Coolant Comparisan  

353 members have voted

1. 1. Coolant Comparisan

Hi guys! Anw ups for the helpful informative sharing from y'all. Really helpful wif the problem I'm facing now.

Recently serviced my recently bought used spec 2 and had coolant flush and currently using engine ice. When servicing the coolant found out tat radiator cap's rusty and the washer was wear. With the coolant bownish in colour, suspect past owner has been using tap water for coolant. Had the cap replaced durin the flush n Ride my bike for a week plus wif no problems til today.

Everytime when I stop my bike somehow coolant liquid, blue in colour will splash onto my engine and have smoke evaporatin went unique to ask wats wrong,said my thermostat and hose has wear.. Advise to change. Can only come out the sum of money for tat replacement til tuesday. So I intent to ride wif coolant check regularly, top up wif distilled water til get it done in these couple of days.. Risky?

SLoW iS SmooTH, smOOtH is FaST... LeT'S see iT :D

• Replies 814

Hi guys! Anw ups for the helpful informative sharing from y'all. Really helpful wif the problem I'm facing now.

Recently serviced my recently bought used spec 2 and had coolant flush and currently using engine ice. When servicing the coolant found out tat radiator cap's rusty and the washer was wear. With the coolant bownish in colour, suspect past owner has been using tap water for coolant. Had the cap replaced durin the flush n Ride my bike for a week plus wif no problems til today.

Everytime when I stop my bike somehow coolant liquid, blue in colour will splash onto my engine and have smoke evaporatin went unique to ask wats wrong,said my thermostat and hose has wear.. Advise to change. Can only come out the sum of money for tat replacement til tuesday. So I intent to ride wif coolant check regularly, top up wif distilled water til get it done in these couple of days.. Risky?

that sounds risky to me...but is the coolant shooting out or dripping slowly?? may i knw what unique advised u? change all the coolant hose n thermosat?? or??cos coolant shooting onto engine , the smoke is damn scary.. as i encountered... ride half way, coolant shooting out.. the quickly go bikeshop, norman said i hero can ride all the way down wif coolant shooting all.. if ur hse gt spare premix coolant can jus use them... else u can buy those premix from kiosk..

WTS givi e16 smile box, with led @$20

interested party , do PM me..

that sounds risky to me...but is the coolant shooting out or dripping slowly?? may i knw what unique advised u? change all the coolant hose n thermosat?? or??cos coolant shooting onto engine , the smoke is damn scary.. as i encountered... ride half way, coolant shooting out.. the quickly go bikeshop, norman said i hero can ride all the way down wif coolant shooting all.. if ur hse gt spare premix coolant can jus use them... else u can buy those premix from kiosk..

definitely not shooting out ya... just tat when bike is tilt when on sidestand after parking, coolant will drip a little to e ground.. the smoke thing happens only when harsh stopping or when bike's jerking that will somehow like splash onto the engine... unique advised me to change the whole thermostat n the radiator hose.. expensive laa... need to save up ya... hot any recommendation on whre can i get somehw reasonable cheap price for the thermostat n hose?

If the upper hose near under the tank is slightly cracked due to fair wear and tear..u can change just that and no need to drain all coolant. As for the thermostat..u can take the faulty unit out and do without it...save $$$s.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

perhaps see if ur condition is wat ah pek said.. else if ur hose is in the middle like mine below carb, need to strip the bike, i changed to silicon hose 360 plus.. not samco brand... else change to stock hose if whole set, unique quoted est 200 cant rem the exact price, but their forum gt shw the price...cos if change whole hose, mech advised me to change sotong also, a connector that links all coolent tgt, as it is made of plastic, he advise to change sotong as easy to spoil , cos 50 plus from the bike shop i go.. cannt advise u much, jus fyi

WTS givi e16 smile box, with led @$20

interested party , do PM me..

If the upper hose near under the tank is slightly cracked due to fair wear and tear..u can change just that and no need to drain all coolant. As for the thermostat..u can take the faulty unit out and do without it...save $$$s.

wat do u mean by taking the unit out? ride with no thermostat?

perhaps see if ur condition is wat ah pek said.. else if ur hose is in the middle like mine below carb, need to strip the bike, i changed to silicon hose 360 plus.. not samco brand... else change to stock hose if whole set, unique quoted est 200 cant rem the exact price, but their forum gt shw the price...cos if change whole hose, mech advised me to change sotong also, a connector that links all coolent tgt, as it is made of plastic, he advise to change sotong as easy to spoil , cos 50 plus from the bike shop i go.. cannt advise u much, jus fyi

bro, can elaborate wat's sotong?

waah really guys thanks for sharing btw.. :thumb:

wat do u mean by taking the unit out? ride with no thermostat?

bro, can elaborate wat's sotong?

waah really guys thanks for sharing btw.. :thumb:

Dat's right...ride without one. The difference is that ur coolant would start circulating thru out the cooling flow system and no thermostat to regular it. riding in Singapore is ok.

"Sotong"..he he meant the three return flow hoses connection junctured into one from a two into one flow for coolant to the engine water jacket via a heat resistant plastic "ball joint". It's located in the centre below ur inner two carbs and right behing the lower portion of ur engine block base.

Dat's right...ride without one. The difference is that ur coolant would start circulating thru out the cooling flow system and no thermostat to regular it. riding in Singapore is ok.

"Sotong"..he he meant the three return flow hoses connection junctured into one from a two into one flow for coolant to the engine water jacket via a heat resistant plastic "ball joint". It's located in the centre below ur inner two carbs and right behing the lower portion of ur engine block base.

Hi William,

Hope you still remember me....

With regards to the Ball Joint... Mine give up recently and I had since change one... Under an emergency case of that giving way during touring... any way to by pass?

And without a Thermostat... how "healthy" would it be for long distance touring...?:cheeky:

To Me....

It's not How fast you go... It's how FAR you Travel...:thumb:

It's the Rider! Not the Bike! o_O

Hi William,

Hope you still remember me....

With regards to the Ball Joint... Mine give up recently and I had since change one... Under an emergency case of that giving way during touring... any way to by pass?

And without a Thermostat... how "healthy" would it be for long distance touring...?:cheeky:

If it ever happen...just think of it as riding ur S4 without a cooling system..basically just "air cool". Regulate ur speed like riding below 100km/hr. When the tempertaure light shows up..just stop and let it cool off or better still..help cool with water. I can only think of such an 'emergency' approach till u reach the next nearest bike shop that can replace the item. Anyway..this item last a long time..as much as 10 yrs or more as long as the coolant system is kept withing operating temperature thru proper maintainence like not having tap water used where rust can generates and builds up..correct premixs ratio...etc.

Ha..ha..ha....

Mine gave up on me a couple of weeks on my return leg from Cameroon... Bike was only 2yrs old ++... Just my luck... My Fan Jam and Kar-poof as a result too....

But as you said.. Rode back home under 100km/hr... Super Boring than....

To Me....

Ha..ha..ha....

Mine gave up on me a couple of weeks on my return leg from Cameroon... Bike was only 2yrs old ++... Just my luck... My Fan Jam and Kar-poof as a result too....

But as you said.. Rode back home under 100km/hr... Super Boring than....

"Bike was only 2yrs old ++... Just my luck... My Fan Jam and Kar-poof as a result too...."...INTERESTING!..wanna share what coolant u use and what maintenance has you done for it at this such a short period of your ownership..perhaps we can learn from u and be preventive. My old hack PB1 almost 16 yrs liao fan oso never change or jammed.

Sure!

Coolant :ENGINE ICE / Mileage travel after Changed ~ appox 28K KM.

Engine Oil: Motrex / Change after every Up north Trip...

That's all... Bike stock and Original... loh..

To Me....

Sure!

Coolant :ENGINE ICE / Mileage travel after Changed ~ appox 28K KM.

Engine Oil: Motrex / Change after every Up north Trip...

That's all... Bike stock and Original... loh..

Thanks bro.

Hmmm.. Guess wat.. Now no more coolant spilling out anymore these past two days and coolant level has been the same level since the day I faced these problems ya.. Temperature of bike, I wud say normal or better b4 I had it flushed.. Shared wif a friend, he said maybe mech filled up too much coolant lah.. Wat I experienced is overflow..

Just wondering if coolant cud jam, 'choke' inside.. Can tat happen? Will b riding as per normal now and see hw it turns out..

Is it normal to see smoke coming from radiator when riding in rain???

Spec 3 using engine ice

It's not smoke...just hot steaming vapor when cold water touches hot surface...normal.

Hi, I am thinking of replacing the coolant myself. Some people tell me that after draining out, I need to idle the engine and keep topping up till it reaches the radiator cap.

Anybody can advise?

Hi, I am thinking of replacing the coolant myself. Some people tell me that after draining out, I need to idle the engine and keep topping up till it reaches the radiator cap.

Anybody can advise?

Hey guys, anyone changed their radiator or waterpump recently? What's the pricing like?

“Speed has never killed anyone. Suddenly becoming stationary, that's what gets you.†- Jeremy Clarkson

http://images54.fotki.com/v104/photos/3/1279813/10237619/IMG_0625-vi.jpg[

dam unluckey. just get this bike less than 4 month. change my coolant water just less than a month. just last two day my coolant hose just burst when i was rideing,, scare the hell out of me.. when eng is on the water keep on leaking out. end up have to tow my bike to shop. than the bike shop open everything inside all rust like ****. end up got change alot of thing cos me 500+ :(... cos the last owner just put water in the coolant. end up all rust.

Hey @Ah Pek, thanks for teaching me soooo many things today and changing the coolant. :)

Welcome Georgie :p

When bike is cool ans after starting my super spec 1, coolant leaking near the side stand area, about 3 - 4 mins, slowly drip out. After 3 - 4 mins, after engine build up to ideal temperature, no more coolant leaking.

Bike shop says it might be the waterpump leaking.

What's going on? :) thanks!

I love riding. :cheeky:

To check, is it necessary to flush when changing coolant? I saw the mech just drain off and then pour new one in. Safe?

LICENCES

class 2B: 07sep06 (cg125, nsr150, cbf150, x1r, ta200)

class 3: 30apr07 (Mitsubishi lancer, Nissan sunny, Toyota corolla, Volkswagen golf tsi)

class 2A: 27may08 (revo, vtec1, majesty250)

class 2: 08jun10 (fz6n, GSX-R600L4, tmax530)