I am a new steed bike owner as on today. A 14yr old steed. I have a problem which I would like to ask for advice.

Before I start or ride the bike, I don't see any oil leaking out from anywhere but after riding for a while, I would see some small patch of oil on top of the small cover below the ignition key. Is it the engine oil leaking from spark plug or else where near the engine? Can only see this after the engine is started. I used to have a old 600cc shadow (scrapped already) and it also has this problem.

Pua

I also experience this problem when I got my steed about 2yrs ago. Its the valve cover gasket worn out. Advisable to change both the front and the rear gasket. Repair cost about $290 including carb service, change engine oil, spark plug, coolant and both sets of gasket.

Rear tyre I use Bridgestone which cost about $130. Change this about 1yr ago.

http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i63/MidnightBlues_2006/SturgisBikeWeek2.jpg

Never Let Your Rear Wheel Overtake Your Front Wheel.

• Replies 4.9k

I also experience this problem when I got my steed about 2yrs ago. Its the valve cover gasket worn out. Advisable to change both the front and the rear gasket. Repair cost about $290 including carb service, change engine oil, spark plug, coolant and both sets of gasket.

$130 about a yr ago. Now got a quote for rear tyre by dunlop made in indonesia at $170. :sian: Seems like the rear tyre is not much of a choice nowadays. :sian:

How time flies...

Big is certainly a warning but small can be downright scary! Never underestimate the effectiveness of small.

Will there be any implications on the engine if this problem is not rectified? I have already spent quite a sum this few days and would like to delay this for a few more months when I have money then rectify this problem.

Who did you bring to to rectify the problem? Can recommend?

But seriously I needed to change the rear and front tyres now. All worn out already and inspection is going to be due in June 09.

Will there be any implications on the engine if this problem is not rectified? I have already spent quite a sum this few days and would like to delay this for a few more months when I have money then rectify this problem.

But seriously I needed to change the rear and front tyres now. All worn out already and inspection is going to be due in June 09.

I also need to change my tyres. Thinking to change to white wall tyres. Not sure whether is it worth to do it. Any advise? How the price range like? Still looking for a sport rims for my steed.

I am going to rosli shop later to fit my speedo! Not working again... Change two times already....

PM me your contact number.

http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i63/MidnightBlues_2006/SturgisBikeWeek2.jpg

Never Let Your Rear Wheel Overtake Your Front Wheel.

I changed my rear tyre to Bridgestone,$130 2 mths ago at LAB.. HKL quoted me Dunlop K555 for $160..

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/vt600-1.jpg

The oil I think leak from the valve cover(see pink arrow).. A friend of mine had the same problem and Rosli added washer to the bolts(near green arrow) and tighten them.. problem solved.. But if very jialat den have to change the gasket.. Nor sure how much it'll cost for that..

econbizer,how much is the "chiong" air filter at LAB? I wanted to ask you out for supper the other night,but it was 11PM+ already,dunno to SMS or not.. Haha

Riot-Bike Co.

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/02ba5dfd.jpghttp://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/SimonsSideCarBike-1.jpg

Need sidecar for wedding photoshoot? PM me

@Terrible One,

Nice green Steed you got there. Very different from the traditional black. Can see from the pic you really take care of your bike. Real nice and clean. I'm a big fan of the Steed, especially the VSE models.... wonder why there isn't a 2009 with new face lift one....

Harley Davidson is not just a bike, it's a lifestyle......

@Terrible One,

Nice green Steed you got there. Very different from the traditional black. Can see from the pic you really take care of your bike. Real nice and clean. I'm a big fan of the Steed, especially the VSE models.... wonder why there isn't a 2009 with new face lift one....

Hey Don,nope that's not my bike.. Taken a random pic from the net just to show where the possible leakage could be coming from.. I'm still trying to find time9and money) to do up my bike.. Don't have big plans but I think it'll turn out pretty clean(I hope)..

Riot-Bike Co.

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/02ba5dfd.jpghttp://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/SimonsSideCarBike-1.jpg

Hey Don,nope that's not my bike.. Taken a random pic from the net just to show where the possible leakage could be coming from.. I'm still trying to find time9and money) to do up my bike.. Don't have big plans but I think it'll turn out pretty clean(I hope)..

Ha ha.... but i'm sure the outlook of your current Steed is comparable to the pic rite? Or even better? :p

Harley Davidson is not just a bike, it's a lifestyle......

I changed my rear tyre to Bridgestone,$130 2 mths ago at LAB.. HKL quoted me Dunlop K555 for $160..

The oil I think leak from the valve cover(see pink arrow).. A friend of mine had the same problem and Rosli added washer to the bolts(near green arrow) and tighten them.. problem solved.. But if very jialat den have to change the gasket.. Nor sure how much it'll cost for that..

econbizer,how much is the "chiong" air filter at LAB? I wanted to ask you out for supper the other night,but it was 11PM+ already,dunno to SMS or not.. Haha

I have sent my bike to Rosli workshop last friday and probably will get back today. He will be doing

1. Change the front and rear tyres ~ $250

2. Front wheel bearing ~ $30

3. Front Brake Pad ~ $28

4. Engine Oil ~ $36

5. Oil Filter ~ $10

6. Spark Plug ~ $20

7. Carb. clean service and tuning ~ $60

8. Valve clearance, change gasket + o-ring ~ $70

9. Flush Coolent ~ $30

10. Change fork oil seal due to rusty ~ $100/pair

Cost or damage to my wallet ~ $634

: (

Edited by lspua

ok la. Rosli doesn't chop carrot la. Yes he has hiss mark ups but anyone who does business sure have one. Cannot be your retail prices same as cost price right? Hee. The chopping part is the workmanship and labour fee and Rosli doesn't charge that much for it also. But once he's done you probably won't have worry about your bike for ages to come. Speaking of which, it's time to do servicing for mine liao. Hit 5k liao. Hee

w y x m m

ok la. Rosli doesn't chop carrot la. Yes he has hiss mark ups but anyone who does business sure have one. Cannot be your retail prices same as cost price right? Hee. The chopping part is the workmanship and labour fee and Rosli doesn't charge that much for it also. But once he's done you probably won't have worry about your bike for ages to come. Speaking of which, it's time to do servicing for mine liao. Hit 5k liao. Hee

thanks for the comforting comment, last time when I have other bikes, alway kanna chop carrot head. :)

For sale original honda steed clutch cable.

goin for $15.

SMS 98787424 Fai

I have sent my bike to Rosli workshop last friday and probably will get back today. He will be doing

1. Change the front and rear tyres ~ $250

2. Front wheel bearing ~ $30

3. Front Brake Pad ~ $28

4. Engine Oil ~ $36

5. Oil Filter ~ $10

6. Spark Plug ~ $20

7. Carb. clean service and tuning ~ $60

8. Valve clearance, change gasket + o-ring ~ $70

9. Flush Coolent ~ $30

10. Change fork oil seal due to rusty ~ $100/pair

Cost or damage to my wallet ~ $634

: (

Rosli suggeste me to change the chain soon and the handle bar.

How much does a second hand Steed handle bar and chain cost? Any brothers here has lobang?

I was just there this afternoon. Heard your bike's out already. How's it so far?

hmm....that's what happens when the previous owner never takes care. Well at least you'll know down the road you won't be spending that kinda cash anymore.

Chain about $100? Sprocket ok ah? Why need to change handle bar?

w y x m m

Same here. Took me quite some time to find a mech I'm comfortable with. Not many places can go there and "hang out" if you know what I mean. ;)

I prefer Amir at Gerry looi.. But the wait is damn bloody long..

Riot-Bike Co.

I was just there this afternoon. Heard your bike's out already. How's it so far?

hmm....that's what happens when the previous owner never takes care. Well at least you'll know down the road you won't be spending that kinda cash anymore.

Chain about $100? Sprocket ok ah? Why need to change handle bar?

I collected the bike during my lunch, so you have missed it. My steed is a blue FM76XXJ plate with two GIVI box by the side. If see me next time, say hi to me. :-).

After the service, I took the bike for a spin from Rosli place to ECP then to KPE back to Sengkang. The feeling was one word "Shiok". Handling was so much better than before the service with new tyres. Spent 2 hours washing and cleaning up the bike last evening and I am begining to like this bike.

Due to $$ constraint else I will do up the bike. Any brothers here has idea to do up the bike without spending much money? I mean the DIY type. I still got lots of things to learn from the brothers here.

Funny, Rosli did mention the chain cost about $250, you sure it's $100? So cheap.... where to change?

Hey TerribleOne, I'm currently buried under job hunt/ projs/ exam prep. But I will be very free v soon in 5wks! Will be joining singapore's jobless statistics! :angel:

Chiong air filter frm LAB costs $20 when I called.

I went down to the little india places yesterday, and it seems like they have mostly marked up the air filter prices.. C.a. said increase cos of FX rate. 1 mth back, I got the air filter at a mech shop at Tamp Ind for $38.

I think there's no point going to them for air filter. They markup macham like mech. Might as well go to mechs, let them earn.

E.s. - $47

C.a. - $48

F*t - No stock, but quote $38 (maybe new nxt mth stock might have price hike?)

Hooo! completed you bike mod already?

Edited by econbizer

Lucky u tat u change 2 months back. Now dunlop comes in stock made in indonesia and selling ard $170 for rear.

How time flies...

Big is certainly a warning but small can be downright scary! Never underestimate the effectiveness of small.

ya. maybe includes sprocket. Do check with him. If I remember correctly, last time my shadow was around $240-$260 for both sprocket and chain. That was a few years back la.

Thanks, I have learnt something new. I was thinking why chain can be so expensive. Rosli must have meant chain plus sprocket but he just said I should change the chain. Well he told me my current one can last only for 6 months at most, by then I will change it.

Hi anyone modified their rear fender..care to share where got lobang to change up the rear fender smaller then the existing one. To much of American Chopper I guess to do up this project.

Hooo! completed you bike mod already?

Haven't even started, no money!! Haha.. bought some parts here and there tho.. Got a cool Vespa turn signal switch and fork extension tho.. need to machine the fork extension down to 2 1/2 inch..

Riot-Bike Co.