Hi all. My friend is thinking of buying a fuel injection wave as a daily transport. To me, so far I haven't seen quite a lot of FI waves on the road. Is it no good? Any advice from u guys? Pls help :help:

Edited by ZoRoM
  • Replies 543

People scared to buy because last time the first batch of it gave alot of problem, but now the second batch no problems at all according to my mech. My bike is almost 12000km already.. no problem at all. Wave-i has the best mileage of all cubs.. 60+km/l.

FI is good

but more on the ex side

and you might have more headache as FI is not as easy to fix as carburetor

if you dun mod so much, there is nothing u need to mess with the FI

eg change filter, change exhaust

if you like your bike stock and running low petrol

Wave i is the way to go

if you wanna change everything, like carburetor, filter, mod exhuast, den get a normal carburetor version

Originally posted by silversurfer2012@May 7 2005, 04:41 PM

People scared to buy because last time the first batch of it gave alot of problem, but now the second batch no problems at all according to my mech. My bike is almost 12000km already.. no problem at all. Wave-i has the best mileage of all cubs.. 60+km/l.

Hmmm, that's interesting......how can one tell a 1st batch Wave I and a later batch Wave i??? I'm gonna view one this evening.

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

hey yo nologicone when we having woodlands outing hehe

Originally posted by Dafanshu@May 7 2005, 06:18 PM

hey yo nologicone when we having woodlands outing hehe

I know...on Tuesday :offtopic:

Anybody can help me identify Wave I?

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@May 7 2005, 06:00 PM

Hmmm, that's interesting......how can one tell a 1st batch Wave I and a later batch Wave i??? I'm gonna view one this evening.

I dont know how.. i just know my bike number plate FY3000+ onwards confirm no problem because i got another friend FY 8000+ also no problems at all. If before FY3000 earlier.. i not sure liao. Your best bet would be to test the bike lor. Make sure it can accelerate smoothly up to 110 - 120 without any hiccups.

Originally posted by silversurfer2012@May 7 2005, 08:11 PM

I dont know how.. i just know my bike number plate FY3000+ onwards confirm no problem because i got another friend FY 8000+ also no problems at all. If before FY3000 earlier.. i not sure liao. Your best bet would be to test the bike lor. Make sure it can accelerate smoothly up to 110 - 120 without any hiccups.

i heard that FY plate from 1500 onwards is the range for Wave I series.....some of my fren got FY1600+ then got the comman injection prob.....so keep a look out for the Range of these plates.........

Accident Reported @ 17/12/05 9.15pm AMK ave 10

Storage List..........VACum PAcked....

2003-2004 HONDA SP

2004-2004 YAMAHA TZR

2004-???? Honda Wave R 125

So what's the prob with the injector??? How can I tell??? The Wavei I'm getting is a FY double digit.....The owner told me it's the 1st batch. I cannot really try the bike today as it was laid up, and I just go round and round in the carpark. But so far, it's pretty OK, and it seems a tad more power than my buddy's WaveS. Will only try to go 120kph once the bike is rightfully mine. So, can the prob be fixed???

Will try to meetup when I get my Wavei On The Road. Some of you guys met me before at Yishun Dam when I went down for one of the meetup with a Wave Rider.

But only 2 Waveriders talk to me, as I was not riding Wave then...... :cheeky:

In the meantime, I'll register when the Wavei is really mine.

MERGED THREAD

Topic : newbie

Description : wave i

hi! wavers...just got the wave i 125 FY 3 Digits and would want to know it's reviews from current owners. please post and share so that all wave i owners could benefit from this....everything about the wave i.......thanks.

Originally posted by ewanktm@May 9 2005, 05:12 PM

hi! wavers...just got the wave i 125 FY 3 Digits and would want to know it's reviews from current owners. please post and share so that all wave i owners could benefit from this....everything about the wave i.......thanks.

hei congrats!!!

so u got urself a wave i??

mmmmm 3 digits sum more??

does the bike comes in decalz??

http://i117.photobucket.com/albums/o73/skitot/loner2copy.jpg http://i117.photobucket.com/albums/o73/skitot/REDFACE2copy.jpg http://i117.photobucket.com/albums/o73/skitot/wolf_2copy.jpg

pIcto

purfacto

boBoI.... jNg boBoi jAhatz.... jNg bOboi naKalz sAngatz...

Originally posted by ewanktm@May 9 2005, 05:12 PM

imPORTANT iNFO..............RUN IN AROUND 1200KM

gradual increase in speed to 80-90km

WaveI Fuel Injection is a cost saving facility that will help u save fuel.....around 60-65km/litre.........worthwhile..........

is urs a FZ plate?

First change of engine Oil and sPark plug should come around 1300-1500km

will be beTTer to change earlier depending on on how Ride.........

if you need more info. let us knoW

Accident Reported @ 17/12/05 9.15pm AMK ave 10

Storage List..........VACum PAcked....

2003-2004 HONDA SP

2004-2004 YAMAHA TZR

2004-???? Honda Wave R 125

Not to throw cold water, but FY 3 digits...honestly it doesn't sound very good for a wave-i....meaning it was probably from the problematic 1st batch?

<u>Women drivers:</u>

Earth's dumbest category of drivers

any time, any car, any place,

worldwide.

Originally posted by ski@May 9 2005, 06:01 PM

hei congrats!!!

nope, the bike comes stock but with box. no decals. yup its FY***M.

neways, thanks

Originally posted by züblin@May 9 2005, 06:47 PM

Not to throw cold water, but FY 3 digits...honestly it doesn't sound very good for a wave-i....meaning it was probably from the problematic 1st batch?

hey! r u sure? ok, its an FY***M. the previous owner got it last July. milage wise good 10,000 only

Originally posted by ewanktm@May 9 2005, 10:10 PM

hey! r u sure? ok, its an FY***M. the previous owner got it last July. milage wise good 10,000 only

calm down calm down...im not trying to scare u or something :sweat: but i did read a few times that 1st batch wave-i is problematic like break down easily etc...also did come across 1 post about which range in FY series is supposedly the 1st batch and 2nd batch thereafter. But i can't remember where it is, i'll show you the link if i can find it. FY 3 digits seems a little early...but don't get me wrong, i'd rather tell u now than hide from u.

worldwide.

Originally posted by ski@May 9 2005, 06:01 PM

hei congrats!!!

Hi 3 Digits Bro!

More 3 Digits Rider Join leh! My also leh....

:cheer: :cheer: :thumb: :cheer: :cheer:

the above post was by silversurfer2012

it can be found here

ewanktm, maybe you'd like to ask him? :smile:

worldwide.

hi! bros...just out of curiousity, my wave-i came in stock condition. what is a "tong" exhaust pipe anyway? is it legal..? i know that the endurance pipe is illegal..neways, plse someone guide me......:smile: and somemore guys, when i throttle at gear 4 crusin at 80km/h reachin 90km/h, got restriction leh,

like power cut like that. why is that so? is it normal for a wave? plse help....:weep:

Originally posted by ewanktm@May 10 2005, 04:41 AM

thanks bro...

no prob man.

Tong exhaust pipe is not legal...its a drilled exhaust

worldwide.

Originally posted by dreamtcs@May 9 2005, 06:41 PM

just dun run at 110 or 120km/h

will stress the engine a lot!

hey! bro, how to run at 110 or 120km/h. even want to reach 90km/h only then like got restriction like power cut. engine like slow down. does this apply to all wave-i ?