

Actually I did not mentioned the petrol conpany give the inferior

quality petrol for Malaysia market.

What make said that, is because I myself experienced the different

of the quality, U can smell the burning of the fuel & the 'force' of car

there are different from if u pump in Singapore kisoks.

Thank for your enlighten.

Yo Bro, don't like that leh. :sweat:

The diff In power feel I also tried before.

Most m'sia petrol are design for Highway travelling.

Singapore more for city drivng.

To lazy to type the details so I summerised.

Using V-power as example.

Singapore v-power is smooth at 0~90km/h. Anything higher will start to feel rough.

M'sia v-power is not so smooth at the 0~70km/h range it get smoother and smoother after that.

This I believe will answer the force part.

As for smell. I don't have much infos. The only infos I have is.

SPC petrol will have funny smell. even you pump 98. Smelly.

My wife who is only a pillion can point out straight away saying. Why your bike smell so smellly today? That's is after I give SPC a try last time.

M'sia petrol. My M'sia friends told me that if you pump JB petrol and encounter smelly exhaust smell and low. Chances is that they mix water.

My believe is either they add. or they never do storage tank cleaning for donkey years

Originally posted by Gallant@Oct 14 2005, 01:15 PM

There is NO SMOKING At Petrol kiosks.

Oops, I forgot to mention its when they check at the customs.

Originally posted by Baal@Oct 14 2005, 01:37 PM

Oops, I forgot to mention its when they check at the customs.

Oh That is the horriffic experience,especially during the morning peak hour,

every bike is queuing for clearing pass.

:goodluck: :goodluck:

Originally posted by BLACK COMET@Oct 14 2005, 01:27 PM

Yo Bro, don't like that leh. :sweat:

The diff In power feel I also tried before.

Most m'sia petrol are design for Highway travelling.

Singapore more for city drivng.

To lazy to type the details so I summerised.

Using V-power as example.

Singapore v-power is smooth at 0~90km/h. Anything higher will start to feel rough.

M'sia v-power is not so smooth at the 0~70km/h range it get smoother and smoother after that.

This I believe will answer the force part.

As for smell. I don't have much infos. The only infos I have is.

SPC petrol will have funny smell. even you pump 98. Smelly.

My wife who is only a pillion can point out straight away saying. Why your bike smell so smellly today? That's is after I give SPC a try last time.

M'sia petrol. My M'sia friends told me that if you pump JB petrol and encounter smelly exhaust smell and low. Chances is that they mix water.

My believe is either they add. or they never do storage tank cleaning for donkey years

I presume that, U R in the petroleum line, Am I right???

:bouncefire: :thumb: :cheer:

Black comet, your feedback about petrol are very informative :smile:

Learn a lot more about petrol after reading your post.

My bike states that I can use anything with an octane figure higher than 91,

so it should not be a problem for me if I top up with SPC 92 petrol right?

It is cheap and mileage is better than higher octane petrol.

I even feels that my bike don't run so smoothly when I top up with higher octane petrol such as 98 or higher. Best is when it run on 92 or 95 octane. :smile:

Any reason for that? :confused:

It doesn't make any difference whether a motorcyclist has the right-of-way or not, the rider is the one most likely to get hurt.

http://www.motorcycle-accidents.com/bike_photo/4-21-02_b.jpg

Originally posted by ReBornBikeR@Oct 16 2005, 07:45 AM

I even feels that my bike don't run so smoothly when I top up with higher octane petrol such as 98 or higher. Best is when it run on 92 or 95 octane. :smile:

Hi, Bro.

Is your a TA200.?

Originally posted by ReBornBikeR@Oct 16 2005, 07:45 AM

Yes. Lower octane fuel contains more energy per liter than high octane fuel.

Octane rating is nothing more than a measure of how well petrol resists pre detonation... catching on fire before the spark plug sets it on fire. High compression engines and highly retarded timing can cause fuel to ignite prematurely, resulting in knocking or pinging.

Octane is raised by adding ethanol alcohol or MTBE (or sometimes other stuff) to the petrol. All the additives have less energy than the petrol itself so higher octain fuels have less energy.

Always try to run you bike (or vehicle) on the lowest octane possible. Not only is it cheaper, you get better fuel efficiency. Upgrade ONLY if you experience pinging or predetonation.

Originally posted by Strong Eagle@Oct 30 2005, 08:58 PM

Octane rating is nothing more than a measure of how well petrol resists pre detonation... catching on fire before the spark plug sets it on fire. High compression engines and highly retarded timing can cause fuel to ignite prematurely, resulting in knocking or pinging.

Octane is raised by adding ethanol alcohol or MTBE (or sometimes other stuff) to the petrol. All the additives have less energy than the petrol itself so higher octain fuels have less energy.

Always try to run you bike (or vehicle) on the lowest octane possible. Not only is it cheaper, you get better fuel efficiency. Upgrade ONLY if you experience pinging or predetonation.

i am trying to learn more on the correct usage of petrol like most of the members here.. but how much better can we get out of shell's v power.. it's a premium gas compared to the rest including the price.. :lol: :lol:

care to share..

:smile: :smile: :lol:

Originally posted by Strong Eagle@Oct 30 2005, 08:58 PM

But must meet the specification set by the manufactural of the bike, different

bike have different mininum octane number setting.

How about M'sian V-power and S'pore V-power, is there any quality difference since M'sian is cheaper...

"Many many cars make many many jam become many many problem!!!!"

!!!!!!!WORLD PEACE!!!!!!!!

Originally posted by dv8vstrom@Nov 14 2005, 01:54 AM

How about M'sian V-power and S'pore V-power, is there any quality difference since M'sian is cheaper...

U should refer to the thread post by Black Comet .