• Replies 55

geometry geometry

because motorcycles are normally rear weight biased ...if u put a same sized tyre to the front ..the friction is less than the rear

If u have a front that has less friction that the rear ...which tyre will slip first during a corner ?

generally a tail slide is easier to control than a tank slap or loose front or watever trackies call it

because motorcycles are normally rear weight biased ...if u put a same sized tyre to the front ..the friction is less than the rear

If u have a front that has less friction that the rear ...which tyre will slip first during a corner ?

generally a tail slide is easier to control than a tank slap or loose front or watever trackies call it

my rxz both tires same size, cls 2b bikes if both tires same size is ok, cos makes no diff, up to individual preference

if it makes no difference, bike manufacturers will churn out bikes with same tyre sizes, yes? some people share their opinions but they might not necessarily be right.

only cls 2b bikes make no diff, only cls 2b, cos up to individual preference, u can ask from rxz, y125z, wave, spark135 threads, confirm a number of riders use front n rear same size, cos small bikes make no or little difference only.

as i mentioned, up to individual preference

so generally speaking it is safer to have a larger rear tyre compare to the front? or make both bigger?

what bike u riding now?

u can ask in your bike model thread to confirm.

like for me i riding kr, size is rear bigger than front, my rxz is both same size.

but some kr riders use same tire size, up to individual preference.

this is only for small bikes!!!!!

if it makes no difference, bike manufacturers will churn out bikes with same tyre sizes, yes? some people share their opinions but they might not necessarily be right.

cos some riders wan their rear tire to be same as front to play pick up, for small bikes only!!!!!!!!!!!!

it's their choice to mod their bike, it's their own preference, and i nv say i am right!!!!!!!!!!

each rider has their own reasons!!!!

guess im not the only one who notice the trend

so generally speaking it is safer to have a larger rear tyre compare to the front? or make both bigger?

do u see small displacement GP riders using 2 same sized tyres ? that will answer ur question.

bro, now i talking about small bikes, small bikes!!!!!!!

u talk about GP riders for what?

u think i anyhow only ar?

u go rxz, y125z, wave thread n ask, i sian already.

small bikes can use both tires same size, but u refused to believe it, i got nothing to say liao.

motor GP got 125CC ? RXZ , Wave , etc how many CC ? so is 125c motor GP consider small bike ?

well ur life ur choice....just don't go ard advising stuff to people that can be done but is unsafe

cos some riders wan their rear tire to be same as front to play pick up, for small bikes only!!!!!!!!!!!!

it's their choice to mod their bike, it's their own preference, and i nv say i am right!!!!!!!!!!

each rider has their own reasons!!!!

i didn't claim that you were wrong. just letting the TS know that opinions should be taken into consideration with common sense. btw, i have seen mopeds with same tyre sizes, very much like bicycle tyres. it might look nice to the owners but i seriously doubt their purpose.

SingaporeBikes Forum Rules & Regulations

Please use the search function if you have a question.

i profess no expertise in this area, but wish to contribute what i've read up about.

as enfant has mentioned, manufacturers consider very carefully what sort of tyres and geometry a particular bike gets.

from my own reading experience, the greater the difference between the front and rear tyres, the worse the handling becomes. this is because for any given lean angle, a wider tyre turns less. this also creates a tendency for oversteer for a bike that has a wider rear tyre than its front. at the same time, a wider rear tyre has greater potential for putting down power to the ground; that is, it has more potential grip than a narrower tyre.

this is why a litre class sportbike has a section 190 tyre compared to a litre class street bike, such as a fazer 1000, which has a section 180 tyre. the greater horsepower of a litre class sportbike warrants a wide rear tyre for using its incredible acceleration to fire out of a corner. as stated earlier a wider tyre also makes handling worse, so this is a compromise between power and handling.

this is also why a smaller bike, such as those 600 supersports or a 250cc will out corner a litre class in terms of corner speed, due to tyre dimensions. but once past the apex the litre class will leave those two for dead.

by the way, as any ride review would tell you, those cruiser bikes with really fat rear tyres and narrow front tyres handle really weird. the general advice is to keep corner speeds down for these type of bikes.

so, why a difference in front and rear tyre sizes at all? oversteer and putting power to the ground, as mentioned earlier. without a wider rear tyre, you cannot apply as much power as you might want as you are coming out of a corner. should you still lose grip, the rear will swing around first, due to oversteer, giving you a chance to recover from the slide.

also, a motorcycle is generally more weighted to the rear when loaded. a larger rear tyre has greater heat management to counter the fact that the rear will generate more heat as a result.

if this has whetted your appetite to know more, go ahead and google motorcycle dynamics.

what i've presented here is really just the tip of an iceberg, it might even be somewhat incorrect because i'm hardly qualified to understand all those technical terms.

a good place to start might be here : http://www.msgroup.org

motor GP got 125CC ? RXZ , Wave , etc how many CC ? so is 125c motor GP consider small bike ?

well ur life ur choice....just don't go ard advising stuff to people that can be done but is unsafe

rxz 135cc, wave 125 cc.

125cc moto GP bikes are meant for racing purposes, not on the road.

TS ask if both tires can be the same, then i reply saying can but only for small bikes.

i confirmed wif some of my biking friends already n they have confirmed it can be done, actually no need to confirm wif them as i also know already.

safety wise is that cannot corner very low, need to depend on the technique of the rider.

i nv advice anyone anything, i only sharing it can be done.

did u read carefully or not????

alot of riders can support me u know, support me that for small bikes, both tire can be same size.

u dun anyhow come n accuse me of anything ok.

doesnt mean that u ride big bike or got yrs of riding experience then u know everything.

but i dare to say that i am still learning ok.

i haven say anything doesnt mean i stupid ok, is that no point arguing ok.

if u that gd, u recommend the tire sizing for the TS's bike.

TS, pls state the bike u riding now ok?

or else i will be accused for nothing, then no ppl will post to help u also.

we are here to help n answer the qns of TS, argue so much for what, each individual got their own point, there is no right or wrong.

y ppl mod their engine, y mod the block, y mod this n that, all not safe mah, y ppl still do all these? they have their reasons n purpose mah.

if everyone share their comments then u keep arguing wif them, u think next time got ppl wanna share meh?

i think nobody will post, then u qns all the qns can liao, cos nobody will be bothered about the Bikes & Bytes thread liao right?

haiyo.. reply 2 words like me can liao wot... let the TS go imagine himself... (see post 2)

see lah.. all whack knowledge.. now disagree with each other.. haiz..

haiyo.. reply 2 words like me can liao wot... let the TS go imagine himself... (see post 2)

see lah.. all whack knowledge.. now disagree with each other.. haiz..

next time dun share anything in this forum liao, if wanna know then meet up n ask better

haha.. okie lah.. chill out.... cannot force everyone to be same frequency as you... so just let it be...

dun stop the sharing though.. thats how an online community functions... got people post... got people read... cheers!

haha.. okie lah.. chill out.... cannot force everyone to be same frequency as you... so just let it be...

dun stop the sharing though.. thats how an online community functions... got people post... got people read... cheers!

haizzz, thanks bro, but u see the above post, haizzz, but really alot of riders i asked liao n they also agreed wif me, experienced riders somemore, one of them even ride k7 but he last time rxz.

haizzz